reviews for: listing #82325 - Durango, Colorado Townhome rental

Whimsical Romantic Luxury: Spacious, Views and Hiking!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Durango Mountain Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $98 - $349 /nt
    $649 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Wow! This town home has everything!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We stayed at this town home and had the BEST vacation! The owners have made sure that it has everything we needed from comfortable beds/bedding to plush towels to a fully equipped kitchen, not to mention beautiful decor. So much care has been put into it to make for a wonderful stay!

We enjoyed four days of skiing at DMR. It was so nice to come back to the town home for a warm meal and then relax with a glass of wine. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Durango Mountain Resort /Silverpick Townhouse

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We had a large family group (9) gathering from around the U.S. for Thanksgiving. This townhouse was perfect for us. The townhouse was close to Durango Mountain Resort (1 mile) for skiing and snowboarding. The owners provided excellent complete instructions for before, during and upon leaving the rental. Everything we needed was provided. I was most impressed when the cleaning lady showed up with 2 turkey roasting pans because the owner had called her asking her to purchase and deliver them because she was afraid we wouldn't have what we needed to cook our Thanksgiving meal! Wow! The home is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend the townhouse to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled that our home worked out just right for your family's Thanksgiving. Thank you so much for your kind words, and for appreciating our extra little effort to ensure your family a successful turkey preparation. Holidays are extra special; we check annually to ensure we have all the serving items for a lovely feast, and set up Christmas trees each year after Thanksgiving.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

We spent a four-day weekend here and celebrated a milestone birthday in this lovely location. We were especially impressed by the detailed information provided by the owners and the amazing kitchen. I've stayed in many VRBOs and this was by far the best kitchen I've ever seen! We ate most of our meals in and never lacked for any kitchen tools or amenities. We also enjoyed the fireplace and the quiet location. Durango was a lot of fun too - many great restaurants and shops to keep us entertained!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, reading your review makes us visualize a home filed with laughter and yummy kitchen smells! Vacations are something we all look forward to, and the job of our home and decor is to provide a special backdrop for those shared life moments. We appreciate knowing the home attributes that were important to your stay, it helps us know things to pay special attention to each year. Warmest wishes to all the sisters, we hope you'll come celebrate together again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect get-away weekend

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

My sisters and I stayed here for a 50th birthday weekend, and had a wonderful time. The kitchen is incredibly well stocked for us foodies, and we were pleasantly surprised at the cooking tools / supplies that are available. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. Perfect location for us, with great walking / hiking trails near-by. While a bit out of town, we enjoyed the lovely drive to Durango. Would definitely recommend this location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is heartwarming to know that three sisters were able to make our home part of their special shared time together. We appreciated hearing how important the kitchen stock was to your stay, it serves as a reminder to us to keep adding to the kitchen annually for all the great chefs out there. Reading your review made us wish we could have been part of your celebration, as we can only imagine how tasty it was!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

I don't know if words could describe how amazing this home was and what an amazing time we had. The house is extremely well taken care of, the decor is beautiful, and it is very clean. The pictures don't do the house justice. The owners have taken so much pride in making sure that all your needs are taken care of. The house is very well stocked and the owners have thought of everything. The views around the property are beautiful especially this time of year. The golden Aspens surrounded by the snow capped mountains provided beautiful scenery. There are mountain trails and a nice little pond right on the property and the restaurant on the property, although pricey, is delicious as well. You will not be sorry if you stay here. It is by far the best property we've stayed at. While we were there I lost my diamond earring and Sunshine was nice enough to contact me to let me know it had been found (I hadn't even told her about it yet) and she sent it to me. It's all the little tings that make a vacation a time to remember and Sunshine definitely takes care of all the little things.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved the property and owners!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

The property and owners are awesome! As frequent patrons of HomeAway, we found this property to be exactly as presented. My wife and I stayed 6 nights at the town home and explored the fall sights of the mountains and surrounding towns. From the moment you enter the home, it is obvious that Sunshine and Cody love what they do and take great pride in their property and the comfort of their guests. We look forward to returning to the area in the future and staying at one of their properties.

Owners response: We feel so fortunate when our home decor, comforts and communications meet guest's expectations. Our hope is for every guest to depart feeling pleased with their vacation experience! Thank you for taking time to leave encouragement; Cody and I both sincerely appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This townhouse was just lovely! The owner is very detailed in what to do and what to expect not only on the property, but the area itself. It is quiet with hiking trails right in the woods behind the property! The home has lovely decor and really makes you feel at home, and is kid friendly. Each room is spacious and welcoming. The kitchen is also fully stocked. We especially love the fire place and the property provides the wood. It has a wonderful porch and right across the street is a wonderful restaurant. The best part of the property was the views of the mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jack

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

Really enjoyed townhouse! Interior was fantastic and the mountains were great! The nicest townhouses we have stayed in close to the Durango Mountain Resort. Second bedroom shower was small.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun times. Good memories.

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Comfortable.... well taken care of..... plenty of room for a family. We had so much fun on this vacation. The townhome kept us all together in the evenings and we had fun playing monopoly at the big table. This townhome had all the amenities we needed and was close to everything we wanted to do. Thanks Sunshine, for being so attentive to our needs and responsive to the emails and questions. I will definitely plan another trip to Colorado and hope that I get to stay in your vacation home. Have a great day!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Cody and I feel so fortunate to hear back from our guests. We understand it takes some effort to navigate the system and leave a review. The positive feedback from guests strengthens our resolve to keep our homes as attractive and comfortable as we can. Our new care-taker Hans is an awesome handy-man. We would prefer to be there to attend to any guest needs ourselves, but until that is possible we feel good knowing Hans takes care of any home issues that arise with the same concern for guests that we feel. I enjoy receiving emails from guests during their stays to answer home questions and hear about their favorite activities. We really appreciate that guests choose our home, and hope to always offer "somewhere special" for families, couples and friends to enjoy vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Silverpick Townhome

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

I agree with all other reviewers; clean and well maintained. It has been very relaxing and comfortable place to stay. I'll recommend this vacation rental properties to all friends and relatives.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, Beautiful, Romantic Place to Stay

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

This place is wonderful. It is so much better than the pictures (and the pictures are awesome!). We were lucky and got to meet Sunshine, the owner, who is also totally awesome. She was so caring and concerning with an incident that occurred (non-town home related). We absolutely loved the place. There were a lot of spices and items in the fridge for our use. The coffee maker had a setting for coffee to be ready each morning, so very nice. Plenty of pots, pans, bowls, etc... Towels were fluffy. Washer and dryer were great as well. If we ever get to the Durango, CO area again, we will for sure be checking into renting this town home again. It really was such a wonderful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to stay!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

The renters are great people. The property was in great condition. It felt like home! Loved the wood burning fireplace and free wood replacement. The place was clean, modern appliances, really everything you could want to enjoy your stay in Durango. We would definitely rent here again when back in Durango and recommend to anyone interested in staying in this cozy home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, comfortable stay

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Nice townhome for vacation. Pictures displayed on listing are accurate. Furnishings are comfortable and the location is peaceful yet close enough to Durango.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation rental 342980

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

Very nice townhouse located close to the ski hill but not too far from the town of Durango. Very well kept and comfortable. Owners kept in touch when we needed something and were very polite and pleasant to deal with. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a place to stay in Durango.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Stay with 3 Kids & Grandma

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Our family of five (including 3 kids ages 10, 7 & 2) had a great 10-day stay at the Silverpick Townhome this Summer. We even took a grandmother and had ample room! The layout of the townhome was very functional for our family. The townhome is decorated beautifully but is also kid friendly. The owner is very helpful and responsive to any needs.
The location of the townhome is about 20 miles north of Durango, so there is some travel required to get to town, grocery stores, activities and restaurants. However, there is a great restaurant (Sow's Ear) within 50 yards of the townhome's door. Also, the Durango Mountain Resort is only 2 minutes away. There are 1 or 2 restaurants there as well as some summer activities for the older children.
There are several hiking trails surrounding the Silverpick townhome, but be sure to have your bear spray. We had 2 sightings of large black bear!
There are numerous summer activities in this area...too many to list. I would definitely recommend a trip to Durango and a stay at the Silverpick townhome!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

2012 Vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

My family and I enjoyed our stay in the Sliverpick condo. It had all of the necessary kitchen items we needed for meals and the beds were very comfortable. The decor was beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You will fall in love with this home!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We LOVE this condo! We have visited here for the past three years and look forward to it each year. It's such a treat for our family. The owners are amazing. They take care of every little detail. They have remodeled the condo with great finishing touches. The new loft is spectacular! Perfect for kids. My two boys stayed in the loft...it even has it's own tv! My parents loved the decor in the master suite. And the new built-in shelving/bench unit in the dinning room is so wonderful that my husband asked if we could build one of them in our house! We loved the surroundings too...we played horse shoes and softball every night. It's close to Needles Market for necessities. I highly recommend this condo to anyone staying in the Durango area. You will fall in love with it...WE DID!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We stay here every year!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We LOVE this condo! We have visited here for the past three years and look forward to it each year. It's such a treat for our family. The owners are amazing. They take care of every little detail. They have remodeled the condo with great finishing touches. The new loft is spectacular! Perfect for kids. My two boys stayed in the loft...it even has it's own tv! My parents loved the decor in the master suite. And the new built-in shelving/bench unit in the dinning room is so wonderful that my husband asked if we could build one of them in our house! We loved the surroundings too...we played horse shoes and softball every night. It's close to Needles Market for necessities. I highly recommend this condo to anyone staying in the Durango area. You will fall in love with it...WE DID!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything you could possibly need.....

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

My family of 5 stayed at this lovely townhome over our Spring Break and couldn't have been happier. The home is warm and inviting and has everything you could need for the perfect home away from home. The family room has a beautiful stone fireplace that we used every night after skiing. The kitchen is fully stocked so that we could actually have home cooked meals when we didn't want to eat out.
The master bed was large and comfy with nice soft linens. The kids room was great with it's own t.v. and bathroom (and now it's own loft). The owner Sunshine was such a pleasure to work with and very attentive and informative with everything. I would highly recommend this home and would love to stay their again when we come to Durango!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect stay in Durango!

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

We recently drove from Houston to Durango. The decorations and furnishings were beautiful and tasteful! The townhouse was very clean and all of the extras included were convenient. The restaurant on site was delicious. The drive to the ski resort was short and easy. We will definitely come back to this town home or the ski resort condo owned by the same couple. The owners were always quick to respond and VERY HELPFUL :) Enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

We loved it!!! It was a great experience and we would definatly go back. We would recommend it to anyone, great place to stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay.

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Left on 09/16/2011 for a stay in September 2011
We enjoyed the condo very much. Was very comfortable and roomy. Decorated very nicely. Quiet and very relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming, warm & welcoming...

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

Left on 11/28/2011 for a stay in October 2011
This vacation home delivered everything we expected and more! It was beautifully decorated, but not too formal... very comfortable and cozy. When we arrived, it was super clean (which we're picky about!), and we felt very much at home. The kitchen had just been remodeled and was absolutely gorgeous! We love to cook on vacation and found everything we needed at our fingertips. In the bedrooms and bathrooms, the owners have gone the extra mile to prov

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Melissa Shaffer - Sherman, Tx.

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

What an awesome place - we had such a good time. The townhome was beautifully decorated, very cozy throughout the whole house. Very large rooms with high ceilings - Master was gorgeous. A lot of attention was taken to every detail through out the condo for a comfortable stay. I was concerned at first at not being slopeside but the drive was only one minute and much more quiet of a stay with the parking in front made it easy to get in and out quickly. The best restaurant is across the street - The Sow's Ear. They do not even have a rest. at the resort that can compare to this one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Durango is a very special place.....and over our 3+ years of renting on the mountain, we have learned that the folks that visit Durango are great too! A lot goes into making a vacation home special. On top of the standard mortgage's, HOA's and utilities; it is an annual and monthly effort to maintain our homes in the inviting condition that we feel guests deserve. When teaching high school (a very wonderful experience), I believed there was always room for continual improvement in teaching delivery, as well as for my students growth. We apply the same outlook to our client service and homes, working to get a little better each season. A special New Year's Thank You! to all our new and returning guests. Your appreciation and enjoyment of our home is what puts the Fun in work.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home and then some!

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

I was extremely nervous picking out a place to spend our family vacation in CO. We picked this place from the description, pictures, location & $. After speaking with the owner she made me feel so comfortable- we decided to go for it. WOW! From the moment we said, "YES" everything was smooth sailing with the payments & communication. From there the anticipation of arrival - we pulled up & the retrieval of keys were instantly as described. We were in the door in minutes & we were not disappointed! The decor of the place was amazing and beautiful. All the ameneties were as stated. I have a 15 & two 13 year olds who went through commenting on how cool everything was. There was plenty of room for everyone, yet it gave off such a cozy feeling of home. The master is very beautiful (romantic too- if you don't have teens with you). The bedding & linens are extremely nice. Great place to get away for some peaceful reading time, if the other tvs are going down stairs, or you can sneak outside on to the patio. When not on the property we were just minutes away from the activiites we were in CO for. Soaring Tree top Zip lines $$$, but worth every penny- people were amazing, My kids are still talking about how nice everyone was., Mild to Wild kayaking- fun experience, Rapp Corral horse back riding - people were great (cash only there). Alpine Slide down the street, not to mention all the hiking trails. All these things just minutes away from your door step from this home- it is in such a great location. We also took a car trip up the hill to Silverton & Ouray which was one of the most beautiful drives ever! We were back before dark & that was after lunch & touring the towns. Also had pizza at the Old School house down the way-long wait, but worth it! Be there at 4pm opening, if hungry! ALL these things to go & do, so close, but you can also come back & make a home cooked meal on the stove or grill. (we grabbed stuff from market in Durango after rafting & planning meals)Everything you need is in this home from the cooking appliances the dishes, pots & pans. Again, I was nervous about setting this all up initally and I still can't believe how easy this owner really made this. This owner truly goes out of her way to make her property and guests a priority- outstanding customer service. I would highly reccomend this property to anyone that is looking in this area. It is a beautiful home, inside and out, It truly is your Home away from Home &then some

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Vacation Getaway!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed in this beautiful townhome for 7 nights at the end of June. We were very impressed with the decorating, cleanliness, professionalism & friendliness of the owners and caretaker. They went out of their way to answer our questions and made sure we were well taken care of. The home is even better in person and is very well stocked - including kid-friendly dishes. We loved the location - being 30 minutes north of Durango put us much closer to Silverton and Ouray (for some fun hiking and jeep tours,) yet we were close enough to drive into Durango for shopping and dinner. It was also 10-15 degrees cooler on the mountain! My hubby & I noted that it was also much quieter there than being at Durango Mtn. Resort (just a mile north.) All of the furniture is beautiful and comfortable - a lovely place to relax and prepare meals after a busy day. Our kids especially loved their room, and the master bedroom is truly a romantic getaway. We definitely hope to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Lydia & Family! This is one of the happiest parts of taking great care of a vacation home~ hearing that your guests truly enjoyed their experience in Durango, the home location and appreciated the special details in our home:) One of our new guest considerations is for Sunshine or Diana (often both:) to call each guest at within 24 hours of arrival, to make certain guests are comfortably settled in, and attend to any needs (do we have a light-bulb out, did we forget shampoo in a bathroom?- If so we'll take care of it as quickly as possible!) Speaking with our guests after arrival helps ensure that we are doing our best to provide a positive vacation home rental experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Townhome

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

This townhome is easily accessible from Durango with great views. The owners went out of their way to insure that we had everything we needed during our stay. Upon our arrival we found the home very clean and a more spacious feel than depicted in the photos - beautifully decorated and completely equipped with dishes, towels, etc. I would not hesitate to rent from these owners again, we had a great time!
Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: When we first responded to Dennis's inquiry, he getting his family out of harms way from a Tornado. We are glad his family made it out West! Thank you for sharing your & Grandson's experience with RAPP horse stables, we had no idea there was a horse tour with a cave! Other guests have since enjoyed thanks to your advice. We love learning new adventures from our guests and hope you'll make it back for more fishing next year:)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We had a wonderful stay - the townhome was absolutely beautiful and well-appointed. The owner was very helpful and provided great advice about the area. I highly recommend this property. I look forward to staying here again and will recommend it to my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for a grin on our faces! Happy Guests are what makes keeping a vacation home special worth all the effort! We are here now adding new summer bedding sets and custom florals to our 2 mountain retreats. The greatest reward as owners (in addition to being able to enjoy our home and Awesome Durango too!) is to know that our guests truly had a great time; and that our interior decor was a special part of their vacation experience:)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Vacation Condo

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Great condo. It was perfect for our multi-family group but would work just as well for a couple looking for a romantic getaway or small family. Just a minute from the ski slopes by car it was so easy to get up and go. All the furnishings were new and the beds were very comfortable. There were tons of hooks throughout the condo allowing all our gear to dry overnight. Everything was set up to make it welcoming from a fully stocked kitchen that had everything from a griddle to fix pancakes in the morning to glasses for wine to sit by the fire in the evening. With three new flat screen TVs there was no fighting over which age groups got to control the TVs when we got in at night. The on-site restaurant had gluten free selections when we wanted to eat out. The hosts were wonderful and easy to work with providing all the extras we needed to make a great stay. We highly recommend this as a great vacation condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled to hear that guests have enjoyed a great vacation in our home! Thank you so much, for sharing that our home design and decor enhanced your family's fun time. Filling our home with quality comforts and special details would be meaningless, if they did not make our guests mountain stay extra-special. We have been blessed to travel and live in beautiful areas, and believe that Durango's Mountains, lakes, rivers and forests are truly some of the most amazing vistas on Earth. We feel fortunate that our home can be a special memory for couples and families to enjoy all the mountain has to offer year-round. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review