reviews for: listing #82489 - Indian Pass, Florida House rental

The Club House-RELAX AND REFRESH
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $175 /nt
    $750 - $900 /wk
    $1,300 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful and secluded

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We are from Wisconsin, but for two years escaped the winter months at Club House. What a treat.
The Pass is a sliver of land that time forgot, wedged between the Gulf and Indian Pass lagoon, and situated about half-way between Port St. Joe and Apalachicola. There you will find restaurants and shops (the Indian Pass Raw Bar is at the head of the Pass).
Bob and Janna, the owners, built Club House with love and care from local woods. We are fond of its secluded setting among pines and saw palmettos. The lagoon, with its breathtaking tranquility, is just down a gravel driveway, and the beach easily reached by walking down the road.
Housekeeping is immaculate. Finding dust and dirt at Club House is guaranteed to be a challenge (except, of course, for what you track in.)
The living area has a contemporary sofa and matching seating pieces; these are very comfortable. There are several charming antiques, the sort of sturdy furniture passed down in families. The bedrooms have many built-ins (by Bob) providing ample storage. Convenience reigns in the bathrooms (plenty of storage, towel bars and hooks). (They are handicap accessible.)
The nights are deep and dark, and the stars dizzying. This is not the land of flip flop shops and water park: come here to enjoy nature, walk the beach, gather shells, watch birds, fish.
Bob hunts and fishes; Janna protects turtles and wildlife. They are friendly, well-versed nature lovers and will answer any questions you may have about the Pass and things to do. (We consider them among the greatest assets of Club House.)
I should add that if you are seeking adventure, St. Vincent Island is off the tip and can be reached by kayak. If you are like us, you will get the ferry to take you over. The island is a wild, extraordinary place…come prepared!
I have not checked off "families with teenagers" below only because the Pass is quiet in winter…we are less familiar with it in summer, when there is more activity. And, of course, much depends on the teenager in question, so use your own judgment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You have captured the essence of Indian Pass! Our type of beach community is becoming harder and harder to find these days. We wanted to share that family shell collection, and what better place than the family china cabinet. While the beach is the main draw here, it is hard to beat the tranquility of the Lagoon. We love our home area and love to share it with others. Thank you for such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you again, and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home...

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

Such a comfortable and beautiful place to stay- our 11 and 6 year olds thought the house was 'so cool'. Very well stocked with really wonderful owners who were a pleasure. Plan on going back in May next year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's a great area for a family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Scott. I think those boys are pretty cool themselves. We look forward to seeing y'all next May.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt at home.

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Thank you for your hospitality. We felt at home. What a wonderful place! Blessings to you both.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the dock and crab traps

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

We enjoyed the house so much. Thank you for all of your hospitality. We enjoyed the dock and crab traps. You have a beautiful place here. We hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The two places side by side worked out great.

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Thank you so much for an awesome place to enjoy while out wiht the family. The two places side by side worked out great for the amount in our party. Your husband is a true pleasure and a true blessing. God bless you both.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very peaceful.

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

Thanks for a very cool place to stay! We loved it> very peaceful here and loved the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a blast!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

The Griffin Georgia girls had a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just not what we expected.....

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We arrived on Sun., July 21, 2013 and stayed only about 30 minutes.
The yard and areas around the Club House were not pleasing. Lots of brush and growth surrounding the area. Lots of items all around the backyard area near the 'fish cleaning station'.
Did not expect a wood workshop to be attached to the house.
Could not even see the beach from the house. Not even sure how far away from the beach the house was located.
The house was clean but the living area furniture is very worn and tired.
Would have been very uncomfortable to have small children around the house.
I'm sure the Club House is a great place for some but it just was not what we expected, therefore, we just forfeited our full payment and had to go elsewhere for our vacation and just make the best of it!!
The owner was very nice and personable during the time we discussed renting her property.

Owners response: I am so sorry that the Club House was not to your liking. Thank you for your comments. We take all comments seriously and strive to correct any mistakes we may have made. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our best vacation ever...

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

The house was lovely, a little further from the water on both sides than we expected but nonetheless a great experience. Owners were extremely friendly and concerned with our satisfaction on a daily basis. We really had a wonderful time and are certain that we will return. The house was clean, well-equipped, and as homey as a vacation home can be. We fished from the dock daily and rode bikes to the beach. We also kayaked in the lagoon alongside dolphins and redfish. I would recommend bringing a bike to ride to the beach and stocking up on groceries(which is the awesome part of Indian Pass, no crowds or businesses!)
We also went to St. Joseph State Park which is a must for anyone visiting this area! This location is ideal for anyone who wants to enjoy nature, peace and quiet, family time, and private pet friendly beaches.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Amy, for such a nice review. We do try to give our best and see to the needs of our guests, while not being intrusive. And, for leaving the house in such nice, tidy condition. That really helps us to have the time, in a tight turn around, to do the deep cleaning and restocking that we like to do. We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's finally warm!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Great time-even if the weather was a little cool. Believe it or not there are still shells on the beach (i.e. Mary did not collect ALL of them). See you next year. You've been great hosts. It's hard to leave as it's finally warm!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Without doubt, we will be back."

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We can't express how much we enjoyed our stay at the Club House. Everything was fantastic and we could't have asked for more. Janna and Bob, you were wonderful hosts and we consider you friends. Without doubt, we will be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Peaceful and Quiet"

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us visit in your lovely Club House. Our week here has been so peaceful and quiet. You guys are awesome.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A love for the land, critters, and a slower pace"

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Our stay here was more than I could have imagined. Your warmth and generosity made us feel welcome and a part of Indian Pass. I'll always smile remembering my first redfish caught by myself while still in my pajamas. Your home, the Club House, is beautiful. We felt we were at home here. My brother is still talking about the carrot cupcakes. We finally met the gator our last night there. The "Forgotten Coast" of Florida is a special place with a love for the land, the critters and a slower pace. The time I spent with my brother was so special. Thank you both for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had to come back again.

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Had to get another dose of Indian Pass. Enjoyed ourselves as always. Celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary here. The cupcakes were delicious.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

My husband and I rented Club House for January and February, 2013. We could not have chosen a better spot for ourselves and our two dogs.
From the instant we arrived, it was plain that our hosts, Bob and Janna, care devotedly for the house. It was absolutely clean, organized and tidy. It is also lovely, painted in soothing colors, and decorated with taste. There is a perfect mix of interesting antiques and older prints and modern, comfortable pieces.

My husband and I travel with our dogs, and occasionally we have found that houses and rooms that are dog friendly are a bit shabby, or less than sparkling clean. I am particular about cleanliness, and report happily, that Club House is immaculate.

The house itself has a secluded feel. It was built with talent and care, with many interesting details that are pleasant to discover over time.

If you have not been to Indian Pass, you are in for a treat. The beach is a short walk away, and it is absolutely beautiful. There are dolphins, varied birds, and many, many seashells. Most times, you will have it to yourself. The skies are gorgeous, and the nights are deep and dark. Time passes with a serenity that is supremely comforting and satisfying. Most often, the only sounds are the surf, and the cries of birds, beginning with a little songbird who announces daybreak.

Apalachicola and Port St. Joe are nearby. Each of these towns has its own character and appeal, whether it be oyster bars, shops, libraries.

Finally there are two spectacular parks within a short distance. One is on the tip of Cape San Blas, and the other on St. George Island. Again, each has it's own character, but both offer abundant light, beach, hiking trails. The Buffer Preserve and Salinas Park are even closer, and these also are beautiful. For more adventure, the St. Vincent Island Preserve abounds with wildlife of all sorts, including sandbar deer, feral pigs, snakes, alligators, etc.

Finally, the hosts are friendly but never intrusive. They are thoughtful, caring people from whom my husband and I have learned a lot. Our stay at Club House has been delightful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! What a review...I want to stay there :) . Thanks for such a wonderful review. It's so nice to know our efforts are noticed by our guests. Your descriptions of the area are spot on. We are very blessed to live in such a wonderful place and look forward to welcoming you as residents here to share our little piece of paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kayaking...Fishing...Alligators...Turtles

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in your home. As you may have guessed this was our first kayaking trip and we loved it. We had planned on catching our dinner most nights, but that just didn't happen. :) We thoroughly enjoyed trying though. I think we tried just about everything while we were here except watching the sea turtles which is why we must come visit again. When we come back I hope those curious gators are still hanging out at the dock; they were so neat to watch. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is lovely with all it's unique woodwork.

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Thank you both for allowing our family a much needed get-a-way. The house is lovely with all it's unique woodwork and decor. We enjoyed spending time with you and learning a thing or two from the Master (Bob) on catching the big one. Janna, your love for the area and the time you put into your turtles is a wonderful labor of love.Thank you again for everything. We hope to come back here at the end of the year. Take care and continue to enjoy life to it's fullest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Already thinking about the next trip down.

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Thank you so much for the help with the crabs. The boys are already thinking about the next trip down. We enjoyed our stay in your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect Getaway.

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We love the Club House! It was a perfect getaway from all the family down the road. Thanks for all the hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed ourselves.

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

We had a great time and really enjoyed ourselves. We plan on coming back. It's all good.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time and house was wonderful!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We had a great time and the house was wonderful. Thanks for your hospitality and we hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation I have ever had!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you! This was the best vacation I ever had. I am so glad we met you and Bob. We love everything about your home. We will see you again this fall. From the bottom of our hearts, Thank You!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the cookies.

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in your pretty house. We really like it. We had fun in Florida. Thanks for letting us use the kayaks. Thank you for the cookies. (Written by the family's wonderful school age children).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice to be with a great family when on vacation

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

It is always nice to be with a great family when you are on vacation. We will miss you all next year in March, but we will be back again. I think October will be a good month to return. We love our Indian Pass family and you will be in our thoughts and prayers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another nice March with the neighbors and friends

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

Another nice March with the neighbors and friends we've made down here. Time, again, was too short. I'm hoping the next stay will be a month for both of us (not just Mike). Thanks for making our stay as always fun and pleasant. Thanks so much for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Far exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

Thank you so much for having created this beautiful vacation retreat. Our four weeks here have far exceeded our expectations of what we would experience. Thank you again for introducing us to your church family. Jake's messages were spot on and thought provoking. Mary and I will have many fond memories of you all. Our prayers and thoughts are with you. Till next time....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's been a fantastic four weeks.

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

It's been a fantastic four weeks. The weather was just a right mix. I felt as if everything we wanted was here-a beautiful quiet area and a beautiful house. Thanks for making us feel so welcome. I hope that we will be able to return again. God bless you both.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Club House is beautiful and conveniently set up.

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

Thanks so much for your wonderful welcome and hospitality. What a great spot to visit and get to know people. We enjoyed everything we saw and did and particularly want to thank you for inviting us to your church. The Club House is beautiful and so conveniently set up. I particularly appreciated the start up flour, sugar, soap, etc.. Thank you for being such warm hosts. This vacation has been great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"My Son dove for his first scallop."

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

We had the best time in this beautiful paradise you call home. My son was able to dive for his first scallop and I will always remember this wonderful weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Can't Wait to Come Back with my Parents"

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

We absolutely loved our trip here! The "cabin" is lovely and comfortable and we loved your company for dinner, ahd the muffins. Our Kayak trip was fun, and we'll raincheck the scallop safari to next time. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and at home here. We couldn't have asked for better hosts or better new friends! Can't wait to come back with my parents!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

" Inviting...comfortable.. beautiful wood work"

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

Bob and Janna's home is as comfortable as it is beautiful. The woodwork is unique and to die for! The hospitality offered to us truely made us feel like familly. The short walk to the beach is so convenient. The beach is not crowded and is great for shelling and fishing. Bob and Janna, we really appreciated everything you have done for us. You made us feel so welcomed. You went above and beyond what you had to do. You're homes are very inviting. This has been a relaxed and stress free time. It really rejuvenated us. Thanks is not enough. May the Lord bless and keep you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A Home Away from Home"

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

This has been a wonderful trip! This is not a rental property, but a home away from home. We had a blast-our boys had a blast and at the end of the day we had a beautiful place to come home to and relax. Thank you so much! Now... back to Baltimore...bummer. We will always remember our time here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Like longtime friends"

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

Once again this Michigan snowbird has had a very rewarding and beautiful stay here at Indian Pass Lagoon Retreat.

The days were warm and balmy and many nights the stars truely looked like diamonds. The sugar sand beaches were a joy to walk on with occassional porpoise putting on a display of jumps and spashes for their guests on the beach.

One could not find better friends than Bob and Janna, their neighbors and the guests from the Turtle House next door. It feels as though the people at Indian Pass are longtime friends.

The fishing was fantastic and I was priviledged to catch two monster red fish.

I am sad to leave for home but I know I will be back next spring to enjoy the congeniality of the people of Indian Pass and the wealth and variety of activities this Gulf Coast Mecca has to offer all visitors. See you next year. From the great freshwater state of Michigan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Family Reunion was memorable"!

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Thanks for all you did to make our stay memorable. You succeeded!

We can't thank you and Bob enough for arranging the little family reunion at indian Pass.

The Seafood Dinner on Your Deck was the highlight of our holiday. All our favorite foods.

The Club House could not have been more perfect. I am looking froward to another vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

Words cannot begin to explain the amazing experience we had during our two night stay at the Club House at Indian Pass! Bob and Janna were gracious hosts allowing us to use their kayaks and met us upon our arrival to help us get settled in. It was really a treat to spend a few days on vacation before spending our remaining few days with my family in Panama City. My wife is from northern California and was impressed with the beautiful and comfortable home offered at the Club House. The only downside I can think to mention is that the bugs were out and an ounce of prevention (good bug spray) is the best solution. We invited Bob and Janna over for dinner our last evening at the Pass and it was a pleasure to share a meal with them. Janna brought delicious muffins for dessert, which was a wonderful surprise. Bob even offered and attempted to take us scalloping in St. Joe Bay, but unfortunately the weather was not cooperative, although he said if we wanted to drive back over he'd be happy to take us out. The surrounding areas of St. Joe, Apalachicola, and St. George Island are all wonderful places in close driving distance. We enjoyed wonderful food at The Raw Bar, just down the road from the Club House.

Our only wish was that we had more time in Indian Pass to see and do more! I can't highly recommend this location enough! If you want to get away from the big city feel and have all the comforts of home, this is the place for you. Relax on your screened porch, cast a line off the dock in the lagoon, walk the beautiful beach, or explore the lagoon on a kayak. You will be amazed at everything you can see and do! We can't wait to bring our families here to share this wonderful treasure with them! Thank you for everything! Janna and Bob, you are amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I'll be back next year

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

This Michigan snow bird has had a very rewarding and beautiful stay here. The days were warm and balmy and many nights the sky was so clear the stars truely looked like diamonds. The sugar sand beaches were a joy to walk on with occassional dolphin putting on a show of jumps and splashes for their guests on the beach.

One could not find better friends than Bob and Janna and their neighbors. It feels as though the people at Indian Pass are longtime friends.

The fishing was fantastic and I was privileged to catch two monster redfish. I wrote home and told the family that I hold the Michigan State record for Red Drum.

I am sad to leave for home but I know I'll be back next spring to enjoy the congeniality of the people of Indian Pass and the wealth and variety of activities this Gulf Coast mecca has to offer all visitors. Se ya next year, Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for your hospitality.

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Thanks for all you did to make our stay memorable. You succeeded! We can't thank you and Bob enough for arranging our little Family Reunion at Indian Pass.

The Seafood Dinner at your house was the highlight of our holiday. All our favorite food. Good to meet Althea an see Duke again.

The Club House could not have been more perfect. The cottage is lovely. You have thought of everything. I am looking forward to another vacation. Daisy and Al

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review