reviews for: listing #82970 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

Bayfront- Romantic Beach Getaway W/ Patio
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $195 /nt
    $895 - $1,695 /wk

sort by:

Needed more space

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Had the best time!!! Only complaint was the pics didn't show just how small the house was. We will be going back for sure, just in a bigger house.

Owners response: Ryan,

Nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. As I always tell people, this wonderful Bayfront cottage is perfect for a couple (very romantic with private patio) but it might feel a bit small when bringing kids. For families, I usually offer one of our more spacious units next door - either our 1BR with comfortable queen sleeping sofa (#423120) or our 2BR with King and Queen bed (#362573). Both comfortably sleep 4 people and offer more living space.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Beach Cottage

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

This Beach Cottage was right on the bay and one and a half blocks behind is Mission Beach so it was great for our family of four (our kids are 7 and 4 years). Great location and very clean!! We parked and didn't have to drive anywhere for an entire week! Everything was so close and if we wanted to be down by the Pier we rode our bikes. I would highly recommend and have already told friends about this Unit!! If your kids are bigger you might consider an air bed but our kids fit just fine on the front couch/futon. The owners/property manager were very accommodating as well! We asked at the last minute if we could come one day earlier and they got back to us right away and made it all happen for us to spend an extra day there!!
Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation home for a small family

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

The home was very clean and kitchen well stocked. The location is perfect - there's a huge grass area and beach right in front of the house, perfect for kids, and walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We loved how quiet the bay was compared to the ocean side, and that we could watch the Sea World fireworks from the patio. We also appreciated the highchair, pack and play, and baby gate for our daughter.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy and perfect

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

This place was spotless when we arrived. Everything was extremely clean, neat, tidy and well organized. We were very impressed with the place and it was the perfect size for my husband and me. We stayed for 4 full days and we were very comfortable. The view was amazing! In mid-April, it was best to be on the bay because Mission Beach was a bit chilly. The condo was conveniently close to coffee shops and cafes in walking distance and all the beaches of San Diego (there are at least 4-5), were a 15 minute ride in general. The garage was convenient but was very tight for 2 cars. We also went grocery shopping so that we could enjoy snacks and appetizers each late afternoon with a bottle of wine while relaxing and admiring the view from the outdoor patio. In one word, it was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Accommodations ok location terrific

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

Hubby and I stayed for a long weekend. Bed was bit funky and room for only one to watch tv in living area. But location was super, walked to coffee houses and bars. View of bay peaceful and ocean two blocks away. Porch was good spot for people watching, tons of foot traffic along path in front of unit. Could have used some lawn chairs to move on to grassy area.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am sorry to hear that you felt the mattress was not being 100% comfortable. I hand picked it and chose an extra nice one to offer the best comfort possible. Since the bed incl. mattress is brand new, I personally went over to the property to investigate whats going on. I noticed that the bed frame did not have a middle support, which was probably causing the feeling of rolling into the middle a little bit. It's fixed now and so far everyone loves the bed. If I hear otherwise, I will have the mattress replaced as nothing is more important than a good night of sleep while on vacation. Regarding the lawn chairs: We do provide them along with boogie boards. The beach equipment is stored in the garage storage cabinet as explained in the Welcome Booklet.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mission beach cottage

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

Truly enjoyed our stay at the mission beach cottage. Everything was new and clean. The view of the bay was magnificent, and we even enjoyed people-watching the constant stream of bikers, joggers, and walkers past our cozy front porch. The bikes were appreciated. The only thing we missed was the dishwasher.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cottage

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

We had a wonderful time here....a few things to mention....we did not have enough toilet paper, tissues, or towels. This place is small but a good size for two. Windows coverings were minimal at best. The furnace was an absolute pain in the neck...

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed your time. I am sorry to hear that you felt the supplies were insufficient. We provide everything to get our renters started, incl. 3 rolls of toilet paper per bathroom, 2 tissue boxes, trash bags, sponge, dish soap, soap and shampoo bottles, hand soap and if applicable dishwasher and laundry soap. We also provide kitchen towels and 2 bathroom towels of each size for every renter. If needed we are happy to bring over more but most renters are satisfied with two sets. Not sure what you mean with window coverings are minimal as each window offers a nice cellular shade. We are very sorry for the inconvenience with the furnace. We replaced it right away.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"It's Darling!"

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

That's what my wife said (to my utmost relief) when she walked into the place that I had booked. It's very cozy, clean, comfortable, and efficient. We have 2 kids (3 yo, and 4 month old). The futon was very comfortable. I felt the location was quiet. And there are 3 great coffee shops very close by with wonderful baked goods. It had everything we needed (though my wife broke the cork screw opener, which we left out on the table to be replaced!) IN all, our stay was wonderful. We will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice condo

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We found this little cottage charming and very clean. The location is perfect, we walked to almost all our meals and spent a lot of time on the boardwalk, although it was not "beach weather." The kitchen is well-equipped for simple meals. The bed is very soft - you definitely have to cuddle with your bed partner on this one. There is a 2" thick sleeping pad which worked out fine for our two year old. An older kid could sleep on the couch, too. The bathroom is small and Spartan, but very clean. Do not rent any car larger than economy - it will not fit in the garage space - and even an economy will be difficult to park. There is free 24 hour outdoor surface parking at the community center one block away.
We loved walking to "The Mission" for breakfast and "World Famous" for classic American seafood on the water.
SeaWorld has 7 day tickets for the price of one -- great for little kids, you can head over every day for a couple of hours and not get too worn out.
We had a lovely time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just wanted to share that we replaced the queen mattress in October 2013 with a brand new very nice cushion firm one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Value

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 29, 2013

Clean, bright and on the bay-side walk with view of every mornings sunrise. Nicely decorated and fully furnished kitchen for simple meals. Great for a couple and if staying with a kid or young adult there is a good sofa bed. Garage is double but you only get one half. I fit my VW Passat Wagon in but it was tight.

It is a five minute walk to the Mission Bay Yacht Club where I was spending my days.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is a perfect romantic spot on Mission Bay

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

It was easy to love this spot for its location. Close to many good restaurants, less than a mile from Ralph's grocery store, and with the beach two blocks away. The bay is the quiet, clean side to stay on, while the beach side is a little more lively. While this place is not big, it has everything a couple needs for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed the place so much and would probably rent it again if the opportunity comes up. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking, the grill was great and we enjoyed tea in the morning on the little patio. At night we liked to turn out the lights and let the lights of the bay light the room. The neighbors were respectful of the quiet time at night which made sleeping easy.

The only things we discussed that could have been better were that we could have used another set of sheets and a few more towels for our 8 day stay and there is no washer and dryer here, but there is a laundry within about four or five blocks. The parking in the garage was really tight. So if your car is anything but small, you may need alternate parking, which is not easy to come by. Internet connection was great. all in all, recommended for a couple on a getaway.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for couple or small family

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

We stayed at this property for a week this past June and couldn't have been happier. It was clean, modern, and had everything we needed -- down to the sand toys. It was on the small side but light and bright. We were perfectly comfortable. Location was ideal. We could sit on our deck and watch as our daughter played in the sand or walk 2 minutes and be at the beach. Loved the bay walk along the water. Perfect for biking, running, walking. Property management was excellent. We would definitely rent this home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, nice amenities and nice price!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This Mission Bay condo was in a wonderful, family friendly location. The pictures accurately portray the quaint condo and it was wonderfully maintained, clean and well appointed with modern designer touches.

The location is perfect on the bay side which is less crowded than the Mission Beach side yet walkable to both bay and beach activities. The aquatic center and rec center have wonderful SUP and kayak rentals within walking distance. My 10-yr old, husband and I rented beach cruisers from Cheap Rentals to explore the boardwalks, and found fantastic fish tacos at La Playa up the street.

The condo although small, is well equipped with a kitchen and grill for meals. The condo included a comfortable queen bed, a small but well appointed bathroom provided for our family of three, and my son didn't mind sleeping on the twin size, modern couch. WiFi and two tvs provided night time relaxing after a long day of sight seeing.

It was nice to have a nicely decorated and thoughtful condo, that included parking that accommodated our rental car, too. The location was perfect for all the theme parks that lovely San Diego has to offer. What a pleasant surprise at such short notice, and the property company, Nicole in particular, was extremely responsive to my many questions!

I don't rate it a 5 star only because the week we stayed, other renters routinely crossed our front porch to access the side storage fence. Although friendly and polite, the few times seemed to be disruptive in those tight quarters, as these folks kept bringing up kayaks back and forth by our front door and patio. If this is normal, I would describe the listing as semi-private patio.

We would not hesitate in renting again from the quality, well located properties Pacific Sands offers, and can't wait to return and kayak that lovely bay again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tricia, Thanks so much for your review. I am so sorry that the renters walked through the patio and disrupted your privacy. The patio IS PRIVATE (for your use ONLY) and they should have walked around the property to access the beach equipment. I will make sure that this does not happen again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An excellent choice right on the Bay

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

If you are a single traveler, a couple, or even a couple with a child, 3678 Bayside Walk might be ideal for a San Diego holiday. The unit faces Mission Bay. In the early morning when the sailboats are floating on top of the still water that is like glass, there is a great sense of peace and tranquility. Very soon, however, the walkway right outside is filled with joggers,bicycle riders, roller bladers and walkers. Just beyond the unit is large green area that is perfect for young children. Two blocks from the unit is the Pacific Ocean, and a boardwalk that is perfect for bike riding, walking, roller blading and people watching. Within a short distrance of the unit are a number of small restaurants, and a small bakery that makes delicious hot cinnamon rolls every morning. Along the ocean boardwalk area number of good restaurants serving breakfast, lunch or dinner. Bike rental shops are near the unit and also places that will rent you surfing equipment or provide lessons. Right across from the unit is a place to rent kayaks, sailboats and catamarans. There is a convenient bus stop a block from the unit that can take you to the trolley station in a few minutes where you can take a trolley to downtown San Diego. It's a great way to avoid the hassle and expense of finding a parking spot in downtown San Diego where you can visit the Maritime Museum and a number of other tourist attractions. The unit is very clean. The kitchen of the unit has up to date appliances and is equipped with almost anything you might need to prepare a meal. There is also an outdoor barbeque available. The bedroom is comfortable. There is a light next to the wall mounted TV that has something to do with access to the internet that may bother a light sleeper. The bathroom is small but adequate. i needed some instruction on how to work the gas heater. It can get chilly in the evening in February. Nicole was immediately available to answer my questions. I stayed in this unit for a month.If you are looking for a well equipped Bayside unit at a reasonable cost this may be an excellent choice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great for 1 person

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Great small cottage with a lovely view in the front. Very clean and well equipped.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Very clean and the location is great for families. We have a 2 year old, so with this unit you get the excellent views, but the bayside is a little better fit for young kids that beach side. The tv's and cable and wireless internet were great to keep my wife and I entertained while she napped. Also having a high chair and pack and play was great. We rented bikes, got groceries and enjoyed grilling dinner and the nice patio.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location on the bay!

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our infant daughter for four nights, but we wish we could have stayed longer. It was the perfect size for the three of us but may have been a little tight with any more. The location was perfect - right on Mission Bay! It was wonderful to be able to step out the front door onto the bike path and to just sit out front and watch the fireworks at Sea World. It was surprisingly not loud at night, though that all depends on how loud the neighbors are. Everything in the place was brand new, and they provided a pack-n-play and high chair (which were super helpful). Renting from Nicole at Pacific Sands Vacations was really easy even though we needed the place at the last minute.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review