reviews for: listing #82339 - Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin Condo rental

Stay Spa Resort on Castle Rock Lake
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Castle Rock Lake
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $595 - $995 /nt
    $3,800 - $5,200 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic Getaway! Wow!

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2008

This is a fantastic property! We stayed there with three other couples and was the perfect no-kids-friend-gathering-getaway. Plenty of room for everyone. Between the hot tub room, the deck hot tub, massage services, and entertainment center, it was a great vacation. We relaxed and enjoyed being away from everything and spending time with good friends. We stayed during late Fall, so we didn't get to enjoy the beach and lake, but plan to on our next stay this summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mike,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your fall get away at the Stay Spa. We look forward to seeing you again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

The Stayspa is unbelievable! All the rooms are very large and perfectly maintained. Between the the two hot tubs, steam shower, pool facility, lake, entertainment area, etc., it is impossible to be bored even if the weather is bad. Because we had a very large group we also stayed at the townhouse a couple of blocks away. The families with kids stayed at the stay spa and the couples without kids stayed at the townhouse. This worked out great because during the day we would meet in between at the pool facility and at other times the couples without kids could get a little quit time. It was also very convenient to have the restaurant/bar 500 feet from the stay spa. Fred, the owner, was very helpful whenever we had questions and we plan on going back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

My husband and I rented this home with our children in august of last year. I am writing a review now because i see that I had forgotten to do so after our stay. I am actually here on this site to book the Stayspa once again this year. We enjoyed every single thing about our stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

This house is amazing. Everyone in our group was impressed with the wonderful amenities and layout of this fantastic retreat. Would fully recommend to any age group (AVG of our group was 30).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful getaway not too far from home. Beautiful and well kept. Quite the experience.

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

Wonderful place to get away and relax. Went with friends, enjoyed golf, massages, hot tubs. Restaurants that were open were friendly and great food. Lake was gorgeous thinking of going back in either the dead of winter or. Middle of summer. The property was clean and well maintained. Portofinos restaurant on site was accommodating ad good food.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the positive review. We're very pleased that you and your family enjoyed The Stay Spa and local restaurants.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

My family of 7 adults, 5 and 6 year old children, and a 4 month old infant stayed here from Aug. 25, 2013 thru Sept. 2, 2013. The place is as beautiful as the pictures on their web site. We were all very comfortable and had plenty of space. We all enjoyed the indoor hot tub with the cold water plunge and the thunderstorm feature was very unique. We basically had the pool all to ourselves during the week until the weekend. It is located right on the beach and the view over Castle Rock lake is georgeous. Fred, the owner, is very easy to work with and answers all your questions. He even allowed us to bring our 2 small dogs. Eva was a gem to have nearby as whenever we called her with any concerns, and all were minor, she was right there to take care of things.
There is a local meat market near by, Wisconsin River Meats, and we all thought the steaks purchased there were the best we had ever eaten and the people were so nice and helpful. However, The Landing, a local gas/convenience store close by is another story. If you patronize this place please keep your receipts and also any purchases that you may have a problem with.
I would highly recommend the StaySpa to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

We had a group of 4 couples stay here for the weekend. It was a perfect house for couples. The place was clean, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need to cook, and the owners were very helpful. When we couldn't get all the electronics working properly, they came to the house within an hour and showed us. They were very friendly and easy to work with. The house itself was amazing. From the indoor spa room, to the massage chairs to the luxurious bathrooms, it was a perfect place to relax. We also utilized the spa treatments and Deb was great. Overall, a fantastic place that we would highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

We had a group of 4 couples stay here for the weekend. It was a perfect house for couples. The place was clean, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need to cook, and the owners were very helpful. When we couldn't get all the electronics working properly, they came to the house within an hour and showed us. They were very friendly and easy to work with. The house itself was amazing. From the indoor spa room, to the massage chairs to the luxurious bathrooms, it was a perfect place to relax. We also utilized the spa treatments and Deb was great. Overall, a fantastic place that we would highly recommend!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous girls weekend getawy

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Nine of us "40 somethings" got away for a girls college reunion weekend and Castle Rock was the perfect place. The accommodations are lovely, the kitchen is a great place to cook up a feast and the spa services were terrific. It was cold and rainy and that did not matter one bit. Would recommend highly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Summer Get-Away Spot

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Look no further! If u need a place to stay on Castle Rock Lake this gem will meet all your needs and more! With 7 adults and 3 kids we had MORE than enough space and plenty to do! Between the indoor spa, beach/lake access and association pool you can have a different family activity every day, however it also provides the serenity and privacy if you are looking to relax and unwind. With AMAZING amenities and plenty of comfort the only thing left to worry about is how soon you get to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation at Stay Spa

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

The Stay Spa Resort on Castle Rock Lake was wonderful. The house couldn't have been better equipped or more spacious. The hot tubs, massage chairs, steam room etc. were a great addition to a relaxing vacation. We had 9 adults and 2 children and never felt cramped. The location right on the lake was ideal for the kids and for boating. Would highly recommend the Stay Spa.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay Spa Wedding Weekend - Exactly What We Had Imagined!

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

After 6 months of planning a weekend wedding getaway at the Stayspa on Castle Rock Lake, my fiancé and I finally arrived at this beautiful property. We rented both the Stayspa and the Lakefront Town Home and were able to connect with many local businesses in order to pull together the details through the helpful suggestions of the property owner. Upon arrival Wednesday evening, everything was as we had imagined it!

On the first night we all walked along the lake shore to the nearby restaurant and dined on some delicious dishes and wine, followed by a really fun time in the Spa Room playing with all the storm sequence and hanging out in the steam room. Thursday was a relaxing day with the rehearsal dinner that night at the Stayspa. One of our very close personal friends comfortably catered a beautiful meal ample kitchen space for our immediate family and wedding party (24 people).

Friday was the “Big Day” and between the two houses the wedding party was able to enjoy plenty of privacy to primp and enjoy some champagne toasts throughout the morning. I had two stylists provide hair services for the ladies in the luxurious comfort of the Grand Master Suite bathroom. The scenery offered an endless supply of unique photo opportunities for our wedding photographer..

The ceremony was supposed to take place on the deck in front of the restaurant next door; however, due to rain the ceremony was moved into the dining room with ease and still offered plenty of space. We had 160 guests attend our wedding and/or reception. The food was delicious. The laughter was plenty. The owner/chef went out of his way to plan a completely personalized menu with plenty of variety for all to enjoy. Moving the tables off to the side after dinner allowed for ample dancing space and we were able to set up a photo backdrop in the back entry area for our guests to get a little silly.

Saturday was time for recovery, relaxation and an afternoon taco party for our house guests. We played in the Spa Room some more and enjoyed a late night campfire on the beach. So much fun! We cannot wait to take a small group back to enjoy the Stayspa again next year. We really found a great place to enjoy the outdoors, good food, good friends and amazing accommodations. A perfect way to begin a marriage!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the teriffic detailed review. Your wedding party was the largest group we have handled so far and I'm glad everything went well (other than the weather). I will forward your kind words onto Kevin at The South Shore Restaurant. Hope to see you again for your anniversary.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect for a large family!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Our large family (10 adults and 6 little kids) rented the Stayspa Resort and the Townhome (a separate property rented through this same owner nearby the Stayspa). I cannot express enough how wonderful this property is for a summer getaway! Everything was so beautiful and comfortable. The rooms are big, clean, comfortable. The kitchen is huge with tons of surface area for cooking and seating everyone for meals. The huge hot tub / sauna spa room is super relaxing and high tech. The massive sandy beach just outside is fantastic for children and adults. Plus all the added fun - the golf cart, nearby in-ground pool, clubhouse, and Deb (massage/yoga - she was amazing). To put it in a nutshell this was more than perfect - it was luxury at a perfect price!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Autumn Setting

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

Gorgeous fall colors, beautiful waves on the shore, excellent bonfire weather, and a wonderful family vacation. Three generations and multiple sources of entertainment to keep all of us happy, from grandchildren to the grandparents. The owner and staff that maintain the beautiful Stay Spa are wonderful to work with and very accommodating to the needs of their guests. This place will exceed your expectations and make for an enjoyable vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review. Fall is definetly one my favorite times of year at Castle Rock Lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Family reunion ever

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

What a place - we had a houseful of people and we were never stepping on someone else - The numerous amenities for relaxation, ie hot tub, cold plunge, etc were fun -loved the message chairs! all was great! Hopefully will be back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review. We tried to build the Stay Spa with everyone in mind.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation spot

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Thank you for an outstanding vacation. My expectations were exceeded. Plenty of room for large groups, very clean, beautiful lake/beach, modern cooking appliances and amenities. Fun little bar/restaurant and a top-5 all-time massage. Very well done operation. We'll be back

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the review. I do believe the Stay Spa concept is truly beginning to catch on.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a vacation!!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had the privilege of staying at the Stayspa for our family reunion this past week. It was amazing and the accomodations exceeded our expectations!!! There were 16 of us and never once did we feel like we were crowded! Fred and his family went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and those who had massages will be back for more next year. When I think of THE perfect vacation spot, this is it!! We truly cannot wait to come back next year!! It did our hearts and souls good!!!!! THANK YOU!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. I will be sure to forward this to Deb. She has had clients drive all the way from Cedar Rapids, Iowa for repeat Shiatsu treatments in Madison. I look forward to seeing you and your family again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay Spa truly Luxurious

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

The Stay Spa is one of the most beautiful places ever! We have stayed there the last two years with my parents, siblings, and their significant others. It is a place to gather, to relax, to enjoy, and to never want to leave. The morning views and the sunsets from the long picture like glass windows are breath taking. The lake offers room to play and the private beach is a nice addition. The Spa is spacious enough for privacy yet big enough for all to gather together. There are so many cool things to use and to enjoy. Fred is accomodating and easy to reach if needed, and Scott also helps out in a pinch and ensures that everyone has what they need. I must say though campfires on the beach as the moon sparkles on the water is my absolute favorite part, ok and the hot tubs too of course. The kitchen is amazing and a mother's dream space. All the details are taken care of and with everything so close you can take a trip here and keep your packing pretty simple. Also the Dells is so close that you can leave room for some day trips if you wish. Over all we LOVE the stay spa and we always leave feeling like Kings and Queens.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

We recently visited the Stayspa and it was just AWESOME! The kitchen is huge and comfortably fit our large group for mealtime. The bedrooms are luxurious with beautiful furniture and a television in each bedroom. The grand master bedroom is a vacation spot in and of itself. More importantly, the beds are extremely comfortable. The owners didn't outfit this place with anything less than excellent quality. The beach is right outside the back patio...oh, and it's a sandy beach with a designated swim area. There's also a swimming pool and a clubhouse within a very short walking distance, but if you're so inclined, you could take the Stayspa provided golfcart. Sit poolside with your kids and order lunch or snacks at the clubhouse.
I wish our stay was longer, but we'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the Review. It's always nice to hear how much people enjoy the Stay Spa.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECTION!

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

From the first inquiry about the Stay Spa with the owner, continuing through with the experience our group shared at the property, to reliving the wonderful memories we created at the Stay Spa, the entire trip was one of the best vacations ever. Every thing was well thought out in the process of creating this luxury environment. The pictures and the description of the property are modest in comparison to actually being able to enjoy the wonderful amenities, as the property far outweighed our expectations. Our group of three families with children and dogs enjoyed an extended weekend that will be difficult to repeat. Great views, great luxurious amenities, wonderful spa treatments, friendly personnel; a complete and relaxing experience from start to finish. Thanks for sharing the experience of the Stay Spa with others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

This is a fantastic property! We stayed there with three other couples and was the perfect no-kids-friend-gathering-getaway. Plenty of room for everyone. Between the hot tub room, the deck hot tub, massage services, and entertainment center, it was a great vacation. We relaxed and enjoyed being away from everything and spending time with good friends. We stayed during late Fall, so we didn't get to enjoy the beach and lake, but plan to on our next stay this summer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review