reviews for: listing #82479 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

WOW! Romantic, luxury, oceanfront fabulous hot tub and pool
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  east end, Grapetree
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,990 - $6,490 /wk

sort by:

Top notch place with top notch owners

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

Beautiful, comfortable and very well appointed. Can't say enough about the owners - they went over and above to make sure everything was perfect. We have travelled to many places and rented many homes - this was a very positive experience compared to the rest.

If you are in the mood for St. Croix, then don't hesitate to rent this condo -- you will not find a better place / experience on the island.

Thank you Dick and Marie for being such great hosts!

- Chris & Rachel & Bella Lea from Birmingham, AL

Owners response: Thank you Chris, we rank ourselves at the top of the available luxury condos to rent on the island! so glad you agree!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING villa with speculator views and amenities!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

The pictures do not do this villa justice! The views are speculator plus all the amenities you could want! We were looking for a place to get away and relax; this was the ideal place. There were days we never left. Our days were spent having peaceful mornings on the veranda and relaxing by the pool while listening to our favorite tunes through the entertainment center. The house was immaculate. The owners were wonderful! Since they couldn't be here when we arrived, they arranged for a good friend to meet us at the airport, who showed us to the grocery store and gave us a tour of the house. We also had a detailed guide for the house which was very helpful. They even provided us with a detail list of recommendations of restaurants and activities. The recommendations were excellent and exceeded our expectations by far. We went to Buck Island with Lew and did a tour of the island with Sweeny's Safari Tour. Both we highly recommend. We ate at Duggan's Reef, Blue Water Terrance, and Ziggy's. All had wonderful food! We both agree when we come back to St.Croix, this is the house we will be staying in again!

Owners response: Thank you so much, and this is what we aim for, the perfect vacation experience!! Return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise on earth?

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Bella Sera is as beautiful as the pictures show. The owners were attentive to our every need or request. Sitting in our luxurious bedroom with the ocean right outside the glass door provided an ambiance that was so restful, we could not have hoped for more. Our biggest complaint about the place was that we couldn't stay for a year or two. In 30+ years of traveling, this was the first time we did not want to get back to the comfort of our own bed. The pool provided hours of fun. The veranda provided a warm, comfortable place to bask in the sun. Even though the wind blew, it was still warm and because of the wind, almost bug-free. All the rooms were attractive, nicely furnished, with no visible flaws. The nearby restaurants served good food. Point Udall, the easternmost point of the U.S., is just down the road and has some nice views. While Bella Sera doesn't have a sandy beach on the property (that we saw), there are a number of beaches nearby. When we arrived, I wasn't feeling that great (fighting cancer), but by the time we left, I was feeling great. A week later, I'm still feeling great. Just what the doctor ordered.

Owners response: So glad that Bella Sera could be part of your cancer therapy....we have had many visitors talk about the "healing" nature of this beautiful spot, and it makes us so glad to have the opportunity to share it with others.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly Amazing Paradise

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful ocean front villa. The pictures on your website were incredible, but seeing it in person was truly amazing! Your decorations, furnishings and amenitiies are awesome as was our week vacation here in paradise!

In addition to swimming in your spectacular pool and sitting on the decks to enjoy the fantastic views and ocean breezes, we also took your advice and went deep sea fishing and snorkeling at the snorkel trail by Buck Island - great experiences both!

We definitley plan to return again, and we'll highly recommend renting your home to our family and friends.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving 2013

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We are going home so relaxed! Loved sitiing out on the covered gallery watching the water....the pool was so refreshing. We explored many quiet beaches. Had fabulous clear weather for our sail to Buck Island - a highlight of our stay.

Thank you for providing so much helpful information for enjoying St. Croix and your beautiful villa.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Private locked-gate, ocean front with private pool

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon the Villa was a great choice. It gave us the privacy we were looking for. Larry provided excellent customer service, when our flight was cancelled due to mechanical problems, he made the necessary contacts for car rental and pick-up. He met us at the airport, and showed us the way to the local grocery store and back to the airport to get our luggage, because it came on a later flight. Even though we arrived a day later than scheduled. The property was clean, and well taken care of, has everything in the villa that you could need.(arm chairs, coolers, grill, coffee pot) Larry was very helpful before we traveled with information on activities, restaurants and other island information. The pictures in the listing doesn't give the view justice, very beautiful. The villa pictures are accurate. I would highly recommend this villa to everyone. We went sailing to Buck Island, enjoyed the history of Christiansted, went to the harbor, Point Udall, Isaac Bay, Jack's Bay, Frederiksted, and toured the rum factories. Thank you Larry for everything, after a long day of traveling, your help got us through! Kimberly And Michael Brekken

Owners response: Thank you, Honeymooners!! We were worried that your honeymoon would be spoiled by all the airline and luggage problems, but we worked it all out and so glad to hear you had a wonderful time and that we were able to make things go smoothly once you got settled in!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Private Paradise

Review submitted: December 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

I planned this as a second honeymoon for our 25th anniversary. It was our first vacation sans kids in over 20 years. What a beautiful place. Just as the photos show. Skyline had our rental Jeep ready to go when we arrived. Larry's friend Meg met us and showed us the way to the villa, stopping for groceries along the way. Our mornings were spent having breakfast in the courtyard overlooking the Caribbean watching the clouds change color as the sun rose. Our first day we lounged in and around the pool without a care in the world. The next day we made the hike down to Issac's Bay. The beach and snorkeling were fantastic. While there we saw only three other couples. Larry's recommendations for food and fun are spot on although we found ourselves spending most of our time in our own private paradise (Villa Bella) and only left for dinner. We look forward to making it back to Bella Villa soon.

Owners response: Thank you, most often we are able to meet our guests at the airport as we live on island ourselves, but I am so glad Meg did a good job - she is a good friend and a wonderful host to visitors to our little island.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Bella Sera-beautiful and comfortable!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

I thought the pictures might have been touched up and that the house and pool wouldn’t be so fabulous. I was wrong…it was fabulous. We started and ended each morning on the balcony looking at the sea. Really comfortable balcony seating and tables. I even took a nap on the double lounger after a snorkel trip. (We snorkeled in Isaacs Bay, along the Diva beach, and at Buck Island. All were very good with healthy coral and a wide variety of fish. ) I wasn’t sure we’d even use the pool but it was great, and we splashed and floated around almost every day, listening to our favorite tunes on Pandora. The sound system was really good. And nothing could beat the hot tub in the evening, listening to the sea and watching the stars. The bedrooms had interesting décor, were large and very clean. The sheets and towels were so soft that I want them for my home. We didn’t cook every night, but when we did, the kitchen was such fun! Very upscale appliances and decorative, functional dishes and cookware. I especially loved the “on demand” coffeemaker and espresso machine, but my husband liked the grill by the pool. (He grilled a tuna he caught when we went deep sea fishing). Lots of seating for 6 for meals. We mostly ate in the kitchen at the marble-top table or by the pool, but the dining room was lovely as well, looking out on the koi pond and mermaids. We had one rainy day, but enjoyed ourselves playing scrabble (which was there) and watching movies on the very large screen (movies were also there). Of course the internet was fast all over the house, not that we were checking work emails. In fact, it came in handy when we asked the woman who met us at the airport how soon we should get back to the airport for departure. She answered the same hour! It was wonderful of the owner to arrange for her to meet us. She also took us to a grocery store the first night we got in so we could start the day well the next morning. The owner was also in contact through email if we had any questions, before, during and after our trip, and really helped to make everything a wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend to friends if they are going to the Caribbean.

Owners response: WOW! Thank you! It sounds like you had the perfect vacation. We do try to make sure you have one of the nicest villas you could possibly want, and nice amenities, but our service goes beyond that - to make sure you have the perfect vacation for whatever your needs or desires are. Sounds like we passed the benchmark we set for ourselves. Please return soon!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

There are no words....

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Those were my first words to the owner, Larry. I am a cautious person who uses reviews to determine destinations. After reviewing many many properties, Bella Sera was our selection. After spending 9 days there, I have no regrets and would change nothing. Our family enjoyed this paradise on this quiet little island. I travel 90% of the time and can be a very critical traveler. Everything was perfect. The house is absolutely amazing, the pictures, while beautiful, do not replace how spectacular the villa is in person. It appears that previous travelers leave, borrow and pay it forward when it comes to bar & kitchen items such as spices, condiments, alcohol ...etc, with that, if you choose to cook dinners there, you only need to buy your food. We had everything we needed for several dinners.

We all felt that we had a luxury hotel at our disposal, it was quite nice. Airy verandas everywhere, gorgeous pool and hot tub. Many breezy places both in and out of the sun. Lots of books read and lots of cocktails consumed while enjoying an amazing view of the water.

Enjoy the island! We were a bit disappointed in Christiansted but enjoyed traversing the island many times. We snorkeled with Captain Lewellyn, an experience I would not change, he is an amazing man as was his brother. We also listened to his music at Cheesburgers on Sat night. One of our highlights is hiking down to Isaacs...we were at this beautiful white strand of beach for nearly four hours with not another soul in sight, we had the beach completely to ourselves, unheard of anywhere. Enjoyed putt putt and East end pizza. Loved Ziggys for parking lot beer and quick food. Of course, did both rum tours, Captain Morgans & Cruzan, completely different but both very enjoyable. Especially Cruzan and Michelle M, an Ohio State Alumni hostess! Spent most of the rest of the time enjoying beautiful Bella Sera and the views she offers. The only downside, and I mean this sincerely, is despite lots of bug spray, if you are outside in the evening at the time of year, be prepared. I had lots and lots of bites during the week and itched like crazy, my husband had none. Just prepare and be aware.

I cannot recommend Bella Sera enough and selfishly want to keep it all to myself. We hope to make this an annual retreat. Larry is a great communicator and made many things much easier.Thanks to Larry & Peggy & Meg for a wonderful, memorable adult family vacation.

Owners response: Omigosh, thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your nine day stay at our paradise.

We rarely have bugs, and as you know we leave instructions just to leave all the windows and doors open all day when you are not using the A/C because it is such a great breeze off the sea, and usually virtually bug free ( we have houses in buggy Minnesota and Florida and there is no comparison!! ha, ha!!) . Unfortunately you came just after a three month drought and we have had a foot of rain deluge the week before your arrival...extremely unusual - the rain, not the drought, but we left lots of mosquito spray as we were worried about the night time mosquitoes. Also your being from Arizona, this must have been a huge surprise, Arizona has got to be the most mosquito free state in the country!! I do believe most visitors will find few bugs to worry about.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Caribbean Winter Vacation !! 5+ STARS!

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Thanks Peg and larry. This was truly peaceful Caribbean luxury. Even though you have the most gorgeous home ever, it is so casual and comfortable, that we felt right at home here. We had so many moonlit nights in the hot tub, lazy afternoons around the bar and more fond family memories than we have had for a long time.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Most, Amazing Place We Have Stayed

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

Bella Sera was a beautiful and amazing villa! Our family enjoyed every minute we were there. The villa is beautiful with no amenity spared from the fully loaded kitchen to the amazing guest rooms. The sound of the ocean and breezes blowing thru the house were amazing and constant. I can't say enough about the beauty of the location. The pool area is amazing and the kids spent hours on the water slide and pool toys and hot tub. The boys enjoyed the house and the villa as much as we did. From feeding the goldfish to the birds, a definite treat and just being there. They asked us how we could ever find a better place.

Views are amazing from everywhere. Breathtaking !! The owners pick you up and bring you to the house. Their recommendations on restaurants, snorkeling and deep sea fishing were the best. They are amazing hosts. I would recommend this property to anyone and already have! We rarely return to places, as there are so many places to visit, but there is no doubt we will be back.

i can't say enough. Gorgeous and amazing place!!

Owners response: Thank you and we are delighted your family had a great time. My reward for the hard work getting the villa ready is when we walked in the door and your son looked around in amazement and said "Mom, you did really good, this is the best place ever!" Please return soon!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Virgin Islands Paradise!

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Bella Sera, was by far, the most wonderful vacation home we have ever experienced! The home is totally furnished with everything you could possibly need. Everything was very clean and maintained. All that we were told about the property was true and accurate. It easily accommodates 6, with three bedrooms that have ensuite bathrooms. We were greeted at the airport, taken to our rental cars, and even escorted to the grocery store before being taken out to our home in Paradise. The home is very large, with many terraces to sit outside and enjoy the ocean waves, sunsets or to have a bite to eat. The kitchen is totally equipped with all you will need if you choose to eat in. The pool, hot tub, and veranda with pool bar, was our favorite spot. Many pool toys and loungers are available for use. The temperatures were 84 every day and low 70's in the evenings, with sun, sun, sun! The trade winds give way to a breeze that keeps you very comfortable. A/C was always available, but not really needed. Beaches are within walking distance when you want the sand between your toes!
The island has a lot to offer and explore. Rum factory tours, hiking in the rain forest, sailing excursions, casino, nice restaurants and shopping, just to mention a few of the things available on the island. We would highly recommend this property to anyone who is truly looking for a relaxing, laid back vacation, with all the comforts of home at your fingertips. Thanks to the owners for sharing their beautiful home with all of us. We will definitely be returning!!

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words, we work hard to make sure all guests feel very much at home and we LOVE sharing our dream villa - Bella Sera by The Sea. Please return soon.

I should also mention that this group consisted of 8 adults, but we have two quality air beds with head boards that are not bad for adults, and just perfect for a couple extra kids.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fabulous Christmas by the Ocean

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

7 members of my family spent 10 days over Christmas at Bella Sera and it was the most phenominal time we have ever had. This was our third Christmas vacation to the Virgin Islands and by far Bella Sera exceeded all of our expectations. Larry and Peggy meet us at the airport and welcomed us into their home and showed us how everything worked before departing. Pictures do not clearly show the beauty and unique characteristics of this lovley villa. The views are breathtaking. Listening to the waves crashing onto the rocks day or night makes you forget about anything else. Watching the sun rise over the ocean while sitting on the vernada is the only way to start the day. Every day my family used the pool,the hot tub and the water slide. This was one of the highlights of the villa. You could spend every day just around the pool, but exploring the rest of the island is also a must.

We went out to Buck island and snorkeled the National Park reef, went scuba diving which was beyond any of the other islands we have visted. Larry recommeded several resteraunts and we tried almost all of them. I can honestly say each of the meals exceeded our expectations.

The villa was exceptionally designed. The gourmet kitchen was fully equipped and a great place to enjoy family meals. Having the bedrooms seperated from the living area allowed everyone not be be disturbed either at night or in the morning.

Larry and Peggy were always accessible and returned our calls immediately when we had a problem with the wireless network, which was a simple solution. The Christmas decorations, nativity scenes, trees and lights just added to the spendor of Bella Serra. We cannot thank them enough for this added touch.

This Christmas will be remembered for a long time by my whole family.

Owners response: Christmas is a special time at Bella Sera and so glad you could enjoy this all with your family! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Vacation of a lifetime

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

When we were shopping for a vacation rental on St Croix I could not believe my eyes when I came across the listing for Bella Sera. It was absolutely everything I was hoping to find! It was a little bit more money than I was planning to spend but when I saw the pictures of the rentals that were in my targeted price range they were so bare and just kind of sad, like an apartment that no one really bothered to furnish. This place was definitely worth the little bit extra. This is a home, not just a rental. The kitchen is fully stocked with anything you might need to cook a tasty meal, and the owners don't mind if you use a bit of oil or spice from their supplies. The same goes in the bar where you will find quite a collection of bottles that I call "the ghost of vacations past" I know we left a few half full bottles of liquor to add to the collection. Not saying you should not buy your own, but if you need just a shot or two for a special recipe it's not a problem.
From the moment we booked I began to get emails from the owner full of helpful information about where to eat, what to do, how to rent a car, and how to operate the amenities of the house like the waterfall and the hot tub. He also gave me a tip about a local grocery that will prestock the house with food and liquor before you arrive, which turned out to be a godsend when we arrived at 8:30 pm starving from a day spent hopping from plane to plane and eating airport sandwiches.
We had a fabulous time laying our pale ohio winter skin out in the sun on the super comfy deck chairs, feeding the sugar birds on the breakfasting porch, and posting pictures of the house on facebook till our friends were sick of our boasting.
You will LOVE staying here, but don't forget to leave once in awhile to explore the island! You must take a boat trip out to Buck Island, the reef is lovely and the beach out there is breathtaking. If you are up for an adventure take 63 around the west end of the island to Hams Bluff and check out the tide pools. When the big waves break against the rocks and your pulse starts to race you will know why it is worth the drive. (watch for hermit crabs, there were thousands of babies in all different shells if you stand still and look)
This place was all it was advertised to be and more and I would recommend it without hesitation!

Owners response: Thank you!! we especially enjoy having families here at Bella Sera, and we were so pleased to have yours. (I think this is the record longest review anyone has written, but thank you for the kind words)....we work hard to make each group's vacation very special and we are so glad we obviously succeeded.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Surpassed expectations !!!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

Just returned after 10 day stay at this impressive villa. Met at airport by owners and oriented to villa and all the amenities. Very electronic friendly with high speed wi-fi accessible throughout property. Amazing audio/video set-up that can pipe music inside/out with custom volume controls. Includes 80 inch LCD with Netflix, Pandora, Sirius, DISH and more. Especially relaxing pool/spa/waterfall with large outdoor pavillion next to pool complete with wet bar and BBQ. Had visiting massage service in shade of pavillion with great music and sound of waves crashing on rocks below, amazing. Exceptional design, decor and furnishings including very well equipped gourmet kitchen. Stunning views, night and day, from nearly every step inside and out. MBR is a retreat within paradise.
Owners were very accessible by phone and email with quick responses to any/all questions. This is an exceptional value when comparing amenities against cost and limitations of 3 hotel rooms.
I recommend this experience highly. My wife and I along with 4 guests enjoyed every minute on the island, but found ourselves very happy to stay put at the villa many days. Snorkel trip to Buck Island is a must (Captain Westerman). Nearby restaurants were exceptional, especially South Shore Cafe and Galleons. A bit further to Savant's, but probably best dinner for the trip.

Owners response: Hi Andrew and family,

Thanks so much, we find so many of our guests also decide they will spend most of their time at the villa as it is a fabulous place just to relax. Glad you got to spend some time with Lewellyn at Buck Island, a trip you do not want to mis!! Thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful Ocean Front Paradise

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

This was our first trip to the Virgin Islands and this villa made our trip exceptional. The house is well-appointed and has every convenience. The cliffside views of the ocean are outstanding. There is a path on the property that gets you down to the water and we even snorkeled there! It is located in a very nice area of the island with easy access to food and shopping. The onsite pool and hot tub are wonderful for all ages (there is no "deep end" so this pool is great for families with younger children or less-experienced swimmers). The gourmet kitchen is a treat to work in. You can even see iguanas in the surrounding trees! The property is well-maintained and the owners are very accommodating and easy to contact with questions. Two thumbs up!

Owners response: We never get tired of this view ourselves! It was our pleasure to share this with your family. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A Lovely Home

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Bella Sera is a gorgeous home nestled into the cliffs on the South East end of St. Croix. The breezes from the sea were just fantastic! Larry was very responsive and just a quick email away during our stay. We had some trouble with the TVs, but did not miss them at all. Larry was very helpful with fixing them. We just enjoyed the time sitting on the veranda, listening to the sea crashing on the rocks below and just catching up as a family.

We started each morning with breakfast on the veranda. It was very nice to have the kitchen there to make meals. We cooked most meals at the house, which saved us money. The grocery stores were fairly close by and easy to get to. We were also able to pre-stock the villa, so that there was already some food in the house when we arrived. This worked out well because our flight arrived very late at night and we didn’t have to run to the store for food. The house is situated for easy access to Christiansted, shops and restaurants.

The pool was great as a way to relax and cool down. My husband, sister and I all enjoyed the water slide. You're never too old to enjoy a water slide! The bedrooms were perfect to accommodate our family. It was nice that we all had our own room and bathroom. The property was well maintained and clean. We enjoyed exploring the beach below the house and watching the pelicans dive for food.

Our friends and family can't believe the pictures that we took of the house and the view. It is truly a magnificent home. Overall, we had a great experience and would certainly recommend this home to others.

Thank you Larry and Peggy for sharing your home with us!

Owners response: Thank you, we are glad your family had an enjoyable time, and yes, yeou are never too old to enjoy the water slide!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

This is it!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

This is the perfect location for a family vacation. The house is immaculate, and every conceivable amenity is available. Larry and Peg could not have been more gracious and helpful. They even met us at the airport, showed us to the villa, and explained where everything was. If I had a question, I just emailed Larry, and I've have an answer in minutes. The kids were begging us to stay longer. There are a lot of great restaurants close by, and most are kid friendly. The views from the villa are simply amazing. We highly recommend Bella Sera, and can't wait to come back again.

Owners response: Troy and Tori,

We so much enjoy sharing Bella Sera with families and we were so glad to have yours, I am glad the kids had a good time...we have found that a vacation at Bella Sera is a special time that brings a family together with lifetime memories.......return soon!!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Magnificent Villa

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

This was our second time to St Croix and our 7th stay at an ocean-side villa for Spring Break. We have stayed at a lot of lovely places and can say that Bella Sera is really exceptional. The house is beautiful, expansive, and well-appointed. The villa has everything you can possibly need, and cooks will be thrilled. You will find yourself living outside – the pool area and the balconies are set up so you can be comfortable reading, dining, or entertaining in various areas overlooking the stunning coastline. The light breezes off the water kept us comfortable outside all day. The pool, with the waterfall, the views from the spa, and the koi pond are even lovelier than they appear on the website.

Bella Sera has a very private feel. There is one other villa in view but it is far enough away and was very quiet the entire time we were there.

We enjoyed being able to walk with our 13 and 16 year olds down the path next to the house to snorkel in front of the villa. Younger kids can enjoy the pool and the wonderful beaches nearby. A couple minutes down the road will take you to a resort beach (Divi) or a quiet residential beach (Grapetree). With younger kids, you might prefer to stay somewhere with a sandy beach and a larger grassy area but I don’t think you will find anything close to as lovely, inside and out, as Bella Sera.

The Meyers provided great information on dining and activities on the island. They were available to answer any questions we had. One thing that is really great about St Croix is that it is large and diverse enough that you can spend a week exploring it. You can enjoy the beaches of the West End, lunch at a beachside café, and then snorkel the pier at Frederickstadt. You can enjoy the surf and dive the wall at Cane Bay, then have lunch followed by a hike in the rain forest. For totally different terrain, you can drive to the easternmost part of the US and hike to the beach along a sandy, cactus-lined trail. On St Croix, every day you can find a new beach, a new place to snorkel, and a new place to dine.

Owners response: We are so glad you and your children had a special time at our very special villa. The second villa that you see from Bella Sera is actually the first ocean front villa we built! - Paradise Point, but as you say, it is quite a distance away and the only villa in view. these are the only two villas on Grapetree Point We loved this area so much that when we decided to build a second one, it had to be right here on GrapeTree Point.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

CanĀ“t wait to stay again!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We had such a wonderful time the week we spent at this villa. It has such beautiful views and so many outdoor seating areas. I love the location on the island because it is private, yet just a short drive away to great eating and some shopping. Our favorites were Duggans and Cheeseburger in Paradise. I also loved having the option to eat in, and cooking in the gorgeous kitchen at the home was such a treat!
We spent most our days around the pool and the outside covered terrace was so nice because we wanted to be outside, yet limit our sun intake during peak hours. Our kids loved the waterslide! My personal favorite was the hot tub in the evenings with a piña colada (thanks for the bottle of cruzan rum!!) and just listening to the ocean waves. Our family also enjoyed the selection of music, movies, books and board games. There was something for all of us.
The villa is clean and everything is very well maintained. The furniture inside and out is so plush and comfortable, and the gardens are so beautiful! The intercom/paging in the phone system was so useful because the house is large, and saved me from walking all around to find everyone. There are so many details like this in the villa, that I would not have thought of, but were really great to have.
We have stayed at other villa rentals that have been nice, but not exactly like the pictures or what we expected. I have to say that this villa is exactly like the pictures and even more wonderful in person. We are looking forward to going back again soon!

Owners response: Gracias!!

We worked hard to create the absolute perfect tropical getaway for families, so it is wonderful to know all our hard work is appreciated.

Hasta la vista ! Return soon to Bella Sera!!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Bella Sera :: Island Paradise

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

This beautifully designed and brilliantly decorated villa is truly a dream. So large and comfortable throughout, it is sincerely an Island Paradise. We loved having breakfast on the terrace or grilling out downstairs on the grand patio. The pool is amazing and extremely well-cared for. The vegetation all around the villa is gorgeous. Listen to the ocean from any room, feel the salty breeze on your face. But it's not just the place that is wonderful it's also the owners, Peg and Larry. They were so helpful and kind prior and during our stay. Any questions we had they were quick to answer and ensured we would enjoy our time there. Which we did, every breathtaking moment.

Thank you Peg and Larry! The memories will last a lifetime! Cheers!

Michelle and Jesse

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Springbreak 2012!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

The pictures do not truly capture the beauty of this villa and the landscape surrounding it. Oceans views and sounds from every room and each room has an exquisite beauty of its own. Each day we noticed details we had not previously noticed. The kitchen was a dream, the sugar birds amazing and we would argue whose turn it was to feed the Kois.

The pool and waterfall were incredible, day or night. The outdoor living space was just as amazing as the indoor spaces. From the moment Larry met us at the airport, and then meeting Peg, we knew we had new friends for life. What gracious people to share their dream home with others.

Another highlight of our stay was with Llewellyn's boat charters to Buck Island. He and his captain were knowledgeable, entertaining and related so well to the teenagers in our group. If anyone visits St. Croix, look up Llewellyn, you will not be disappointed!

Thanks Larry and Peg for a once in a lifetime experience!!

LK

Owners response: "Thanks, Linda,

We were happy to have you and your family visit. The koi looked very fat and contented when you left, so you did a good job. We very much enjoy sharing this little "shangrila" with others who are looking for a dream vacation in the Cartibbean"

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Best place in St Croix to stay.....Better than the Hotels!!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We had a great time.Owner was extremely accomidating and was attentive to any concerns we had.First class property with top of the line ammenities

Would not hesitate to rent this again in St Croix if I was to return.

Thanks Again

JW

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a fabulous time we had!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

We had such a great time, it was hard to move away from the pool. My daughter must have gone down the water slide a million times. She loved it and is begging to come back. Besides the beautiful and luxurious accommodations, we loved visiting the nearby beaches,and waking to the awesome view outside our oceanfront bedroom windows. And of course there were the dancers and crab races and fun times at the nearby Divi resort.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Bella Serra ~ simply a lovely island paradise!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

Our day visiting in this incredible, breath-taking villa was just delightful. Larry and Peg are exceptional hosts, with every detail so carefully thought out that we were enthralled. Every window offers ocean views that are simply extraordinary. The gardens, koi pond, pool, and waterfall offer an enchanting and peaceful escape. We enjoyed a relaxing visit on the expansive veranda, and meandered across the charming bridge to discover the unique sleeping quarters. Expansive, spacious rooms are each uniquely designed with wonderful themes ~ splash with the dolphins, delight with sea turtles. We hope to return and spend a week in this incredible estate! The design is so private it feels as if you are on your own secluded island. We’ve visited numerous Caribbean islands, but this is by far the prettiest.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

The best vacation rental ever

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Our family vacationed at Bella Sera for one month in May-June of 2010. This property is as beautiful as the pictures. The kids loved the pool and can't wait to return to try the waterslide. We loved watching the sea turtles from the deck and going to the shore to collect shells and snorkel. During the full moon the night view is like no other. My husband caught lobster right off shore which we grilled for dinner several evenings. One of the best beaches on St. Croix is only minutes away. The owners of this property spared no expense in creating this amazing villa. This property is so peaceful and beautiful. Definately the best place to stay on St Croix!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Exquisite luxury and Gracious Host and Hostess!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We highly recommend this lovely property. The owner's took great care in designing and building this dream home and open it up for others to enjoy it on the East End of St. Croix. The view from the Villa is spectacular. The Pelicans flew by to see us every morning on the balcony as we had our coffee. It is peaceful and relaxing. Yet, within minutes of dining out or the grocery to pick up last minute items.
The owner's even picked us up at the airport in St. Croix and delivered us to our car rental site and insured we made it to their Villa before packing up and leaving for their vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, yes it is so peaceful and lovely here and we are so delighted to share our dream home with others.....thank you for the nice gifts you left, totally unexpected, and please return soon!!

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

When you arrive you will be planning your return!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

Bella Sera is by far my favorite vacation spot. This is our 4th trip of 2 weeks each and it is never enough. Walking up the entrance and opening the front door of the villa is an experience in itself. Larry and Peg are Phonomenal. The beauty and warmth surround you. I felt like I was stepping into my own private, tropical paradise. There is a chef's ktichen with your many choices of dinning areas, a large dinning room overlooking the pond and tropical gardens or my favorite, the veranda overlooking the ocean. Bridges and walkways lead you to the vas Caribbean bedroom areas with private balconies and patios within feet of the ocean. There is nothing like waking up to the sunrises and sounds of the tropics and constant soft trade winds. There are many island activities to partake in, shopping, dining, snorkeling, scuba diving, deep sea fishing, rain forests, local history and sea turtle preserve but my favorite is relaxing at beautiful Bella Sera. The verandas stretch the length, giving full ocean landscape to early morning sunrises with fresh cappuccinos to sunsets with island cocktails. You can explore the cliffs below, find your own secluded beach or totally relax poolside. Sit in the pool by the waterfalls sigpping your favorite island beverage or explore your inner child by enjoying the water slide and spashing into the pool, all in total privacy. There is a large open pavilion and bar area with grille for lunching or nightly entertaining. At night you can engage in the romantic atmosphere of the cliff side hot tub, star gazing to the wondrous background music of the rolling ocean waves. By far this is my favortie. Leaving left me a little sad but also excited and already planning our return. It is too good for words. I can hardly wait to come back!!!! I would recommend this to everyone, clean, beautiful, excellent service and owners. There is none better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: These folks rented three times from us , next door at our old vacation home, Paradise Point and this was their first time at this house. Paradise Point is no longer a rental, we had 300 weeks of rent at that phenomenal villa over ten years, but we decided to "step it up" on this one! Anyone who has loved visiting Paradise Point will especially love this one!!

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Bella Sera is impressive

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

We spent 10 days in this beautiful villa and hope to return, for many reasons. First, this house is both grand and comfortable. It is open and airy. We tended to use air-conditioning only in the bedroom – the rest of the house remains cool from the sea breeze and the sounds of the ocean and fountain are always soothing. The views are spectacular both sunrise and sunsets are amazing. While we found many great restaurants, using the gourmet kitchen is fun. We suggest breakfast on the gallery style veranda just off of the kitchen, lunch and maybe cocktails poolside in the covered pavilion, and dinner in the living room. (We didn’t use the formal dining room, but it is lovely.)

The pool is wonderful, and kid friendly. You can relax in it or swim laps easily. The house lends itself to relaxation, so even with the range of things to do and see in St. Croix and the adjacent islands, it is wonderful to just spend some time with good books, music and the wonderful, tropical surroundings at Bella Sera.

The owners are easy to work with and very accommodating. They provided a good list of restaurants, shopping and sightseeing suggestions. They even had helpful hints regarding driving on the left and St. Croix traffic.

St. Croix is a wonderful place. It is truly a get-away, with natural beauty, peace and quite yet plenty to do. The beaches are beautiful, the snorkeling is fantastic, fishing is good and the food choices are excellent. There are places to explore (hiking trails included) and the people are warm and welcoming. A variety of nightlife is available for those who want to get out. We were actually able to attend a concert at a historic plantation that was a special treat. We enjoyed the shopping because there are many artisans who sell original work with a range of prices – paintings, prints, jewelry, glass and pottery – even clothing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Pat and Dave for the nice comments and so glad you enjoyed everything. Come back again when the weather gets cold up north, which should start any time now!

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review