reviews for: listing #82554 - Sequoia, California House rental

Mt Dennison view house w/ swimming pond
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Springville
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $370 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,340 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful house, great location

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

We found this house when we were looking for an alternative to Yosemite and we hit the jackpot with the Dennison house. It's a big, beautiful house, very private and close to the entrance to Sequoia. It was also close enough to Spring Valley to swing by for gas and groceries. The house had everything we needed to cook dinner every night and plenty of games to keep us entertained. I would highly recommend this house for any group, especially those with kids or adults who are kids at heart :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

7 in California.

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

It is stated that this house sleeps 8-10. 1 bathroom is en suite therefore everyone else shares the other one. I think it's meant to be shabby chic, however it is just shabby. The dining table is painted wood and very scratched and some furniture is falling apart. The kitchen was adequately equipped except for there being only 1 tea towel. The gas BBQ was nice but some outside lights in that area would have been useful. It is dark early in late Sept. and BBQing with a torch is not good! Some books on birds and wildlife would have been helpful also maps of how to get into the parks. Shops for provisions are a long way away. The natural swimming pool is great.

Owners response: We are terribly sorry that these British guests were so very offended by our 'rustic country' furniture. It is a theme of the place and some of the 'primitive chipped paint' furnishings were quite expensive from Pottery Barn! They probably do not qualify as what Europeans think of as 'antiques' though. We could not find any broken or damaged furniture and this guest did not contact us directly to let us know what furniture was a problem.
We do provide a thick binder with various maps, photos and directions to local points of interest and there are two guides: Sierra Nevada birds and a general Sierra Nevada field guide in the house.
The bathrooms are as advertised and as described by the floor plan available on our website.
The closest shopping is 10 miles away and we provide information on larger markets to stop at on the way to check in, in an email sent prior to arrival.
We will work on better lighting for the barbeque!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Very relaxing visit to Sequoia National Park at this Southern Sierra Ranch

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

My family (2 adults, 2 children) stayed for a week at this lovely ranch. It was very close to Mountain Home State Forest which has beautiful Sequoia forests, easy hikes for kids and great streams for swimming. The house was plenty big for us, we could have easily accommodated another two couples. The house wasn't really fancy, but all the furniture was homey and quaint. The house was equipped with LOTS of great toys, games and movies for kids and adults. The highlight of the trip was the swimming pond. It was a warm week and there was nothing as relaxing as laying on the provided floats and watching the goats and dragonflys meander by. We also brought our dog and the house was fenced in which made it easy to let her hang outside with us. We cooked every day and the kitchen had all the necessary pots, dishes and cooking accessories. There were also other bonuses for kids including a broad selection of life preservers, a portable crib and a high chair. If you are looking for a casual, very private retreat near the Sequoias for your family, we highly recommend you stay at Dennison House.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

sanctuary perfect for families

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

we had friends visiting from England so we rented this place so they could see the Giant Sequoias, there was 8 in our party, incl. 4 kids, and it could not have been better, the photos do not do this place justice, the setting is spectacular, the swimming pool/pond is beautiful and my boys (8, 6, and 4) had a great time swimming out to the pontoon, or getting on it from shore and floating out and diving on and off it. the house itself is great for a big group but still felt cozy yet we had loads of room, everything you could wish for and more, and of course the location with respect to the Giant Sequoia's is ideal. We love swimming below Hidden Falls which is quite close by, and viewing the many Giant Sequoia's. It would be hard to find a better place to stay for a family getaway

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wanna Get Away?

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

This house was ideal for our extended family gathering which included 6 adults, 7 children aged 6 to 16, and our dog. The property was very well cared for, clean, and in a wonderful but relatively hidden area of the country. It is good for those who want to take a break and enjoy a slower pace in the country in a very quiet area without crowds. The price was very reasonable for all the space and privacy. The beds were supportive and comfortable. It was very warm during our stay here but the air conditioning worked well and it was actually great for us since we were able to go swimming every day and stay cool. This place is great for dogs, we could take her everywhere, often off leash. She went swimming in the river and hiking with us among the sequoias.

In the nearby village of Springville, there are a couple of restaurants. We went to the Mexican place for lunch once, which was good, the hostess was surprisingly quick and efficient. Gas in Springville was cheaper than in Porterville. it's best to stop by Porterville on the way in for groceries and stock up.

There is a large very helpful binder provided which lots of suggestions on what to do and see. We didn't bother going to Sequoia National Park, it's not that close and doesn't allow dogs on trails but instead went up to Mountain Home State Forest and Balch Park, which are just up the road (twisty and narrow) from the house to see the Sequoias. Hidden Springs was nice but the water was very cold, only our oldest son could tolerate it. There is a deeper pool to swim if you hike a short way upstream. We even saw a bear from our car! We went to a couple of spots to enjoy the Tule river. Our favorite was Edison river access, down a set of steps to an incredible spot for swimming and enjoying the granite pools and clear, rushing waters. Unfortunately, there was some trash in one area that we were able to avoid (blows my mind how people can treat such an incredible location like that). We also enjoyed the swimming pond on the property, the water was just perfect.

Shelly was very responsive and helpful. We would definitely consider returning, perhaps stay at one of their other vacation homes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rural Hideaway!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

The house and property was great. Grandkids loved the pond and the we all loved the very relaxing atmosphere.We did not eat out and the kitchen was well appointed. The BBQ grill has a problem in that one side cooks well and the other one not so good ( cooked more slowly). I was great having the goats and dog around.
In the area we visited the Mountain Home forest / Balch Park,Sequoia National monument the Grove of 100 Giants and the Lower Coffee Creek area for wading in the river.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Friendly Dennison Retreat

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

I am by far one of the pickiest people when it comes to staying away from home and this cabin was superior. We had three families staying there and there was plenty of room for the kids to roam around and spread out and play together. The play box was filled with toys and the kids had plenty to do. The family room was large and open allowing all three families to hang out together yet the house was large enough for us to all do our own things as well. I will definitely stay at the Dennison Home in the future...we LOVED it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family celebration of 4 generations

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

The Dennison house gave us the ideal place for a fun-filled family celebration. The kid-friendly atmosphere only enhanced our experience. We would not hesitate to rent the house again, particularly for a large group with children of all ages.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful and beautiful mountain ranch

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Our extended family (from Hawaii to Utah) met at the Dennison house over Christmas for a family reunion! When you drive up the first thing you notice is the beautiful mountain at the back of the property. The house was clean, well maintained, and well stocked for family cooking. Important to follow the directions sent to you, not a GPS (some family members did and it took them a lot longer to arrive). The road is a little curvy so some may need motion sickness medication. The owner was great and helpful. I would recommend this house to a friend. The house had enough blankets for all 17 of us. The rooms were nicely decorated and mattresses were comfortable (except the sofa couches--they are not comfortable). I love the way the kitchen is set up. It is a great place to bring all your supplies and have a secluded get away (if you forget something it is a 10 mile drive). The children played games (including pool & cards), watched DVD's, and played outside near the house and at the pond. The young adults spent most their time outside by the stream and pond. One son finished a book from the book case. The goats are friendly. We loved our stay and would like to return! The live Christmas tree gave a lovely aroma and was a nice surprise! Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

Hi Shelly,

Thanks so much!
I just posted this Yelp Review with 5 stars. Feel free to forward it to other families who inquire.

Best,
Sara

Fantastic place for families. House is safe for small children with great layout, lots of toys and games and pack n play (upon request). Shelly is amazing for advice, extremely responsive for questions by email or phone. The lake/pond is lots of fun but several hundred yards from house so don't have to worry about small kids falling into it alone. Just near house is a great teepee for kids to play in and wiffleball set to play while enjoying gorgeous scenery. You can choose to have gate to owner's house open so the very friendly/gentle dog Roxanne and herd of goats can roam and play with the kids or closed if allergic or don't like animals. The animals were our kids favorite part and dog/goats extremely gentle even with our 18 month old. Only tip: Bring most food from home or last big grocery store in Porterville (on way - Shelly sends great directions) as only tiny General Stores and even these miles away. You'll love it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mt. Dennison House

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Nice house, very comfortable and clean. The views are nice and very secluded. Great for family vacations to get away. I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing, relaxing stay at Three Springs Ranch! Beautiful location during any time of year...

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Three Springs Ranch was perfect in every way! My friends and I have a tradition of renting a huge house over holidays, vacations, weddings, etc. We have stayed in many over the years and always appreciate a good find.

Our stay at Three Springs Ranch was by far one of our favorite rentals! Enjoyable, even during a rainy weekend in the heart of winter, the house provided the most gorgeous landscape with snow-capped mountains in the background and a ton of space on the property to explore. We hated to leave this cozy yet spacious 5-bedroom cabin - Photos do not do this place justice!

The set up is perfectly communal with the right amount of privacy, bed space, access to bathrooms and laundry. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed. The wood burning stove (which we used every day!) was the perfect accent and kept us cozy during card games and at the poker table that comes with the house! The guys played disc golf right outside of the house and our dogs were safe and secure inside the gated property. The teepee was adorable too, however we did not use it on this trip :)

Shelly McKnight was beyond helpful in every way imaginable, on the days leading up to our stay, as well as during our stay (she even called to warn us about weather conditions for our drives home. Amazing)

Overall, the perfect getaway weekend and best way to spend New Years with a large group of old friends. Thank you Three Springs Ranch, we will stay with you again in the future!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

The Dennison house was clean and spacious. The grounds are beautiful and were perfect for our family of 14, including five kids ages 4 months through 14. The boys climbed on rocks outside and enjoyed the games that were provided inside. Everyone had a bed to sleep in and the wood stove kept the house cozy. The book of nearby activities directed us to two nice hikes. Check-out procedures are easy and resonable. Dennison House was a great place for our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Get-Together Weekend

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

Met up with family from Visalia for weekend - Accommodations were as listed on web - Nicely decorated and clean (loved the bed quilts) - Was great having everyone in one house, fixing breakfast & dinner in the well stocked kitchen. We had 9 adults, 1 baby & 2 small "city" dogs who loved all the new smells and noises. We were all very comfortable. Weather was actually 'warm' for mid October. Lots to do outdoors - we got to enjoy the Springville Apple Festival which was just down the hill and lots of fun. Younger ones also enjoyed short drive up hill to hike in park. Would recommend - Shelly was great dealing with all my questions, etc. - Would love to come back in spring when flowers are out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Five Excellent Nights at Dennison House!

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

My family of three were joined by another family of four. We were a total of four adults and three children (ages 5 - 7). We had plenty of room to spread out as well as come together to enjoy dinner or a movie. The house was just as advertised; clean and very well kept. We truly enjoyed the goats roaming around the property and enjoyed the company of Roxy (the dog to protect the goats)! She was gentle and always ready for a nice pet! The property was located near several great locations to picnic, hike, swim and enjoy the day. We spent a day in Balch Park, a day at Lake Success, another up at Lower Grouse Lake and a day up at the Nation Park. Swimming in the pond was a lot of fun from the floating deck. Star gazing was at its best up there!

For groups traveling together, you really couldn't do better than this property - you could never get a hotel rooms with that kind of space for this kind of price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great spot for relaxation with a large group

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This house was great for our trip with two other families. Fourteen people shared the space great during the day. Furnishings are comfortable but not fancy..perfect for a river and hiking vacation with 8 kids. Sleeping was a little challenging, but largely because so many of the kids wanted to share rooms. The owner left a large binder full of information about local hikes and swimming holes, which helped us plan our daily activities. What a great resource! Everyone really enjoyed the private "lake" on site. It's small water hole, but unbelievably peaceful. You really feel like you are isolated from all the bothers of your daily life. We brought our kayak, and the kids had a great time practicing rowing on the small lake. The owner was available for all of our questions, and very kindly helped us with a lock-out situation. I would definitely recommend this house others.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: To clarify to future guests: We used the term 'small lake' rather than 'large pond' because people seem to be generally hesitant about swimming in a pond. This body of water is ~ 1/2 acre and 10-15 feet deep and fed year round by a mountain spring making the water extremely fresh for swimming through the summer. It is large enough for a big group to have plenty of swimming room and even enough for a small boat to paddle around as these guests did, but certainly not large enough for jet skis or power boats, etc.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

Our family had a nice & relaxing time staying here
this past weekend. The surroundings were
absolutely beautiful (snow-topped mountains) and
it was the perfect place to get away from our usual
fast paced lifestyle. Even our dogs had such a blast
that they were running laps around the house
nonstop. It was great to see how much fun they had
with all the open space around them.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

We had a great time. The house is very comfortable, good working kitchen and nice beds. Drove up the mountain the road is as twisty as we remember it. WE would definately consider coming back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

We had fabulous weekend at Dennison house! The
hikes were amazing and we had a blast at the
swimming holes. The house was perfect for our
family--spacious yet cozy! The kitchen was fully
stocked and we loved having our own pond! We
look forward to visiting again and exploring more
of the area!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 24, 2009   Date of arrival: June 24, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Dennison House. A great place to spend some relaxing time away from the cities. The layout of the property was perfect to stroll around with the dog or just sit around and enjoy the quiet. A short drive to go up and see the big trees in an area that is not as busy as the typical Sequoia sites made it a perfect vacation.
We hope to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 28, 2009   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

We had a great time in the Dennison home and in the surrounding area. The house was perfect for 8 adults, 2 children and a small dog. There is a fence around the house that was perfect because we could let our children and dog outside to play with out having someone standing beside them the whole time. The house has a picture perfect view of Mt. Dennison from the living room window that is also the backdrop for the yard and BBQ area. We had multiple walks around the property and loved the pond and the trees. We visited during the last week of May and did encounter a lot of mosquitoes so remember to bring bug spray. The home was equipped with everything that we needed, the only thing it did not have was BBQ charcoal or tools. I would highly recommend this home and area for a family destination. Between the home, the mountains and the rivers we had something fun, new or relaxing to do every day.

Owners response: Missing barbeque tools have been replaced.
Mosquito season is relatively short here from mid May through mid June. Bug zapper lights and citronella candles are provided.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 1, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

This is a truly great place for a family week off. I particularly loved the way you
have furnished the house. Extremely clever and tasteful. I don't see this in
America very often. We enjoyed the drives to the places of interest even though
everything was very quiet this time of year. We had a smashing time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 29, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

Our large family group spent Thanksgiving week at Dennison House. From start to finish, my experience with the owners was excellent. E-mail was prompt, professional, and included lots of helpful information. Payment information was clear and refund of our deposit was immediate. The house is in great shape. The kitchen was especially nice with an open layout, a big refrigerator, and lots of counter space for holiday cooking. The decor is pleasing and not kitschy and the extra amenities (like DVDs, games, and puzzles) were thoughtful. We had a great time and recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2006   Date of arrival: September 24, 2006

Well, we've decided that this is absolute paradise and we're looking for ways
to come live here forever. Sitting on the deck and watching the quail, wood
[eckers and blue jays was wonderful. The sounds, sights and smells of the
forest, plus the magnificent view of Dennison Peak are so restorative and
calming. We recommend strolls to the bog and pond (if only the frogs
weren't so shy!), horseback riding swimming and Star Feast at River Ridge
Ranch and leisurely afternoons drinking ice water and talking on the deck.
Thank you for the gorgeous retreat. We're looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2006   Date of arrival: January 2, 2006

We enjoyed our stay-- very relaxing! The house had ample supplies and the
DVD's were great! We enjoyed the view and drives in the mountains. Springville,
Visalia, and Camp Nelson were all interesting places to see.
We enjoyed the fireplace alot. Would recommend your cabin as a great place.
We had everything we could have wanted and more!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2005   Date of arrival: February 14, 2005

It was a pleasure being here. We really enjoyed the stay in this big
and nicely maintained house. We definately recommend this
place for anybody who wants to visit Sequoia National Park.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2004   Date of arrival: December 28, 2004

Three Springs Ranch,
Our family wanted to thank you for a wonderful holiday
weekend. So many wonderful extras to make us all feel
at home: Christmas tree, holiday lights, candles,
candies, etc. We appreciated all you did and would
highly recommend your lovely house in the future.
Lots to do here. We played soccer, barbequed, went to
the snow and went on numerous nature walks on the
15 acres.
In closing, we were very pleased how well stocked the
house was for all our needs and how nicely decorated
the entire house is.

Best Regards,
The Aghassian Family (13 of us on this trip)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review