reviews for: listing #8234 - Los Angeles, California House rental

Location, Location, Location, The Havenhurst is ideal!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $199 - $249 /nt
    $1,552 - $2,013 /wk
    $4,999 - $4,999 /mth

sort by:

Perfect and cozy.

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Hands down after doing my homework on my first trip to Cali, this was the best deal for such a nice cozy home. Everything was just like the pictures, clean and tidy sitting in a very nice neighborhood. Thank you Joe for making the arrival so easy ,we will be returning to our adopted home in West Hollywood next year! Best James,Marie and family

Owners response: James and Marie- Thank you so much for your great review! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay- and I hope my list gave you plenty of things to do with the family while you were here. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Place, Best Location, Best Deal in LA!

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

LA has some great hotels but check availablity at the Havenhurst before you book anything. I have stayed here on numerous occasions. You are right in the middle of everything, but on a quiet street. Can walk to great restaurants (Don't miss Marix or Sur or the Abbey on Sunday afternoons) and there is a great grocery a few blocks away.
There is a full kitchen, two bedrooms and a great living and dining room to entertain friends. The place is just beautiful, the yard is immaculate and the location can't be beat. Joe can arrange to have anything you need waiting for you and can help you with great tips and inside info on events and attractions in the city.
Best of all, it is really such a great deal. Besides being less expensive than area hotels, you don't have the parking fees, the constant tipping of valets and concierges, and no constant noise in the hall. Havenhurst is like being in a penthouse suite without the hassle...or the costs.
Can't wait to come back. Thanks Joe for always being the perfect host!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: John- thanks so much. Beside being a short car trip away from all the major sites in LA- it makes me happy when guests walk to local restaurants and shops and have an opportunity to explore the neighborhood. Hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Why Stay at a Hotel?

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

This worked out perfectly during a recent visit to LA. Great neighborhood - walking distance to restaurants and shopping. And an easy drive to get to a lot of area attractions. It was very clean and included all the essentials (plus a nice welcome bottle of wine).

The apartment has all the conveniences of home, and Joe was always available to answer questions. The quiet patio in back is a nice retreat after a busy day. It's very much like having your own place while traveling.

We'll stay here again during our next trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I really appreciate your great review, it mean a lot coming from someone who travels on business. Hope to see you soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly Havenhurst!

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

Havenhurst is simply heavenly! Beautifully decorated, spacious, comfortable, and only a short walk to bars, cafes, restaurants, and buses along Santa Monica Blvd. It has great internet access, a laundry (so convenient when travelling), the biggest TV ever and is in a very quiet street. Joe was wonderful to deal with and extremely helpful; I'm only sorry we didn't get to meet as we were out when he dropped by....maybe next time. I highly recommend this apartment to anyone travelling to Los Angeles, and hope to return here again. It was like a home away from home and made a great holiday even better! Thanks Joe!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Helen. I hope you get back to LA soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

JUST LOVED IT :)

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

The Havenhurst, is a great place to stay!
The location is perfect and the home has everything that you would need. When vacationing we have alwaysstayed in hotels, but after staying in this wonderful home ...we will never stay in a hotel again.
Joe is a wonderful host and goes over and beyond for his guests.
Thanks Joe for making our vacation so memorable
Too bad we did not get a chance to meet...maybe next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Hi Joe...just wanted to say that we had a great time :} your place was perfect. The home is central to everything and very cozy.Your kindness is greatly appreciated, I just wish we could have met :(Thanks for making our vacation so special..and a lifetime full of memories.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 13, 2009   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

Hello Joe - I wanted to follow up after our recent visit and tell you just how much we enjoyed our stay. The Havenhurst made our visit in LA the most comfortable we had ever been! The accommodations are so comfortable and the space so inviting that we felt right at home. The extra space was a must with 2 very small children - the back garden was a lovely surprise! Thank you forthoughtfully stocking the kitchen withessentials - what a help indeed.Many thanks again, Joe. We very muchlook forward to staying there again onfuture visits and highly recommend itto our family and friends.Kindest regards,Beth and David

Owners response: Thanks so much Beth and David. I'm glad you enjoyed everything. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You will love it

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

I am a banker and I have traveled a lot throughout most of the world and this is one of the best values in a rental property I have encountered. If you are staying in LA for business or pleasure this property is outstanding. Off street parking, close to fine and casual dining, two grocery stores, short drive to any of the most popular tourist spots. Also not far from the beaches. The interior is very well appointed with quality finishes and furnishings. All the kitchen and bathroom fixtures appeared to be new and high quality. Bedding is of the finest quality. If you choose to cook in you have everything you need and some things that will surprise you. A good library of books, CDs and movies are on hand. Large screen TV with DVR. Everything is as clean as you will find it at any Ritz Carleton.
The landlord, Joe, is a quality person who is sincerely interested in making your stay as pleasant as possible. When I asked if it was OK to use the gas grill he made sure I had no problem finding the best grilling utensils. I highly recommend you rent this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much, Dave, for your kind words. You have a wonderful family- and I hope you come back soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing home away from home

Review submitted: April 25, 2009   Date of arrival: April 16, 2009

Havenhurst is even nicer than the pictures. It was one of the prettiest, the most comfortable, and relaxing places we've stayed. And with a lovely, private patio. One can walk to world class shops, very nice restaurants, the L.A. Farmers Market/Grove, Beverly Center. And the beautiful neighborhood is great for just rambling. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We certainly had a terrific time in LA. Thanks for the fantastic binder with all the super information. Our trip would not have
been the same without your suggestions, especially the Grove.

Your hospitality and attention to detail made all the difference. The trip will certainly be memorable for all of us, especially the
boys. Thank you!

Owners response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. And yes, Britney Spears is a really impressive celebrity sighting. :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We had a great time at Joe's place.The location is excellent in a very quiet and leafy area and yet close to the shops. Joe is a very kind and thoughtful host.We appreciated the flowers and the wine on the day of our arrival and the house gives you the impression that you are at home. It is a wonderful place to stay at and we do hope we will be able to come back. We wish we could have stayed longer ! Thank you Joe.

Owners response: Eliane and Jean-Paul, it was such a pleasure to meet you and your family. Thank you for the kind words. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 22, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Joe - Thanks for the wonderful opportunity to stay at Havenhurst. The place was lovely, convenient and in a central location to everything! I wish we could have stayed longer. Btw, we followed your restaurant recommendations that you had in your guide book. We ended going to Le Petite Cafe for our Valentine's dinner and the shrimp picante appetizer was excellent as you described. The complimentary wine you left us at the place was so much better than the restaurant's!

P.S. Thanks for the quick refund of our deposit!

Owners response: Thanks you two. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you'll come back for a longer visit. Best wishes for your wedding.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

I wanted to thank you again so much for renting
"Havenhurst" to us. We all had such a great time
and were thrilled with our accommodations.
Everything was so comfortable and well appointed.
Nicely decorated and so many nice touches.
Everything was in perfect condition and very clean.
The beds were very comfortable and we had plenty
of blankets and comforters. Couldn't have been
nicer. The kitchens were both so well equipped
that we were able to prepare our Thanksgiving
dinner for 11 people. Thanks you also for the nice
bottles of wine - much appreciated and we were
also so happy to see fresh flowers as well. Both of
our families kept remarking on how nice everything
was.

We loved the West Hollywood neighborhood - so
quiet, yet easy walking distance to Santa Monica
Blvd. We made many trips to Whole Foods and
Ralph's - both within easy driving distance. We
even did take out the first night from Marco's down
the street.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

A comfortable and welcoming house plus a friendly
and reliable contact from start to finish are the perfect
ingredients for a great holiday stay. Thanks, Joe.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 6, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

The bungalow-- loved it. We recommend some time
on the couch. Very Comfy! :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 12, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

What a great trip!! We went their to study and the
house just made the trip even more enjoyable ;)

the house is great and the owners a great,
everything is just perfect, we would very much
recommend it.

Sonny FP

Owners response: Thanks Sonny. I'm glad you enjoyed your month stay. Hope to see you next summer-- or sooner.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 11, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Joe- You have been so kind and generous to us.
Thank you for being such a gracious host. Our time in
L.A. was so enjoyable and much of that is due to our
stay on Havenhurst. The flowers, the wine... the
turned down bedsheets! I have recommended your
bungalow to friends back home (SF) already!!! Again,
thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 4, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

What a wonderful place to stay while visiting the area. We stayed here while my husband was in the hospital. I did not do much site seeing, but after along hard day at the hospital, I looked forward to going home to rest. It has everything that you could want or wish for. The interior decorating and the quality of this home is a 5 Star plus. The owners were so helpful and kind durning our stay. I hope to go back again and stay just for fun. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat. Thanks Joe and Joe...Karen OConnell

Owners response: Karen,
Thanks for your sweet comments. I'm glad your husband is feeling better. We hope to see you soon!
All the best,
Joe

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 4, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

The Havenhurst made LA perfect for us. The location is ideal, couldn't be better and the bungalow was beautiful.Everything we needed was in the house, it was clean, it was comfortable and it was welcoming. I would highly recommend it to anyone, you won't be disappointed.

Owners response: Thanks so much Kerry and Frank. Please come back soon- it was sad to see you go.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 30, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

This place was absolutly beautifull.
We had a wonderfull time in Los Angeles. The location is perfect, the furnitures too.
It's clean, charming and the situation is great to visit all the amazing places of the great city of Los Angeles.
We would like to say thank you and we will come back soon at the Havenhurst !

Owners response: Thanks Clemence. You were such a wonderful group. Hope you'll be back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

We recently took a trip from Chicago to Los Angeles
and we always stay in hotels when we travel. We
were nervous about booking a home...but The
Havenhurst is even more beautiful in person than in
the pictures! We had the most amazing time...and
the owners have created a luxurious and
comfortable home. The location is perfect! We
walked everywhere...had margaritas at Marix...and
shopped on Melrose. This place is in the middle of
everything! We will definitely be back! Thanks
guys!

Owners response: Thanks Diane and Matt for the sweet comments. Glad you enjoyed the place.. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 15, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Thanks again! You've done a wonderful job with the
place. We all enjoyed it, and it was a perfect fit for the
five of us. We would've driven each other crazy in a
hotel room! We love that fact that we were able to
walk to restaurants and shops.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 30, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

The Havenhurst is a fabulous place to stay when
you're in Los Angeles. The place is beautifully
furnished, incredibly charming and within walking
distance to exciting restaurants and night life. The
owners have created a wonderful respite for any
traveler wanting a true "California experience." We
will definitely be back!

Owners response: Christopher and Jacob- Thanks for the kind words- you two were great guests. Glad you enjoyed the place. Hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review