reviews for: listing #8243 - Newport, Rhode Island House rental

Beach View, Walk to Beaches and Famous Cliff Walk Mansions
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $2,200 /nt
    $2,000 - $5,800 /wk
    $6,000 - $24,000 /mth

sort by:

Charming, Large, Romantic Home

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Home was beautiful and in a location close to beach and access to everything you could need within walking distance...restaurants, beach, cliff walks and necessary stores (Cumberland Farms, Liquor Store, Coffee Shop etc.). Hosts were excellent and extremely helpful with many questions we had.
We rented for our son's University of Rhode Island graduation and it was perfect for our family and friend. Dining Room table sits 15 and was a great hub for us. Kitchen was great for cooking, well stocked and we cooked every day. The wrap around porch rockers and chairs were fantastic!
I would highly recommend this special house!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Congratulations to the URI Graduate. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Hedgegate. Go Rhody!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great House, Great Location!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We rented this house for the weekend and at the end of the stay none of us wanted to leave. The house is great for reunions and is in a great location. You will love this house which has a great porch and front/back lawn. I would recommend this house to friends and family alike. I hope to stay there again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are delighted you enjoyed your reunion at Hedgegate and look forward to seeing you next year.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Great fun stay!!

Located VERY close to the beaches and to everything else in Newport!

Jim is great to deal with and made my last min. request easy!

Awesome yard and porch. Kid friendly and great for large family gatherings!

Classic beach house...was VERY happy the Bead rooms had AC!!

I'll be back!

Peter

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are delighted you enjoyed your vacation week at Hedgegate of Newport. Look forward to seeing your family next year.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Our weekend at Hedgegate June 2012

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

This was the first time I have rented a property sight unseen and I was so happy when we arrived. Would definitely recommend to families, reunions, and wedding parties. Jim was personable and patient, answering all my questions and there were many. Property is beautiful, clean and well maintained. There is wonderful wrap around porch offering a great opportunity to relax and unwind. Family friendly yard and close proximity to the beach also a plus. Location is in close proximity to downtown Newport and sightseeing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We rented this house for the second time this year and had a wonderful experience again! Very spacious, close walk to the beach and the cliff walk, and just comfortable overall. We had a reunion with 6 couples and everyone had plenty of space to relax in. We grilled burger and hot dogs on the grill outside and relaxed on the patio out-front. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place for a large group!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are delighted you had a relaxing weekend at Hedgegate.

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Love it here!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We rented this house for the second time this year and had a wonderful experience again! Very spacious, close walk to the beach and the cliff walk, and just comfortable overall. We had a reunion with 6 couples and everyone had plenty of space to relax in. We grilled burger and hot dogs on the grill outside and relaxed on the patio out-front. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place for a large group!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

girls' getaway

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Our group of 12 women found Hedgegate to be the perfect location for our getaway weekend. The home was clean, spacious and well-stocked, and the wrap-around porch was our favorite feature — we enjoyed lots of wine and coffee in the rocking chairs, just watching the world pass by. The location was even better than expected — walking distance to restaurants and the water. Jim and Gail were organized, responsive and professional to work with, and we would be happy to recommend this destination to our friends. I was a bit nervous about only having two bathrooms for such a large group, but a few of the bedrooms had their own sinks, which made getting ready for dinner and bedtime a breeze.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday at Hedgegate.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Rental House with all the Comforts of Home!!!

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This was my 1st time renting a house for a getaway weekend. I was a bit nervous at first and didn't know what to expect. Jim was very understanding and accommodating when dealing with a 1st time renter.


Upon arrival, the house was beyond my expectations. The house was spacious enough for our large group and the location was amazing. Just minutes from one of the busiest beaches in Newport. It was unanimous we will definitely be back next year!! Thank you again for making out weekend away such a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Rental House with all the Comforts of Home!!!

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This was my 1st time renting a house for a getaway weekend. I was a bit nervous at first and didn't know what to expect. Jim was very understanding and accommodating when dealing with a 1st time renter.

Upon arrival, the house was beyond my expectations. The house was spacious enough for our large group and the location was amazing. Just minutes from one of the busiest beaches in Newport. It was unanimous we will definitely be back next year!! Thank you again for making out weekend away such a wonderful experience.

Owners response: We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hedgegate and look forward to you returning next year.

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Hedgegate was perfect

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

We had a family reunion over the Columbus Day week-end and staying at Hedgegate was perfect. The large back yard allowed us to sit in the sun and catch up, and the wrap around porch was perfect for eating meals outside when we wanted. We only had two questions of the Parente family, who were very friendly, and they were answered immediately. The location is perfect,with restaurants and a convenience store within a minute of the property. All of us, including young children, walked to Cliff Walk in Newport one day, which is a beautiful thing to do. A few of us got up early, walked two minutes to the beach, and watched the sunrise a couple of the mornings. We would highly recommend Hedgegate for families who want to use it as a beach location or one that allows you to get easily into Newport and all that beautiful town offers.

Owners response: We are delighted you enjoyed our summer home. Let us know if you would like to stay at Hedgegate in the future.

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Hedgate Stay

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

This house was the perfect place for our girls get away weekend. The house is perfect for large or small groups. We had 14 people stay for the weekend and everyone had a bed to sleep in!! The owners are incrediably nice!!! The house is in the perfect location. It not directly in downtown Newport but easily a short cabride or even a walk to downtown. it was nice to be close enough to get into town and nice to be able to get out of the busy downtown area to go to bed. And it is only 2 blocks from the beach. Sitting on the porch, you can see the water! We will def. be going back to Newport and renting Hedgegate in the future!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We agree Hedgegate is a special home and Newport is a special place.
Just voted top 10 most beautiful places in USA by Good Morning America!

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Great house!

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

This house had a great location. Just a short walk to the beach and Cliff Walk! The house was amazing. Plenty of sleeping room, a beautiful porch, lots of seating, and great well maintained front and backyards for outdoor activity. Lots of places to eat within walking distance, a grill in the backyard for when we wanted to BBQ, and a big kitchen with lots of room to cook. A short cab ride and we were shopping downtown. The owners were very helpful whether it was contacting them prior to the weekend with what we would need or when we arrived at the house. We were given great recommendations on where to eat and where to visit. This house was just what we needed for a weekend away! I would definitely rent again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone who is visiting Newport.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place for Anyone

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Labor Day weekend wedding celebration. We had 14 ppl, plenty of space for all, great wrap around porch, easy access to the beach, great yard for activities. Very responsive owners, we had an issue w/ dishwasher and they responded in a timely manner and were very easy to deal with through the entire process. Would recommend for any large groups!!

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review