reviews for: listing #82717 - Key West, Florida Condo rental

Tom's Parrot Perch: Gut Renovation Completed 9/16/11!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $270 - $350 /nt
    $1,890 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Parrot Fun

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

We really enjoyed this condo. The Parrot theme was breathtaking and fun as the trip went on. The view of the beach was wonderful. The pool area was very inviting, never crowded. The beds were extremely comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. I love the fact it was not near Duvall st because we had lots of privacy. And the parking, well it was the best, we never worried about leaving our stuff in the truck. We will be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nola gang

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

My husband and another couple recently rented Tom's Parrot Perch. It was better than the pictures. Thomas has made his home an excellent vacation rental. It is very comfortable with plenty of room to spread out. The unit also comes with a covered parking space in a secure garage that made parking our scooters very easy. His parking space is also close to the elevators that are in close proximity to the condo. He has everything you can think of; beach chairs, ice chests, cleaning supplies, garbage bags, kitchen supplies, etc. The views from the balcony were fantastic. This unit is very centrally located to all areas of the island. If you are headed to Key West this is the place for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Wonderful property! Everything one could ever need inside the condo and out with the immenities. Used pool, hot tub, and tennis courts daily! Rented bikes for the week which was perfect and cheap to get around.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING!!!!

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

We only had a four day stay but it was action packed! This condo was amazing! Every amenity anyone would need and so so clean. This place is all brand new and just amazing and so comfortable ! We paid twice as much for 2 rooms in a hotel last year and it did not compare to this wonderful home! Tom was such a pleasure to deal with he was very caring and ethical! We will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

love love love

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Tom - THANK YOU! Our stay was wonderful:> The place is a beaut! The kitchen opens to the sitting area and seems huge. Very clean and up to date. Plenty of spices and utensils. Only suggestion is a crockpot as once your out all day NO ONE feels like cooking in that great kitchen LOL! Set it and forget it:>The balcony is amazing and overlooks Smathers beach. Each room opens to the balcony so no fighting over who gets that perk. Great place for families wanting to save some money eating in a few times. The fridge has lots of ice and filtered water. My sister and I walked to publix and took a taxi home with our groceries($10). We rented bikes which was definitely easier than a car. I would have them dropped off and picked up next time. Tom was very nice and accommodating, although we didn't need much- which is a compliment to him. The pool and spa are huge. The poolside bath area is very clean! Gardens are full of orchids! The place is keyed at every door, so very safe. Missing the island already:>

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FIrst Class

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

A couple weeks prior to our arrival, our family was given devasting news in which we had to cancel our trip. I received a very kind response back from Tom, advising us that he would refund our money. The thoughtfulness given to my family during this difficult time was greatly appreciated- first class all the way! If we ever get a chance to get to Key West, I will definitely rebook with Tom. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Thank you for a great retreat

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Our family went to Key West for a holiday break. Tom's Parrot Perch was the perfect getaway. Close to the ocean, heated pool, beautiiful deck to soak in the morning sun and watch the day begin. The condo was clean, stocked and ready to great tired travelers. Tom was a great host. Thank you Key West for a holiday to remember.
Cheyenne,WY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

November 2011 Trip

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

My family and I were very happy with the week we stayed at this location. The remodeling project that was done looks very nice and up to date. Key West isn't really known for their beaches but there happens to be one within a 5 minute walk that has plenty of clean sand and rental equipment for the water (kayaks, parasailing, water bikes, etc). I will definitely call Tom next time we are down to see if this place is available. Only negative issue was that I rented an electric car (golf cart type) and the condo complex does not allow the use of the electric to plug the car in. But after further thought, I could have rented a car from the airport for the same price anyway. So, that is my only "heads up". Tom was very courteous, lives in the building so very available, and accommodating to our needs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed with another couple and our one year old daughter during October 2011. The condo was wonderful and Tom is was very accommodating and did a great job of treating us well.

The condo was fantastic. The pictures and video we saw ahead of time made the place look really nice, but I don't think they really did this place justice, it is so much prettier and spacious in real life. What the pictures don't show are some really nice high ceilings in the living room and first bedroom done in a luxurious warm wood that adds to the overall warm tropical feel.

When we booked, Tom did not know that there would be construction going on during our stay. As soon as he found out about it he communicated with us and gave us the option to cancel. He was very gracious and was very speedy in his communication.

At the end of it all the construction was barely noticeable, but we really appreciated everything Tom did to make sure we knew about it and would be comfortable during our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome View!!!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We had a fantastic time in Key West on our trip in September ‘11. Tom’s place was perfect for us! The location is great with awesome views each morning and afternoon. We loved sitting on the porch watching the ocean. It was so relaxing. The condo was clean and had plenty of towels, linins and even beach towels. Everything we needed was there including a travel cooler and beach chairs. We were close to the beach and a great area to take a morning run. If you are visiting the Key West, this is defiantly a top pick.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation - Beautiful Condo!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Aug 7 thru Aug 13, 2011 My wife & I came to Key West to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary (We left the kids at home!). After having contemplated many other places on the island we chose 1800 Atlantic. Wow did we make the right choice...Tom under promised & OVER DELIVERED! First off, due to the timing of our flight, we arrived Sunday late morning. This posed no check in problem at all. A quick call to Tom on the way from the airport & check in took no more than 10 minutes. When we entered the condo we were stunned. It is fantastic. We found the place to be well appointed in every way. The kitchen was gleaming stainless steel with every cooking utencil/appliance you could possibly need. The living room was well appointed & included a flat screen TV and hi speed internet. Bedrooms were very large, comfortable & tastefully decorated. The living room & bedrooms opened out to a huge balcony. Multiple sets of linens & towels were stocked in the many storage areas. Above all, everything was extremely CLEAN! The proximity to Smathers Beach was a very short walk. The pool at 1800 Atlantic is sparkling clean & huge. This olympic size pool is suitable for lap swimming. The grounds are lush &, tropical. Ocean views are truly spectacular. We rented a scooter to enjoy KW. This worked out very well. Within minutes we were able to visit museums, beaches, restaurants & nitelife. We enjoyed: Louies Backyard, Rusty Anchor, Litehouse Museum, Ft Zackory Taylor Beach, Fury Fast Cat snorkeling, Duval St & Mallory Square, among many others. We met up with Tom "on the town" one nite...what a great host. We will definitely recommend Tom's condo to others. We can't wait to spend another vacation in this paradise. Thanks Tom!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Better than we imagined!!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I, plus another couple rented here over this past Memorial Day weekend. From the pictures we thought it would be nice, but wasn't expecting anything to 'Wow' us...well we were wrong! First of all, it was very easy to find and the location is perfect. You're set back from Duval street, only a 5min scooter ride at best, but you have a beautiful view of Smathers beach (great to wake up to in the morning!) that is literally right downstairs. Tom was very timely and accommodating in meeting us to get us into the condo and responded immediately when we had questions. When we walked in the place we were 'wowed'--the pictures don't do it justice in person (pictures are accurate-but when you walk in, it all flows together and is much better in person)! The kitchen is huge and beautiful, as you reach the living room you have a raised ceiling, balcony with seating for 6, both bedrms lead to the balcony--and both are very spacious, and the master bedrm had a great vanity and huge bathtub the size of a jacuzzi (it has that ability). There were plenty of towels for going to the pool and showering...that's another thing-the pool was beautiful too. There was also a big area with at least 3 grills (we grilled out one day and ate at the picnic tables down there), plenty of spots around the pool, bathrooms, and you could walk right out onto Smathers Beach from the pool area. The property itself was well maintained, people were friendly there, the condo was very clean also. The only thing we didn't prepare for was when cooking in the kitchen, not having tupperware to save leftovers, syran wrap, oil for cooking, just little things that I would normally have at home...but it is a fully stocked kitchen with the essentials.
I would absolutely recommend this property to friends or relatives and in fact told Tom we'd love to come back ourselves! Since I'm writing a review and this was personally my first time in Key West (nice that is was such a good experience that I really want to visit again!), there are a few things I'd recommend! Renting scooters-was so refreshing to ride outside and Key West is very accepting of scooters vs. trying to drive in regular traffic; The Rum Bar on Duval has the best Mojitos and bartender; try some real Key lime pie; breakfast at Cameille's, watch the sunset at Mallory Square and drink fresh coconut water; and finally head down to Duval and bar hop at least one night to check it them out! Hope this review is helpful!!

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time and posting the first review Samantha!!! It is very well written and detailed. We have decided to do a renovation this summer (new windows, tiles, curtains, and etc). If you make it back again you probably wont even recognize the place anymore! Hmmm, after the renovation is done I suppose a trip to the grocery store for oil, plastic wrap, tupperware, and etc should be on the top of my list. LOL. Thank you so much for the glowing review and five stars!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review