reviews for: listing #82775 - Trinidad, California House rental

Agate Beach Guest House at Big Lagoon
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $245 - $285 /nt
    $1,650 - $1,850 /wk
    $3,250 - $3,850 /mth

sort by:

Great Retreat

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

Our time at Agate Beach House was much too short. The house was comfortable and lovingly decorated, and the view was fantastic. Kudos to the owners for graciously opening their home to vacationers. There were so many things to see and do within 60 miles or less of the house. I would definitely stay again and recommend it for spending quality time with family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOOK NO FURTHER!!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

If you are looking for a place that is centrally located to several great beaches and redwoods to explore then look no further. This place was impeccably clean and the neighborhood felt very friendly and family safe. Being practically on the beach this house enabled us to enjoy daily walks on the beach, ocean views, and short drives to see the Redwood NP, Elk, and many other things in the area. The kitchen was very well stocked with everything you need to prepare meals for your family. It was the best vacation home we have ever rented! (Slept our family of six very comfortably)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and great location close to beach

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

The owner was extremely helpful and accommodating. Location was a short drive to the beach an Big Lagoon state park. My daughter went for a jog on the beach while I took a walk and looked for pretty agates. We went for a nice little hike in Lady Bird Johnson's grove and a drive in fern canyon. Trinidad is only 8 miles to the south and had nice places to eat and a little grocery store for supplies. This house does not have cell phone reception so if you are about to close on a house in a week (like me), make sure you have another form of communication. It does have good wifi reception and there is a land line which the owner is gracious to let you make free long distance phone calls.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm always so happy that our guests enjoy the beach house. As was mentioned, for many of our guests, the cell reception is rather sketchy by the ocean up here in Northern California. We also have mountains to the east of us, which may explain the interference with the accessibility. We do let our guests know this in our listing ahead of time, and we also give our guests the land line phone number and suggest that they give it to their friends and family so they can be reached by them. As was mentioned, we also provide free long distance phone service to aid phone accessibility.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing north coast retreat

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

The home is in excellent condition, comfortable and well stocked. The location is very convenient to big lagoon park and a short drive to town. The view and sounds of the ocean from the front deck are very relaxing.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this House!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Absolutely loved this place. I took my daughter, whose in college up there and her friends to spend the weekend. A lovely gift basket was there for us to enjoy. The directions and instructions the owner sent were very thorough. The house was appointed really nicely, as was the kitchen. I loved that there was coffee for the morning! We will definitely stay there again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Stay Was Too Short!

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

While only able to stay for two days enroute to a final destination, the whole family thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The house had everything we could ask for - numerous amenities, an awesome view, and comfort. The kitchen was a key bonus - plenty of space for spreading out. Our little girls thoroughly enjoyed the front garden, spending hours entertaining themselves amongst the flowers and on the deck. Having a garage to load and unload through was also nice. All in all, we wish we could have stayed a whole week, and as a first vacation rental of this sort, has set the bar high for future rentals!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

COZY COASTAL COTTAGE

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

Comfortable and well maintained cottage with great views and a perfect location for visiting the redwoods. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this cottage to anyone visiting the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet Coast House

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

Great place to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of the Pacific. Huge expansive view. Quiet neighborhood. Occasional car goes by to park on the dead end street to access Agate Beach. Good view of the ocean from the front porch but you cannot see the breakers or directly access the beach from the house. The house sits back on a high bluff. It is a short walk from the house down to the beach though. Quiet and removed yet easy drives to the lagoons, Redwoods, and the town of Trinidad, etc. I would definitely return. Barbara, thanks for sharing your house with us and providing the delicious welcome basket!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Agate Beach House

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Beautiful view. The house was in great condition and was spotless. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was a lot to do in the area: exploring tide pools, the Redwoods, Patrick's Point State Park. We definitely recommend this house to others.

One word of caution: Agate Beach is not for swimming. The beach drops off quickly and there's a strong rip tide.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We like it so much that our guests notice and appreciate the lovliness of our guest house and the local area. We love it too. We are also concerned with the bluff and ocean safety of the Pacific Coast; so much so that we list this information on the listing site description, our contract, and the information sheet we send to our guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

The house and location were perfect; clean with lovely furnishings down to the last detail. The rental was everything my family needed/wanted and more! Clearly written instructions about what to and not to do made our vacation relaxing and stress free. When the owner asked if anything could make our stay more enjoyable; she went out the very next day and purchased a horse-shoe set and a backyard crochet set. Our family is completely blown away by the whole experience. Thank you for everything Barbara. We plan on making this a yearly family gathering.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I think my guests are "Simply Amazing" and I truly appreciate such great comments. I have been lucky to be able to meet many of my guests and get to know them, since I often clean after their stay. I have made some awesome friends in that way. I'll be glad to have them visit again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Blissed out at the beach

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

My family of four stayed at Agate Beach Guest house for a week in late July early August. Within a few minutes of arriving, the same words came out of each of our mouths. "It feels like home!" The longer we stayed, the more we found this to be true. Barbara has missed no detail in making her guests feel like welcome relatives: Closets stocked with thirsty white towels, clean blankets, extra pillows. Kitchen cupboards full of every dish and utensil you never thought you'd need. Plus a basket full of local goodies that we enjoyed long after we left the house.

The decor is simple, clean and comfortable- and the house is perfect for relaxing after a long day of exploring the stunning Northern California coast. Literally dozens of beaches just minutes away, and breathtaking scenery out the front window. Hands down, best vacation rental we've ever stayed in. We will most definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Each time I receive such a lovely review, it makes me so grateful to have a vacation rental. In particular, I love having guests notice that they are family to me. I am so blessed that people love the house and location and notice the details. Each guest advises me on how to improve the stay of the next guest, and I've learned to listen. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Moon family

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We loved our stay here. It was so peaceful and absolutely perfect. This is the place to stay if you really want to relax and de-stress. The house is beautiful clean and comfortable. We enjoyed walks on the beach and hiking in the Redwoods. We will be back for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Agate Beach Guest House Is an Affordable, Comfortable Haven

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We called Agate Beach Guesthouse home for the month of April, and we will return. We can hardly believe our good fortune in discovering this haven. Cold and worn out from a harsh winter in the midwest, we went online in hopes of finding a reasonably comfortable and affordable retreat. When Agate Beach Guesthouse appeared, we thought, "This is too good to be true." We were wrong. Agate Beach Guesthouse is true. Barbara, the most conscious and caring "innkeeper," is the fairy godmother, who makes wishes come true.
The house is wonderful, exactly as it appears in the photos, and in many ways even better than we expected. The kitchen is an inviting space with a lot of light that inspired cooking, hanging out, looking out at the ocean, and even working. Wi Fi is very reliable and the free long distance line was great. Friends from San Francisco visited for a weekend, and there was plenty of room. The living area with comfy, cushioned seating and extra large windows was a cozy space for reading, knitting and taking in the the expansiveness of the ocean and sky. The TV area was perfect for yoga practice. Each bedroom had comfortable beds with fresh, even new, linens, warm comforters, extra pillows and blankets. There's abundant hot water and great pressure in the showers.There were plenty of towels.The washer/dryer is convenient. The house is immaculate, and it is so easy to keep it that way. Barbara anticipates your every need with delicious, thoughtful treats in a welcome basket on the kitchen counter, a plethora of information about the area, and generous supplies all around the house. We felt so at home. The one-floor, ranch is easy.
Then there is beautiful Agate Beach and access to everything. A short walk and you're on the beach, immersed in the landscape: long spits of beach between the ocean and the lagoons where agates are as plentiful as the surrounding giant rocks and sea stacks coming out of the ocean. A short ride and you're in quiet,magical redwood forests. We loved the easy access to Trinidad and Arcata, too. We recommend this home away to all seeking exploration and activity or quiet retreat and renewal.
What nature didn't provide for our restoration, Barbara did in her lovely ocean view home. We felt well cared for, and we knew we were in a special place. At the end of our month-long retreat, we were restored, resilient, and reluctant...reluctant to leave this wonderful haven.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Agate Beach House is Amazing

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Our stay at the Agate Beach House was perfect. The house was beautiful, and the view and sound of the ocean made our family gathering really serene. The owner of the property was so sweet and nice, meeting her as we were leaving was icing on the cake. I highly recommend this place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Such kind reviews are always appreciated. I also thought it was so nice to be able to meet. Such neat and tidy guests are welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Welcome Escape

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

The location of Agate Beach House on Big Lagoon Bay was magical! this is a very special spot, especially given the limited options in this area. This is just 20 minutes from Redwood National Forest parks, roaming elk, giant redwoods and beyond. The home is charming, and clearly, the owners are very passionate about this property. All questions were promptly addressed, Barbara was very accomodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend this home to any friends traveling up to the north coast! Good restaurants within 15 minutes.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Wonderful Stay at Agate Beach House

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at your home Barbara and thank you for the wonderful gift basket you left, a very very welcome touch especially after our long drive up ! Your home is beautiful, the pictures really don't capture just how wonderful it is. The location is just amazing, we enjoyed wonderful walks along the beach collecting agate, the magnificent sunsets and then to see the whale coming right out of the sea just made our boys day (and ours for that matter). We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back and have recommended to numerous friends already. Loved, loved, loved our stay here ...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous View

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Our family of five thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Agate Beach Guest House. The home was very clean, comfortably appointed and the view spectacular. The front porch facing the Pacific was a picture-perfect place to start your morning listening to the birds sing, or to relax in the evening and watch the sun go down. Our favorite place in the house was the dining table where we had our meals while enjoying the view and sounds of the ocean. Everything we needed was provided, including beach towels! The beach was just a short walk away where we found many interesting rocks, driftwood and even several agates. Trinidad is only a five minute drive where you can find a grocery store and several restaurants, plus a terrific view of Trinidad Bay. The communication with the owner was exceptional; she promptly answered all of our questions and also sent us some additional information on the area. There is plenty to do, though it would be a perfect place to stay and just relax. We hiked in the Redwoods, went white water rafting, and spent time on the beach. Several evenings we went down to the beach as the sun was setting and took some incredible pictures. If we ever return to northern California, we definitely would want to stay at the Agate Beach House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Escape from Family Holiday Drama!

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My husband and I, along with another couple, managed to escape the usual family dramas associated with holidays by staying at the spectacular Agate Beach House over the Thanksgiving weekend. While we wished to escape family holiday drama, we understand not all people feel the same! The beautiful Agate Beach House is a wonderful location for any occasion, with or without the family in tow! The house is clean and welcoming, beautifully furnished, and had all the amenities we needed. The beds were comfortable and cozy, and the kitchen provided everything we needed to cook our Thanksgiving dinner. Frequent visitors to the Trinidad area, we spent our time hiking in the redwoods, enjoying the beach, and even went to town on Thanksgiving morning to enjoy the annual Blessing of the Fleet ceremony. We arrived during the tail end of a storm, and even though it was dark, we knew we were very close to the sea, as the sounds of the waves crashing was almost deafening! This was the only "noise" we were subjected to though, as the house is located in a very quiet neighborhood. As we live in the mountains, we frequently need to taste the salty sea air, and hear the crashing of waves. We are frequent vacation rental visitors to the area, and would book here again! Thank you very much for a wonderful, drama free Thanksgiving to remember!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a gracious and kind review. We are so grateful to have such thoughtful guests! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful location! Excellent view!

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We rented the Agate Beach house in mid-August for a vacation in the Redwoods and couldn't have asked for a better location. We were within walking distance of both Big Lagoon and Agate Beach and just minutes from town. The house was so well equipped and so nicely decorated. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Retro charm and relaxing environment

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We are from Redding, CA and were looking for a house with a view that would provide the perfect mood for a relaxing stay while hosting our friends from Hawaii (who have never been to the Northern California area before). How sweet it was to open the front door and be greeted by an "Aloha" gift basket filled with goodies for our stay! Then there was the retro styling that took us all back to our childhood when living in the '60's was so cool! The house had everything we needed, plus an amazing view of the ocean just over the bluffs! Our guests were delighted every morning to find deer grazing in the woods near the back of the property, pleasant neighbors who were so helpful to answer questions about the area, and of course - the beach! The weather was unseasonably warm & sunny with gentle of shore breezes cooling us at night. The beds were cozy and comfortable and we slept well. Barbara did a great job of leaving detailed instructions for everything from use of the valence back-lighting to use of the kitchen appliances. Thank you so much for a very nice stay and we will make this our "go to" place to stay in the future whenever we plan to visit the coast! We give this stay a "5 Star" rating. God bless & enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Get Away

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2003

I'm very excited to hear that Jim and Barbara have re-opened their beautiful home for vacation rentals indeed I'm so happy that I recently rented this incredible site for my son's upcoming honeymoon. Having stayed with these very responsible folks in the past I have no hesitation with recommending it to others. My past recommendations have included friends who were actually married there. A beautiful front picture window provides this panoramic view of the northern California coast line. Bring binocs during whale season. Very close to many fun beach combing type activities. Big Lagoon right next door for kayaking and sailing. You'll be very pleased with the 3 br., 2 bath accomodations. They're clean and modern. Very comfortable, incredibly beautiful. Check it out for yourself. Amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Agate Beach Guest House in Big Lagoon

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2003

So excited to hear that you have opened your home again for vacation rentals. I have stayed before and totally enjoyed your lovely, comfortable and welcoming house - so we have booked it again; twice for this summer. We are taking our family for a week-end get-a-way at the end of June and are having our annual "girl's trip" in early September. We love the amazing views and sound of the ocean. With Agate Beach in front of the house, we can simply pack a lunch and spend the day hunting for agates! We love to come to Big Lagoon to get away from heat of the summers in Redding. I would totally recommend this vacation home for a wonderful, relaxing and most enjoyable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

We had an amazing time at your beautiful home. Looking forward to our next trip to Agate Beach! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

Thank you so much for opening your home to us! My daughter's great grandparents, cousin, and aunt came to visit us for her 3rd birthday. My grandfather loved the quail and ocean view. We would love to rent this home again for future family visits!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We all loved intercom, and we saw whales. It was the best vacation house ever. Thank you California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review