reviews for: listing #82589 - Turks and Caicos, Caribbean Condo rental

The Grandview
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $686 - $1,286 /nt
    $4,800 - $9,000 /wk

sort by:

Fabulous Condo!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We spent an amazing week at the Grandview in January 2014! The condo is beautiful, spacious and has everything one would need for a great vacation. The views are spectacular!!! We have many fond memories of reading and relaxing on the huge and wonderful terrace, gazing at the ocean. The terrace is equipped with comfy lounge chairs and a dining set. The location is truly beach-front and perfect: the condo is near many resorts that serve food and drinks if you don’t feel like cooking. Pelican Bay at the RWI resort was literally a minute from us. We had breakfast at Grace Bay Club and Seven Stars almost every day, and both were within just a couple of minutes of walking on one of the best beaches in the world! Grace Bay deserves all the rave reviews it receives. It is possibly our favorite beach in the Caribbean: soft, white powder sand; calm, warm water; and dreamy views that are unforgettable. We had many nice dinners, including at Mr. Grouper’s, Coco Bistro and Bay Bistro, all of which were top notch. We didn’t even rent a car this time because we had everything we needed near us, and cabs are easy to arrange at night. The building manager Godfrey and his wife are terrific and very accommodating. The owner Dan is great too and went out of his way to provide us with a high chair and crib for our toddler. The only area of improvement that I can think of is the slow'ish Internet connection, which we would suggest to be upgraded.
Thank you for letting us stay at your wonderful home. We can’t wait to visit again!

Owners response: Hi Irina:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. By the way, we have upgraded the
WI FI since your stay with us in January.
Thank you again and we hope to hear from you in the future.
Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A WEEK IN PARADISE!!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

Just returned from a glorious week in paradise. Everything was perfect, the weather, beach, location, condo, and the company! If your planning a vacation in the Turks and want a relaxing, private atmosphere away from resorts, then this is the place for you. This is a privately owned condo building that is nestled between the Royal West Indies Resort and Grace Bay club Resort. So its the best of both worlds because you can choose to spend a quiet evening in the condo or go for the nightlife and dining at these nearby resorts. The beach is amazing here and there are a number of lounge chairs and umbrellas set up by the pool and the beach. So no early morning sprints to save beach chairs unlike some other resorts. The condo is very spacious and has beach towels, beach toys and a fully stocked kitchen. The best part of our holiday is waking up to a spectacular view of the multi-coloured ocean just outside your window. We really enjoyed having breakfast and lunch out on the large veranda which is complete with table, chairs and loungers. This building is gated, so you can park your car worry free and you can take the stairs or elevator up to this third floor unit. Godfrey, the building manager is extremely helpful in answering questions or sorting out any issues. We rented a car from Grace Bay Car Rentals which allowed us to visit other beaches, grocery stores and shopping areas on the island. The condo is very clean and the grounds are kept tidy and well groomed. If your looking for a private, relaxing vacation thats away from crowds, noise, hussle and bussle, then this is the place. ENJOY!!!

Owners response: Wow! Thank you so much Rita for that glowing review of your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location on Grace Bay

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We had a great time at Grandview, The condo has everything you need. The beach is not crowded. This is a small condo style hotel. Very quite and relaxing. However, if you need some lunch, dinner or drinks, the hotels on both sides have it and you can just walk over. We would recommend this condo. It's a great value. Can't wait to go back.

Owners response: Hi Tony:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Week

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

This is the perfect condo and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is immaculately furnished and is easily spacious enough for 2 families; in the perfect location for a true getaway. After cruising “hotel row” along Grace Bay, I don’t think we could have asked for a better location to spend the week. The listing definition is spot on and the owners were super responsive and lovely to deal with.
The condo is of a standard infinitely higher than most condos and its amenities including the close proximity to the amazing beach puts it into the 6 star category in my view.
The view from the condo is breathtaking with a beautiful white powder sand beach and turquoise sea, literally just steps from the doorstep.
It is perfect for anyone really. We visited with another family including our 15-year-old daughters and the location was perfect. The girls spent almost every minute that we were on the beach in the water as it was amazing.
I really hope I get a chance to rent this place again! Thanks to the owners for doing this place up so well

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: My wife and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing theGrandview on Grace Bay for your Caribbean vacation destination this year.

We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It is truly gratifying to know that we have helped provide both families and/or couples with an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience.

Thank you again for the positive review and we hope to see you in the future

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Stunning Condo!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

This condo is absolutely beautiful. Waking up in the morning to all of the ocean views could not have been better. My family and I stayed here for 7 days and had one of our best vacations. The condo is even better in person. The location is one of the best. The gorgeous beach which is steps away from the condo was nice and quiet. It was like having our own personal beach away from the more crowded resorts. When we return to Provo it will be in this condo!

Dan and Joetta Silva,
Thank you again for a wonderful vacation!
The Min Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

One of the best vacation spots we have ever visited. Great accommodations and an amazing view of Grace Bay beach. Plenty of room for our family of 7. We would certainly choose this condo again. Beautiful huge balcony to enjoy the view and very comfortable place to stay for the week. Everything was as nice as you see in the photos. We would highly recommend this condo for any family, young kids or older kids ( We have 3 kids in their 20's and a 10 year old). Our oldest daughter was engaged on the beach while we were there. So, we made many great memories during the week. Godfrey was wonderful and very attentive to any requests or needs. It is obvious the owners care for this residence and keep it looking its best. This was our first visit to Provo, but certainly won't be our last. We would stay here again without question. Thank you for providing us such a great place to stay.

Owners response: Darryl:
It sounds like you and your family thoroughly enjoyed the your first visit to the Island of Providenciales and your recent stay in unit 302 at the Grandview.. That is so nice to hear. I am also glad you appreciated the unit. My wife and I take great pride in the condo and cannot wait get back there in January. Finally, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Hope to see you and your family again in the future.
Regards,
Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

Our family had a great time staying at the GrandView! It was such an incredible view of beautiful Grace Bay and we never tired of it. It was so nice to wake up each morning and go sit on the balcony with our coffee to watch the waves. It was certainly a grand view! We would love to go back some day.

Owners response: Hi Sheila:

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

This is a beautiful condo with an amazing view of the ocean. It feels like home. The pool and hot tub were big hits with the family. There was plenty of room for the 5 of us with room to spare. The TV / Entertainment system is amazing and the owners clearly take pride in this property. Everything was as described and we would definitely recommend this condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Michael
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

I would just like to say that we were very happy with the choice we made. The only bad thing that i can say about this property is that they need to get new eating utensils. Everything about this property was perfect. location was great, unit was very clean and the views were beautiful. The beach was right out your back door. There was always chairs and umbrellas for us. The property manager Godfrey was very helpful when we needed to make reservations or call a taxi (There is a phone but wouldn't work) My 3 kids had a blast playing with Godfrey's 3 Children. We also loved eating lunch next store at Stixx the jerk corn was amazing. We would stay at the Grandview again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Hi Krista:

New utencils on the way. Thanks for the heads up and also thank you for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

This vacation was our best island experience ever! The condo was immaculate, extremely well maintained and equipped beyond our expectations. Cocktails on the deck overlooking the pool and ocean
with a perfect sunset each evening was our favorite part.The beach is steps away, uncrowded and warm water.Taxi service was readily available for restaurants but there are plenty within walking distance either by road or beach as is the small (but very fun) casino. Already thinking about booking for next year! We would highly recommend this beautiful condo for a relaxing winter getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Ed and DiDi:

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Traveller

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Wonderful stay at the Grandview. Great location - wonderful part of Grace Bay (wide beach, not too busy), within walking distance to shopping area. Condo was perfect. Well appointed, comfortable, great balcony. Only criticism - condo needs new cutlery and kitchen utensils. All appear a little dirty.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Margaret:
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Grandview. My wife and I will be arriving shortly to spend the next several months and will be inspecting the condo with a fine tooth comb. I can assure you that any deficiencies found in the kitchen or elsewhere will be corrected immediately. My wife and I cook a lot while we are down there and I can promise you that I will replace any deficient cutlery and or utensils. Thank you for the input. It is appreciated. Hope to see you guys in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we hoped for

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Beautiful property and unit, just as displayed in the online pictures and description. Perfect location on Grace Bay - definitely the place to be on the island.
Surrounded by wonderful food and activities. We knew nothing about TCI (Turks and Caicos Islands), and felt that we could not have lucked into a better location and property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Richard:
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Location on Grace Bay!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Our family stayed here at the Grandview Penthouse from July 7 - July 16st. Wow, we still are pinching ourselves. The condo is exactly as the pix! We loved having our own suite and our teen girls had their own rooms. We were relaxed in the condo and could not believe the view, it is fantastic. The fridge is large enough for all your groceries, wine, etc and the freezer too, and its really nice to have a washer and dryer. The location is fantastic, restaurants, bars, shopping is all within walking distance, we also rented a car to scoot around the island. If you are on the Island for a Thursday, please visit the Conch Shack, live music and amazing Conch "everything". Caicos dream tours! Big Blue Eco Adventures for Kayaking! Parasailing and Banana boats are right outside your door, they will pick you up from the beach. Get your bottles from the duty free before arriving on the Island. Remember when you go out, you are on Island time, sit back and relax and enjoy your surroundings and the people. Dan, thank you for all your help with everything, we couldnt have pulled off this bucket list trip without you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful family vacation!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Our family of four chose this condo at the Grandview for our recent vacation to Provo and we could not have been more pleased with our choice! The penthouse unit was absolutely beautiful and so spacious. The condo is exactly as pictured on the website and the views from the patio were breathtaking. The patio is actually larger than I envisioned, with not just a table for outdoor dining, but 3 cushioned lounge chairs. The resort itself is perfectly located with restaurants and amenities within walking distance. We rented a car as we love the island and love to explore some of the hidden gems in Provo but you can easily walk to great dining locations on Grace Bay. I really loved the peacefulness of the resort...we were often the only people in the pool and the few other guests that we did meet were very nice and polite. Dan, the property owner, was extremely responsive to our questions and Godfrey the property manager was so helpful as well. This was our 3rd trip to Provo and our favorite stay yet (stayed at Seven Stars and Leeward in the past). I highly recommend dining at Coco Bistro and Grace's Cottage in Grace Bay and Las Brisas in Chalk Sound. We also loved snorkeling at Smith Reef and the beach at Taylor Bay. I would definitely recommend this condo and can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Lisa:

Thank you so much for your glowing review. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Place - Good Value in the Off Season

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

At half of the high season rate, this was a great value.
The location is central with some things within walking distance. But, we had a car and were glad. We came for snorkeling and we had to drive or get picked up by a guide company for all of the activities.
Note this is a privately owned condo and not a full service set up.
We were on our own for soap, shampoo, toilet paper, etc. There is no maid service and there is a cleaning fee.
The condo was generally well furnished, but is need of paint touch up and some mechanical tuning up.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Family Memories

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

After two years of planning, we had an amazing time in Turks & Caicos! We did a lot of research regarding local properties and knew we wanted a beautiful home with a full kitchen since we would be traveling with our four children. After communicating with dozens of property owners, we loved The Grandview property and were very impressed with how responsive Dan was. However, since we knew we were going to a property that we had never seen, we wondered what the property would actually look like. We can tell you that their home is just as beautiful in person as it is online. The property is centrally located with local shops within walking distance. Our family had such an incredible time and built so many special memories with our children.

Our family really enjoys traveling to new places and we spent hours researching things to do in Turks and Caicos. Here are some suggestions: Paddle board in the mango groves in Leeward, parasail with Max, drive to "the hole," snorkel at Malcolm Beach, snorkel at Smith's Reef, snorkel at Coral Gardens, eat at the Conch Shack on Thursday night with the band playing and take the Conch tour in Leeward. We rented a car which allowed us to see different parts of the island.

Thanks again Dan for your beautiful home and for making our trip so special!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Craig:

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

March 13-18 stay, 2012

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

Our stay was nearly perfect in every way. Stunning views. Impeccably maintained unit and common areas. Very well provisioned for a beach vacation. Very peaceful and quite. Many restaurants within a 10 minute walk in either direction up the beach. The on-site property manager (Godfrey) was very helpful with any questions. My only advice would be to rent a car in order to easily get back and forth between the grocery store and other parts of the island. Overall, highly recommended, even after looking at many other 'mega' properties on the island we would still return here as our first option.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Michael:
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

December 16-22nd .... Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Arrived on the 16th with very few expectations. We've been all over the Carribean both on land and sea and nothing compares thus far. The condo was everything we expected. They decided to clean the hot tub on our last night and that was a bit of a bummer! I was looking forward to one last rum punch in the tub. However, no big deal given the overall experience. Let's face it, no trip is ever 100% perfect no matter how hard you plan. If its your first time, stay here! Unless of course you like crowds and noisy kids - we had the place to ourselves. We had breakfast and lunch at the condo and ate out the rest of the time. You Must go to "Somewhere" for dinner on day 1 and at to the manager Ted. What a wealth of valuable information and a super individual. From there I would totally suggest Hemmingways, Las Brisas, and Magnolias. We also really enjoyed listening to Patrick and his band at Danny Bouy's. We tried Mango Reef and actually left before our drinks were served; felt like we were an inconvenience. As for daily activities, the best was a half day tour with CaptIn Tim and his mate Nick on The Belooga. Best rum punch on the island. I actually think I finally figured out his recipe. ($400 later)

If you like your privacy and all the luxuries of home, the decision is easy . Contact Dan and book your trip today. We will be back!!!!!!

Fell free to email me with any quests or concerns.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Chuck:
Thank you for writing such a glowing wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Dan & Joetta

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

One of the best Caribbean vacations of record!!!

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Our family just returned from a wonderful vacation in Provinciales, Turks and Caicos. We had never visited the T&C before, but were fairly certain we wanted to stay somewhere on Grace Bay. After many hours of research, we decided on Dan’s Penthouse condo at the Grandview…and let me tell you, it was fabulous!!! The location on Grace Bay is wonderful, the condo is well laid out and expertly appointed and has everything you could possibly need for spectacular vacation. If you do need something, Godfrey is ready to assist. The beach just outside your back balcony is simply awesome. It was not very crowded during our stay, so we had the run of the beach with only a few other families. There were plenty of nice lounge chairs and umbrellas and, of course, towels supplied from the condo. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub almost every night. Bottom line…if you are looking for a relaxing and luxurious vacation, this penthouse condo fits the bill. Dan and his wife have made sure everything is in order and I cannot image a better place to stay. With its gated parking and exquisite grounds, our family felt very comfortable the entire stay. Overall, this is a top-notch establishment and our vacation was perfect. Thanks again Dan!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best location on beach

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Fantastic location - after several walks on the beach, we decided that the Grandview has the best location on the beach. Dan was a pleasure to work with as was Godfrey, the property manager. The condo was every bit as spacious and well equipped as described. The floats and extra beach towels were much appreciated. Had a great snorkel trip on Reef Peepers with Captain Santos and crew. Hoping that your beautiful property weathered the recent storms.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Janet: My wife and I want to personally thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review regarding your recent stay at the Grandview. It is truly gratifying to know that we have helped provide both families and/or couples with an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience. Thank you again for the positive review and we hope to see you in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Hi Dan,
Our family vacation was just wonderful. We have been to the Turks & Caicos twice before and knew it was the perfect place for our get-a-way, but your amazing home made the experience even more enjoyable. Your gorgeous furnishing and views were a huge hit with all of us & we were very comfortable and happy. We loved the porch & spent a lot of time out there when we weren't on the beach; Godfrey was helpful; the exterior was well maintained; the beds were all comfortable; the linens were plentiful, but most memorable was the decor! It was nothing short of stunning and well suited to the space. The shell mirror was a particular favorite of mine, but all the pieces were beautiful. Well done!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved this condo!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Our family stayed at Dan's condo this past June and we can't say enough about this lovely property. First of all, the owner (Dan) was a pleasure to work with as was the property manager. Our questions were always answered promptly and efficiently. As for the property itself, it was just wonderful. The listing description is excellent. The condo was everything we expected and more. Beautifully decorated, a well appointed kitchen, games and movies, loads of towels, super comfortable beds...all the comforts of home. The building feels protected and secluded yet it is on the most spectactular beach, close to everything. We so much enjoyed our stay, our accomodations, the relaxing peaceful atmosphere, just everything! We can't wait to return next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation for the Whole Family

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We just returned from our weeks stay at Grandview. We had a wonderful vacation and glorious weather. Not only was the building exceptional, the owner was informative and easy to deal with. The property owner has made it so everything you could possibly need or want was provided for from the well equipped kitchen to games and movies. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the property manager who was also helpful and accessible throughout our stay. Dan's condo is beautifully decorated and nicely maintained. We felt very safe and secure which was important for us because it was a family vacation and the children were in and out. A previous post to this site complained about internet access and closet space, we found both of these to be more than satisfactory. We would highly recommend Dan's unit and in fact we hope to return next year for our summer vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Karen:

My wife and I want to personally thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review regarding your recent stay at the Grandview. It is truly gratifying to know that we have helped provide both families and/or couples with an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience.

Thank you again for the positive review and we hope to see you in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning View

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We loved your condo at The Grandview. It was not only beautiful, but it was very comfortable and had everything we possibly could have needed. And the view: wow! We loved sitting outside on the covered balcony, even when it rained. The weather wasn't the best, which everyone said was unusual, but we didn't let that get in the way of a fun week. Some of our family went scuba diving with Dive Provo, and others rented bicycles. All of us enjoyed time on the beach and in the water when we weren't diving. Godfrey was very helpful whenever we asked about anything. We rented an SUV from Grace Bay Car Rentals, and they met us with the car at the airport. Graceway IGA had all the groceries we needed, and the Wine Shop that looks like a castle proved to be a good find for us wine snobs! Area restaurants we liked were Cocoa Bistro, Caicos Cafe, Hemmingways, and O'Soleil. All in all, it was a fabulous week. We would definitely like to make a return trip. Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Cinda:

Thank you for taking your time to write such a glowing review. It is always gratifying to know that we helped provide a family or group of friends an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience.

By the way, you chose all of our favorite restaurants.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best beach in the Caribbean

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

This was our third trip to Provo and was by far, the best. This condo was simply stunning, with large comfortable rooms, all expertly decorated. We never tired of the endless miles of turquoise water and pristine sand, which we could enjoy from the generous balcony and picture windows. The lovely setting inside and out made for the perfect family vacation. We'd definitely go back.

Owners response: Thank you for taking your time to write such a positive review and to speak so glowingly regarding our condo. We sincerely appreciate it.

Regards,
Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best beach you can find!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We have travelled all around the world and find the TCI to be of the best place you can find. The beaches are amazing and people are wonderful.

The listing was accurate for the most part, minus not having a Local Phone or High Speed Internet inside the Condo (which was a bit of a problem) and the Grill had not gas to light it more than once (we were there for month). And, we didn't have a closet in the Master Bedroom, which was a slight problem not being able to hang clothes. The photos were perfect. The property was clean. The hottub had to be drained for reasons not worth discussing (x-rated), but that could happen anywhere. The owner was not as helpful as i would have liked and took a more defensive approach to fixing issues, rather than a service-minded approach. I'm guessing he'd have a different view-point on this, based on my discussions with him.

I'd recommend the TCI and The Grandview as a whole. I cannot honestly recommend this particular owner because it was too much of a struggle on the little things. BUT, the place was nice and overall we had a fantastic time. I just have a thing about going above and beyond and paying attention to the little things, something we didn't see eye-to-eye on.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Grandview. I do, however, feel compelled to respond to some of its inaccurcies. First of all the unit does indeed have wifi Internet access. Nowhere in the listing does it mention high speed. As is in most cases, the wifi is provided by the resort, therefore I have no control over the speed. Past guests, as well as myself, have been using it for the past 6 years and have found it to be perfectly adequate. As regards the propane, all you had to do was to inform me and I would have had the resident manager have the tank filled and delivered to the unit. Regarding closet space. There is more than ample closet space including 3 closets on the lower level of the unit. One a huge walk-in closet (5'X5') as well as a second 6'foot long sliding door closet in the lower master bedroom. There is also another 10' long sliding door closet in the 3rd bedroom. We also have 2 chests of drawers in the upstairs master bedroom. I have never had a guest complain about a lack of closet space. Finally, I would have thought that after allowing you to arrive a day early and leave a day later than the agreed dates stated in our rental contract at no additional charge, that you would have portrayed me in a more positive light. I have other rental properties in the TCI (see VRBO #272114) and you will find that you are the only guest to rate their stay at any of my properties below 5 stars. Although I place great emphasis on customer service I guess the old saw sometimes rings true, "you can please most of the people most of the time, but you can't please all of the people all of time."

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Best vacation in 15 years!

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We had our best vacation in 15 years staying at the Grandview in Provo. Dan’s penthouse unit is well appointed, comfortable and offers superb views of Grace Bay. I grew up in the Caribbean and have always had high standards related to tropical vacations, and this one tops our list. The setting was unbelievable and convenient to great restaurants like Coco Bistro and Mango Reef. Also, the accommodations offer the flexibility to cook meals in the unit and enjoy eating outside in the terrace. I would highly recommend this unit and location. This truly a spectacular place and we hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Karla:

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our unit at the Grandview. It is always gratifying to hear that we helped provide families and/or friends a such an enjoyable and memorable vacation experience.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.

Dan & Joetta Silva

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our best vacation ever!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We had our best vacation in 15 years staying at the Grandview in Provo. Dan’s penthouse unit is well appointed, comfortable and offers superb views of Grace Bay. I grew up in the Caribbean and have always had high standards related to tropical vacations, and this one tops our list. The setting was unbelievable and convenient to great restaurants like Coco Bistro and Mango Reef. Also, the accommodations offer the flexibility to cook meals in the unit and enjoy eating outside in the terrace. I would highly recommend this unit and location. This truly a spectacular place and we hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Place to Stay on Provo

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Excellent location with walking distance to most good restaurants. Incredible views from just about every room in the unit. Owner is fantastic and easy to reach and work with! Looking forward to returning again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review