reviews for: listing #82556 - Asheville, North Carolina House rental

Mountain Tranquillity. secluded, Hot Tub, convenient, comfy
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sugar Hollow
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $159 - $179 /nt
    $1,059 - $1,109 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

In the woods!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

The home was close enough to Asheville to drive in to dinner or attractions. It is in a very wooded area up a gravel road but easy to navigate. The home was comfortable and the owner very accommodating when we were disappointed that there wasn't any regular tv programming. We had direct tv the next day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

My family (my parents, my brother, my husband, myself and our dog) stayed at this house from Christmas through New Year's and had a fantastic time! The house was very comfortable and roomy enough that five adults didn't feel like we were falling all over each other all the time. All the beds were comfortable. The basement would be great for children, as there are lots of toys (and a piano!!), but it was also great as an "in-law" suite for my husband who likes to stay up later than the rest of us. Both Beth and Dave were fantastic to work with, and Dave very kindly checked up on us via telephone when the forecast called for storms. We often rent houses in various cities all over the world, and this house is at the top of the list.

For those with pets, Asheville is a very pet friendly city! If you go in the summer, most of the restaurants have pet friendly patios. We went to the River Arts District, where most of the artists allowed us to bring our dog into their studios.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mountain Treasure

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

"Mountain Tranquility" more than lived up to its name. Beautiful and comfortable inside and out. My husband,the "gourmet cook" of our family prepared some great meals in the well equipped gourmet kitchen, then after dinner relaxed in the hot tub. The place was well maintained and plenty of linens. There were six in our party and everyone was very comfortable. We enjoyed nature walks with our two teen grand children and also the Nature Conservancy in Asheville. We recommend Asheville Pizza in Asheville and taste their signature spinach burger. It is fun going through the Mast Store in Asheville where you can still buy a scrub board and iron cookware and stylish cotton clothing. Being Audubon members, we definitely plan to return, hopefully in the Spring when the rhododendrons are in bloom and watch birds in their natural habitat. omg: It was beautiful

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

cute and comfy home

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Easy to find, convenient to Ashville, Biltmore, Chimney Rock. Clean and very well appointed. Beautiful kitchen and master bath. Overall great rental. 3rd bedroom in basement was a good bit "musty". It had been raining, so that probably was the issue, but wouldn't want to spend much time down there. Also 2nd bedroom mattress was very uncomfortable (rolls to middle), but again for a few nights, no big deal. Super nice hosts and a great rental property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: I always appreciate hearing thoughts about our home. I need to address this particular review as I think the musty comment could cause great concern.
The guests just prior did spill a great deal of beer downstairs. We have responded immediately by having the carpet cleaned and being sure to run the buIlt in dehumidifier. I want future guests to know that my severe environmental allergies cause me to be hypersensitive to this review and am certain is in not an ongoing problem.
We also replaced the mattress. Thanks for reading.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Mountain Getaway!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

This home was a perfect base-of-operations for my family's Independence Day getaway to Asheville. It's secluded enough to feel private and give you a taste of nature from the porch every morning, but not so far out of town that you can shoot into Asheville to enjoy dinner and all the sights. The hot tub was wonderful, the master bathroom amazing, and there's tons of space for everyone to spread out - we had 6 people and never felt cramped. It was perfectly clean and ready for us when we arrived, and the only minor issue we had was a lot of moths, spiders, etc. around the porch, but hey it's the country! The kitchen is fit for a 5-star chef, and we made good use of the large grill too. That's about it, great place, I'd definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Relaxing Remote Cabin

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We stayed for a weekend and enjoyed the cabin and quiet atmosphere of the mountains. The hot tub was amazing out on an upper balcony deck surrounded by trees. We enjoyed cooking in the modern, updated kitchen and grilling on the large grill on one of the decks. There was a large hammock under a covered balcony which could be enjoyed year round. The master bath was great with a super large shower with 3 shower head and a corner jacuzzi tub.

We were able to travel easily to Asheville (less than 30 min away) and drove in the beautiful mountains and trees to Lake Lure (about 30+ min away).

All in all it was a perfect place to stay in and near Asheville.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Scenic, comfortable mountain retreat

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

My whole family greatly enjoyed our stay at the house. The surroundings were even more scenic that the pictures suggest. It was very quiet and private, and the accomodations were all very comfortable. The master bath was a real treat with the 3-head tiled shower room and jacuzzi tub. We put the hot tub and outdoor grill to good use. It was a fairly easy drive into town from the house, definitely use the owner's directions ... her route is quicker than what Google maps recommended. There was so much more in Asheville that we would have liked to see given more time. We found good restaurants near Fairview and in Asheville. This is definitely a great choice for families with kids that need room to play and relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Lovely mountan retreat

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

My whole family greatly enjoyed our stay at the house. The surroundings were even more scenic that the pictures suggest. It was very quiet and private, and the accomodations were all very comfortable. The master bath was a real treat with the 3-head tiled shower room and jacuzzi tub. We put the hot tub and outdoor grill to good use. It was a fairly easy drive into town from the house, definitely use the owner's directions ... her route is quicker than what Google maps recommended. There was so much more in Asheville that we would have liked to see given more time. We found good restaurants near Fairview and in Asheville. This is definitely a great choice for families with kids that need room to play and relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review