reviews for: listing #83163 - Washington, DC Townhome rental

Best Location, Historic Capitol Hill, Stanton/Lincoln Park
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $250 /nt
    $1,365 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Enjoyed home

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the house. We traveled with 3 of our grandchildren and it allowed us plenty of room for them to spread out and play, which is why we wanted a house rather than a hotel room. Pluses to the house were that we had a private space which was reasonably clean, had a small, but full kitchen with all the things we needed, and could wash clothes. The shower was also very good, though there were no wash cloths. We did bring our own toilet paper as what was left in the home ran out quickly. Things we did not expect were that the house was much older and not as well maintained as had appeared in the pictures, the stairs were very steep, upstairs AC only in master, hot water ran out quickly, no parking (we saw the signs out front that you had to have a residential parking permit - asked 2 police officers about getting one and were told that only the owner could get one - ended up getting a parking ticket), and the mattress and eggshell on the pullout bed were very dirty. As far as getting around; the house was not really close enough for us to walk a lot to places of interest & finding parking in DC is very difficult. We took taxi's & the trolley which were very reasonable. We did walk to the Safeway a couple of times, which was fine, but carrying bags back several blocks limited what we could purchase. The pizza place on the corner had really good pizza and the kids loved the cat! Overall, we enjoyed the house and it met our needs. The owner very quickly returned our security deposit and we felt the rental agreement was very fair. If we did it again we would probably go for the hotel simply because it was within walking distance of the places we wanted to see and even though we would have had to pay for valet parking we would not have gotten a ticket and had to pay for taxis. The house was good though!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for staying at our house and for the review. But, I had to respond to your review. The unit is within 7 minutes’ walk to a metro stop that will take you to everywhere in DC. I do not know why you did not take advantage of this. Our guests love the unit for being so close to a metro stop. There is no need to get a taxi for that house! The house has central AC in addition to a window unit in the Master bedroom. The central AC is usually enough to keep the unit cold. We only added the window unit in the Master bedroom only as a backup for some unexpected hot days that might happen in the Summer time. We do not provide supplies as it was already mentioned in the forms that you signed. Only the a starter kit will be provided. The house is a typical Capitol Hill row house with steps going to the second floor. Almost all the row houses on the Capitol Hill area have a bit more steep stairs. The street parking is available on both sides of the street in front of the house where the signs DO NOT apply. If you got a ticket you probably did not read the signs! Also, a second option that our guests have is getting a parking permit from the local police station a few blocks away from the unit. Our guests have been doing this for the last 4 years now! The police officer seems like did not know and told you wrong. They only give the permit to our guests since you need to take your driver license and your car's registration card in addition to a copy of the Agreement. Our cleaning person inspected the pull out sofa bed and she did not see anything wrong with the mattress!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great base for the DC trip

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

My family of 4 stayed in this rental property first week of June 2013. The property is very comfortable, kitchen well equipped to prepare any meal, beds comfortable and plenty of towels provided. We traveled light with just carry ons and used washer/dryer on the 2nd floor to do laundry. First night we walked a few blocks to the grocery store and bought groceries. I read the review that suggested applying for store saving card - print your app from online website and bring it with you. It saved us over $20 on a couple of shopping trips. We used Blue/Orange line Metro from Potomac Avenue station to travel around the city - the station is only a few blocks from the house and it was a great way to get to Smithsonian Museums, National Mall, Georgetown, even Arlington Cemetery. We were on the go for hours every day, but it was very nice to come to the house and rest, sit on the front porch and visit with the local cat. Definitely plan on eating at Al's pizza across the street - best pizza I ever had. We also went to mass at St. Cyril Catholic church across the street - wonderful mass and sermon and very welcoming congregation. I would highly recommend this rental property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Vacation Home Base

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

The location of this vacation rental is really good. It is about a 20 minute walk for someone who is not a brisk walker. The restaurants at the Easten Market Metro station are great (Ted's Bulletin has great breakfast and the Thai and sushi at The Old Siam was yum!) and the Safeway is very near by. We felt safe walking back at night. The house is on the blue line which is a really quick access to the mall which is nice. If you are up for a run or long walk it is about 2 miles to the Capital and 3 to most of the Smithsonian museums. The disadvantages of the rental is the only A/C unit is in the "master" so you have to leave the door open to cool the other bedroom. When they say "starter toilet paper" they are not kidding, 1/2 a roll in each bathroom and then you are out. When you are in DC for vacation you don't really want to go TP shopping. There are plenty of towels for bating but only one kitchen towel and no dish rag left us in a bit of a bind when we cooked some fish for dinner. Also pick up some basic kitchen cleaner when you are at Safeway because there is none making our fish cooking clean up also challenging. Overall a really great stay, we loved the neighbors cat and our trip to DC was top notch.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Twelve thumbs up! (Traveling with a party of six)

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

We loved staying in this lovely, well-maintained townhouse. It was about a brisk 8-minute walk to the Potomac metro station and, since we had no car, it was perfect. You can pretty much get anywhere you need to go on the metro--and sometimes a bus if you're going beyond the metro end stations, and although, sight-seeing in DC requires a LOT of walking, finding parking, I think, would be pretty tricky. There was a Safeway grocery store between the Potomac Ave metro station and the home, so it made it convenient to pick up items to fix dinner each night (which saved us money, especially since we signed up for the discount card at the store). The house is equipped with pretty much everything you'd need to fix meals there. We took our whole family to DC, and since there were six adults, it was nice to have enough room for everyone (there's a fold-out couch downstairs). The owners were great to work with and very helpful and prompt in providing us with information and assistance when needed. It was cozy with a small but adequate kitchen and dining area, but has two large bedrooms upstairs (the girls took turns sleeping downstairs where it was a little cooler). The 1 1/2 baths worked well for our family of 4 daughters! We felt at home here. It was an older neighborhood, but the neighbors were very friendly and Francois, the friendly neighborhood cat, adopted us for our stay. I think someone else already mentioned Al's pizza parlor which is located kitty corner, but it really WAS delicious! We would certainly stay here again, if the opportunity presented itself, but I think we would maybe go in spring or fall when it's a little cooler. We had a great time in DC and having such a nice place to stay, with so many conveniences close-by, made it even better!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

We truly enjoyed staying at this home. Has all the essentials & location is a definite plus. Close to grocery store & metro rail, super close to metro bus (although we did not use). The way to go is really the rail. Very clean, great owner to work with - extremely helpful. We parked the vehicle the day we arrived & did not move it until we left. Got parking permit at police station. FYI - yes this home is in Zone 6, which allows 24/7 parking. Walked across street 1 night & got a pizza from Al's. It was very good. To get savings card from the Safeway grocery store, I went on line & printed form & had ready for cashier first time we shopped there. Look for Francois when sitting on front porch (neighboring cat)as he is quite friendly. Great place for an almost 'at home' feeling for a vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect 'home base' while you explore the city!

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

We were thrilled with this property as our home base during our first trip to DC! It is just as described- clean, well-maintained, and homey. The owner is polite and friendly, responding propmtly to our correspondence. We enjoyed walking to the Capitol and other attractions. Because there is a Merto stop only a few blocks away, we took advantage of it to travel to attractions that are further away. There is a grocery store within walking distance, allowing us to make our own meals in the well-supplied kitchen. However, one must not miss the delicious pizza from the local pizza place on the corner! The next time we visit DC, we will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommend for DC Vacation!!

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

This Capitol Hill rowhouse was such a great find for our family weekend in DC!! The location is wonderful, and the house is charming, comfortable,and well-appointed! We were thrilled with the easy parking, the many attractions and other conveniences (great restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy)all within easy walking distance. The rental rate is very reasonable and Fariba, the owner, is responsive and so easy to work with. I highly recommend this vacation property and hope to be able to stay there again myself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommend for DC Vacation!!

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

This Capitol Hill rowhouse was such a great find for our family weekend in DC!! The location is wonderful, and the house is charming, comfortable,and well-appointed! We were thrilled with the easy parking, the many attractions and other conveniences (great restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy)all within easy walking distance. The rental rate is very reasonable and Fariba, the owner, is responsive and so easy to work with. I highly recommend this vacation property and hope to be able to stay there again myself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review