reviews for: listing #82548 - Temecula, California House rental

Beautiful Temecula Estate
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $550 /nt
    $2,450 - $2,850 /wk
    $7,500 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

Great home, Perfect Location!!

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

We were in Temecula for our son's wedding at Via de Amore, and while I had initially looked at other properties, I was drawn to this one; and we could not have been happier--Thank you John and Gary. While the wedding venue was 8 miles away, this home was close to the rehearsal dinner at Vail Ranch, which allowed us to host a cocktail party for the bridal party before the dinner with ample room in the dining room and the backyard BBQ area. This home was perfect for groceries, Target, Men's Wearhouse, and restaurants, so we were extremely happy with the location. The fountains pictured did not work, nor did the fountain in the gorgeous front yard, the front gate did not stay open all the way, and I did not know there were so many steps/levels to this home, but these were VERY MINOR things, far overshadowed by the beauty and convenience of this home. We especially enjoyed the kitchen for breakfast with it's gas stove-(one of the best I've cooked on). Everything was more than we expected!!
Thank you for a very memorable 4 days!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

This home has everything you need and more, what you see is what you get. My girlfriends and I stayed for 3 nights and stayed mostly at the house because we had such a great time. The kitchen was stocked with every utencil needed, the pool and spa was perfect and the master bedroom was amazing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just so so

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

My husband , myself and our two daughters stayed in this home for a total of 10 days. The location of the home was really neat as it was in an estate part of town with all different types of homes on large lots surrounding it. Lots of great areas to walk everyday and yes walking distance to old town.
The pool was quite cool and the hot tub is not kept warm so you have to plan an hour ahead if you want to use it so it has time to warm up.
The kitchen had wonderful appliances and good cookware but they did not even have a kettle to boil water in. Every morning we had to boil up water in a pot to make tea. The family room had a wonderful pool table but there was not even a cosy chair to sit in unless you went all the way to the living room at the front of the house. The one lawn chair at the front of the house was barely large enough for two of us to sit in and we had to take two bar stools outside from the pool room. The furniture in the back by the pool was awesome.
Our biggest complaint was the lack of blinds in the master bed and bath. There was absolutely no privacy and you can't be in the bathroom with the lights on at night. In the bedroom although the yard is private, we didn't feel like being woken up at 6 when the sun came up. The other bedrooms also had average to poor window coverings. The one bedroom had curtains that were not black out and the blind in the other room did not go up during the day and was too narrow for the window so light poured in there as well. We have stayed in many VRBO's and we felt that this one needs to do a bit of updating, and put some money into the basics in order to ask what they are. We really found it odd that the home phone line was disconnected. We have family in Canada that we needed to stay in touch with and by not having a home line that we could by a phone card for we had to add $40 to our cell bill in order to get 30 minutes of talking minutes with our cell company. Yes everyone has cells nowadays but it doesn't mean that they want to use them for long distance. Even booking a restaurant meant roaming charges for us.The management company that deals with the booking was excellent and answered any questions we had promptly.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your stay and glad you enjoyed it and we apologize some of the furnishings were not to your expectations. We did not realize the kettle was missing and would have taken you one. We also apologize for having you wait for an hour to get the spa ready. We try and keep cost down by not having it on 24 hours a day.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

This house is even more gorgeous than the pictures show if that is possible! I went up with a bunch of girl friends for the weekend and we had an amazing time! We started it out relaxing by the pool and making dinner in their fully stocked kitchen. The next day we went wine tasting, this property is extremely close to all of the wineries as well as old town/downtown. I would absolutely recommend this property as well as it's management team. They are very friendly and helpful and the property has little instructions throughout the house on how to use appliances etc. which was very convenient. The few questions that I had once I got to look around this enormous house were quickly answered with friendly phone calls. Also the return of the deposit was very prompt!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We arrived for the Temecula Spartan Run and wanted a house where all runners could decompress after. This house was spacious, yet quaint & cozy. The backyard was fantastic - we only wish it wasn't raining so we could enjoy it more. The kitchen/living room was the hang out and the pool table was popular.
The rental company was extremely easy to work with. The house felt secluded with the garden and trees surrounding - yet the market was about a mile away. We hope to stay here in the summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great girls weekend!

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

My girl friends and I had a wonderful, relaxing weekend at this house. The house was clean, well organized/maintained, and easy to find. The pictures accurately reflected the house and amenities and we very much enjoyed our stay! Also to note, the neighborhood that the home is in is beautiful - nature-esque, quiet, and gorgeous for a fall/winter stroll. We ventured out once to go to a winery, otherwise we stayed home and relaxed. Definitely recommend this property!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

What a great place! The home and grounds are wonderful and the fountain by the pool was a great bonus...so relaxing. Everything we needed for our stay was provided. The estate is very private yet close to the wineries and Old Town. We would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Temecula's Home Away from Home!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

When we saw the pictures online we were very impressed with the home....so we reserved it for the week of the 2012 Hot Air Balloon Festival. We liked the fact the location of the home was near everything we wanted to sight see in Temecula!

The day of our arrival, the property manager met us with keys to the home and gave us a tour of the property and explained everything to us.
The home decor is absolutely beautiful....we've rented other homes/villas before but this home provided everything we needed. The owners took a lot of thought into furnishing and renting their home for others to use.

The kitchen was fully furnished with cooking/serving utensils, dishes, pots, pans, spices, etc....
The bedrooms were very clean, nicely decorated and the beds comfortable.
The bathrooms had toilet paper and hand soap (other places we stayed, we had to provide our own)
Loved the washer/dryer set up....included the detergent! Happy with the tons and tons of towels in the cabinet.
The patio/pool area was very relaxing, and we especially loved using the fire pit area during the evenings.
When the fire pit didn't work, we simply called the property manager and the problem was resolved immediately.
The property manager always returned our calls when we had a question about something......thanks John!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I would HIGHLY recommend this home away from home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely and Relaxing

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This was a great house for the entire family to stay, play, and relax! The amenities are really nice with lovely decor, comfy beds, and all you could need to keep yourself entertained. The kitchen and BBQ area are great for those who want to stay in and cook for the clan with plenty of room for people to help/hang out. The master suite was the only part of the house on the second floor, so it offers some seclusion. The only things that were slightly inconvenient were the older TVs downstairs (I couldn't hook up my iPad with an HDMI cable) and the somewhat scary firepit that would blow a fireball everytime it was lit (just crouch down real low to light). The location was great - just minutes to Old Town and a few miles from wine country and the main shopping area. I also highly recommend the Farmer's Market in Old Town on Saturday mornings!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So Secluded!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

I rented this house for a small girl's wine tasting trip and it was amazing! We had planned to rent a couple hotel rooms, but wanted to have a central place to hang out together. Comparing prices, it was actually cheaper to rent this house and we had a pool to ourselves, rather than possible hotel guests. Having the house also allowed us to make a big pasta dinner one night in the impressive kitchen, which was one of my favorte parts of the weekend. We felt so relaxed and secluded, although we were really only a mile from town. The pool was beautiful, and is where we spent most of our time, but the highlight was the master suite and bathroom. It was huge with gorgeous views and a massive balcony to relax on. The owner was fabulous to work with and met us there to show us around the house. I would want to work with him again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW! What a place!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We had a big group stay here and there was no shortage of fun! The game room with pool table and dart board and outdoor TV were a favorite. The house is beautiful and has everything you would absolutely need. It is also walking distance to Old Town Temecula but still completely secluded from reality!
Only recommendation if staying here - have John come out and warm the hot tub for you - the water system is a little tricky to figure out but he is more than welcome to pop over at any time! Definitely will be staying here again.

Thanks John!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We enjoyed everything this perfect estates.

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

We enjoyed staying in this beautiful home and enjoyed the lush landscape. We relaxed and played pool, barbaqued by the pool and walked into Old Town Temecula. The wineries were just minutes away, so many to see and we enjoyed lunch and the wine at Ponte. With all of this we still managed to get a round of golf in at Temecula Creek. The property manager was very helpful in showing us the special details of the the house. Like the two man juccizzi bath in the master bath, which we enjoyed. Everything was clean and top of the line. We will recommend this home to our friends and there is so much to do we will stay longer next time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Disappointing

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

We stayed at thisproperty November 30 until December 9/11. It really requires some upkeep and maintenance.
There was a strong sewer smell that was so nauseating when we used the upstairs toilet and when we tried to use the tub or shower upstairs. We notified the manager but the smell persisted until we left. There were nights when we could not even sleep upstairsbecause of the horrible smell and the smell permeated the entire house. We were only at the house in the early mornings and evenings, had we been there all day we would not have been able to endure the odor.
The house was not very clean, we had to wash some of the bedding before we could use it, as there was hair and sticky residue on them, which was very disgusting.
Also the kitchen & other rooms were infested with antlike insects, although we were told it had been fumigated the week before. We had to throw out some of our food because of these bugs. The weather was cool when we were there so we used the gas fireplace and were charged extra, heating should be included in your rent. It was too cool to use the pool or the outside. The outside of the property needs clean up and maintenance.
While the house is spacious and nicely laid out and great for a group of people, if it was maintained better it certainly would be a lovely place to stay as it is in a very nice area.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: It is truly sad when people can find it with in them selves to make such false allegations. Towards the end of there stay, they had called me about an unpleasant odor in the house. When I got the house I could not identify this odor and called them and asked them if they could be more specific on where this odor was coming from because I checked the entire house and could not smell or locate such claim. They called back that evening and said it was upstairs. Since I had checked the septic system and all sinks, I thought maybe I missed some dead animal out in the balcony. So I called pest control and both went to the home the next morning. Family was not home and asked for permission to go inside with a person from pest control. Again, after a complete search we could not identify or smell this odor . I called the family again and asked to call me when the odor returns, never got a call back.

When they had made there reservation they inquired on the cost for heating the pool. I told them it can get very costly during December as the water temperature is very cold. During there check in we both signed off and showed them the gas meter to keep track of there spending for heating the pool. Well, at check out, I read the gas meter and noticed they had gone over a few hundred dollars over. If you own a pool and heat it during cold season, you can see how it is possible to incur such fees. When I brought up the fees to the family, is when all of a sudden they were not happy with the landscape, the cleanliness of the home, and anything else they could think of and felt that they should not only pay for heating the pool but demanding cash back from there stay. I was stunned and that's when I realized what there intentions were.

As a property manager to this home, it is my responsibility to look out for the best interest of the tenant and the home owner. I can tell you this was very unfair for this family to make such demands when I can honestly say I could not verify such allegations. If you have rented this home or any other home that I own or manage, you will know that I am a fair and honest person and truly sadden by this ordeal. Past and future reviews will reveal the truth. :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Wine Country Vacation

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We had a wonderful experience during our recent stay in Temecula. This property was beautiful and exactly as promised in the advertisement. The backyard was perfect for enjoying outdoor meals. Complete with a bbq/bar area, pool/spa, and fire pit, we spent the majority of our evenings outside! The kids LOVED the pool and heated spa. Our in-laws joined us, and there was plenty of room in the house for everyone to have their own space. Both the owner and the manager were incredibly easy to work with and accommodating.

We were surprised by how much there was to do in Temecula. We enjoyed a 4-wheel drive tour of wineries, as well as a sunrise hot air balloon ride. We would highly recommend this property and this town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

We spent a week at this amazing place and we did not want to leave. The accommodation is terrific with everything you could possibly want for a relaxing and luxurious stay. The house is extremely spacious and comfortable, with all possible mod-cons. It was a privilege to stay in such lovely grounds and to enjoy the pool, outdoor kitchen and firepit. In the morning we sat in bed with a cup of tea (we're English!) in the palatial master bedroom and watched humming birds feeding in the trees.

Temecula is a quiet, peaceful and smart place. The people are very friendly. The town has fantastic shops, lots of restaurants and entertainment, not to mention the atmospheric old town, which we enjoyed very much. Further afield, we enjoyed the wine country and vineyards, San Diego and even a gig at Hollywood Bowl (although how do people in LA cope with the traffic?!).

We aim to be back and we recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect family vacation home away from home

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

From the location, to the amenities, to the layout, to the cleanliness, this house was AMAZING! Our family had one of our best family vacations thus far at this estate. We really appreciated that the house was centrally located to local shopping centers and restaurants, yet private enough to feel like you were miles from all the busy-ness of the city. It made it convenient to do late-night or quick runs to the store. The house was very well equipped will spices, kitchenware, and every kitchen gadget you can think of. You really don't need to bring anything with you except the food you want to cook! Linens, towels, laundry detergent...This house had EVERYTHING we needed, and then some. Not to mention, we were spoiled by all the amenities - the bbq grill, the pool, the hot tub, the master bath (LUXURIOUS!), the pool table, the gourmet kitchen (and food warmer!), all the outdoor patios, the list goes on and on... In fact, we were so content staying at the estate that we didn't mind missing the wine and balloon festival and didn't do much sightseeing. The house was well-maintained inside and out, making our stay even more comfortable. Jerry, the owner, was very accomodating and an extreme pleasure to work with. We can't say enough good things about this estate. Our family felt very privileged to stay here. We can't wait for our next Temecula trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Home - walk to Old TownTemecula

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This home feels like it is far away, peaceful, with views of rolling hills from a pool framed by wisteria but it is an easy one mille walk to Old Town Temecula. The home is spacious with step down areas that afford get away places for everyone to have quite time as well as wonderful play areas, billiards room, large pool, BBQ with two patios, hot tub plus a beautiful spacious lawn. It is well equipped with lovely linens and the beds comfortable with a TV in every room and bedroom.
It is decorated in lovely shades of lavender, browns and neutral tones. And those lavender tones even flow into the garden with scented wisteria. The home was clean and well maintained with three areas to have meals: outside dining, formal dining room and eating area in kitchen.
This home is behind a private gate, serene, private and seemingly far away in its ambience but just a minute to stores and the fun of Old Town Temecula. You will have a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review