reviews for: listing #83014 - Bahamas, Caribbean Villa rental

2 Ocean Front, Private, Romantic Beach Houses, Great Fishing
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Andros Island
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CAD) $200 - $225 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,500 /wk
    $5,600 - $5,600 /mth

sort by:

A Real Taste of Paradise

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

When I spotted Francine's beach homes on the Internet, I thought...OMG, this can't be true. But then, I called her and discovered such a warm and genuine lady who also, absolutely loves going to Andros Idland. We stYed in Beach Home 1 for two of the most wonderful weeks ever! The decor isbeautuful, well maintained, right on the beach, and very private. Zona took great carenof us...always there when we needed to get to town or connect us with bone fishing guides. The first night we came in a bit late, so for $15 each, he and his wife prepared a delicious local Bahamian, chicken dinner. Well, we were also greeted with yummy conch fritters. it was so surreal to wake up every morning to the lapping of the waves onto our pristine white beach, read our books as we sipped coffee and felt the breeze through our screened in porch. The snorkeling is quite good; the beach combing is excellent; the proximity to Sharrie's shack for a scrumptious seafood platter is right around the corner. The listing for this little taste of Paradise was very accurate and you can bet your bottom dollar that we will return again some day. Having Stacy come over to give us massages right out by the beach was certainly icing on the cake! I cannot recommend these two private beach homes enough.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Island Escape

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Nothing compares to the breath taking views of the ocean from Beach House two. We had originally requested Beach House one which was not available, so we decided to stay in Beach House two…..boy were we happy we did! This beach house was spectacular! Just what we were looking for in a private, romantic getaway for two. It had all of the amenities we could ask for…a wonderful king size bed, a private screened in deck right on the beach, two large sliding glass doors facing the ocean, an outdoor shower right around the corner so that we could rinse off before entering our unit and an authentic, island, thatched roof outdoor dining area with seating for 4. Zona, the property manager was so helpful in setting up our daily activities from getting our kayaks ready, to snorkeling equipment and bicycles for afternoon treks around the village. The property is so well equip for loads of island activity…we would snorkel every afternoon right in front of the property which has an amazing beach to walk out from and as you swim out, you come to a beautiful coral reef. The reef fish were abundant and the coral was simply gorgeous. Then a few mornings, Zona took us out fishing and would cook us the most delicious fish dinner with all the local fix’ins. We rode our bicycles to Conch Sound and snorkeled around the Blue Hole which was an experience all on its own. I don’t think we had ever seen so many fish, in all different sizes, in one spot at the same time….Apparently the Andros Blue Holes were discovered by Jacques Cousteau and his team who would dive down into the holes to see where they ended up! We weren’t quite as adventurous but none the less, truly enjoyed the experience. If you are looking for an alternative from the resort style of vacation, something a bit different and memorable, then we would highly recommend staying at this property. It offers everything for a wonderful island escape.

Elizabeth and George Black

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay in Beach House two. The view of the beach and ocean couldn’t be more outstanding as there are 2 huge, sliding glass doors that directly face the water…..one of them open right into your own, private, screened in patio with seating for 2, the other is from the kitchen where you can sit and enjoy your morning coffee. The beach house is very clean, beautifully decorated in tropical furnishings and very comfortable. Even though we don’t watch TV when on vacation, the large screen TV at the foot of our king size bed was great to catch up on world news. Speaking of the bed, we had the most wonderful sleeps as the mattress is very comfortable and bedding quite luxurious…. The unit is quite spacious and bright and we appreciated how well stocked the kitchen was as we enjoy making our own meals. Our first meal on the island was amazing….Zona the property manager and his wife Bernadette greeted us with such hospitality and great food! We tried conch fritters for the first time and a lobster dinner….what a treat! Francine, the owner helped to coordinate our travel to the island which made for stress-free travel to and from the island. We definitely recommend Beach House two and would love to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply beautiful !

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

There are no words to describe how much we enjoyed staying at this property. The listing photos and description of the beach house reflected exactly how it was when we first walked in the property. The view from the screened porch and from the house was beautiful. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable. The owner, Francine, has thought about every little detail in the house. She was very helpful in answering all of our questions as well as very helpful in coordinating the charter flights to and from the island which made our travel stress free. The property manager, Zona, was very attentive throughout our entire stay. He and his wife Bernie cooked some Bahamian food for us and was delicious! The entire property was very private and we felt safe day and night. We loved the location and was exactly what we had in mind of a perfect vacation home! Our favorite part was having a private beach just steps away. We strongly recommend this property to everyone who is looking for total relax and who is looking to feel at home away from home. We felt sad leaving this beautiful cottage. We will definitely come back ! 

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Relaxing!

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

My husband and I just got back from vacationing here and loved it! We really enjoyed the private beach just about every day and also enjoyed using the kayaks and did some excellent snorkeling! The local establishments were a bit rustic, but the people were friendly. Zona and Bernadette were very friendly and helpful as well. They cooked us some delicious conch fritters and lobster, keeping us plenty satisfied and full. It was a true get-away in paradise and we hope to come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

So relaxing and peaceful

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We were looking for a place with beautiful beaches and water that was away from the hustle and bustle of most tourist places...a place to totally get away. Andros Island and the beach houses provided just that for us. The beach in front of the beach houses is separate from the town, so no one else used it. The town beach (Nicholl's Town) is a very long, white sandy beach. There were sometimes kids that swam around the pier, but most of the beach was empty. We spend several hours at the Morgan's Bluff beach (beautiful beach, cove, and calm/clear water) without seeing another soul. Hard to believe that such beautiful beaches are empty. It was great for us though. We spent the first week in Beach House 2. It was okay for two people. We especially loved the new screened porch facing the beach. We ate most meals there. It was very nice, and they plan on adding another porch to it. We spent the next week in Beach House 1. Although we liked #2, we enjoyed #1 much better. It is square in shape (instead of rectangular like #2) with a cathedral ceiling and felt much more open and roomy. The washer and dryer were inside the unit which was very convenient. The hammock was my husband's favorite spot. Leslie took such good care of us. He is a wonderful cook. His meals may seem expensive, but we always ate 2 or 3 days off one meal. We visited Red Bay. If we had just stopped at the first house we saw, I would have been somewhat disappointed. However, we asked someone how to find the Marshall family (like Francine had suggested). The family and their property are amazing. It ended up being one of my favorite things on the island. We also visited the Androsia factory. It was neat, but you will want Leslie to take you in his truck. It is a long drive on a horrible road - not recommended for the little rental cars. Uncle Charlie's blue hole was okay (not much different that swimming holes in our area). The local people in Nicholl's Town are so friendly. We always felt safe. You can ask anyone how to find something, and they will gladly help you. Francine and Rob, we are glad we got to meet you. You are blessed with a beautiful property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

kick back

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We would totally recommend this property for a relaxing vacation. The property was private enough but at the same time you could walk or bike through town feeling completely safe at anytime of the day or night. Walking distance to the property are small very cute huts that offer fresh fish and conch salad and local fare, a must to eat at. The property is a 10/10, ocean from every viewpoint and the beach houses are clean, comfortable and you can tell have been developed with a personal touch. Being a foodie, the kitchen was set up with everything I needed to make and eat wonderfully. I would recommend you bring favorite spices. The lobster is the best! The local gentlemen Leslie, who looks after the property and you for your entire stay is a gem. It is his goal to make your vacation experience unforgettable. We used him for all services we required. We suggest to have Leslie cook the first night he is amazing and will provide local fare and then have him take you shopping the next day to the Mennonite farm for fresh produce and baking. Save your liquor purchases for the larger store that he will take you to for nicer wines etc. We road the bikes everywhere, ask Leslie about Conch Sound its full of shells, the Blue Hole and kayaking is great! The water is amazing everywhere and the beach outside of the property is beautiful. This is great destination to kick back, relax and spend one on one time, we loved it. Francine and support services were all so professional and eager to help.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach house 2 is definitly not amazing at all

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

When we arrived at the Beach house 2, we just wanted to leave.... Its in the basement of the owner house (they were not there), it is very very small (on the pictures one can not realize it)- it is quiete dark - narrow.... The Beach house 1 is wonderfull, we were invited there and the view is just amazing, its large and beautifull. But the number 2.... Only very small windows so you hardly see the ocean. As this spot is the most windy of the Island, you cant stay outside at night and the dinner place is sad inside. The house is well furnished. The bed very confortable. So after few days we just get used to it but we will definitly never come back and it is VERY expensive for what you get. The Beach in front of the house is not so beautifull and polluted (black fuel spots everywhere but maybe its not always like that) . Again, its so windy in january that you have to go to the other side of the Island to be on a nice Beach. A great service provided by the owner is that you have a lovely person called Leslie who come every day to bring you somewhere if needed or to organize your dive, car rental.... He is very very friendly and nice. We didnt like Andros so much. There is really nothing to do there, even not a nice restaurant nearby the house. Coming from beautifull Eleuthera we were a bit disappointed. We went diving at small hope and this was a great day. But we appreciate the peace and confort of the place.

Owners response: As this is our first ever review less than 5/5, we believe these items need to be clearly addressed. Please note that half of all of our reviews are from very happy and satisfied customers who stayed in Beach House #2. Andros Island is a unique, getaway destination which is why we ask all potential guests to thoroughly review our fiddleheadproperties website as it not only provides floor plans, pictures, frequently asked questions, and complete details of the island, it also clearly outlines the island vibe.
First of all, Beach House #2 is not a basement, it is a ground level, beach front building with a roof top deck. It is a completely separate, self contained unit separate from the owners residence. Beach House #2 is not smaller than #1 and is in fact 25 square feet larger. The layout and configuration is very different from Beach House #1 but these are clearly laid out in all pictures, floor plans and documentation on our fiddleheadproperties website. Each ocean front window is 4 feet x 4 feet and has an unobstructed view of the ocean which is only 25 feet away from the building. January in Bahamas can be windy and cool. We choose this point of land because of the beautiful breeze which keeps mosquitoes and noseeums away. Regarding the eating area, it is small and designed for 2 guests. We offer Beach House #2 at a slightly lower weekly rate due to the fact that there is no screened in porch (we are pleased to say that we are adding a screened in dining area and French Doors from the living room into this dining area). One of the beautiful features of Andros is its natural beaches complete with seaweed, shells, sea glass and other finds. These beaches are not groomed daily by machinery. Regarding activities on Andros, our fiddleheadproperties website provides an abundance of activities, places to go, and notes about the fact that if you are looking for fine dining, action and night life, that this is not the island for you. This review is very disappointing as we strive to set clear expectations with our guests before booking so that it is the perfect vacation and a fantastic experience.

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

AMAZING!!!!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2012

Every Holiday Season my daughter and I travel to tropical locations. We came across Francine's place on line and did some research on the Bahamas and Andros. Everything we found on the internet met all our wish list. We love snorkelling, walking, exploring, sandy beaches but as two women we also wanted to ensure the environment was safe. Andros and the Beach house by far exceeded everything we ever wanted in a vacation. The house was beautiful - the location perfect! Leslie was amazing. He was such a welcoming host making sure we had everything we needed and WOW he is a great cook! The beach house, Andros and Leslie gave us a vacation that left us longing to return. We are actually returning in July and bringing two friends with us. I can't wait to share the beauty and peace of Andros. Thank you Francine for sharing your piece of paradise with us. And thank you Leslie - we can't wait to come back

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Gem of a Location! Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

We spent a week at the lovely little beach house on the property of the gorgeous Villa Casarina. We were wowed by the location! So close to the adorable town, on such a pretty beach, with so much to do and see nearby. The view is amazing! We watched the sun and the moon come up over the ocean each day as if it were a performance just for us. The grassy yard with the loungers and the hammock always had a very nice breeze. We enjoyed the screened porch even though there were no bugs due to the breeze. Even at dusk and dawn, there was a breeze, which is unusual. From the porch we could see the waves breaking on the nearby reef. We also saw several storms, a rainbow, and various passing ships and barges. At night we could see the glow of Nassau. The house was very clean and comfortable. Having the washer and dryer was nice. So were the wifi and satellite tv. There is plenty to do on North Andros. We rode the bikes, snorkeled the ocean hole at Conch Sound (saw some sharks), hiked to the inland blue hole, climbed the cliffs at Morgan’s Bluff, saw Captain Morgan’s cave, and found the most beautiful deserted beach that we have ever seen. We went to the bakery daily for fresh bread. We also tried the coconut tarts, banana bread and pineapple bread pudding. All delicious! We drove to other towns, went to the batik factory, bought baskets at Red Bays, and met the most wonderful people. But whenever we went off to explore, we could not wait to get back to our little piece of heaven. We could not get in to that warm blue green water fast enough! We just loved our amazing little beach! We enjoyed snorkeling from shore. We saw many colorful fish and found lots of sea glass. I actually filled a gallon sized Ziploc with sea glass. We also found three sea beans (seed pods) on the beach right in front of the house. One is heart shaped and one looks like a tiny hamburger. How lucky to find three! Francine was super to work with. She answered every question I could come up with. Leslie took great care of us and cooked two amazing meals for us - a highlight of our trip. You must not pass up the opportunity to have Leslie cook for you. Be sure to ask for lobster at least once! He also gave us a little tour of the area, helped us get a rental car, and drove us to the airport on our very, very sad departure day. Of all the houses that we have been fortunate enough to stay in on the out islands, this was our favorite! Thanks for sharing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic and relaxing

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

We had a wonderful week on this beautiful quiet beach. I wanted a private quiet place to relax and that is just what we found. A beautiful beach cottage with everything we needed. We were very comfortable here. The airconditioning, and WIFI were great! Leslie's meals were delicious. He took very good care of us. We had a great time walking the beaches,swimmimg, bike riding and kayaking, reading and listening to our favorite music. I loved the dog I named Sugar who played on the beach with me. Thank you Francine and Leslie.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

True Paradise

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Not only was this location exactly as described, it was so much more! My first contact with the property owner was prompt and professional, it remained so for the entire process of reserving the vacation spot. The owner was helpful in not only answering all of my questions, she was also extremely accommodating with connecting, charter flights which made the travel and stay that much more convenient. From being greeted at the airport by our pilot, to the cab driver waiting for our arrival, the entire trip was 'smooth sailing'. The pictures are a mirror image of what is to be expected and so is the description; it is true paradise. The entire property is very private, with maybe fifteen steps from the cottage to the ocean, a fully equipped kitchen and a full bathroom with a washer and drier. The property was in tip top shape, immaculate and very inviting. There is a grill for grilling out, there is both wifi and satellite television, but most importantly, the beach is steps away from the bed. Everything was professionally organized, we were greeted by Leslie, the property manager, and looked after by him for all of our needs. I would recommend this location to everyone who is looking to get away from the big resort and noisy atmosphere, as this property is pure paradise. If you love to enjoy a cold Bahamian beer on the screened in porch or lay on a hammock while listening to the waves crashing at your feet, you found exactly what you are looking for right here. Locals are very friendly, Leslie is very helpful in providing anything you might need, even brining over freshly caught fish for grilling (seasoned too). I will most certainly return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect beach holiday

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

We had a lovely time on our first foray into North Andros – a quiet yet accessible island, rich not only in its sea treasures but also in agriculture and craft-making.

The cottages are in a perfect spot on the beach, just a few steps down from Nichol’s town (village) but secluded and private, since there won’t be but two couples on the compound at one time. We stayed in the apartment (House #2), the lesser of the two rentals in size and charm but still perfectly pleasant, spotless and very well equipped. The outside table and cabana was a perfect place to sit on cool, windy April days (we hardly had any bugs which was an unexpected bonus).

Leslie, the caretaker, was excellent - hard-working and charming, he brought us fresh fish everyday, cooked a dinner for us and drove us to more remote beaches to explore. Like everywhere in the Family Islands, people on Andros are warm and hospitable – one of the reason’s we all keep returning…

There is some good snorkeling right off the house beach and even better rocks North of Nichol’s town beach (you can easily walk there). It would be even better to take a boat to the reef – we did not have time. Morgan’s bluff has miles of beaches for walking and some good shelling. The bikes, kayaks – like everything in the house – seem in a very good order and the property is maintained with more care than any other Bahamian rental we have had. The owner, Francine, was a pleasure to deal with and impeccably organized. We cannot wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beach House

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

The beach house was definitely the best accomodations in Nichols Town. The house is perfect for two people. We had everything we needed and it was very comfortable and clean. The house looks like the pictures in the add so no surprises there. Every morning, my husband and I enjoyed our coffee in bed as we watched the waves of the ocean. It was wonderful. Nichols Town is definitely as remote as the descriptions and reviews imply. Vactioners must be self entertaining and enjoy the simple life. My husband and I were up early each day to watch the sunrise and early to bed each night. We filled our days with walks on the beach, biking, fishing, reading, swimming, and snorkleling. My husband quite enjoyed the bonefishing. We will definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My son (10 yrs) and I went over Thanksgiving 2011, and had an amazing time. I was there for a little bit of work, which allowed us to see the whole of N. Andros (from Morgan's Bluff south to Fresh Creek). We stayed in the Deck House, which was perfect. We fished right off the beach, and snorkeled in the blue hole just down the road. I've never seen as many big fish in one place as the blue hole there--spectacular. We asked Leslie to fix chicken with peas and rice for us on the night we arrived and it was incredible. We ate the leftovers the next night too. We also got fresh conch salad from the Sly Fox nearby, which was our Thanksgiving dinner. I highly recommend the Deck House.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing relaxing vacation

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

We had the most relaxing vacation we have had in years in the Beach house. The location right next to the ocean was incredible. We spent a lot of time walking the beach and taking bike rides. Leslie, the property manager, was amazing and made sure we had everything we needed and wanted. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who wants a low key, relaxing beach vacation

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation Review

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

A secluded location ideal for people who enjoy getting away from it all and can be satisfied with low key activity like exploring, hiking, beachcombing, biking, reading, swimming, and snorkeling in a quiet and un-developed area. Bird watching enthusiasts can enjoy a variety of locations to find birds. Beach walks made especially fun with changing tide activity giving access to walking out to keys and sand bars. Enjoyed looking for different types of sand dollars,starfish and shore birds along secluded beach areas. Property is very well maintained and owners are a pleasure to work with. A great choice for a quiet vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unforgettable Experience!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a private, romantic getaway and we certainly found it at this beautiful beach house on Andros Island. We had never had a remote island holiday experience before so we weren’t quite sure what to expect.
Francine made our travel to the island so easy and offered to coordinate all travel from Nassau to the property including the charter flight, the taxi from the airport to the property, and we were greeted by Leslie on the first day with a wonderful Bahamian meal and cold drinks on ice. Wow, what a welcome! We enjoyed the local fare so much in fact that we hired Leslie to cook most of our meals for the remainder of our holiday.
The property is very well maintained and the beach house was beautifully decorated, very spacious, and clean. We really appreciated having wifi so that we could still connect with our business back home and keep in touch with our children. The beach was very private, on occasion we would watch a local fishermen cast a line on the point or another beachcombing for shells but that was about it. There are chaise lounges available to enjoy the warm breeze and catch some sun, we also brought a picnic onto the beach one afternoon.
We rode our bicycles throughout the small village which was very interesting as there is no traffic so we could meander down small side streets and take in the local way of life. The locals are very kind, friendly people and always happy to assist you for directions or to talk about their island. One morning, we hired Leslie to take us reef fishing. We are not very experienced fishermen but we thought it might be a fun way to spend a morning. We caught our dinner for that evening which included a strawberry grouper, and yellow tail snapper! There is nothing like sitting down to a great fish meal that was caught that day.
Another morning we took out the kayaks and slowly made our way along the north coast, taking a break on a secluded beach for a picnic lunch. That was also an unforgettable experience. Where can you go, so close to the USA and yet feel so far away from it all.

All in all, we highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a true island getaway and we hope to return again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous and peaceful Bahamas retreat

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

My husband and I spent 8 days at this gorgeous beach house this past August. The owners were very responsive to any questions we had prior to departure, and kindly arranged our charter flight connecting from Nassau. We've travelled to the Bahamas four times now, previously to Paradise Island and Exuma. We were looking to see more of this country we love and decided on Andros.
We arrived on Andros Island and were met by Leslie, the owners friend and caretaker of the property. He was very helpful. Our charter flight to Andros was very smooth - the airline had lost our luggage during our Miami connection, but the charter pilot (and his waiting passengers) were patient about us being delayed. Leslie kindly followed up with the airline and was able to retrieve our luggage the next day, as well as lending my husband some shorts!
Leslie took us grocery shopping prior to driving us to the house, and pointed out the sites.
We arrived at the house, which was exactly as pictured. Very secluded on a beautiful white sandy beach.The house was well-appointed with nice linens, towels and a fully equipped kitchen. It's very comfortable and clean. We loved the screened in porch for evening cocktails. Only issue: I wish we'd brought a coffee grinder, because we could only find coffee beans and instant coffee at the grocery - but no big deal, we'll know for next time.
Leslie was a great help throughout - arranging dinners, rental cars, etc. when asked. He also drove us around the island a bit so we could see more of it. The little town where the house is located is great to walk around in: everyone is very friendly and there's an excellent little food stand to get amazing fresh cooked lobster, cracked conch, etc. We did a lot of barbequing at the house, and cooked simple meals also.
It was an extremely relaxing vacation - lots of reading, lazing on the beach and swimming in the crystal clear ocean. I went home with an amazing shell/driftwood collection from my daily beachcombing walks. It's definitely not a party spot (at all!) but that was clear in the listing - we got exactly what we expected.
Andros is a bit remote and there isn't really that much to do there, but we definitely enjoyed our time and hope to return.
I would recommend this beachhouse to anyone looking to truly relax and unwind, who's sick of the cookie cutter resort vacations. There are two rental cottages on the property - it would be the perfect place to go with another couple.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A very special place for very special people

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

A one of a kind spot in the Bahamas. Very private, no one on YOUR beach but you. All of the locals are very nice and more than willing to help out with anything you might need.Great little bars and stores to discover. We can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Relaxing Getaway!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a week in Francine and Rob’s Beach House in Nichols Town, North Andros. If you want a peaceful and very private honeymoon, this place is for you. Only twice did we have a local fisherman cast his line from our beach; otherwise it was gloriously private and quiet, even though it is less than 200 yards from town and the local waterfront restaurants. The cottage is an open bedroom, living room and kitchen with large bath (including nice washer and dryer). Everything is first class. The cottage is located about 50 feet from the water, allowing you to lie in bed in the morning and watch the beautiful blue surf roll in. One evening we had Leslie the caretaker prepare dinner of fresh grouper and lobster….wonderful! And every evening we had Stacy provide us massage on the screened porch while the rolling waves put us to sleep. The beach is a beautiful pink-tan color and the water that irresistible Bahamian blue. There is a breaker reef about 1000 feet offshore, and numerous small reefs for snorkeling just a few feet from your beach. If the waves get too high to snorkel while you are there, drive three miles to Conch Sound and snorkel or dive the blue hole, or snorkel for large starfish. This large bay seems calm all the time. Remember that this is on the “out islands” of the Bahamas. There is no one to rake up the seaweed or pick up the plastic that comes in with the tides. That being said, the beaches are still perfect for a beachcomber. If you are in the mood for a week on a beautiful, almost-private lovely swimming beach near the friendliest little town in the Bahamas, then the Beach House is for you.


ama

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Getaway with the girls!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Beautiful private property. Clean, bright, spacious, luxurious, excellent for entertaining and a perfect getaway to be with friends. All the comforts of home. A flat running loop 6 km in length for those athletically minded individuals who need to get in their runs. The owners know the property and local island life and are able to provide recommendations on activities of interest to a variety of vacationers. Personally, there was no need to eat at a restaurant, enjoyed making my own meals and sitting on the covered veranda or in the sun on the deck viewing the ocean. Enjoyed my time away with good friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

True Island Paradise

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

If you are looking for an authentic island getaway, off the beaten path...this is your paradise!
The property is lovely and well maintained. The white sand beach was inviting, for long strolls on the beach. The topaz blue waters beckoned frequent and refreshing swims. Although we didn't get a chance to visit the local dive site(s), there was some snorkelling off a nearby reef. The villa is also situated very close to an authentic little "conch shack" and local pub, if you don't feel like cooking.
Thank you Rob and Francine for your wonderful hospitality, you were a pleasure to deal with and we'll be sure to recommend your lovely property to all our family and friends.
Cheers
Tammy

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bahamas beach house rental

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

My stay at the Beach House was fantastic. It was restful, and relaxing. The snorkeling was wonderful, the beach incredible and the accomodations were excellent. I would travel to this location again in a second!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Private piece of paradise!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

If you are looking for a private, unique and beautifully appointed beachside villa, then you have found you place. On the remote island of Andros, just a ten minute hopper flight from Nassau and you and loved ones will find a true private oasis! Nothing like it that I have ever stayed at, and we have travelled a lot. You will have your own private beachfront with lots of snorkeling right off the beach. No High rises and no peddlers will be found. Just your own little escape and retreat. My fiancé and I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for something out of the ordinary and for a little romantic escape.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

When You Just Want to Relax!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at one of the villas in January of 2010. If you want a secluded spot where you can leave the rest of the world behind, this is it! A very authentic village with privacy galore on the property. Long walks during the day on the beach and through the town and enjoying private dinners in the evening with a glass of wine gazing out at the ocean. We actually ventured into the town for a little entertainment, Bahama style one night. What an experience...great authentic food and a little dancing with the locals. The accomodations are pristine. Clean and high quality furnishings and beddings. Beautifully decorated with the beach at your doorstep.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW what an Experience!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying @ this Luxurious Ocean Front Beach House Jan/11. I have been fortunate enough to travel to many ocean front destination and this one is a one of a kind. The photos are beautifull, however it is more breath taking when you are there. The facilities and grounds are immaculant. The property is situated on a rocky point with a white sand beach, very private and quiet. A short walk to Nicholl's Town that gives you the true old Bahamian experiences. I would and will recommend this tranquil get away.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review