reviews for: listing #8262 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Villa rental

The Secret Beach Villa - Beach front - private pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $430 /nt
    $1,550 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Fabulous Girls Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: November 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2013

The Shell Villa was a perfect spot to celebrate my birthday weekend with friends. The house was beautiful, the pool perfect, a few steps past the past the pool was the beach. We started our stay with a wonderful dinner prepared by Miguel and his team, (so good we ordered dinner the next night as well). Some of our favorite items were the enchiladas, fish, chicken, lentils, endless guacamole, pico de gallo and fabulous margaritas. We were able to book snorkeling with a quick call to Liza, the spa services rep came by on our first morning and we booked great massages and exfoliations for the next morning around our pool. We met the folks renting the adjacent villa and they were nice and with the short walls between the villas there was still plenty of privacy. We had beautiful sunrises every morning, great walks along the beach, nice trips into Puerto Morelos for snorkeling, and happy hour, dinner in Playa del Carmen. We rented a car which worked out great as the villa was a little off the beaten path, perfectly located for us, but quick trips into town easier with a car.
Great villa, helpful and friendly owners, amazing food and drink, lovely pool and beach - we will be back for sure!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Sensational Extended Family Vacation! Everything right there! "Dan in Real Life" Mexican style

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

SUPER Extended Family Vacation for our family of 10- 2 grandparents, 1 son's family of 5 including a 7, 5, 1 yr old., 1 son and wife and 1 adult daughter. We take a family vacation every year, and this was maybe the best! I hate to tell you about it, because next year it might be all booked up. But Miguel and Lisa deserve the best- they are the quintessential hosts! Has all ingredients to satisfy the most picky family member! Only 20 minutes from Cancun airport. An exquisite view from the house. Parents could look out from the house and see the kids at the private pool, or go through secure gate to take kids to the surf. Along a powdered sugar beach with warm, turquoise water. The beach was really wide- picture football in the surf and sand- the kids could walk out the gentle slope far into the water, and the waves were gentle and boogie boarding was good. We felt like we had our own private beach. There's a security guard at the entrance off Hwy 307. We had no worries at all because Miguel and staff operate out of the quarters at the front gate of the villa property itself, like a second layer of security. Daily maid service kept things neat. Every family had their own bedroom and bathroom, which were beautifully decorated. Towels, linens, up to date electronics provided,Wi Fi, free telephone. But the BEST, for all those moms wanting a break, is that Miguel and Gilberto will bring dinner to your table overlooking the ocean and pool and it is DELICIOUS! The prices beat the restaurant! The neighbor took a taxi from the airport and never left the property. They'll even shop for groceries! My daughter in law, mother of 3, was so tickled to not have to negotiate a restaurant at night. Miguel worked for Club Med and Lisa worked for Ford in Mexico in Quality assurance and give attention to every detail in customer service. I just picked up the phone if I needed something. One morning, I realized I hadn't ordered our dinner for the night, and they made a few switches to make it happen. Check the price- more than competitive. If you are worried about being in an attached villa with two other families, don't. The views from your villa is of a beautiful beach- you don't notice the peripheral. The sound from the other villa inside is non-existent. I think Miguel and Lisa book only nice people- you can choose- maintain privacy or make new friends- my grandkids enjoyed making friends and switching which pool to play in. We absolutely loved it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Bday party

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

My wife and I and 3 of our friends came down for her bday party and we can't say enough about Liza, Miguel, Humberto, and the entire staff and home. This is the best location to be in, the sea, the beach and home are truely spectacular. Miguel and Humberto did an amazing job with the 4 dinners we ate at the house. The Mayan Pork dinner was our favorite and the Margs. are delicious. Liza made sure all our requests were taken care of and made the experience truely special. We definitely will stay here every time in the future.

Thanks to everyone at the boat villa in Playa de Secreto.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family vacation at the Secret Beach Shell Villa

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week vacation at The Secret Beach Villas in Playa del Secreto. We stayed in the Shell Villa There were 8 of us four adults and four adult kids. We loved the Villa plenty of space and Liza and Miguels attention to detail is amazing. The pool and the beach were beautiful and the staff keeps everything so clean. We felt very safe our whole trip we rented cars and went to Akumal and swam with the sea turtles. We also made several trips to Play Del Carmen to shop and have dinner. We went to Coba and hike the tallest Mayan Ruin. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful. We also had dinner and went shopping in Puerto Morelos very beautiful town. Would highly recommend staying in one of these villas everything is top notch.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Most relaxing vacation ever - Fish Villa

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Dear Liza and Miguel,
Last week was the most relaxing vacation ever. The villa far exceeded my expectations and I can honestly say it is the nicest place Dave and I have ever stayed at, and we have stayed at a lot! The location is absolutely beautiful with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean. I could not believe all the amenities in the villa - way more than anywhere else. The bedrooms were inviting and tastefully decorated. I could not believe that every bedroom had their own ensuite - no one had to share, which is huge when you have 8 people staying in one villa. The welcoming dinner was amazing and Miguel - you are quite the chef! There were lots of things you could do if you wanted to - from para sailing, sailing, water skiing, tours etc., but I just enjoyed relaxing by the pool, walking on the beach, reading and soaking up the sun. I would recommend your villas to anyone. Definitely a five star in my mind. Thanks for a great vacation.
Pam Sanders
Strathroy, Ontario
Canada

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vacation and Rehearsal Dinner at the Fish Villa

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

Hello Liza and Senor Miguel Mateos:

Just a quick note to say Thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for the wonderful time we had at Playa del Secreto.

Everything was fabulous including the staff. Our meals were superb and we will not hesitate to stay there again, in fact we are planning for our entire family to come and use 2 villas. What a true paradise you have there.

Please tell Chef Mateos that his meals were a hit. Our family and friends who stayed at the Royal Resort In Playa del Carmen were so happy to enjoy authentic Mexican food. Our sincere thanks to you. Everything worked perfectly including the Airport transfers with Victor. We also loved the use of the car which enabled us to make several trips to Walmart and the wedding venue.

Well done. Have a super fantastic time in Paradise.

--
For Such a Time as This.

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The beach and pool was wonderful......

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

I recently stayed at the Shells Villa and I must say it was a very enjoying relaxing vacation. The locate was great and the beach and pool was wonderful to basically have a private beach and pool. I plan on coming back again.

The service that we got was A 1 and I also enjoy my massage that Norberto gave me was wonderful.

It was a very clean and the rooms and bathrooms nice size.

I would like to thank you so very much for everything that you had for me while I stayed there from 5/28/11 to 6/4/11.

Thank you again

Lillian Rodriguez

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 2nd time at the Secret Beach Villas...

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Hi Liza-
Just wanted to say thank you once again for the wonderful time we had at the Secret beach Villas. The Frasers were the new family that came with us this year and they said
it was way better than they had ever planned. You and Miguel are great people along with your staff. And a special thanks for letting us stay on Friday night for free and also
for letting us have 1 extra person than your max limit. This was my families 2ND time at your villas and I'm sure to say we will be back. Great food, fun, friends and sun and of coarse
great hosts to the villas. Thank Miguel for the great job he did cooking the Red Snapper and the Grouper. It was delicious! I may need the recipe for the one with lime, cilantro and
and raw fish that was cooked by the acid of the lime juice (Ceviche.)

Thanks again for everything, Deb Donnelly

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Secret beach Shell Villa

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Secret Beach Shell Villa. The descripton of the Villa was accurate and the photos accurately reflect the ammenities. The property was amazingly clean and well maintained. The Media has been so negative regarding the safety of Mexico. I felt totally safe and secure during my stay. We took one afternoon to drive down to Tulum. Same experience there...beautiful and safe. The Villa is located between Puerto Morelos and Playa Del Carmen. Again, no issues with safety. The ocean is an amazing azur with soft white sand. The hosts, Liza and Miquel, are wonderful and helpful with questions and offering suggestions. Additionally, Miquel is an outstanding chef. I would highly recommend this rental property for a memorable vacation experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Beautiful property!

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Secret Beach Fish Villa for a week. We had a great time. The property is gorgeous! Huge rooms, lots of space for a big family to hang out. It is also so nice to have your own private pool. We had Miguel cook us a welcome dinner our first night there and the food was amazing and the portions were huge! Also, Liza and Miguel were kind enough to extend our stay by one night when the big blizzard hit Chicago and we could not return. All in all, we had a wonderful time and would love to return again in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just wanted to tell you and Miguel that your villas are B-E-A-utiful!!!!!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

Just wanted to tell you and Miguel that your villas are B-E-A-utiful!!!!! We had the best vacation ever! We toured around to Akumal and went snorkeling in Akumal Bay, went to Cancun and took a catamaran cruise over to Isle Mojueres and spend the day over there snorkeling, eating on the beach, to Playa Del Carmen to shop, eat dinner, go to a couple of clubs, toured and climbed some Mayan ruins, scuba diving, and then we also spent several days doing nothing but staying at the villa swimming and fixing drinks and listening to our music! Relaxing, sipping on a fruity beach drink, and enjoying our family! That is what vacation is all about! We loved it, enjoyed getting to know our neighbors on either side of our boat villa and even exchanged addresses and phone numbers to where maybe we could come back at the same time and be neighbors again! The water in front of the villa is breathtaking! The colors are magnificent, the beach and its beautiful sand and the seashells that wash up are unbelieveable! I brought about 3 of them home to place beside our pool and remind me of the beautiful beaches of Puerto Morelos! I also want to tell you that your staff members are very professional! We loved Javier! He made sure that we had everything that we needed, always friendly when he saw us, very easy to understand and helpful in telling us places to go for things. The girls did a great job cleaning the villa and keeping us with clean towels and beach towels. The pool was always clean, we appreciated the help with having charcoals ready when cooking out and also the assortment of pool toys! You gave us great advice on things to do and see! It was also great having Cancun Valet pick us up at the airport and also on the morning of our departure! Very punctual! Also having the van waiting for us at the villa was fantastic! We just appreciate all you did from the food, the van, the amenities, etc. etc. etc. but most of all for having the most beautiful villa on the most perfect stretch of beach that we have ever been on. We cannot thank you enough for all of the hospitality shown to us on our vacation. We will definitely recommend this spot to our family and friends, or then again we might just keep it our little secret villa!!!!!
Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Donna, Steve, Justin and Stephanie Danforth
sdanfor@uark.edu

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Same time next year", is our motto!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

I want to let you know that our stay last week at the Shell Villa was absolutely wonderful. We have traveled to so many different places through the years and my husband and I feel this was the best and most relaxing vacation we have ever had. The villa was so clean and nice... the food was impecable, the staff was great, the pool so inviting and the beach was unbelievable!

We have decided to make this an annual trip.... "Same time next year", is our motto! We are sorry we didn't get to meet you, however, we will meet you next year for sure.

I told Miguel that I would like to send him some spices from Louisiana and forgot to get the address he wanted me to mail it too. He advised me to mail it to a Texas address, and if you could give that to me, I would appreciate it.

Again, we had a marvelous time and look forward to spending many Septembers with you guys at the Secret Beach Villa's... the best kept secret of all time!!

Thanks again for the hospitality shown by all of you....

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family (13) enjoyed the Fish and Boat Villas June 09

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

Thanks, Liza, to you and your wonderful crew at the Villas!! Our Family (13) enjoyed the Fish and Boat Villas June 09 thoroughly and will never forget the great time we shared. Walking into the Villas was like coming home because of all the great pictures on your web site and we immediately felt right at home. Everything was just as you described.

Thumbs up to Miguel for the delicious food and all that came with it. Everyone loved the Hola Asia Restaurant and the great meals.

Javier is a JEWEL! He was always there when we needed him - no matter what he was doing. He went above and beyond to help us (Rescue us) many times, always with a big smile.

Cancun Valet was right on time and everyone was picked up from and returned to the airport on schedule

The Villas were fantastic and so easy to feel right at home in. The young ladies cleaning up our messes were always smiling and cheerful. Everyone appreciated them.

Our children and grandchildren came from eight different cities and four different states to be together for the first time in eight years and your villas were the perfect setting for our reunion.

Thanks for everything,

Luci & Robert Dendy
Longview, TX
11 Oak Creek Ridge Drive
Longview TX 75605-1629
Telephone: 903-295-4733
Cell phone: 903-445-9062

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Reunion

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

Our ten day stay in your Shell Villa in October ’09 was just what we had dreamed about. Very clean, comfy, and spacious. Everything on your Internet photos is exactly what we found and more. The furniture is of best quality, especially that leather couch in the living room. The upstairs daybed was a favorite of our son and his wife, since they could monitor their little one easily from there while reading a book and hoping she would go to sleep soon. You have thought of the minutest details, like a hamper in each closet. What a wonderful place for a family. I even sent your link to my friends in Germany and they told me that they could read it all in German.
Thank you for keeping such a secret place,
We loved it!!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

secret beach villa

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 20, 2009

The villa is huge and beautiful! The staff was so warm and welcoming. My family had a great time. Our only complaint would be that the ocean shore was quite rocky making it difficult to swim in certain areas. Otherwise the villa, pool and Mexico get two thumbs up from me and my family. We would definately return.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Secret Beach Fish, Shell and Boat Villas

Review submitted: November 23, 2008   Date of arrival: November 10, 2007

The owners name is Miguel and Liza. They are great folks who live on-site and have several properties they manage as well as owing a great restaurant in Puerto Morelos.

The property we rented from Liza is the Boat Villa, which is the center villa in the 3 unit complex. It is very private even though there are 3 properties together. We rented from Liza two different times and will use her again, when we have the chance to go again.

The property is fairly secluded. It is located about 25 minutes from Cancun…about 5 minutes from Puerto Morelos and about 15 minutes from Playa Del Carmen. My husband, children, in-laws and I really enjoy the location because we like the privacy of staying “off-resort”. The entrance is a gated, attended entrance and there is no through traffic. The property is well maintained, with a lot of the amenities of home ie satellite tv(English), dvd, Wifi player, fully equipped kitchen, water purification system, bottled drinking water, plenty of hot water for bathing. I really enjoyed the convenience of having cancun valet meet us at the airport, load up all our belongings then take us to the villa. When you arrive at the villa, the van you can rent from Liza is right there, ready to go. It is much less expensive than working through a rental agency at the airport and if you are not familiar with the area it is nice to just get there, relax, get your bearings and then explore the next day. When you are ready to return home, cancun valet comes back for your return to airport…just leave the van there at the villa.

We usually get Liza and Miguel to have dinner for us the first night, much more relaxing after a long day of travel. Then the next day it is an easy trip into Playa Del Carmen to go to WalMart for groceries. There is a small market in Puerto Morelos also.

We did enjoy having Lizas’ husband, Miguel, cook for us. It may seem a bit “over the top” but once you try it, you’ll want to do it several more meals. The servings are very generous, the food is delicious and there are left overs for midnight snacking.

As you may have realized by now, we have enjoyed our visits very much and look forward to returning soon. We like to location because you get the beautiful beaches without all the touristy hassle of the cities. We have always felt very safe and secure there. The shell hunting is wonderful.
.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review