reviews for: listing #82338 - Cadillac, Michigan Cabin rental

the Waters Edge Cabin
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $440 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

We Love This Cabin

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

I was part of a group of four couples who spent a long weekend here last week. We absolutely loved this place. It is gorgeous, really roomy, new, clean and has an incredible view of the lake. We couldn't have asked for more. The couple that rents out the cabin were extremely friendly and even left us freshly baked donuts the day we arrived. We loved the fireplace, the large windows viewing the lake, the natural light, the high ceilings, the ping pong tables, the super comfortable beds, the heated floors and the surrounding woods.

Those are the pros. The cons were minimal. The online material for this rental clearly states that the cabin is a demo model for their log-cabin home building business and that they may need to show clients the house during a renter's stay. For us this happened both of the days we were there and it did feel like a bit of an intrusion on our privacy but it was over in about 15-20 minutes. So for people looking for solitude and the feeling of being alone in nature, this might shatter that illusion a bit.

Also, there is some kind of generator running outside (I think it's powering the aerators in the center of the lake) and it is pretty noisy (maybe this was accentuated by the contrast to the overall quiet of a frozen lake in mid-winter). You can't hear the generator in the house, only outside. The lake was frozen over and I walked to the other side of it and could still hear the generator, so that took away from the natural ambiance. Thankfully, there were woods nearby to walk through for true peace and quiet. My suggestion to the owners would be to consider moving the generator away from the rental property.

Finally the owners are Christians and there are Christian slogans and literature throughout the house as well as rules for renters about drinking, smoking and what bathing suits are permissible. So if you're someone who finds that inappropriate or is rankled by that sort of thing, this might not be the place for you. I personally found it easy to overlook.

So that's my review. A few small hangups but an overwhelmingly positive experience. The craftsmanship of the home has to be seen to be believed. These people really are masters at what they do. There's just something you get from being in a wooden structure that is soothing and I can't imagine a nicer place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

We arrived with a few other couples for our annual winter getaway "up north." After finding a new house to stay in each year, I think this one will be here to stay! We enjoyed ourselves so much. We all had so much space. We loved having so many bedrooms and bathrooms and so much space to spread out and do our own thing. Some of us went for walks in the woods -- what a beautiful location!

We spent our days reading, playing games, taking full advantage of the ping pong table, cooking in the amazing kitchen and relaxing by the fire with the amazing view of the snow falling over the lake outside. This was the perfect winter getaway, the owners couldn't have been more friendly and I have no doubt it would be even more incredible when you can take advantage of more things outdoors in the summer months. We loved it all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Getaway!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

We arrived with a few other couples for our annual winter getaway "up north." After finding a new house to stay in each year, I think this one will be here to stay! We enjoyed ourselves so much. We all had so much space. We loved having so many bedrooms and bathrooms and so much space to spread out and do our own thing. Some of us went for walks in the woods -- what a beautiful location!

We spent our days reading, playing games, taking full advantage of the ping pong table, cooking in the amazing kitchen and relaxing by the fire with the amazing view of the snow falling over the lake outside. This was the perfect winter getaway, the owners couldn't have been more friendly and I have no doubt it would be even more incredible when you can take advantage of more things outdoors in the summer months. We loved it all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great getaway

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

What an awesome place to stay! We had a sister-daughter weekend in Nov. 9 adults and we each had a bed to ourselves. Lots of bathrooms,1 on each floor. We loved the fireplace and 8 comfy lazyboys for relaxing. The spacious kitchen was great and had everything we needed. There was plenty of room for our craft tables, in fact this would make a great place for a quilting or scrapbooking getaway. Everything was clean and plenty of towels for everyone. I would highly reccomend this place for youth retreats , lots of outdoor fun available also.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review