reviews for: listing #83185 - Santa Fe, New Mexico House rental

Charming Adobe Casita-Walk Plaza (w/ AC)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $395 /nt

sort by:

Indian Market 2013

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

The place was fabulous and the people that owned it...even more fabulous! We were able to host a small event after the market for some of our artist friends and had a great time relaxing on the beautiful, spacious patio. The kitchen was roomy and equipped with everything we needed. It was just seconds away from the plaza and the trek was perfect whether you chose to drive or walk. The master bedroom was gorgeous as well and perfect for privacy away from the rest of the house when needed, equipped with your own TV room...but who has time for TV when they're in Santa Fe!?! I highly recommend staying here, it only adds to your vacation and makes for a positive and wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place for our group

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

On a scale of 1 to 5, I would rate the Sunset House and its owners a 6, possible 7!!! The house is lovely with every amenity anyone would want. It is an easy walk to downtown Santa Fe. Our group of 7 ladies loved the Southwestern decor, cleanness, spaciousness and comfort of the house. It was a perfect place for us to rest and regroup after a day of shopping or sightseeing. As others have mentioned, we especially loved the patio. Sandra was a pleasure to worked with in the reservation process. She promptly answered every email I sent and seemed eager to make this trip special for our group. She was just as delightful when we met her and Justin in person. I have stayed in several VRBO properties and have never had the owners both greet you on arrival, spend time orientating you to the area, and then stop by to say good-bye. I would definitely recommend the Sunset House for anyone's trip to Santa Fe.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Labor Day

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Recently my family (6 peoples:2 couples & 2 singles)stayed in the Sunset House. We enjoyed the back patio in early mornings & late afternoons. The three bedrooms and 2 bathrooms were ideal and we enjoyed the roomy living areas. The kitchen was very funtional with a washer & dryer. The Sunset House has a great location and very quiet. Sandra & Justin Greene were professtional and were easy to work with. We were given a document to utilize while in Santa Fe that proved to be very good information. We would choose the Sunset House again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely the best place to stay in Santa Fe

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

River Edge, New Jersey
Review Submitted August 14, 2011 Date of Stay July 30, 2011
Hi Sandra and Justin. I just want to let you know that staying at Sunset House was the BEST lodging decision we ever made. We have always stayed at hotels, this was our first VRBO and it beat any hotel we ever stayed at. Since we are a larger family with kids ranging in age from 3 years old to 20 years old, it is difficult to find a proper hotel room. Your house was great. As soon as I entered, I felt comfortable---the house has a great aura. Everything about it was perfect for us, and the location was fantastic. I could live in that house anytime. We all felt very, very comfortable---even Delila who just turned 3, loved the house. She didn't want to leave. Even as we were getting on the plane and I told her we were going home, she said, "no, I want to be at the pretty house". Also the day that we checked out, we went to the Children's Museum and then we went back to town for awhile. But before we drove to Albuquerque, Delila said she wanted to see the "pretty house" again. So we had to drive past the house one last time. Your house made a big impression even on a 3 year old. She even said to me yesterday, "I like the pretty house better". Thank you again for providing us with such a beautiful, perfect house for our Santa Fe vacation. I would come back in a heartbeat. Thank you for everything, Barbara and Family (Larry, Cecilia, Robert, Kevin and Delila Ruby)
Rating: 5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Peaceful House!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

We will definitely stay at one of Sandra & Justin's homes next time. It was such a beautiful house, great location, EVERYTHING!! The rental definitely felt like a home. It was the perfect location close to town and not far from the Opera House. We felt like we were far away from town, but we were actually walking distance from great coffee in town. The patio outback was perfect for morning coffee, afternoon lounging and late night grilling. The house has a sound system with an iPod dock so you can hear your music through out.

The owners are are awesome, giving us a warm welcome; our entire stay was just perfect. They gave us fantastic recommendation on places to go, and also provide a food delivery service if you feel like staying in and not cooking.

I think we told everyone we met (from out of town) about their rentals. Our plans are to come back and stay at one of their rentals at least once a year to escape the Texas inferno!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Peaceful House!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

We will definitely stay at one of their homes next time. It was such a beautiful house, location, EVERYTHING!! The rental definitely felt like a home. It was the perfect location close to town and not far from the Opera House. We felt like we were far away from town, but we were actually walking distance from great coffee in town. The patio outback was perfect for morning coffee, afternoon lounging and late night grilling. The house has a sound system with an iPod dock so you can hear your music through out.

The owners are are awesome, giving us a warm welcome; our entire stay was just perfect. They gave us fantastic recommendation on places to go, and also provide a food delivery service if you feel like staying in and not cooking.

I think we told everyone we met (from out of town) about their rentals. Our plans are to come back at least once a year to escape the Texas inferno!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location and Beautiful House!

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

We spent 3 days in this lovely adobe house. What a perfect location, it was walking distance to the plaza, the coffee shops and Canyon row. The living area and the bedrooms were very comfortable for our family (5 adults and 2 kids). The media room was an added bonus to sleep the kids. The decor and the details on the house was perfect - we had everything we wanted and more to make our stay comfortable and luxurious. Justin and Sandra were really wonderful hosts and helped us plan our stay, pick restaurants, local finds, local trips etc. We have stayed at many houses all over the country, I can tell you this was our best experience of them all!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Much Better than a Hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Our family of 4 (including 2 teens -- 18 and 16) spent 5 nights at this lovely casita over 4th of July this year. The location is excellent -- you can walk to just about everything in Santa Fe. The casita was charming, well maintained, spacious and very clean -- the adobe felt very Santa Fe! There was plenty of room indoors and outdoors for everyone to have some quiet time and space all of for us to be together. In addition to having all the linens you need, the house is well stocked with paper products, soaps, cleaning products, even laundry detergent!!! -- You do not have to run right out to the store to stock up. We have rented homes all over the country -- from the Florida Keys to Carmel,CA, from Lake Placid,NY to Mt Rainier, WA and many places in between -- this house is one of the best we have stayed in -- plenty of room in a charming home in a great location! Plus this casita comes with Sandra and Justin! They were wonderful to work with -- Sandra answered all my questions about the rental in a timely manner online and Justin met us at the front door to give us the keys and recommend an outstanding spot for dinner (The Shed which we walked to!). In addition they have prepared a wonderful book that details many things to see and do in Santa Fe and they highlighted all the good spots to eat -- Our family loves to eat out and try new things -- we only ate at restaurants from their list and we were never disappointed...do not miss the Guadalupe Cafe, Paschal's, Cowgirl BBQ or Maria's New Mexican Kitchen (be sure to try the margaritas!) We also took a few day trips -- to Taos one day -- along the Old Taos Mountain Road -- check out the Taos Pueblo and the bridge over the Rio Grande Gorge. On the afternoon of the 4th of July we drove to Albuquerque and visited Old Town and the Petrolglyphs National Monument -- but our favorite spot in ABQ was the Isotopes!! (AAA Dodgers baseball) We saw a great baseball game and then fireworks afterward. If you are in Santa Fe on the morning of the 4th of July do not miss Pancakes on the Plaza!!!! Its a very unique way to celebrate the 4th -- very Santa Fe -- quite different from our 4th of Julys in Philadelphia!! It would be hard to imagine not having a good time in Santa Fe staying in one of Sandra and Justin's houses -- Justin told us he wanted us to enjoy our time in Santa Fe and at their casita and we did!! We could not have had a better home base for our time in New Mexico.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing get a way

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

Looking for a relaxing, peaceful, cozy get away in spectacular Santa Fe!! We found it. Sandra and Justin were helpful and friendly. The house is traditional adobe but has all the comforts of a 21 century home. It is a 10 minute easy walk to the plaza and a short drive from the wonderful 10,000 waves spa.
Treat yourself to a getaway- you will be pleased you did.

Cindy M

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review