reviews for: listing #82313 - Ogunquit, Maine House rental

Ogunquit Vacation Rental House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Field
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,700 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic Family Fun

Review submitted: October 1, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

I have young children and this property was perfect for us. It was well funrnished for an active family and ice cream, activities, beach and resteraunts were within walking distance. The Marginal Way, which is really 250 sreps away from this property, is truly one of the most beautiful places to see. Beach roses, sparkling waves, birds, etc just a few sights to see along this walking path along the Atlantic.

If you want to venture outside of Perkin's Cove, the trolley is easy to ride as the stop is just around the corner from the property. We used the trolley to go to the beaches as well.

Some highlights for my family were:
-Catching crabs on the footbridge...even in the rain.
-Eating a great dinner at the Oarweed resteraunt and enjoying the gorgeous ocean view.
-Finding sea glass hidden on the beach in Perkin's Cove.
-Experience ice cream from several spots to truly find the best. It was all good!
-The lobster boat tour that was perfect for the little ones. (50 minutes out of Perkin's Cove).
-Minature Golf
-Shopping in Freeport whcih is a 45 minute ride away but well worth seeing LLBean.
-Lunch at Bob's in Kittery that had the best decor and lobster roll.
-Watching the butterflies flutter past the back bedroom window in the wild field behind the property.

Finally, it is the little things that matter. I forgot an important item from home and the owner was kind enough to help me out. Just a great stay!

Helpful votes: 18 / 21

 

Great little house, wonderful location.

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

My mother and her two sisters stayed in this house, next door to the bigger house housing my siblings and families. The house is comfortable and the location can't be beat. George is very available and accommodating of his renters. We have been renting annually for quite some time now and never disappointed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for little ones

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We were two families with three young kids and the house worked out very well for us. Despite being 30 feet from the trolley and 2 minutes from Marginal Way, the house is on a tiny street with no traffic and has a large yard so the kids could ride their bikes and play in back yard. It looks better than the pictures, with a flat screen tv, a master bedroom with bath and 2 showers, so two families could have their own bathrooms. The backyard has a lovely picnic table under vines, a deck with comfy chairs and a bbq so we spend much lot of time outside. The big beach has shallow warm pools for the kids, and on hot days the ocean is refreshing. George was very knowledgeable and helpful, and helped us pick out the best restaurants, activities and the fastest route home (boo hoo). Loved the lobster delivery on scooters and homemade jams. Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Revoir la mer, George et le field

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Nous avons passé une semaine dans ce sympathique chalet. Une belle semaine, vraiment. La maison est confortable et correctement équipée (cependant, si vous aimez le vin, apportez des coupes). La terrasse, avec vue sur le «field» de fleurs sauvages, est superbe. Le café au petit matin sur cette terrasse nous manque. Un avantage considérable : on peut tout faire à pied. Nous recommandons le Cove Café pour le déjeuner, le Lobster Pound à Wells (celui qui est situé face à la mer) pour le homard et le clam chowder, Billy's Chowder House et le voilier de George. George est une homme rare, foncièrement gentil et accueillant. Nous y retournerons sans aucun doute pour revoir la mer, George et le field.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful vacation home, convenient to everything

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We recently stayed for a week in August with our two young girls (3 and 8 months) and the location was perfect. The property was exactly as described and George welcomed us as we were settling in and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and beaches. You can walk everywhere you need to go from this house, yet it is completely quiet and peaceful. We strolled into Perkins Cove for morning coffee and evening dining out, and walked to the beach in the afternoon. Some nights after the girls went to sleep, we had lobster and wine in the back yard surrounded by wildflowers. We will definitely go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great rustic Maine experience

Review submitted: September 26, 2008   Date of arrival: September 6, 2008

This is a very comfortable cottage with a real "old" Maine feel to it. It is ideally located within walking distance of everything in Ogunquit and Perkins Cove. We just parked the car and walked to almost everything and along the Marginal Way each day.The owner is very accommodating and if you need anything just ask. The house is fine for 3 adults but would be small for 5 or more. The furniture and kitchen are comfortable but not luxurious, but the house is priced right for the amenities. We plan to come back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fall Getaway

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

What a wonderful cottage, just steps away from everything that Perkins Cove has to offer, yet tucked in a little side street with a feel of being "out in the country". No need to use your car when staying in this cottage (or any of George's three other houses). Walk or take the trolly anywhere you want to go.

Cottage is very cozy, nice deck off the back and fully equipped, including free internet and phone service. Lots of books, puzzles and games for your use.

Owner was very helpful in telling us about the area and anytime we needed something, he was very accommodating.

This was my second year at the cottage and will return. First year we had flowers on the table when we arrived, this year we had a basket of home made soap and bath salts awaiting our arrival. Nice touch.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Winter Retreat

Review submitted: May 15, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

I recently moved back to Maine after several years out of state and needed to reconnect with the area and just relax for a few months before deciding where to settle for good. This cottage was more than I could ask for. Cozy, bright, quiet and so close to great restaurants and shopping. Even in the winter months I enjoyed walking marginal way. We had a very snowy winter so snowshoeing the trails in the area was fantastic.
The cottage is perfect for bird watching out the large doors onto the deck and we even had fox and deer in the yard almost nightly.
The owners of the property are amazingly kind and simply stated good people. I enjoyed getting to know them in our brief interactions and hope to keep in touch down the road.
I would highly recommend this property for a rental. Honestly, I hated to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review