reviews for: listing #82452 - Mesa, Arizona House rental

Desert Dream! The Perfect Family Getaway!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Boulder Mountain
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $925 - $1,995 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful vacation and fabulous house

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

The four of us stayed 7 days in this fabulous home and had a wonderful. The owners were very accommodating since our flight was delayed and we didn't get in till late Sunday. The home is wonderful and we enjoyed it almost as much as the wonderful weather in Mesa the week we were there. The owners were fabulous and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly Perfect!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We went all the way from Brazil to Mesa for a wedding. After 30 hours traveling we found a comfortable and beautiful house to get a good rest. Desert Dream was our home for 8 days where we could enjoy family and celebrate being together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This was my second time renting this property and once again I very much enjoyed the stay. My favorite part of this property is the lovely pool! It is perfect for sunning, the privacy can't be beat. We purchased a couple cheap floaties and had a great time sunning and splashing in the pool, the waterfall is a great feature, such a relaxing sound. I really appreciated the comfy new lounge chairs at the pool. My mother visited with me and she made the same comment I had during my first visit, she couldn't believe how quiet it was in this neighborhood. I also appreciated the wifi and that the home is pet friendly. This home owner has also been very easy to work with both stays.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Backyard

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Backyard is perfect, large deep pool, shade tree, when needed. Private!! The house is set up fantastic for anything you want to do. Open floor plan makes house fun and easy. RENT, RENT, RENT!! Before someone else does. Second year renting from this family(s) and the other house was hard to beat. This did!! I'll see you next year and I'm NOT leaving... :-)
BTW, we had a problem at the airport and these owners treated us with respect and understanding. Can't say enough good about them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly a Desert Dream! Great House, Beautiful Pool!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

This is a beautiful property. It's like having your own private resort. The privacy was amazing. We loved the views. The views of the mountains when the sun is coming up or going down is breathtaking. The house has everything you need to make your stay comfortable... including pool toys for the kids! The kitchen is well equipped and the house is very clean. The added bonus is the golf putting green, which kept the kids busy while their sunscreen was drying before they jumped in the pool each day. The pool patio furniture was nice. We enjoyed having our coffee outside each morning... so relaxing. The pool waterfall feature was really soothing. Loved the hot tub, too. We didn't want to leave the house to go sightseeing because the house and pool are so relaxing. We chose this house because of the photos & the reviews. The property manager, June and the property owner, Nancy were both very easy to work with. They are also very prompt in all communications. I can't wait to go back... We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Thank you, Thank you!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I have to agree, our home is like being in a private resort. With the neighbourhood being so nice and quiet, along with the privacy of the backyard, you could easily forget about the outside world.

Every detail that goes into planing and preparing for our guests is very important to us; we greatly appreciate when our hard work is acknowledged. We are also very fortunate to have a fantastic team in place, which includes our property manager June, who treats our home as she would her own, and our very efficient cleaning crew. They help ensure the best experience possible for our guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truly a "Desert Dream" !

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

For a month, we snowbirds enjoyed this beautiful home; it was all that we expected and more!
In a peaceful neighbourhood, we enjoyed breakfast by the pool, followed by putting on the golf
green before setting out each day. Usery Mountain Park was at our back yard, a fantastic place to hike while enjoying spectacular views. Lost Dutchman, just a short drive away, was another hiking favorite. The house is very spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the attention we received was prompt and considerate. You will not be disappointed at Desert Dream.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two senior citizens with small dog

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

We were very happy staying in Mesa and everything was as represented. Beautiful home with all emenities. We would rent there again in the future with our grand children in warmer weather.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely home over Christmas/ New Years. We enjoyed cooking together in the large kitchen, relaxing in the hot tub, and paying on the putting green. The large,comfy sofa in the family room was a real treat. It is extremely quiet here, and the stars are amazing at night.
Shopping, grocery stores, restaurants, golf courses, hiking, and beautiful lakes are all close by. This home truly is a desert dream.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Wedding Crashers

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

We highly recommend booking Desert Dream. The house was very clean and immaculate and the decore was beautiful. Beds were comfortable and the kitchen was stocked wilh all the immedities you need. Yard was spectacular. The house and yard were actually nicer than the pictures. Six adults went to Phoenix for a wedding and had more than enough room. We all enjoyed cooking in the lovely kitchen and loved eating our meals around the pool. The men loved practicing their chipping and putting before a round of golf. We all truly enjoyed the spa and pool.The owners and June were a pleasure to deal with and were very helpful in times of need.We all can't wait to go back and will definately book Desert Dream again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed our home and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home !

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Very nice vaction home! We stayed for 7 days and loved every minute of it. From the first email to the final refund, dealing with the owner was a pleasure.
The house was perfect for 5 golfers, we used the huge kitchen and the ouside grill several times during our stay. all the ammenities were great. Everything was described perfectly and if you do a little research you know the home is off the beaten path a little bit which was perfect for quiet nights and alot of rest! next time I will be in Mesa I will definently rent again from the owners again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. It's always a pleasure to work with guests who appreciate and acknowledge the amount of work that is required for everything to run smoothly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation home !

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Just a quick note on the home, it was a great place to spend the week. It was everything that the ad had said it was. Actually some of the pictures didnt do it justice. The house was very comfortable for 5 golfers and we used the huge kitchen and grill many times. From the time we arrived and met June to fill us in on the house to the time we left it was as good an experience as Ive had when renting a house. Dealing with the owner was very easy and a pleasure. Next time I am renting in Mesa I will definently try to rent from her again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Home and Location

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Our family of four spent a week in this spacious well appointed home. The pool and spa were definitely our favorite part and the back yard is "very" private, well kept and peaceful. The pool is large and deep which is great for older kids. The pool toys that are providied are a great bonus. We also appreciated all the extras that were left from previous guests. The owners are great to deal with and respond quickly to every concern and question. We are happy to hear the backyard lights are being fixed and the new master bed arrived while we were there so they really do listen to their guest's suggestions. The free wi-fi was a huge bonus and we had no problem with cell coverage while at the house. The house is in a gated community which makes it very safe and is a lovely neighbourhood. The house is a little bit away from everything but that makes it quiet and you are only a 10 minute drive away from great shopping and restaurants. We thought we would be too far away from everything being in Mesa and not Phoenix but Mesa is definitly the place to stay. Our only problem was finding a scorpion in our bedroom which freaked us out a bit but we realize these are common in the desert. We just want people to be aware that they are there and you should know what to do if you find one. Talking with the owners, it doesn't sound like this is common but maybe an FYI sheet would be a good idea. We would highly recommend this house to anyone and you will be very happy with your decision to stay here. The shopping is unbelievable and you could spend all day at the pool. We really didn't want to write a review as we don't want the house to be too booked up that a person can't rent it again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We will definitely make use of the FYI sheet suggestions by adding one to our Information Booklet at the house. It is always a bit unnerving to see a scorpion, especially when as Canadians we are unaccustomed to such species. Although our property is regularly treated for pests such as scorpions, ants and other critters that are found in the desert, they still manage to occasionally 'break in' mostly through open doors.
We always appreciate when our guests take the time to write a review, especially such positive ones; rest assured, even though our home is very popular and we have many bookings, we will always do our best to accommodate return guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Our family of 8 had a great stay in this beautiful home. The pool is great and very deep so it suited both the children and adults. The rest of the backyard and putting green was a lot of fun! The only downfall was the outside lights did not work consistently, so putting after dark was not possible. The location of this home is wonderful! Our morning walks through the neighborhood were great and we spotted several bunnies and lizards. Up the hill on the mountain is a great little hike up to a look out where you can see the valley, I recommend doing this for sure! Our favorite activity was the Salt River tubing, the river is less than 10 minutes up the street from the house! It was a blast. Working with the owners was very easy and they are quick and professional with response. I agree with the previous guest that the beds were very firm, specifically in the master bedroom, no one else in the family felt like the beds in the queen rooms were bad at all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for making us aware of the Malibu lighting problem, we are in the processes of contracting an electrician to do a complete overhaul of the backyard lighting to ensure this problem does not interfere with our guests enjoyment of the fantastic backyard.
We have also now been made aware by a couple of guests that the master bed is overly firm, that is too many! We are therefore making arrangements to have that mattress replaced with one of a more appropriate firmness which will hopefully ensure all of our guests are comfortable.
We always appreciate feed back and try to address any issues as quickly as possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Family

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

The pics of this property does not do the actual home justice. The owners were amazing to work with, from our opening email to our final goodbye they have been beyond professional. The beds were all very firm (I personally had back aches), but everyone in our family LOVED them. The kitchen was well equipped and there were also leftover items from previous families. I was pleasantly surprised to find salt - pepper and olive oil. Not to mention some shampoos etc., so before you go and load up make sure to check the pantry and fridge. The little things made me smile throughout my visit. The pool although looks small is a very nice size, we have 4 teenage boys and we all fit very comfortable. They also offered additional pool toys and floats. I guess the extras is what we found to be the most impressing. I would recommened this property and hope our review helps. That is what sold us in the first place and we can add our opinion with zero regret!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

I had never been to Arizona before so was not quite sure what to expect. This house certainly did not disappoint. It is as beautiful in person as it appears online. The backyard is extremely private and peaceful, perfect for tanning and relaxing in the sun. The home owner is extremely easy to work with and was very accomodating to my last minute reservation. I also appreciated that this home was pet friendly. Hope to return to AZ to enjoy the warmth and sunshine again (such a wonderful respite frome our chilly Washington weather!)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always nice to hear that a first time Arizona experience was a good one. We consider ourselves very lucky to own a home in such a beautiful part of the world. The privacy, tranquility and size of our backyard were huge factors when purchasing our home, and we love when our guests appreciate all it has to offer.
As pet lovers\owners ourselves, we completely understand that many travellers don't like to leave a member of their family behind when vacationing. It gives us pleasure to know that we have been able to offer comfortable accommodations to all our guests!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation House

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

My husband and I rented this house for our first ever extended vacation. We had our kids come down and join us for one week, and another couple join us for a different week. There was lots of room for everyone, including a baby - both in the house and in the yard.
The yard was truly spectacular, and we enjoyed every penny of heating the pool/spa. We went for a walk in the neighborhood every day with our dogs and it was such a beautiful place with all the desert washes.
It was close to everything we needed & wanted: golfing, shopping, a day trip to Sedona, Saguaro Lake, a boat tour of Canyon Lake, the Ghost Town, day trip to Cave Creek, Kartchner Caverns by Tuscon, as well as lots of R&R in the yard.
The house was fairly well appointed, and we loved having wireless internet to keep in touch with family at home. We also had no trouble with our cell phone reception as another review did.
We were only there a few days before we were already talking about renting the same house again next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are always very happy when our guests enjoy our home and everything it has to offer. Its proximity to so many interesting and beautiful sites is definitely one of its many special benefits. Thank you once again for taking such good care of our home during your stay, and for sharing how much you appreciated your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

January in Mesa 2012

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

The home is very nice and comfortable with a beautiful back yard, pool, spa, and putting green. Owners were good to work with. Internet was not working properly and they got it fixed. Location is nice and quiet. Only problem is cell phone service is pretty much not available. There is a land line for local calls. If cell service was better I would consider this rental again.

Owners response: We are happy you enjoyed our home and all it has to offer. It is unfortunate that your cell phone provider did not have a strong enough signal to provide you with adequate coverage while at the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

The house was exactly as listed and as seen in the pictures. The home is very spacious with an open design, well decorated with wonderful theater style seating in the den. The home had everything we needed. We spent as much time as possible around the pool in the mornings and evenings. The home is in a very quiet neighborhood with privacy for the pool and jacuzzi areas. The view of the desert and the nearby mountain ranges from the backyard are breathtaking. Close to all major shopping and entertainment areas. There is nothing I would change about our stay or the home. We had an amazing, relaxing vacation. Thank you for making it special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our clients' happiness is very important to us! We believe that our home is the ideal vacation home because of it's location The gated community is quiet and has so much to offer, including walking trails and amazing views. Our home's layout is perfect for families and\or couples travelling together; the privacy that the backyard offers is outstanding and allows our clients to thoroughly enjoy everything it has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Desert Oasis!!!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Wow! - One word to describe this awesome place. The house was large, clean and spacious. Our family of 5, including 3 tween/teen boys, loved the pool and backyard. The loft, with it's games table was a nice touch in this family friendly place. The kitchen was nicely stocked with basics and all of the bedrooms were very spacious. We have stayed in a number of other rentals and would highly recommend this place! The Bonner's were quick to answer questions and a pleasure to deal with. While in Mesa we did: a side trip to the Grand Canyon via Sedona, took in a Dimondbacks baseball game (the boys were thrilled with this!), a short jaunt to the Goldmine Ghost Town (and a great lunch in Tortilla Flats), a round of golf at Painted Mountain and of course Shopping!!! LOTS OF SHOPPING! The nice quiet neighborhood was appreciated and the ease to travel to nearby grocery, gas, and access to the 202 was perfect. A definite 5 + Stars for this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for being such great guests. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experience with potential vacationers. As vacation home owners we strive to make our guests feel at home, and we truly enjoy being able to share all our property has to offer. It always makes us happy when our guests have positive and enjoyable vacations. Looking forward to hosting you and your family again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

The property manager met us at the house promptly at our appt. time. She was friendly and gave us tour and showed us how the pool and stuff worked. From then on it was fun in the sun for our family of 7. The house is beautiful, comfortable, clean, and well kept. The house had everything we needed, dishes, laundry soap, etc. The house has a very private back yard with great mountain views. Getting around the valley was a breeze with the house being in close proximity to the loop. Shopping and dining were all withing a few minute drive. The property owner, Nancy, was great to deal with, she had great communication and refunded our damage deposit in a timely manner without any problems. I think this rental was well worth the money and would highly recommend the Desert Dream to any friend or family visiting the area. Our 5 children had as they would say "the best vacation ever!!!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review! We are always very happy when our guests have such great experiences and enjoy their vacation time in our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

The property manager met us at the house promptly at our appt. time. She was friendly and gave us tour and showed us how the pool and stuff worked. From then on it was fun in the sun for our family of 7. The house is beautiful, comfortable, clean, and well kept. The house had everything we needed, dishes, laundry soap, etc. The house has a very private back yard with great mountain views. Getting around the valley was a breeze with the house being in close proximity to the loop. Shopping and dining were all withing a few minute drive. The property owner, Nancy, was great to deal with, she had great communication and refunded our damage deposit in a timely manner without any problems. I think this rental was well worth the money and would highly recommend the Desert Dream to any friend or family visiting the area. Our 5 children had as they would say "the best vacation ever!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the Desert Dream

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

We were lucky enough to be the first to stay at the house and we loved it! Everything was great. It was new, clean, safe and close to the freeway and everything in the Phoenix area. The pool was great for our kids and family. We loved, loved, loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review