reviews for: listing #82379 - Ambergris Caye, Belize House rental

Tree House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $240 /nt

sort by:

A perfect romantic getaway!

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

The Red Treehouse was perfect for my wife’s and my stay in late April/early May 2014.. Once we landed and retrieved our luggage, Armando met us and took us to a market to get a few things for our stay and then delivered us by water taxi to Genie’s dock adjacent to the beach house. Rubio, the Treehouse caretaker was waiting on the dock with his wheelbarrow and delivered our luggage to the house and provided a brief overview of the property. After settling in, we decided to “explore” up the beach. A short walk away was a nice beach bar at a nearby resort. We enjoyed some delicious seafood ceviche and enjoyed our first taste of Belikin, the local beer! Our stay was wonderful in so many ways, with the tropical breeze always blowing, the lovely people we met, and the super food! Despite the many activities and excursions to chose from, our greatest enjoyment came from just relaxing on the deck enjoying the cool breeze, watching the hummingbirds feed and watching people traveling back and forth along the beach trail. We did follow others’ advice and utilized Coral Divers for our “destination” get-away. Snorkeling the Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley and touring the Mayan Ruins were two amazing trips. Genie, the owner of Coral Divers, and his great staff, were all so helpful and friendly.
The house is located about four miles north of San Pedro which challenged us a little, but overall beach bars/restaurants were within walking distance as was the Mata Grande grocery. We did rent bikes for the week but due to the sandy beach-side path we found it was easier in most instances to just walk to where we wanted to go. Like so many others have mentioned in previous reviews, we anxiously waited the call of the Burrito man out front in the mornings. What a great way to start the day! The house had everything we needed for our 10 day stay. Because of the dry season, it was necessary to use water conservatively but we followed the custom of others and only once was there a need to refill the cistern.
We were welcomed from day one by a great family with Rubio, Iris, and little Luis (what a charmer!). Rubio and Iris treated us to a freshly caught supper of grouper and ceviche (his is THE BEST) on our 2nd day! Iris, too, was a wonderful cook and we learned how to make the ceviche and coconut rice. Rubio is a huge asset to the Treehouse!!
We decided well before our departure that we would return to Belize, and if the timing is right, we are returning to the Treehouse.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed the house, and yes, Rubio, Iris and Luis are the best. Hope to host you again.
Lorna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Experience on Ambergris Caye!

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

My wife Julie and I thoroughly enjoyed our week at the "Tree House" on Ambergris Caye. The house was right on the beach with breathtaking views and a wonderful breeze off the ocean. This home is a bit off the beaten path, but accessible by water taxi, bicycle, or golf cart. A small grocery is only a 10 minute walk away. The caretaker, "Rubio" was very friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for a more relaxing spot to unwind and enjoy our vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. Come back again! Lorna

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An exceptional choice for the independent traveller!

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

My favorite travel companions are my boyfriend and a couple friends we've been on one trip together with before. We aren't picky about privacy and are happy to share the chores of cooking and tidying, so the Red Treehouse was perfect for us. We landed in Belize City at 2:30pm and by 4:30 were on our water taxi to San Pedro, where Armando met us and took us, at our request, to an grocery store with excellent produce options (the Greenhouse) to stock up for our stay. Provisions in hand, Armando then delivered us to the Los Encantos dock (only because Geni, the neighbor, had his dock under construction) where Rubio's wheelbarrow awaited us for the luggage. The transfer was seamless. It turns out that the treehouse is located technically "in town," so close enough to bike, but far enough from town (4.5 miles) to be tranquil. I highly recommend Joe's bike rental in San Pedro, it's the best way to get around, as golf carts have to navigate an insane number of potholes. If you have any mobility issues, as one of our party did, the Coastal Express Water taxi will get you within a a minutes' walk of the property. In the mornings, the burrito/tamale guy rides by with vegetarian and meatatarian options alike, all for a very reasonable price of $5US for two. While we expected to make all our own food, the locally-made tortillas were amazing and we found ourselves looking forward to the call of "Burritos! Tamales!" somewhere between 8 and 8:30am. Be aware that the beach at the treehouse is not ideal for swimming: in fact NO beach we found on Ambergris Caye was ideal. The sea is quite shallow, the sand can suction a water shoe right off you, and the turtle grass is dense. Expect to swim off of a boat during a tour, not from the beach. The treehouse is well appointed, with Wifi and most necessary appliances, although we brought our own electric juicer because we love margaritas :) Also, know that produce is local and never imported, so if it's not in season, you're not going to be eating it--we lamented the lack of lemons and avocados but got over it. We actually brought a cooler of cheeses because I'd read it's hard to find on the island and that is true. The Mata Grande store is a short walk away and has eggs, milk, and alcohol, but not so much produce so plan accordingly. Use the compost bin, conserve water as best you can, and be prepared for power outages which happen with some frequency. A wonderful stay, and an unforgettable experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review! So glad you enjoyed the Tree House. I am going down on April 30th and with the help of Geni and my neighbors at the Iguana House, I am going to build an "ocean swim area" out beyond the dock, cordoned off and clearly marked so that swimmers are protected from passing boats. So tune in next month for pictures and a description. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tropical Caribbean Respite

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tree House for 5 days during the first week of February this year. We were joined for 3 of the days by another couple. All of us agreed that this accommodation is well appointed and furnished, and it's view of the beach, ocean and reef was superb. Our transfer from San Pedro by 4 mile boat ride went smoothly and was a stunning way to initially experience the coast line. Rubio, the caretaker that lives on property with his family, was very helpful during our stay, even to the point of getting us fresh coconuts for our drinks. We did purchase some fillets of freshly caught red snapper from him that were delicious. The wrap around front deck was a wonderful place to relax and just gaze at the Caribbean blue waters below us, and watch the walkers, joggers and bike riders on the beach path right in front of the house. A vendor does arrive most mornings by bike selling delicious freshly made hot tamales and breakfast burritos. We did take advantage of the sea kayak to go out to the reef about 1/2 mile off shore to do some snorkeling. The water clarity and warmth were good, there were enough interesting fish and coral formations to view to make it worth our effort. The real underwater show was at Hol Chan and the Shark/Ray alley off the south east tip of the island. Spectacular snorkeling. We did book the tour with Geni, who runs a tour boat service right from the wharf/dock in front of the Tree House. His prices were competitive and the guide/boat driver that we had was great. Although lobster season ended on February 14th, we did get the chance to eat that succulent meat on two occasions. One of them was at Aurora's grill by The Mata Grande store just a 10 minute walk to the north of The Tree House.
The only "negative" we noted had to do with Ambergris Caye beaches, and not The Tree House. We do believe that it is important that travelers planning to come to this part of Belize realize that you cannot easily swim in these spectacular Caribbean waters. The water is very shallow with the bottom covered with Turtle grass near the shore. There are signs up all over, warning waders and swimmers not to venture past the end of the docks because of potential injuries from boats, engines, and water taxis. We did, on several occasions, cool off in the water at the end of the dock by sitting in it, and there were a few colorful fish under the dock to view.
Great place----4 1/2 out of 5, only knocked down for the Island-wide beach issue.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed the Tree House. Sounds as though you really got into the island spirit. I agree about the beaches. I am a swimmer and am frustated that I can't swim laps. There is good news, though. My neighbors at the Iguana House and I are going to build a swimming area out beyond the dock. It will be cordoned off and flagged so people are protected from passing boats. It will be up and running next time you visit!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great house

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

beautiful place to stay but don't expect to swim too much off the dock. The water is shallow with lots of sea grass. Swimming farther out is a bit dangerous because of water taxi's speeding by. Otherwise wonderful. Would have loved to have bikes available to use instead of the hassle of having to find and rent them, but having a kayak to use was a great start. Gave it 4 stars rather than 5 for these reasons.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed the house. Sorry there was so much sea grass at the end of the dock. At certain times of year it comes in, other times the area is clear enough to swim. But the best snorkeling and swimming is certainly off the kayak tied to a buoy. Thank you for the feedback about bicycles. I will look into it. I am always looking for ways to make the Tree House the perfect vacation destination.
Best
Lorna

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great Trip, Great House, Amazing People

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My son, daughter and I just got back from Belize/The Tree House. We had a great time – diving, snorkeling, biking, and enjoying the local people and cuisine. It was the 1st time we have gotten together on a trip like this in quite a while and it could not have been better – we will definitely visit again!

The “Tree House” is a spectacular place and right on the beach - beds were very comfortable, den & kitchen areas very well equipped. However, the views from the deck are so spectacular that we spent almost all our free time there. The proximity to the beach made morning breakfasts from the “Burrito Guy” very easy and convenient. We even met Joe the woodworker and his dog passing by on his bicycle. This saved me the trouble of going to town to find gifts for my wife. Joe carves amazing things using all local woods – I think we alone helped him meet his week’s sales target! Aurora’s had amazing food and Beverly at Mata Grande was extremely helpful with our shopping and making sure we had “minutes” on the phone.

The natural features of Belize – the reef system, birds & animals – speak for themselves. What truly impressed me was how nice and helpful the Belizeans are. This was the case for the Bicycle guy who delivered and picked up the bikes, the dive crews for our dive trips, the folks at the restaurants we visited & even Armando the water taxi guy. The locals could not have been more helpful.

I save the greatest praise for last. Rubio the care taker is a jewel. He, his wife, and son Louis are among the nicest people I’ve had the pleasure to meet. Rubio was quick to answer any questions we had about local customs, cuisine, activities, etc. He frequently gave us advice on issues from food, dive locations, kayaking to near-by reefs, security issues and we were always pleased with his recommendations. And then there are the coconuts. On our 1st day, we asked about determining ripeness, cracking the shell, eating, cooking, and coconut drinks. He immediately pulled out a ladder, climbed the tree and got a variety of coconuts. We got a crash course and ate and drank coconut all week! You are very lucky to have him and I’m sure you know this. He also thinks a great deal of you and his opinion convinces me that we were extremely lucky finding you and your “Tree House.”

Thank you for a terrific week & and we hope to return very soon to the Tree House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

A Month at the Tree House

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

recently returned from a vacation at the Tree House. It was great except the overall condition of the road into town. Went out snorkeling with Geni to Tranquility Bay and Mexico Rock. He made us a delicious lunch and the snorkeling was exxcellent.
The house had modest amenities but had all the necessities. We were treated excellently by Rubio, the caretaker,who was extremely helpful for everything we needed. Thank you Rubio!
All in all, we would recommend this vacation home.
DF and BF...Dec. 30, 2012

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Owners response: Hi Diane
Glad you enjoyed the Tree House. Yes, the road (if you could call it that) is terrible at the end of the rainy season, which is why I recommend using the Coastal Express boat shuttle to get into town rather than a golf cart for the over 40 crowd. I am happy to hear Rubio was helpful. I think he's great!
Hope to see you again at the Tree House.
Lorna

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

An amazing get away!

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Before traveling, I always read the reviews, but I never write them. I wanted to do my part and write a review about our recent trip to The Treehouse. First of all, this is a different kind of trip, this is not a resort, and the Treehouse is not in the middle of all the “action.” Know that going in.

Our trip was just my wife and I. You could go with another couple, but it could be a little tight. Caye Management was great. They had everything set up for our arrival and our arrival to Ambergris Caye was very smooth. The only issue we had was there was no one to greet us at the Treehouse. We got dropped off at the dock and kind of felt like we were dropped in the middle of nowhere. We got our bearings quick and had no problems. Also know that Ambergris Caye is not really for “beaching,” it is much more for relaxing, snorkeling and diving.

The Treehouse was very clean and well maintained. It had great AC for sleeping at night, wifi, cable and all the other comforts. There was a 2 person kayak which we used to paddle to the reef for snorkeling. This was awesome! We also met Genie the neighbor who took us on a snorkel trip, also awesome. He is a bit more expensive than the outfits in town, but was much more convenient. You get picked up right at your dock. We also loved the “burrito guy” who comes by every morning at 9 with amazing food, and Esvin the jewelry guy who came by with very cool stuff.

There were some restaurants close by which we walked to for dinner (bring a flashlight), and great places in town as well. In town, Lilly’s on the water was one of our favorites. We ate at the Matte Grande grocery a couple times. They have a BBQ outside daily and have a small but complete stock of stuff. This is very close to the Treehouse. We also loved the Ak’Bol yoga retreat! We did 9am yoga a couple times and then enjoyed their amazing food. They have the best coconut French toast ever!

We also rented a golf cart for the week. This is a bit of an expense, but we thought it was worth it for the flexibility. The road to town (San Pedro) was extremely bumpy and took about 25 min one way. Calling it a road is a stretch. You would only want to make the trip once a day.

All said this was an AMAZING vacation, we loved the Treehouse and Ambergris Caye, the people were incredibly friendly, everyone spoke English, we could use American money, and we always felt safe. It was truly unforgettable!

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed the Tree House and our island. Sounds like you did a great job of exploring the neighborhood. So sorry you had the experience of just being dropped off on our dock. Turns out our regular guy Armando had a schedule conflict and the the guy who was filling in didn't know the drill. He does now, and the next guest will be properly escorted to the front door and shown around.
Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hosting you again at the Tree House.
Lorna

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Dear Lorna,
Just a brief message to thank you for our stay at your house in Belize. We had an amazing time and we look forward to our next stay in San Pedro. We will definitely return and make the Little Tree House our accommodation of choice.
Again, thank you very much for everything.
Best regards.
V.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just what we were looking for!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

The Tree House was perfect for me and my new husband; we were on our honeymoon :) It is so much more secluded compared to a resort and was just what we were looking for. The house has everything you might need as far as kitchen utensils, linens, games, movies, extra snorkle gear, etc... Someone came to wash our dirty clothes and linens every other day; and someone would do lawn work, water our plants, and rake our beach on alternating days as well.

When all the windows are open, there is a wonderful breeze throughout the house. My favorite part of the house was the view from the master bedroom. If you love sunrises, but don't like getting out of bed to see them, this is the place for you! You have an amazing view right from your bed and it is such an amazing way to wake up.

There is such a beautiful part of the coral reef right in front of the house. We took the kayak out several times to snorkle and saw turtles, sting rays, a nurse shark, tons of fish and coral, and lobsters. The very first morning, while having coffee on the dock, we saw 2 dolphins playing right in front of us! There were there for like 30 minutes about 30 feet away :)

We set up all of our diving trips and jungle trip through Genie with Coral Divers. He lives 2 houses over and got everything set up perfectly and easily.

We will definitely be back to the tree house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Adventure!

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

My friends and I were looking for something a bit off the beaten track, yet not too difficult to handle. Something ecotouristy without the jungle trekking. The Treehouse on Ambergris Cay was just the ticket. It's harder to get to than the Bahamas, but not too, and after years of being afraid of small planes, my ride from Belize City to San Pedro on Tropic Air was wonderful. The Treehouse management company arranged pick-up and we and our luggage speed-boated right to the private dock. Armando brought our luggage up, handed over keys and we were good to go. We loved the house, windows and porch all around with views to die for. The quiet and the ocean breezes made sleeping a joy. And the golf cart, snorkeling, diving (one friend, not me!), yoya, two gorgeous pools in walking distance -- the beach was a little shallow for swimming --, and wonderful food made every day an adventure. San Pedro can be kinda hot and exhausting, but there are great bargains to be had. Loved the multicultural mix of characters and authentic Caribbean food.
.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Away from it all

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

The 'Treehouse' is a great time. It's 4 or 5 miles from San Pedro, which means it's very quiet and peaceful. There is a little grocery store a short walk away (the only store within walking distance) which has most of what you'll find in San Pedro (which isn't much). The house itself is comfortable, but not super plush. Which is to say that everything that you want is there, but it's not over done. There are two things to really consider when thinking about this place. First, getting to and from San Pedro can be a bit of a production. Your options are essentially to ride a bike (very hot and not recommended), rent a golf cart (could be cool, but kind of expensive), or take the water taxi (easy enough if you know the schedule and have a phone to call them). The phone in the house is pay as you go and you can buy some time at the nearby grocery store, and I would definitely recommend getting phone service if you plan to stay here so you can call the water taxi, caye management if you need to, etc. The second thing to consider is that the guy everyone else talks about in the reviews (Genie) is a tremendous resource. He is very nice and can get anything done for you without any hassle. He is not pushy at all and is really a pleasure to be around. It was the start of slow season when we were there, so my girlfriend had him to ourselves for the week. Awesome!
The last thing to consider is who you would be renting from. We had an experience which I think tells pretty much the whole story. The house uses a cistern for fresh water and it ran out while we were there, and we didn't have phone service to call caye management, but we did have an iphone and the in house wifi, so we sent emails to caye management and the owner. Both called the house within an hour of pressing send! The issue took most of the day to solve (the pump ran dry for a while and burnt some of the pipe connections which needed replacement, the water needed filling which comes on a boat from San Pedro, etc.), but I don't think you could ask for anything more in the way help from the owner and management company, they were all over it.
All things considered, if you want to have a quiet time with very little hassle and everything you need right there, this is a great choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best views of Paradise

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

It is hard to describe the amazing trip I took with my wife to the Tree House in Belize. San Pedro is easy to get to, being a quick flight from Miami to Belize City, and a 15 minute flight from Belize city to San Pedro. Instead of taking a water taxi to the house, we rented a golf cart for the week, and "drove" to the house. The house is about 4 miles from the airport, or a fun 30 minute golf cart ride. Other than being awesome to drive around in, the golf cart was fun to explore on and made getting groceries easy. The carts add to the charm of the island, and there are plenty of golf cart rental shops within blocks of the airport.

The Tree House is as awesome as it is unique. Everyone in the area knows exactly what house you are talking about when you say "The Treehouse". It sits about 15' in the air and is red and round! It has an open floor plan, a full kitchen, and two nice sized bedrooms. The whole house is air-conditioned, but we never turned it on once because of the nice ocean breeze. Of course, the best feature of the house are its ocean views and proximity to the water. The house is only about 50' to water, and you can see the waves breaking over the reef while sipping your morning coffee from the wrap-around deck.

We spent our time relaxing in the sun. We cooked most of our meals in the full kitchen, and did shopping at the nearby grocery, Mata Grande (the owners are really nice!). We booked a snorkeling and fishing trip with the neighbor who is a guide, and had one of our best days relaxing on a boat, casting lines and snorkeling at Mexico Rocks. At the end of the day, our guide cleaned the fish, and came back to the Tree House to cook us the best meal we had all week.

San Pedro is paradise, and the Tree House is the best place to view it from. We spent the rest of our time walking along the beaches, kayaking out to the reef, and just soaking in the beauty and character of the island. There are also plenty of great restaurants and bars nearby. I cannot recommend this trip enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

AMAZING! Beautiful House - Relaxing Atmosphere!

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

A LOVELY STAY AT THE TREE HOUSE! The house was perfect - right on the water, nicely furnished, and equipped with everything we needed for a fun and relaxing vacation (kayak, snorkeling equipment, grill, blender, a dive master neighbor, and access to the water taxi). On top of all of this, we loved that it was a small private home that we could afford, not just another unit in a condo complex or resort.

We are a young and active couple so access to the water was perfect for us - water activities for fun and THE VIEW for relaxation! We used the house kayak & snorkeling gear almost daily. We were even able to kayak all the way to the reef and see some amazing stuff out there! We hung out on the hammock under the house and watched the friendly people go by. On our first day there, we were hanging out under the house and bought burritos for lunch from "the burrito guy" who rides by on his bike. This turned out to be our daily ritual (he even brings delicious tamales upon request). What could be better?

A major highlight of the trip was a fishing and snorkeling trip with the neighbor Dive Master, Genie. We caught a bunch of fish (Snapper, Grouper), had a great time snorkeling, and then grilled up our fish for dinner! The best fish I've ever eaten...it was truly an amazing day!

Evenings we went on long walks at sunset and were escorted by dog friends, had a drink at nearby restaurants or grabbed food to grill for dinner at the Mata Grande store and even had at a BBQ there one afternoon.

I could go on and on about how amazing this trip was and how we enjoyed the Tree House, but all I have left to say is... when we left we started planning next year's return to the Tree House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you had a good time at the Tree House!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Didn't Perform As Advertised

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

The home was clean, and in a nice setting, except for the constant traffic of golf carts directly in front (between the porch and the beach).

The home was supposed to have a kayak. I re-confirmed that fact before renting. The kayak was there, but unusable. It had no seats. The owner called and promised that the seats would "...be there tomorrow." The seats never arrived. The barbeque wouldn't light. No explanations.

Be prepared to haul your luggage quite a distance. The boat ride from the airport ends at a long dock about 150 yards from the front door. There was no on-site person to assist with that chore. The only toilet in the home didn't flush properly, and it leaked onto the floor. Pair that with a handwritten message on a small wastebasket with a note to "put used toilet paper here," and you have an idea of the state of the bathroom. When I emailed the owner about the problem, she responded, "What can I say? It's part of the laid-back charm of Belize." Hardly...

Basically, this property has potential, the view was nice, and it was carefully decorated. But it was not yet ready to rent. I have used VRBO a dozen times, with great results and honest portrayals of the state of the properties. But not this time.

Owners response: I am sorry Mr. C. was dissatisfied. Unfortunately none of these issues were reported to the property management company during his stay or they would have been taken care of. There is someone available by phone 24 hours a day at the management company. They are VERY efficient and would have made sure any problems were solved. I personally called Mr. C. during his visit to ask how things were going, and he said “everything was fine”. After his return he emailed me and threatened that if I did not give him some money back he would write a scathing report.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

All you could want and more...

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

This is a great spot for privacy and convenience. It is a short boat ride to San Pedro, but is far enough out on the Caye to have as much quiet and relaxation as you'd like. The house is attractive and comfortable and well appointed for a short or long stay. The options for snorkeling/diving/kayaking and/or touring are all easy to arrange. I scuba dive,snorkeled, took a tour into Guatemala to see Tikal, visited a lovely spa down the beach and sat on the deck watching egrets feed near shore. I would recommend this lovely, easy getaway for anyone who wants to visit Ambergris Caye,Belize.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Treehouse is a real find!!!

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

Well-equipped, comfortable, classy and near scuba, snorkel & yoga. Perfect blend of privacy and activity. Recently remodeling has made this property a wonderful escape. Beautiful colors, new beds, wrap-around deck, sit atop kyak and boat dock are just a few of the bonuses. Dive master & tour guide extraordinaire lives one house over. Genie (Coral Belize Divers) will make your stay memorable! Try a spa day at the friendly Mata Chica Resort just a twenty minute walk away. On Saturdays, feast at the neighborhood B-B-Q at neaarby Mata Grande grocery store. This was the best vacation of my life and we have already booked for next year. Don't miss the Treehouse. So many of the N. Ambergris Caye are bigger than a couple or small family need, The right size, the best location---an amazing deal!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review