reviews for: listing #82925 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

New Low Rates, Center of Town, Minutes to Everything!!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sierra Tract
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $395 /nt
    $900 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Great Property, Excellent Location

Review submitted: August 23, 2014   Date of arrival: August 8, 2014

We stayed here earlier this month and loved it. The location is in a nice neighborhood just a few blocks off hwy 50 and near everything. We love the fact that the property opens up to a wilderness area with a creek that we used for our morning walks. The interior is nice and the furnishings and beds were comfortable. The lower deck in the back had a nice hot tub and BBQ. The rental process was easy and we plan to come back here in the winter for skiing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great south tahoe house

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 11, 2014

This was a wonderful vacation home for the 5 if us. Close to everything including camp Richardson and Great Lake access. Property management company was very attentive. Would book it again when we have the chance!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family property

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 17, 2014

One of the best houses we have rented in Tahoe. It was big enough for the 14 of us with plenty of room for everyone, the beds were marvelous.....The location was great for the kids who could ride their bikes with no worries of a lot of traffic and could explore the shallow creek and meadow. The process for renting the home was effortless and would do this again next year, if not sooner....Thank you for a wonderful family event....

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend getaway

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

This cabin was fantastic! I booked this for a weekend getaway with some friends and was not at all disappointed. The cabin was close to the lake and the main roadway, highway 50. The area around the cabin was beautiful, with the meadow and creek in the back providing a nice place to stroll through and take in the scenery. Inside the cabin there was more than enough room for the 7 of us and had all the amenities we could ask for (including the hot tub, I almost always book somewhere with a hot tub!).

Best of all the booking was quite seamless which cannot be undervalued when considering a trip.

All in all I would highly recommend this cabin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

My family stayed at this house over Labor Day weekend. We had a big family reunion and we rented this house and the house next door that the manager also has. We rented this house last winter and that is why we came back again. This is our third time renting this house and the first time renting both houses together. This house is very comfortable and had sleeping room from everyone. Since last year it looks like they have made many changes including a newer and very easy to use hot tub. It is nice being so close to all the attractions in the area, especially with a big family. My mom really loved sitting on the back deck in the evenings and looking out onto the meadow. The price was right and it was the perfect family vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Price/Location/Property

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

If you are looking for a great place to stay at a great price this is the spot! I have rented from Dale several times and will continue to do so. We have had nothing but great experiences. I can't wait for our next trip!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful place/location/Price!!!!

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Pictures don't do it justice! Great place, the downstairs is very open and the kitchen is huge which made it great for our group cooking. The place is well maintained and there was everything we needed. The price was amazing, and especially for a holiday weekend. I mean I know the place isn't brand new, however if you need a great place at a bargain rate it can't be beat! Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal location for summer or winter visit to Tahoe

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

We've been to this house several times and it is a perfect Tahoe location. Close to skiing and so many awesome beaches. The house is great with wonderful views and a great hot tub. If you have a very large group, the house next door can also be rented.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

JA

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Great house. Very clean. Lots of space. Nice floors. Comfortable beds. Heating system works well. Great deck that looks out to Heavenly Mountain. Hot tub on deck - fun for kids or adults. Meadow just behind house - excellent for building snowmen or going for a walk. Centrally located, close to shopping, ski resorts, and casinos.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great space and location for a family reunion!

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

Appreciated that the address was included in the original listing on VRBO. (That always makes me feel like there is nothing to hide.) The house was in an easily drivable distance to many locations - Heavenly Village, grocery stores, shopping & casinos. The house is spacious and perfect for enjoying family time - all at one time, we had kids doing homework, watching TV, playing Pictionary, and adults hanging out - all while being able to see & hear one another! The backyard area allowed us to enjoy the snow without going to a snowpark. The house was well-maintained and the heater system was great - kept us warm & comfortable! This was my first time booking a trip using VRBO and it was so easy.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very well kept house

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

His house has a great value to it. It is slightly on the older side externally, but the interior is another story. The new hardwood floor is beautiful (no shoes inside, but we're Asians.. so that's not a big deal at all..hehe) The bedrooms and bathrooms are well kept. Dale promised a clean Jacuzzi since we had asked him about a previous review, and it was a promise kept. We stayed here for Christmas 2011, and although it wasn't a White Christmas, the kids still had a fun time playing in the back meadow. Our family love the big tables and BBQ Grill outside. We had a great Christmas dinner. Would come back again... Overall, this is the best bang for the buck.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Place to Stay !!!!

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

Had an absolutely amazing time at this house - the location was great, close to everything. Our kids had a great time in the meadow behind the house, and we could watch them from the deck and hottub. This house is really worth staying at. Inside was really spacious, had a great fireplace that we sat around and kept the house really warm and cozy. The kitchen was a really nice size, so there were a few of us able to do some cooking and preparing all at the same time, plenty of pots etc. There was a nice, big dining room table for us all to sit at, and an extra table for the kids to sit at - had an absolutely wonderful time here, and will definitely be booking it again in the winter, as it is really close to Heavenly, where we love to snowboard. Thanks Dale, this place was really worth the money !!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place for families

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We've stayed in South Lake Tahoe several times. We've stayed at the casino hotels, cheap hotels,cabins, and the Kirkwood Resort cabins. This is the first time we stayed at this location. It was absolutely perfect. Looked small from the front but once you walk through the front door its very spacious. Big, well equipped kitchen with seating for the whole family. Comfortable seating in the living room with an open ceiling to the second floor and a cozy wood stove. No nasty carpeting or smells; very clean and new flooring I think. The beds were comfortable and clean. It has a mud room/laundry room that has plenty of room to store snowboards, clothes, boots etc...including a bathroom with a shower. We enjoyed a Thanksgiving dinner there with the whole family and everyone agreed we'll be back. Dale is a great guy to work with and it was easy to clean up.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Trip

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

My family stayed in this house and the house next door because there was over 20 of us. This is a well maintained house in a nice locaion. It was obvious that the owners have put a lot of work in the house recently. Most of the furniture is new, floors and walls are all really clean. The house is comfortable. There were 4 famiys staying in the hosue and they all had plenty of room. The kitchen was big and there are two kitchen tables and lots of seating. The meadow in the back was nice for morining walks. We saw coyotes two mornings, we got some great pictures before they ran off. The house is close to shopping, and the casinos. We rode Heavenly gondola and ate at the restaurant at the top of the mountain. It was only a coulple minutes away. For the price and locaion it was perfect. It was easy to book and my family wants to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Tahoe Vacation!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a great vacation in Lake Tahoe! We stayed in this property for a week. This house was a great find, great price, and we really enjoyed the location. It was close to town making it convenient, and we enjoyed the quiet neighborhood. The kids loved to ride the bikes up and down the street, but the meadow in the backyard was a score for them! We had 9 in our group and this house accomodated us very nicely. The hot tub was a nice bonus as well! Dale was very easy to work with and we received our refund quickly! We hope to use this property again! Thanks Dale!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WE LOVED OUR VACATION

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

We have been going to South Lake Tahoe every summer for our annual family trip. We have stayed at many houses but I think this was one of our better choices. This house is located in a perfect spot. The meadow behind the house was great to look at while sitting in the hot tub and the views from the second story deck were also great. The inside of the house is all new and comfortable. The house was stocked with all the basics plus lots of extra items like board games and more. It looks like the stairs and the porch have been rebuilt as it was all new paint and wood. My kids loved this house as there was always something to do. The neighborhood seemed very safe. Dale made it very easy to book, we got cancelled by another owner and Dale was easy to work with. I hope to book this property again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location for all your attactions.

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

This is our first time to Lake Tahoe and this house was the perfect location. It was close to all the attractions. We didn't mind driving back and forth as we were looking for the right place or had a change in plan. The house may appear to look grassy on the outside, but as you enter this house, it was well maintain inside with beautiful hard wood floors. The bathrooms and kitchen were clean. It accommodated my family well. I wish the creek in the backyard didn't overflow so we can explore out there with the kids when we were home, but aah! this is mother nature's unexpected visit. There were board games avail. for teenagers. The beds were nice and not worn down, they were comfortable to sleep in. The view to upper deck is amazing early in the morning. You can even take an early walk around the neighbor to enjoy nature. The neighbor is safe, we park our cars outside the whole two days and everything was good. The garage was fine, we just didn't want to mess with it. Dale was extremely helpful, I text and email him with questions due to immediate booking and he always respond. Sometimes he even calls me to make sure everything was clear. If there was something that I wasn't sure with the house or any problems, Dale always calls back. Very friendly guy to talk to, never gestures any frustration over the phone. Dale you are awesome. Again, thanks for making our family trip possible for letting us stay in this wonderful home within such short notice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice property, good location

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

We found the home clean, large and well located. The spa was in nice working order and the kids had plenty of room to play. I found it a "good" home, although (and I would guess it is repaired by now), the stairs up to the home were a little dangerous and in need of repair. Likewise with the banister on the second floor.

The rooms were clean, well maintained and the beds were comfortable. We got plenty of use out of the well stocked kitchen, but as the home is a little dated, I might go for his home next door which he also owns and is new and fresh. I think you get what you pay for and the price was right.

I also like the location, really close to just about everything in SLT. I would rent from him again, as I think he made it easy for us to rent, even at the last minute. I think for a winter rental it would be great. We were there in the summer and really enjoyed it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great value, even if a little bit older

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

Was looking for a cheap place to hold 10 people and found great value for this cabin. The place was clean and as advertised, for a good price. There were no major complaints and it's a good value.

Small complaints include:
- the heater upstairs was broken the entire stay, so if we closed the bedroom doors, it became freezing in 2 of the rooms
- There were no extra linens/pillows around for the 2 futons on the ground floor (we searched all the cabinets)
- The hot tub water was pretty dirty when we used it, hopefully that's just temporary and the water gets replaced soon.

No deal breakers and it met my expectations. Good rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Just let us know while you are staying at any of our properties if there are any issues. The hot tub is cleaned after every rental, it is part of the cleaning fee. We fixed the upstairs furnace and put some extra sheets in the linen closet.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best bang for your buck!

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

Our group of 10 had a great time at this home. There was plenty of room for everyone. The kitchen was pretty well stocked with cooking utensils, spices, pots and pans. We bought some of our own spices just in case. The stove was really nice and the island was great for extra counter space. We had trouble turning on the fan above the stove, so we decided to just crack open a window instead. There were only a couple of things we couldn't find: the sponge and extra kitchen/trash bags. We had to make a run to the store anyways so we just bought sponges and used the grocery shopping bags as trash bags.

Everyone really enjoyed the space outside. The men made a home-made slide for everyone. We had a great time playing in the snow. The hot tub didn't get used, but it looked like a good size. For the price and accomodations, the house was a really good deal. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

We just returned from a week trip. I can't say enough about the location. It is backed up to a open space. Absolutely beautiful in the snow. My kids loved exploring and making igloos and snowmen. The house itself was great for a family of 6. We had plenty of room and the accommodations were very nice. We will definitely be coming back, next time in the summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic four days

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

My sister & I , 3 daughters, teenage grandson and a friend of his returned from this rental just yesterday. This rental was highly accommodating for our group. The house was roomy, well supplied (need more wash cloths) but otherwise was perfect. The rooms were great, lots of spices in the cupboard (we were surprised at this) It brought out more intermingling with the family. Games & puzzles were available, lg. eating area, for fun with the family, close to everything. Price was reasonable. Dale was wonderful in his management and when I got to my pc this morning I had a message informing me of my deposit being returned. We definetly will will be scheduling a return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Experience

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

We just got back from our mini-family reunion in Tahoe and have nothing but good things to say about the house and the overall experience. Dale was great to work with and the house lived up to all our expectations, based on the pictures and reviews. Very clean, so roomy, fantastic location, and it was nice to be able to cook and eat together in the spacious kitchen. (We all loved the stove!) Huge refrigerator, nice center island with a cutting board top, and even some extras like spices and sugar in the cabinets. (These may be left from other guests, I'm not sure what is usually there so bring what you need just in case). I highly recommend this property and would come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

T.Roberts

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

My Wife and I with 5 older kids and two of their friends spent a full week here. It had plenty of room with a great field area and a trout river right in the back yard. We saw a bear, two coyotes, and some deer.
The house was very clean and perfect location for everything. We went white water rafting at Beyond Limits in Coloma about 1 1/2 hours away... Dale was great and took care of everything we ask for.
The small river out back had a tree swing to jump into the river the kids loved it.. We will be back and use the house again... Thanks Dale!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great bargain in an excellent location

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

This was a great house for our family reunion in June of 2010. Plenty of room with a huge table and great kitchen to work and talk in. Nice location, close to stores, lake and nice neighborhood to walk in. Living space is very large with bedrooms on small side but very adequate. Loved all the porches!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great rental property

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

Stayed here in April for a weekend. Very reasonably priced, great location, large house, new applicances. Took a little while to heat up (would recommend slippers as the hardwood floors can get cold), but the hot tub was nice (fits six comfortably), the fireplace was warm (though we did have to clean it first), and the three full bathrooms made it quick and easy for everyone to get ready. Property managers were very easy to deal with, quick responses to all of my questions and quick return payment of full deposit. Would definitely recommend this place for groups of 8-10 people.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a group!

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Stayed here two weekends ago with a big group of friends visiting from out of town. Dale was great to work with, got everything done very quickly over the phone/internet. The house is really nice, big kitchen which was great for making a big meal for 11 hungry skiiers. I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Took extended family up for a family reunion/long-weekend. Very pleased with the accommodations. Floors and kitchen were especially nice. Back meadow running down to creek was a great place for kids to play. Very convenient to the main drag (50) and easy access to skiing and sledding. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

We went up with a large group and this was a great place. Large and spacious, equipped and good location. Kids had great time and so did we. Great kitchen too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

Great house! close to everything, and supplied with all the essentials. The kids had a great time with the endless snow in the back yard and ducks in the pond. Hoping to return in summer. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

We stayed at the house over the holidays and were very pleased. The house is very nice inside and the location is perfect, close to everything. It was very easy to book through dale and he took care of all our needs. We have already booked a trip for later in the season. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

We stayed this house over new years and we
loved it. The house is totally updated and very
nice inside. We loved the location, right in the
middle of town on a $15 cab ride to the casinos.
It was a safe and quiet street and the meadow
behind the house was neat. We booked through
dale, he was very nice and easy to work with.
Best place we have stayed at in years! Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review