reviews for: listing #82704 - Asheville, North Carolina Cabin rental

Wild Turkeys Lodge
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $185 /nt
    $1,175 - $1,175 /wk

sort by:

Surpassed Expectations!!!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

From inquiry to booking to arrival to departure, it has simply been a pleasure dealing with Matt, the property manager.

The cabin rests on top of a small hill, very accessible and private. The inside provides a very warm and cozy atmosphere with modern amenities, should one not want to miss a game on TV, or in our case a morning cartoon, or experience the need to google something. The fireplace is great for roasting marshmallows and the wrap around porch has a swing for enjoyment.

Our trip took us to nearby Wolf Ridge Ski Resort, Mars Hill, Weaverville, Asheville and Arden. All close by with wonderful places to eat, walk, shop and enjoy the local culture.

Wild Turkeys Lodge is definitely on our list of places to re-visit.

Highly Recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. Matt Spera

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very relaxing place

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My husband, teenage son and I rented this cabin. It is in a private setting and is very peaceful, but it is close enough to activities (zip line, white water rafting, Asheville). During the day when we were in the cabin, we left the doors and windows open and it was very comfortable (back home it was a sweltering 95 degrees!). At night, we used the air conditioner. The kitchen was well equipped and things were provided that we didn't expect (e.g.,paper towels, saran wrap dishwashing soap - in other rental homes we have had to go out and buy these things). The bathrooms were well stocked too with soap, toilet paper, tissues and hand soap at the sinks. They even provided detergent for the washing machine. The view from the porch was wonderful and very peaceful at any hour of the day. The beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean. the wifi worked very well (even with our son on a gaming laptop!). The only complaint we had was the water pressure (which Matt warned us about at check in) and the bathtub downstairs that wouldn't hold water, which we forgot to mention before we left. As responsive as Matt was to whatever we needed I know he would have taken care of it if we had mentioned it. Matt met us upon arrival and showed us all around the property. He made sure we had all of our questions answered. He and Judy were great to work with. I would highly recommend Wild Turkeys Lodge to anyone seeking a peaceful retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Janet: Thank you for the review. It is always a pleasure to read how Renters view the property. The bathtub is rarely used. I am sure we can fix that problem. We are quickly filling up 2013. I hope to you back in the near future.
Matt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

This cabin was wonderful! It felt like a home away from home. It was very clean. I would definitely come back.

Owners response: Thanks Stacey: I hope to see you back soon...


Matt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Rented the cabin for a Christmas getaway week and had a wonderful time. Cabin was very comfortable and cozy. Close enough to Asheville for easy trips back and forth but far enough out of town for the "woodsy" feeling. Would rent again without hesitation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

Anniversary weekend, wanted more room than a hotel room and we got it. Tucked away in the woods, Turkeys visited twice a day, if you want to have some fun, download a Turkey Call app on your phone and talk to them. Cabin was roomy, clean and had everything you would need. Drove up to Mt. Mitchell, shopped in Weaverville and Biltmore Villiage. Dinnercs in Asheville, Chop House and Vincenzo's are highly recommended. We'll be back to the area, bjut will need a place with the Master bedroom on the main level.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Breathtaking!!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

This review has been very late in coming, but I guess better late than never. My experience here was outstanding. Matt is a first-class host, and a professional to the core. My family and I couldn't have been happier with the property and the level of customer service we received. I marked the 5 star box because there isn't one for 10--it's that good. The cabin is impeccably maintained and clean. The view from the front porch is amazing.

We're looking forward to our next visit. I have already recommended this property to several colleagues and friends and will continue to do so.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

We were very happy with Wild Turkeys Lodge, perfect get away! Beautiful home and perfect location not too far from Asheville and very peaceful setting. We would recommend to friends and hope to go back again with our family.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

The perfect choice

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

We made the perfect choice. We planned our trip to Asheville hoping to explore Downtown, the shops, restaurants, art , as well as wanting to stay somewhere close enough to also be able to relax and enjoy the beauty of the mountains. Wild Turkeys Lodge was all that we hoped. We loved the quiet and peaceful setting but were still close enough to adventure on the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Biltmore, NC Arboretum, and check out the local towns. The lodge was clean and well maintained, tastefully decorated and comfortable so we felt at home. Even the rainy days were enjoyable. Sitting on the wraparound porch, listening to the rain fall on the metal roof was very relaxing. Also enjoyed the turkeys, we counted 16 walking in single file across the yard one afternoon. We would recommend this property to anyone and would be happy to visit again. We found customer service great, Matt was helpful from the beginning when first inquiring about the property, up to and throughout our stay. Some of our favorite things: farm market in Mars Hill, bakery in Weaverville (still craving those chocolate orange cookies), friendliness of the locals, rocking on the porch, enjoying the fireplace.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Sooooo relaxing!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We had been to Asheville once before and were eager to return but didn't want the typical hotel stay where eating out often is a must. We happened upon Wild Turkeys Lodge online, communicated quickly and pleasantly with the owner, and booked the cabin for a week. It's an absolute delight! The pictures are perfectly accurate but can't convey the sense of peace you will find at this place. You discover immediately how the cabin got its name: each morning and evening wild turkeys make their way across a path or the lower field right in front of the house. Cattle graze in that field, too, and raise their big brown eyes to watch you pass as you walk or drive by. There is as much or as little to do in the area as you choose, with Asheville and so many other destinations close by. Information for many activities is on a table at the Lodge if you need assistance deciding where to go and what to do. One of our favorite 2.5 hours was taking a food tour in Asheville, where we stopped in restaurants, chocolate shops, and a spice shop, each of which gave us a generous tasting of a house speciality; we liked one restaurant (and its owner!) so much that we returned the next evening for dinner. Although we had not intended to have a "lazy" vacation, we often found ourselves on the porch with a book and perhaps a drink, just taking in the view. The mountains, whether clearly outlined or shrouded in mist, are stunning. One noteworthy surprise was that the cabin was stocked with some necessities--toilet paper, soap, paper towels, cleaning supplies--that in our experience must be purchases along with food when staying at a vacation rental. Those little touches made us feel very welcome. We would return in a heartbeat to Wild Turkeys Lodge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

hoping to return

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

The description, photos, location, layout were accurate except for one thing....this place is even better in person!! The house was clean, well maintained and excellent customer service was provided. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.
As we drove up the long gravel road out in the country we couldn't believe our good luck when we glimpsed the cabin. It was so picturesque. The furnishings were high quality and lovely. The best feature of all was the porch which wraps around the entire house. We pitched horseshoes in the backyard (who knew how much fun that was?) even my teenagers LOVED it and it wasn't even electronic! The location is out in the very quiet countryside with lovely views. But we were still close to all the things Asheville has to offer plus whitewater rafting, hot springs, hiking, and little artisan shops in the small towns nearby like Weaverville and Mars Hill. Lovely restaurants within 10-20 minutes drive, but we LOVED cooking, grilling and hanging out at the cabin too.
My advice: If this cabin and area appeal to you, don't hesitate. We would love to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Something for everyone

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Our family loved this place. The wrap around porch was amazing. I enjoyed the large kitchen, which is open to the living room. All the furniture is new. We used the internet access everyday to look up the next day's adventure. Whitewater rafting with Blue Heron Whitewater in Marshall, or zip lining with Navitat. We were close to many activities. We loaded up at the grocery store, and saved money making our lunches and eating at the cabin at night. I grilled out most nights. There is a trail close by that my son and I walked on everyday, due to his persistence. It was nice having a King size bed to sleep in. Of course, 2 bathrooms always comes in handy. We were able to bring less clothes on vacation since we could do laundry. My wife said that she could have easily just stayed at the cabin the whole time. Also, one morning, we even seen 2 turkeys in the back area of the cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Something for all

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Our family loved this place. The wrap around porch was amazing. I enjoyed the large kitchen, which is open to the living room. All the furniture is new. We used the internet access everyday to look up the next day's adventure. We were close to many activities. We loaded up at the grocery store, and saved money making our lunches and eating at the cabin at night. I grilled out most nights. There is a trail close by that my son and I walked on everyday, due to his persistence. It was nice having a King size bed to sleep in. Of course, 2 bathrooms always comes in handy. We were able to bring less clothes on vacation since we could do laundry. My wife said that she could have easily just stayed at the cabin the whole time. Also, one morning, we even seen 2 turkeys in the back area of the cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review