reviews for: listing #83002 - Long Beach, Washington House rental

The Western Downs - Oceanfront 2 BR Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $195 /nt
    $725 - $1,170 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Time to Leave Already???

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

Do we HAVE to go home? Enjoyed our stay immensely! Was pleased with no commercial TV - much more relaxing. Thanks for the added touch of "deer watching" :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Clamming "Event"

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

After one of the longest periods of dry weather in history, we came over to Western Downs for the first wet weather of the season. The rain and wind made clamming an "event", but it was very fun. The grasses were blowing and the beach was covered in foam and froth. This was the relaxing weekend we needed. Thanks for the opportunity to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoroughly Enjoyed our Stay

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

What a lovely place to unwind - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Western Downs. We love this area, and this time the Kite Festival was going on during our visit - what a treat! Fabulous dinners at the 42nd Street Cafe and The Depot, poking around the antique shops & walking along the gorgeous beach - Ahhh...we hope to return!
We truly appreciated your attention to details. No question unanswered - you are my kind of people!!! So clean & neat :-).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Week

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

What a wonderful place to call home for a week. Loved checking out the area - weather was pleasant. Very friendly people everywhere/the neighbor was very helpful. We will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place to Relax

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

My husband and I absolutely LOVE coming to Western Downs. It is a relaxing little place right outside of Long Beach and we are never disappointed. The sound of the ocean puts me in my little "Zen" place, and when the surf comes in, you can see the huge waves coming in. At night, if you are an astronomy geek like I am, you can see what planets are out, the constellations and even the Milky Way. All with the sound of the ocean de-stressing you.

I sincerely cannot say enough good things about Western Downs. My husband and I wouldn't have come back here, I believe, 12, times now. We absolutely love the home, the view, the quiet (aside from the ocean) and the winter storms are something you HAVE to experience.

Take a chance and enjoy this clean little home right outside of Long Beach (and I mean about 1/2 mile) and have fun with this little town that isn't a "Tourist Trap": it's a fun city, with fun shops and this is what brings hubby and me back.

In a nutshell, Western Downs is a very nice place to stay. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. It's always SUCH a pleasure to have you come. I know what you mean about the sound of the surf - you can actually feel the stress falling away. When I first moved here, it took me a month to get off my couch =). We LOVE our return guests -

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A long way from the beach

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

The home is well-furnished and accommodating for two or three people, but the advertised ocean view is almost non-existent. The Western Downs is set far back on grassy, shrub-covered dunes, and only if the weather is clear will you see a slight strip of ocean in the distance. We did enjoy watching the deer from the deck, but that wasn't what we'd come to Long Beach for.

Owners response: The Western Downs is an oceanfront property. The western boundary line is 'mean high tide'. There are 4 acres of grassy dunes between the house and the beach. The dunes are protected and provide a home for much of the wildlife here, including deer, black bear, coyotes, elk, numerous birds and more. The building lines vary from lot to lot. The view of the ocean changes each year as the dunes conform to the wind and the waves. Homeowners are only allowed to trim the trees to maintain their view of the water. There is a private path through the dunes to the beach. It's about a 10 minute walk to an uncrowded section of our beautiful sandy beach. The ocean is visible from the house, especially on clear, sunny days. The beach, however, is not visible from most houses here and, in turn, most houses are not visible from the beach. During the winter Dungeness Crab season the horizon is often dotted by local crab boats, even working through the night with their bright sodium lights shining. Unfortunately, it is a natural event that our summer weather creates fog on the beach, especially when there is extreme heat inland. When this happens, the water view is pretty non-existent - even right on the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place !!!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

This was our first time using a Home Rental. Nothing could of been better ! Extremely clean, very comfortable ! I thought with out cable we would go CRAZY in the evening. Nothing could be further from the truth. My husband and I TALKED, watched old movies, and just RELAXED, Very quiet! Only a few minutes to Long Beach, which is a nice drive. So much to do in the area, and such a nice place to come "home to". We go to Long Beach every February, for my birthday, and this will be the place we stay from now on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you as guests. The Western Downs does have quite a large and varied selection of great movies for your entertainment. There's also an almost endless list of activities in the Long Beach area for families of all sizes. Our primary goal is to make sure you take home good memories! We take great pride in our cleanliness and your comfort is important to us, as well. We look forward to your next visit - our return guests are highly valued!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Western Downs

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Very clean and well appointed vacation home. Small and cozy, ideal for a family with 2 kids or a couple alone. Everything in very good condition and all instructions for the home clear and well organized. We had a very enjoyable stay. Good access to the beach via the trail and close proximity to Long Beach and Cape Disappointment.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Carol, for your 5-star rating. We do our very best to ensure that nothing about your vacation rental home will spoil your vacation at the beach. We appreciate your business and hope to make your next visit to Long Beach enjoyable and relaxing, as well. It was very nice meeting you all. We would love to have you come back! ~until next time, Sue

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Place is Amazing!

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

Like so many other have said - This place is Amazing! Thanks so much for sharing! I had an awesome weekend with an amazing woman that I won't forget!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving Weekend

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Our first time here - very quiet and relaxing. The walk through the dunes to the beach is beautiful! Don't think I'll ever be able to stay in a hotel again. Your home is absolutely adorable. The weather was gorgeous. We all loved our time on the beach - especially Murphy (our pug)...Thank you again for the use of your home. We look forward to coming again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rod Run Weekend

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

Thank you for a wonderful place to stay...we came here for the Rod Run and had a great time. Great place to stay, secluded, quiet, the beach just a stone's throw away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A 3 Night Holiday

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

Thank you for the use of your beach cottage. We had a very nice 3 night holiday. We enjoyed your decor and found your kitchen well stocked. See you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday Celebration!

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

We had such a great week. ...We celebrated my husband's 45th birthday here. The beach was relaxing on our long walks. This beach house was great! I hope we can come back next summer. If you want to get away from the busy cities and traffic, this is the place to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

It was the perfect getaway from our hectic life and I only wish I could stay longer...Thank you for sharing your comfortable, cozy cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Time Away Ever!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Most relaxing and best time away ever. We love the house and beach! Thank you for a delightful getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review