reviews for: listing #83020 - Corpus Christi Beach, Texas Condo rental

Corpus Christi Beach View Condo, Just Steps from the Beach!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $130 /nt
    $630 - $840 /wk
    $1,000 - $1,800 /mth

sort by:

4th of July weekend

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay! The condo is just as pictured. Despite the fact that complex it self is not the best looking one, room #3144 is clean and kept up with. You can tell there has been some remodeling and updating to the room and it looks nice. The fully equipped kitchen came in very handy, from the pots and pans to the salt and pepper. Clean sheets and towels. Descent sized tv in living room, and a small tv mounted in bedroom. Bed was comfortable, the sofa bed, well, not so much. We ended up just using the sofa cushions. It's on the corner of the complex so its not loud. Loved the view from the patio! Right by the stairway. Easy pool access, although the pool wasn't the cleanest, but that didn't really matter since we had the beach right in front of us. On 4th of July there was a firework show at the USS Lexington and we had a perfect view of it! We took our beach chairs, had a dinner picnic, made some s'mores and enjoyed the show! Plenty of attractions and dinning options close to the complex, some even at walking distance. Overall it was a great experience and we all enjoyed our trip. The staff at the office was very nice and helpful, they recommended some of their best attractions in town. The owner, Mr. Saludo, was very tentative to all our questions and needs, he even emailed us a list of activities that were going to be happening through out the holiday weekend, which was very helpful, we greatly appreciated it! I definitely recommend it.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words! It means a lot to us that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are shopping around for a new sofabed and hoping we can replace it after the summer rush. You're welcome back to stay at our condo anytime you're back in Corpus Christi!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

The condo was just as pictured. Loved that it was right on the beach. Took walks and picked up lots of shells. Got a lot of R&R which is what we needed. Even took a fishing charter and caught some HUGE fish. The only bad thing was that the remote controls did not work on either TV. Had to get up to change channels. Other than that, it was wonderful and would definitely recommend it. The owner and staff were great to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: That’s awesome to hear you enjoyed your stay! We apologize for the inconvenience of the remotes. We’re working on either getting the remotes reprogrammed or replacing them; thanks for bringing that to our attention. We’re so glad you were able to get some relaxation and good catches! That’s what we love about going down there. Thank you for your kind comments, and you’re welcome back anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A vacation with freinds

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

The unit was very nice and comfortable to stay in. My friends and I enjoy the complex and the amenities. The unit was nice and clean, with fresh sheets on the beds and towels in the bathroom. One really nice thing about the unit was that it was in the corner of the complex, which meant it was much quieter than being in the middle, with a bunch of people running around. On the first night we went out the Pier 99, which was recommended by the owners. The seafood there was fantastic and I would recommend that anyone go there as it is very close to the condo. The second day, we went out to the Mustang Island. The beaches out there were pretty nice with not too many people there and the water was quite clear. That night we went out to a Japanese restaurant called Aka Sushi. The sushi was quite good for the price and had a really good salmon skin roll (my favorite). Overall, we had a great experience and we will definitely be coming back here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: How excellent that you and your friends enjoyed your time in Corpus! We're glad to hear the location of the condo was ideal for you, and it's great you enjoyed the restaurant we recommended as well as found a great one we can add to our recommendation list. Thanks for your feedback, and feel free to return anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reasonable and Good Place to Stay!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this condo; 3 adults,1 child but it does sleep 6. We wished we could have stayed longer. The location is really good. It is right down from the State Acquarium and USS Lexington as well as a beach location for which to sun, play or relax - you walk out the parking lot to a gate (take your card to get back in) which puts you right on the beach. Catching the sunrise was pretty awesome! The housing itself had adequate utensils and kitchen basics for what we cooked - only breakfast as we were out most of the day/evening. As stated in previous reviews, the sofa bed was a bit lumpy but tolerable. Overall it was good for us!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: We're ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the condo and area! We are shopping around and keeping an eye out for a good replacement for the sleeper sofa. Thanks for your feedback, and you're welcome back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was adequate.

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2013

Over all this condo was adequate. My dad and husband were concerned about the sparks coming out of the outlet. There were only 2outlets that would hold our chargers and my dads C-pap machine. We loved how close it was to the water and the Lexington. Loved how clean the pools were. Because of the extreme humidity, the condo had an overwhelming smell of mildew. That is the only thing that would keep me from recommending this place. I was so grateful that we saw no bugs...not being from the south I was afraid we would. For the price we had what we needed.

Owners response: Thank you for bringing the power outlet issue to our attention as we were not aware of the problem. The outlets in the condo receive very heavy use from Spring through Summer with guests plugging in lots of devices and chargers. We will be replacing them immediately. We will also be looking into the sparking issue, but we think new outlets will take care of it. This is the first time we've heard of any mildew issues. Since your feedback, we have had our cleaning crew pay extra attention to this when cleaning the condo. We're glad you liked the location, view, pools, and and proximity to attractions such as the Lexington. Thank again for your feedback.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

nothing fancy

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

This place was okay for the price we paid. Not expecting anything fancy. The AC went out one night, which wasn't too pleasant, but it was repaired quickly. I was told the top bunk was terribly uncomfortable, a board in my daughters back. Loved the short walk to the beach. One thing I think is not so great. The AC unit circulates within several units. Meaning, when one is cleaned, they all smell of cleaning products, when one unit is a smoking unit, it is circulated into the units. A couple of days before we left, a neighboring unit had a smoker in it. Our daughter is asthmatic. The smoke filtering into our unit from the other unit caused her to be awake coughing through the night. The smoke was filtering in until close to midnight. A severe asthmatic might want to stay clear of this unit.

Owners response: Thanks for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. The condo is not fancy, but our goal is to make it simple and comfortable. We do apologize that the A/C went out, but we’re glad you brought it to our attention so we were able to address it quickly. This is the first time we’ve heard about smoke and cleaning products circulating through the condos. We apologize that it caused your daughter such discomfort. We will definitely look into this issue and see if there’s anything we could do to alleviate it as well as check the bunk bed mattresses. We hope you at least enjoyed the city and area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Nice place to stay. A little cramped, but we expected it (have 3 teenage sons). Walked right down onto the beach, which is clean, but watch for jellyfish! Like another reviewer said, no trashbags except what was already in cans and the broom broke the first time we used it, plus no dustpan and you definitely need that for all the sand you track in. I would recommend a small dustbuster or something. It was just as described, could use some updating, but that's just nitpicking :) Was quiet and the pool was nice and clean, though, we only used it when we saw lots of jellyfish on the beach. I would come here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: We’re glad you enjoyed your stay! An extra trash bag is usually placed at the bottom of the trash can, under the trash bag already there. We will double check with our cleaning staff to make sure they are leaving extras. We will also make sure to replace the broom and dust pan again. Thanks for your feedback! You’re welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very low quality

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

About 30 minutes of my check in time I was instructed to contact Elaine for instruction on getting in to my condo. She was not very nice as I told her who I was and what I needed. She was like frustrated. Her attitude was rude right off the bat and said Tim didnt instruct her we were coming.??? I raised me voice a little and she seemed to calm herself down and she provided me with info to get in.. The people at front desk were very nice though and helpful.. The condo was dirty and the carpet was filthy. The front door was rusted and the knobs were very old that it seemed like if the door were to be kicked it would open. I liked the view of the ocean and enjoyed the pool but I have stayed in better quality hotels. I probably will never stay here again. The pictures on the internet look better than the real thing. We enjoyed our days in Corpus but wish the Condo wouldve been better quality...

Owners response: It is very unfortunate to hear that you didn’t have a good stay. We don’t know why Elaine would react that way, so we will address the issue with her. We will also address the cleaning issue with our cleaning crew as well as look into replacing the door and knobs. (The salty air from the bay tends to rust metals pretty quickly.) We wish you contacted us directly during your stay so we could help resolve the issues immediately. We’re glad you at least enjoyed the pool, view, and city.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The Condo is older and not huge but for our family of four it was just fine. The pool closest to us was being retiled but the other pool was fun and clean. A little updates of lights at the outside of door is needed and if a few more garbage bags were given it would be very helpful. Over all we loved being able to walk right out condo and down through the gate and on to the beach. Everything is so close but when hot I recommend driving to the aquarium and Lexington. If you choose to buy groceries go into Portland. We did a few times and it only took a few minutes. Pier 99, Fajitaville are great places to eat and fun..... Great place for our family to enjoy. I recommend driving a little and going to Doc's a restuarant on your way to N. Padre Island and than you can do a loop back through Port Aransas on to Portland and back to the Condo. We did this on Mothers Day is was the best !!! Hope everyone enjoys as much as we did!!!!

Owners response: We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your Mother’s Day vacation! We are looking into updating the outside lights, and we will talk to our cleaning personnel about providing extra trash bags. Thanks for your wonderful feedback! You’re welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Our stay in Corpus Christi

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

The place was located on the beach, however the condo we had was at the other end of the building, not the best view that was described but there was a view there. It was still good. Located in a nice quiet area, but close and convenient to everyhting. Would not go without a vehicle to drive.
The condo we had I would not recommend 6 people, it had a bedroom and bunkbeds, but really no where else for anyone to sleep. 2 adults and 2 kids would be fine in the place, anymore would make it crowded.
The kitchen was small but adequate, good for making breakfast and lunch but as far as a full dinner not recommended. We didn't care as we went out to eat every night, lots of good restaurants close by to choose from, all types.
As far as the overall place, the couch could be replaced getting very worn out, the bed was as comfortable as any hotel bed, we slept fine, not like sleeping in your own. the overall cleansiness of the place could have been better, not a 5 star place.
Texas State Aquarium, and USS Lexington are can't miss sightseeing things, plus if you have a day go to Padre Island State Park and spend time there. Take a drive down the beach there, very nice things to see and do.
If we were to go back to Corpus Christi to visit, would definately think about going back here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. We had changed our cleaning crew a few months ago, and so far, it has been better. Nonetheless, we will speak to them regarding the cleanliness of the condo. We will also reexamine the couch and start looking into a replacement. Thanks again for your comments, and you're welcome to stay at our place again anytime.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Comfortable and Convenient

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

We did not spend a lot of time inside the condo, as you can imagine, however, we found it to be pleasant, comfortable, and convenient.

Our boys (ages 10 and 8) loved the bunk beds, especially since they had never slept on bunks before. We appreciated having both televisions to keep up with the Olympics and other channels we don't normally get to watch! Although we didn't prepare any hot meals, we liked having the appliances and refrigerator available to keep bottled water, fruit, and prepare quick breakfasts and late night snacks. So many bars and hooks in the bathroom came in handy with frequent showers and trips to the beach and pool. The walk to the beach was easy and parking was never an issue. We never had any trouble with disturbances at night that kept us awake, but that could be because the bed was so comfortable!

We were able to take part in many fun and unique experiences while in Corpus Christi. Upon arrival, we immediately visited the beach for a few hours. One day, we walked to the USS Lexington, had lunch at Pier 99, and strolled along the beach back "home." A favorite of the whole family was the Hooks baseball game and the Whataburger on the Bay was fun, too. We loved our time at Padre Island National Seashore: building castles, playing in the waves, and resting on the powdery sand. Treasure Island Golf and Games provided a great Sunday evening family activity after dinner at B & J's Pizza.

Thanks so much for such an easy experience. We look forward to visiting Corpus again!

Owners response: Awesome! We’re thrilled to hear you had such a great stay and enjoyed your time in Corpus. Thanks for your wonderful comments, and if ever you’re back in Corpus Christi, you’re welcome back at our place anytime.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A very nice and neat condo to stay at.

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

The condo was a great place to stay at for a vacation. My friends and I (5 of us in total) enjoyed our time in the room. The unit was in the corner of the complex, there was not much noise that could be heard by other units, which was really nice. The beds were clean and there were plenty of fresh towels when we arrived. It was really nice to be just a short walk from the beach and since it's a fairly isolated area of Corpus Christi, there were not too many people on beach to be overcrowded. I highly recommend the restaurant Pier 99 that was recommended by they owners. It's only a few minutes drive from the complex and served fantastic seafood. The fishing in the area was also great, with numerous locations to fish at. Overall, I would recommend this place to any of my family or friends.

Owners response: We’re excited to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your vacation at our condo, and we’re glad our recommendations worked out for you. It’s nice to know that our cleaning crew did well prepping the condo for your stay. We appreciate your recommendation, and thanks for your kind comments!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It was "OK"

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Advertized as "sleeps 6" but if all six are awake there is little room to move. We only had 4 and felt a bit tight. The bed in the bedroom was comfortable but the sleeper sofa and bunk beds were not habitable. Thank goodness we brought a blow up double bed for the teens to share or we would have been miserable. The space was clean and the kitchen is well appointed for vacation needs. I had read other reviews so I knew to bring my own extra toilet paper and papertowels as well as bath towels as there were only 6 and I didn't want to have to do laundry that often on vacation.
We left a day early because there just isn't that much to do in the area and the jelly fish had come in after the first 3 days so swimming at the beach became impossible.

Owners response: We are disappointed to hear that your vacation did not go as hoped. Although the condo is a bit on the small side, it is actually bigger than a standard hotel room. The mattresses on the bunk beds are still pretty new, but we understand that sofabeds in general are considered uncomfortable. However, we will look into finding another sofabed mattress that may be more comfortable than the current one. We are glad at least the kitchen was well equipped for your needs; we try to provide the essentials. It is unfortunate that the jellyfish prevented you from fully enjoying the beach; it is by nature that they occasionally surface on the beach. We are sorry you chose to leave a day early; we would have been more than happy to provide more ideas on other activities you could do around Corpus since we know the area pretty well. Other than the usual going to the beach, fishing, and dolphin watches, there is more to do around town, depending on your interest, of course. We appreciate your feedback; it is always our goal to enhance the experience of our guests.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Summer Girl's Trip

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

We have been going to Villa de Sol for the past 5 yrs. . I will have to say this was the best condo we have stayed in! All have been clean and well stocked, but this one was very clean and updated. The sheets were better than mine at home :-). All the towels were bright white and fresh. We have already decided to make reservations now, for next year for this condo. Being an end unit provided for "extra quietness" too. Each year we have seen improvement to the entire complex - happy to go back. We always take in a Hooks game, a movie in Portland on Tuesday - it's FREEE popcorn night & shopping at the Bleu Frog is fun too. There's so much to do and enjoy.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Fantastic! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We recently changed our cleaning staff, so we are glad to hear they are doing a good job. You are welcome to stay at our place anytime, and we would love to have you again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

good fit for our family

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Thanks for a nice stay! The place was a good fit for our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Wonderful! We love to hear that you and your family enjoyed you stay. You're welcome back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Good price for the location, but poor management

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Before we arrived, we called ahead to see if we could check in early which was great when you have 2 small children. We pulled up to the front desk & noticed a sign on the door. Apparently, the city would be turning off the water sometime the next day to the entire complex. I was quite troubled & a little upset since none of this was mentioned to me when I spoke with Tim & Elaine. If I had known, I would have booked elsewhere.

The condo complex is run down, but it looks like they are trying to update the exterior. The condo is small, but it had all the basics. There was very little dishwashing soap. I had to turn the bottle over & prop it against the wall. The hand soap dispenser had a broken spout, so we had to be careful especially when my 3 yr old wanted to wash his hands. We had enough towels in the bathroom but none for the kitchen to dry the dishes. The front door still needs weatherstripping along the sides of the door. The entire condo leaks like a sieve. No wonder the ac runs all the time. The bunk beds are a great addition; however, the mattress is barely wide entire for a toddler. My 3 yo couldn't even roll over, so he ended up sleeping with my husband & I in the queen bed.

The condo is the farthest unit from the beach & closest to the road & basketball court. The walk to the beach isn't very far, but you have to either walk through the breezeway or the parking lot which is in need of repair. There is a gate with a card lock when you get to the end of the property which is great if the front desk had told me that I would need a card key for the lock. I had to walk all the way back to the condo the first time. The showers close to the gate were great to wash off the sand. The condo was fine during the day, but it was noisy at night. People played loud music in their cars and played basketball at all hours. The ac unit was loud when it switched on, and the fridge was constantly making noises.

In anticipation for no water, we filled every pot and bowl we could find & put them in the bath since there wasn't a plug. Since the jellyfish were washing on shore that morning, we decided to let the kids play at the pool. It was 9:15 am and there was a pad lock on the pool gate. The pool open at 9. We had to call Elaine, and she had to call the mgmt which tried to say the pool would be closed due to no water. Someone did come by & unlocked the gate.

For the money, the location was good but not worth the annoyances.

Owners response: It's unfortunate to hear about all the annoyances you encountered. We're so sorry for the water being turned off during your stay. Unfortuntely, prior to your stay, the condo complex had a water issue that needed to be fixed by the city. We were not notified of the water shutoff until after it happened. We have spoken to management and expressed to them the importance of notifying us when things like this happen. We apologize for the lack of dish soap and kitchen towels. We are working with our property manager to have a stock of supplies readily available for our guests. A work order was already placed before your stay for the weather stripping on the door, and management has informed me that it is being repaired. The bunk beds are child beds designed specifically for children, so size was never really an issue with young children. We apologize that you had to deal with the noise at night; unfortunately, we cannot control other guests and owners. However, we have notified management and security of the issue. We will also look into the AC and fridge noise issues you experienced. We also apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the pool. Condo management has instituted a new pool maintenance schedule, and it looks like they hadn't worked out the kinks in the schedule yet. We have spoken to management and have been assured that this is no longer an issue.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Small, not as clean as it should have been

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

Upon arriving, I called to see if I could get an early check in, which I could, so that was great. When we actually got to the condo, we noticed that there were no towels. I called and they apologized and brought some right over. They only brought a set of four (for the four of us for two nights), but that wasn't really the biggest issue I had. I set my baby down to crawl around. When I picked him up, his little legs were black. There is no way that the floors have been cleaned properly. I have hard floors at my house as well and his legs have never been black like that.

Once we got settled in, I noticed that they had also failed to leave us any paper towels. The dish soap had about 1/2" left and had obviously been watered down at that! The hand soap dispenser worked, but the top part had been broken off, so you had to be careful how you used it.

I noticed from a previous review that someone had complained that there was no weather stripping on the front door. This still hasn't been fixed as you can see a wide gap and daylight all around the door.

Also, you have to make sure that the fridge door is shut very firmly. My husband failed to do this and everything spoiled overnight.

The linens were very low quality, the decor - so so, and the unit was not as clean as I expected. I have stayed in quite a few condos and this one was a let down. (especially after seeing pretty good reviews). It was small, as I expected, but felt that the quality was poor.

The location of the condo was right on the beach and although this condo is on the side closest to the street, it's a short walk through the complex to the gate to the beach. For the complex, it looks likes it's aging and needs a few repairs. Only one of the outdoor showers was working (I tried the ones at the beach and one of the pools and the hot tub area and none of those worked). My son and I were both pretty covered in sand, so luckily we found one that worked. This was our first trip to the area and I think next time we will look for a different spot.

Owners response: We hate to hear that you had a bad experience with the condo. The condo size is definitely not huge, but it is bigger than the average hotel room around Corpus Christi. Four towels are usually the normal number provided but if extra is needed, it can be requested. We apologize the condo wasn't cleaned properly; as stated in the rental agreement, we always encourage our guests to inspect the condo when you arrive to ensure it’s to your liking, so if anything was not acceptable, our property manager can help resolve the issue, e.g., reclean the condo. We will also discuss the issues with the paper towels, soap, and linens with our property manager and cleaning personnel. A work order was placed when the front door issue came up the first time, and it was fixed. We placed another work order with the complex to make sure it's fixed again. We're pretty simplistic when it comes to decor, but we understand that it's not to everyone's taste; eventually, we will redecorate the condo again.

The complex was built in 1981, so naturally, the salt water air does take its toll on the buildings. However, management works hard on gradually upgrading the property. Recently, they replaced the siding among many other details, and they are continuing improvements, including the outdoor showers.

Again, we aplogize for the issues you encountered. We want everyone to enjoy the condo as much as we do, so we will do our best to make sure these are not issues in the future. As always, we encourage every guest to contact us or our property manager immediately if any issues are to arise, so we can resolve them as quickly as possible.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Relaxing 3 months

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our 3 month stay at this condo. Elaine responded quickly to our inquires and was very good to deal with. Our experience was definetly positive and our time there was very relaxing. You asked for some feedback and we do have a few comments.
The rug in the living room was extremely dusty and stained. There was no vacumn cleaner, so I hung it over the rail and beat it but that didn't help. There was so much dust and sand coming off it we just rolled it up under the bed for the last two months.
The main door didn't close very well and has a huge gap at the bottomn. When a cold north wind blew we had to put a comforter against the bottom of the door and anchored it with our luggage bags. We hung a blanket down the side of the door jam to stop the wind from whistling through.
Another suggestion might be to have some dish washing liquid and dish towels in the condo, as there was none on our arrival. We would definetly rent this unit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: We're glad you enjoyed your three-month stay over the winter. We'd love for you to stay again. We're sorry about your experience with the rug. We have since replaced it with a new one. We have also fixed the front door. We usually do have dish washing liquid and dish towels in the unit for our guests. We have spoken with our property manager to correct this problem.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Vacation!

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

We couldn't have bribed Mother Nature for better weather! The condo was the perfect size for our family of 4. It was clean and tastefully decorated! Cosmetically, there could be a few touch ups but nothing major. I LOVED the extra storage space in the bathroom! You can tell that the owners went out of their way to add special touches. The bunk beds ARE kid sized. Our kiddos preferred sleeping on the pull out sofa so they could lay down and watch TV at night. Yes, the couch bed is a bit uncomfy but what can you expect...it's a sofa bed. The kids certainly didn't mind!=:o) I suggest bringing lots of extra towels. The condo came with 3 but even with our beach towels we ended up buying towels and washcloths. It's hard to leave towels out to dry overnight because of the humidity and they got so sandy. Bring paper towels or kitchen towels. The only thing I didn't care for was the small sink. We brought paper plates so I didn't have to use it much. =:o) Checking in was a breeze! Elaine was great! The property is very well kept. The beach was so close! Since it's not on the big shoreline the waves were just perfect for smaller kids. It was never crowded. Just the right amount of beachgoers at all times. I suggest bringing PLENTY of extra clothes. The washer is $1.75 and the dryer is $1.25 and there are only two of each. The Lexington, Aquarium, Museum and gift shops are within walking distance but if you drive, make sure you have quarters for the parking meters in case the private parking areas are full. The aquarium was OK. We waited for about 40 minutes for the dolphin show and it was only 15 minutes long. The museum however was AWESOME! You have GOT to go! Make sure you do the Columbus ships tour. I could have spent all day there! Very fun! The kids loved it! The Pier 99 restuarant...ick. Maybe we got there on a bad day but I wouldn't go back. The view from their deck is fantastic, they had live music but the food was not so bueno. The food was overcooked and even after sending it back it was overdone. I do recommend Blackbeards! The food was great and the staff was WAY nicer! Oh, and definitely bring extra bread or crackers to feed the seagulls! They come right to the balcony! When they heard the patio door open they would flock to it because they knew the kids were coming to feed them. They took the food right from their hands. Our kids LOVED that! It was one of their favorite parts of our vacation! Lol! We would DEFINITELY go back to this condo! Loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We're so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you stay again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice place to stay to see all the sights of Corpus

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We stayed here in November. The weather was nice this time of year. It was a little windy, but weather being in the 70's and 80's was what we were looking for. The condo was a little dated, but this is an older complex. The property was a clean safe environment. We used the pool almost daily and used the barbeque area almost daily. The condo did have a good assortment of cooking utensils and it was easier for us to cook at the condo and eat there with a little one. We ventured to the USS Lexington, the aquarium, and went to the beaches at the National Seashore and Port Aransas. We also did use the beach at the condo a little. The condo was comfortable for our family of 3, but I do not think that I would try to fit a family of 6. Also we did have to pay more at check-in then what we were originally told and we did do laundry one evening, but most of the washers and dryers were out of order. By the time a washer and dryer became available I got my clothes washed and half way dry and the washers and dryers shut down for the night.

Owners response: We're glad you enjoyed the weather as well as the amenities and attractions. We apologize for the increase in the check-in fee; the condo association increased it unknown to us after we had spoken. We have also informed management about your experience with the washers and dryers. Thanks for your feedback!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

What a great place to stay! The condo was just as it looked in the pictures and was very clean! Great view of the beach from the balcony and close to great restaurants. If we visit Corpus Christi again we will DEFINITELY stay here. Such a relaxing get-away!

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the kind comments. We'd love to have you stay again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Place Right on the Beach

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Located on Corpus' North Beach, this condo is perfect for those looking to stay on the beach and near local attractions. The condo is well-laid out, seems quite spacious for its size, and has all the items you'll need to prepare meals and enjoy yourself. The property itself has multiple pools, one just out the front door of the condo, and is well-maintained and secure.

The condo is also just a short walk along the beach from the USS Lexington, the Texas State Aquarium, and numerous local seafood restaurants and souvenir shops. It's also just a short drive to the minor league baseball stadium (very family-friendly and affordable).

We recommend this condo for those looking for a nice 'home away from home' at the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for recommending our condo! It's wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the surrounding attractions. We hope you will choose us again for your next stay!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed during July. Excellent location to the beach. Excellent security. The condo would be small for six people. The frig was is a little loud when it turns. Great eating places close by. This was our third visit to Corpus, by far our best experience. Elaine had the ready when promised. Thanks Tim!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're ecstatic to learn that this was your best experience in Corpus! We apologize for the noisy fridge; it's a temporary replacement while we get our fridge serviced. We hope you choose to stay with us again for your future trips to Corpus!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

First let me say the we had a wonderful time, thank you on your choices of where to eat they were awesome. The condo was perfect, clean and ready for us to begin our vacation, there was a small issue with the refrigerator, not being too clean but as Elaine explained supposedly the one that was in there went out so we had a replacement, also we had to ask Elaine for kitchen rags and towels. That not withstanding everything made for a great vacation. Loved the condo being on the 1st floor, with bags and all lol...I want to thank both of you for all your info leading up to our vacation. We will definitely recommend you to our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the places we recommended. We apologize for the issue with the refrigerator; ours broke down before your arrival, so we had to do a last-minute switch while we had ours serviced. Overall, we're so glad your stay and trip was a success and hope you'll stay with us again next time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great First Trip to Corpus Christi

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We had a great time in Corpus. We loved the location of the condo it was right there by the Aquarium and we had a ball there. The beach was great. We saw a few jellyfish right on the shore but it wasn’t a problem at all.

The condo was nice and clean. My only suggestion would be the mattress on the pull out bed in the couch might need to be replaced soon. My 13 yr old tried sleeping on it and didn’t sleep very well. I sat on it and you could feel every spring and the bar from the frame. He was too big to sleep in the bunkbeds so he just slept on the couch without pulling the bed. That would be my only suggestion. You guys and Elaine were great working with. The suggestions for restaurants were perfect for us. We loved the Pier 99 and the kids loved the 2 story Whataburger.

Thank you to all of you for help making my family’s vacation a success.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We're glad to hear our suggested restaurants worked our for you. We'll definitely look into a replacement mattress for the sofa. Thank you for your comments! We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

not so "very nice"

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Our stay at Tim's condo wasn't quite as we expected. When we arrived, the place was much smaller than the pictures made it seem, but that wasn't a problem considering we'd be at the beach most of the time anyways. I'm not complaining about this, just giving a heads up to the future renters.
First off, the fridge didn't work properly. The freezer was freezing, but the fridge was REALLY HOT. I decided to call management and see if they could help solve this issue. They were very friendly and helped solve the issue by bringing another fridge from a nearby condo. It seemed to work properly. However, once we put our groceries inside the replacement fridge, it started malfunctioning as well. We decided to plug the fridge into another outlet nearby and once that was done, it properly for the rest of our stay. On top of the outlet not working, another outlet (above the island in the middle of the kitchen/living room area) DIDN'T WORK either. I would suggest that the owners hire a electricion to come check out their outlets in the condo.
As management was in the process of fixing the fridge, they noticed that the door to the balcony was BROKEN as well. They told us that they thought it was something they had fixed it prior to our arrival, obviously that wasn't the case.They offered us to leave them the key and would fix it while we were away the next day. I was not comfortable with them going into the condo with all of our belongings inside without us present, so I declined the offer. This resulted in us not being able to go out onto the pourch throughout our whole stay.
In the master bedroom, the sheets had OLD BLOOD STAINS and HOLES around the edges which DISGUSTED me the most. I saw this posted on a review with Tim replying that the issue was fixed, apparantly it WASN'T. The sheets with the blood stains are still being used in the condo. I took them off and replaced them with extra ones in the closet. The replacement ones had HOLES around the corners as well. This is such a easy fix, I don't understand why they haven't bought new ones. Tim can easily go to the local walmart and pay $10 for new ones. I mean really? This is obviously a reoccuring problem for this condo so HOPEFULLY the owners decide to do something about it.
I thought that the price was a really good deal for the location but unfortunately I found out the hard way, you pay for what you get.
On the upside, the kitchen is VERY ORGANIZED with everything you may need to cook a meal.

Owners response: We would like apologize for your less than satisfactory stay in our home and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We have taken care of the fridge issue and now have a fully working refrigerator in the unit. We have also fixed the balcony door and all subsequent renters have to been able to use the balcony without any problems. We weren’t aware that a couple of the outlets didn’t work, and we will get those replaced as soon as we can. We did purchase new sheets for the unit after our last complaint about the bed sheets, but it appears that another guest stained them again. We have replaced the bed sheets again and have spoken to our cleaning personnel about notifying us when they need to be replaced.

We were happy to hear that the kitchen was organized. We try to keep it fully stocked with all everything our guests need to cook and serve a meal.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fair Experience

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We got a special deal (price) on our last minute stay however, had we paid the regular rate we would have been disappointed with our stay. The location to the beach is a huge positive especially with small kids. You can walk out to the beach and back with no issues. Important to note you must bring toiletries...there is no complimentary body soap, shampoo or conditioner as you would find in a hotel/motel.

Couple of suggestions for the actual condo:
1) Broom- especially with the kiddos trecking in sand
2) Actual fitted sheets on the bunks- the flat sheet was hanging off the bunk in the morning and my son was sleeping directly on the not so new mattress.
3) Better quality sheets, towels, bath rug and comforters would be a huge plus.... the sheets were pilly, the towels were very worn and thin, the bath rug was questionable, and the comforters were rough and dated- not at all cozy.
4) A "stock" closet with at least one extra roll of paper towels /hand soap/ toilet paper etc...would have been good- we had to restock during our stay....
5) The coffee pot looks like it has seen better days and probably has only a few uses left - may want to be prepared to replace soon.
6) Lastly the condo in general could use a face lift- some fresh paint, updated decor, better furniture placement etc. The nightly cost stay isn't super cheap and needs to stay in par with surrounding hotels....

My stay was ok- the owner was very kind and quick to respond to phone and emails and from other reviews he welcomes suggestions so maybe next time will be better.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We’re sorry to hear you didn’t fully enjoy your stay, but we appreciate your feedback. We are currently looking into providing toiletries for a more hotel-like experience. We usually provide a broom in one of the closets for guests to use. However, it appears that it was taken by a previous guest, and we are replacing it. We are also looking into the towel, sheet, and coffee pot issue and plan to get them corrected. As for the general appearance of the condo and the décor, we recently updated the bathroom, paint, and bedroom over the winter and the kitchen the previous year. It just appears we have a difference in taste, which sometimes happens.

As for pricing, we regularly check our rates against local hotels with similar amenities (such as a fully stocked kitchen and the ability to sleep up to 6 guests) and beach views. I can assure you that our prices are more than competitive.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great get-away

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

We found the condo to be exactly as illustrated on the website. Small but very compact with plenty of storage. Perfect for just the two of us or a couple with small children on a short get-away.
Very close to sightseeing spots and beach. Could have done with kitchen dish towels and bathroom handtowels - and a corkscrew!! Otherwise well equipped. Nice introduction to Corpus Christi.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the suggestions! We'll look into adding more dish and hand towels as well as a corkscrew. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your getaway!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

More like dumpo than condo!

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

My family stayed here for a week in July 2010. We were VERY disappointed!  This place was disgusting!  If anybody dares to tell me it was cleaned before we arrived I will call them a LIAR! Every mattress in this place was older than I am. I probably shouldn't insult mattresses by including the foam pieces of crap on the bunk beds as mattresses!  The pull out bed in more like a pull out pile of springs. We ended up just using the couch instead of the "pull out". Not enough sheets/blankets to to even make the "pull out". The kitchen beyond gross!  After I went to get a bowl out of the cabinet and it was filled w old dry up food of some sort we pretty much steered clear of that area. The bathroom again filthy!  There was hair in the drain!  GROSS!!  The shower door was a joke!  So old it was impossible to slide!  The faucets were so dirty I didn't even want to touch them. Toliet paper is not supplied. The four towels that were supposed to come w the condo, again don't want to insult towels by putting those in the same category.  At the end of the week the bed sheets were asked for to be cleaned, but none of the blankets, I guess that's why I found a blood stain on the comforter in the master room.  Again, GROSS!!  The coffee table had a broken leg so if you tried to move it the leg almost fell off.  The back door didn't lock.  The Mosquitos were absolutely horrible!  I have lived in Houston all my life so I know all about mosquitos, but never in my life have I been attacked by swarms of them, and it was like that every time you left the room.  I know you can't totally eliminate them, but you can take measures to attempt to control them for the comfort of the paying guests.  Never will I stay here again or recommend this place to a friend!  And the "property manager" should be fired if that's the best she can do.

Owners response: We're so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. We ourselves vacation at our place and always strive to take care of our vacation home. We have taken immediate corrective action to resolve these issues. The balcony door is fixed and locks. The coffee table as well as the end tables are now replaced. We've also replaced the bunk bed mattresses with brand new, custom ones. We are also sorry to hear about the mosquitoes during your stay; they have never been a problem before, and they're the product of an unusually wet summer. Unfortunately, we can’t control Mother Nature. We have also addressed the cleaning issues with our onsite property manager, and we’ll make sure it will not be an issue again.

Whenever we hear of any issues, we always make sure to get them corrected. That's why if an issue arises, we encourage you (and anyone) to inform us or our property manager immediately so we can resolve the issue right away. We certainly wouldn't force you (or anyone) to stay the whole time if you were unsatisfied. We truly want everyone to enjoy the place as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

location, location, location!

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

This really is just a few minutes from the Lexington, Texas State Aquarium and most importantly....the beach! The kitchenette also makes this an affordable family getaway by eliminating the need to dine out 3 times a day. Pack your swim gear, sunscreen and camera to be sure to remember your beach adventure.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed the kitchen and saved you money from dining out. We're also glad that you enjoyed all the nearby attractions. We hope that you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Corpus Christi.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

GReatCondo in Corpus

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

The photos were accurate. The description was accurate. The beach was really nice. I would recommend this to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you'll stay at our place again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review