reviews for: listing #82738 - Quebec City, Quebec Condo rental

Chocolat Chaud Waterfront Condo
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CAD) $1,100 - $1,400 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect location, nice amenities

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Condo= 5 stars. Everything you need to feel at home. It really is most ideal for 2 people.

Location= 5 stars: Centrally located in the historic part of old town. Next door to, and within easy walking distance of just about everything. We use the term "easy walking" loosely, because there are some steep hills and steps to climb. Our car was parked across the street from the condo's building and was never needed.

Eating= 5 stars: Wow. MANY choices of cuisine. We ate at a different restaurant for lunch and dinner our entire stay and still hadn't come close to finding all the hot spots. Just be aware, food is a bit expensive. We saved money on breakfast and evening snacks by buying food from a local farmers market and a Metro grocery; Again, within walking distance or a short drive. The condo provides everything you need to cook and refrigerate.

Language barrier = 4.5 stars. We are from the USA and there were a couple occasions where locals had a hard time with English. With my wife's help ( she speaks some French) we managed without any real difficulty. Most locals speak both English and French, and were very friendly. I know they appreciated "Hello" and "Thank you" and any effort in their native tongue. Any stereotypical trait about them being "rude" certainly was not true.

Suggestions: Visit the Musee du Fort first. It gives you and excellent historical perspective on the city and it's history and better appreciation of the places you will want to visit.

Overall: 5 stars. and yes we would do it again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent time in Lower Town

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

This elegant, clean, and well-appointed condo is a gem. Right in the heart of our favorite part of of Vieux Québec. We've stayed in many places in the City over the years and this proved to be the most convenient and easy to enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Magnifique

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Perfect location; perfectly appointed condo. Doesn't get better than this! Glad we stayed there, we made some great memories. Merci Francine ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Condo in a Perfect Location!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

We loved our stay at le Chocolat Chaud! The condo had all the comforts of home and loads of charm, while at the same time feeling very luxurious. Francine was terrific to work with and made it easy to make arrangements, plus we appreciated her recommendations for restaurants. We stayed for 5 nights and the condo was ideally situated for exploring Vieux Quebec as well as for side trips to the Ile d'Orleans and Charlevoix region. We enjoyed the well-outfitted kitchen for preparing some of our meals and picnic lunches, and for other meals we were within easy walking distance of quaint restaurants with excellent food (Cafe St-Malo, Le Cochon Dingue and Le Lapin Saute were highlights). The public lot across the street made parking easy. The condo building was very quiet and the condo itself was exceptionally clean, bright, and fresh. We really can't say enough about this place and would definitely return. We give it 10 out of 5 stars!
Tom and Cathy - Ann Arbor, Michigan USA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this property to celebrate our honeymoon and it was exactly as described. The location is fantastic. Close to all of the areas that you would want to see and with all the conveniences of home. The owners have a wonderful list of all the restaurants you should try while you are here. Just a couple of blocks from the market, we were able to purchase fresh foods and cook our own meals on the nights we wanted to stay in.

Give this property a try, you will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Location! The Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

I cannot possibly say enough about how much we enjoyed staying here. The building and condo are very charming with stone walls and very high ceilings. The condo is right on the waterfront which made us feel right at home. The building and neighborhood are very safe, secure, and quiet. The rooftop deck is an excellent place to relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the fabulous views of the waterfront and the city above. (The view of The Château Frontenac is breathtaking!) The furnishings are all very comfortable making it a great place to hang out as well as a nice place to sleep. The bedding is fabulous and very cozy. We enjoyed many home cooked meals, especially breakfast, in the very well equipped kitchen. There is a very nice local farmers market within walking distance which was great for morning trips to buy produce, fresh breads, meats, and cheeses. The condo is in the center of everything in Vieux-Québec which makes it a perfect spot to just park the car and walk everywhere. Paid parking is very reasonable just a few steps across the street at about $13 a day and you can go in and out as much as you like if you buy the 7 day pass. There is enough to see and do immediately nearby in Vieux-Québec but if the old city is not enough then the Funiculaire is just a few steps away to transport you to the upper city and all it has to offer. Tour boats, dinner cruises, and ferries are just a few feet from the front door. The included WiFi proved to be a great luxury as Internet access can be a challenge at times around the city. If you want to spend a week or more living like a true Quebecois then I do not think it gets much better than this. My only complaint about staying here was having to leave. But we will be back..........

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Apartment in a Prime Location

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We had a most delightful time! The apartment was exactly as described
-- even better than the description. Very well supplied in all categories and as neat as a pin. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay -- the location was perfect. I would heartily recommend the apartment to all.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful condo in the perfect location

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

We spent 4 wonderful nights at Chocolat Chaud. The location is absolutely ideal; around the corner from everything Old Quebec City has to offer but still felt private and peaceful. The rooftop terrace was lovely and provided excellent photo opportunities at sunset.

The condo itself has been recently renovated and everything is brand new. We were able to cook our own meals several nights and have breakfast each morning with coffee, which was a huge savings. We personally loved the style of the condo and the bathroom shower was particularly nice.

Overall, the condo is a deal that cannot be beat for the perfect location. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Condo, Great Location

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

Condo was very well appointed. Location for sight-seeing was excellent. Park your car when you arrive and you won't need it again until you leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent place to stay..location..location..locat

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

This place was fantastic. The condo was immaculate and newly renovated. It was perfect for two adults and a one year old. Location was key!!!! Parking very convenient. Looking forward to returning again soon. Will recommend to many family members that want to visit Quebec.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

This place was fantastic. The condo was immaculate and newly renovated. It was perfect for two adults and a one year old. Location was key!!!! Parking very convenient. Looking forward to returning again soon. Will recommend to many family members that want to visit Quebec.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

This property was exactly as described and was absolutely perfect. The waterfront location was within walking distance of everything you could possibly want to do and see in Quebec city. The condo itself was fully equipped, very clean and located in a quiet building which also includes a roof top terrace giving a lovely view of the river and the city. Although we were not traveling by car the underground parking would be a definite plus. The air conditioning was also a bonus. We would certainly stay there again if we have the opportunity and would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A mini vacation in Quebec City

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

This is a beatiful loft situated at the St. Lawrence River in Old Quebec City. You can pack a lovely wine and cheese snack and take it to the top of the building for a clear view of Chateau Frontenac and the river. Steps from great restaurants, shopping, pubs and art galleries it was a wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review