reviews for: listing #83265 - Venice Beach, California Condo rental

One block to the sand! Bikes, boogie boards, and parking!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $2,000 - $2,250 /wk
    $4,500 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Up in the trees

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

My husband,son and I spent a wonderful week in this great place. We could walk to the beach and restaurants. There were boogie boards and bikes available. The apartment had everything we needed and were able to cook meals when we wanted to. Even has a washer and dryer available. It was close to all the places we wanted to visit and so travel time was short. Joanne was great. She brought us watermelon and flowers and made sure all our needs were met. I will stay here again.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable stay near Venice Beach

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 28, 2014

Joanne was a great host and easy to reach in case you need anything. Overall a very homelike feel to the place, and close to restaurants, cafes, and of course Venice beach. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy, safe and close to the action

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

Our stay in Venice was memory-making thanks to Joanne! The property is lovely - well kept, clean and inviting. A great queen bed for us parents at one end of the space and a unique room at the other end for our 2 teenagers. The kid's room had built in double beds and cabinets, as well as lots of storage space, games and books to entertain them. The garden space beckoned for us to sit and relax or enjoy a meal. We used the bikes that were provided to ride up to Santa Monica Pier and down to the Venice Canals along the beach boardwalk (much better than moving our car from the provided parking spot). The beach, playgrounds, skate board park and other attractions are a short walk away. Many restaurants and shops are walking distance from the property too, including the hip Albert Kinney area. We'll definitly stay here next time we visit LA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation rental!

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

I loved my stay at this rental! Joanne was very welcoming and accommodating, making my stay even more enjoyable than I could’ve hoped. I was able to walk to the beach in only a few minutes and did not have to cross any street to do so, I loved being so close to the water. The 3rd street promenade is only 10 min away, I was able to do some birthday shopping and meandering about; enjoying all the nice shops and many talented characters that place has to offer. I walked down the boardwalk to the Venice Pier and then to the Santa Monica Pier. Another time I took the bike, which Joanne provided me with, passed both piers and was able to see much more of the beach and passed by the Venice skatepark, which was AWESOME! I never went surfing while I was there but having the board if I did want to was nice as well. There was plenty to do while on my trip to Venice but what really made the whole trip worth while was having such a wonderful rental home to come back to. It really was a home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Hanz you where the perfect guest. Hope all went well with your business as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for our family of 4 with two teens

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

This place was everything that we hoped for. Joanne was a fabulous host. She made sure we had everything we needed and was always ready with suggestions. She was adept at being available but not all intrusive. The apartment is clean, very close to the beach, and has everything you would need. The location is perfect. It is on the northern end of Venice Beach so you are very close to all of the action, but also it the quieter part of Venice, and convenient to the Santa Monica Pier.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Paul, Thank you so much and I am glad that the kids had such a good time while they where here, that's why I try to have all the bikes, beach and sports equipment so that they can do a lot of different things while they are here. Joanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Friendly owner, lots of equipment

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Had a wonderful visit and Joanne was a wonderful accomodating host. Loved all the beach equipment and bikes and we took full advantage -- my husband and I and our three teen boys.
We spent a lot of time on the beach lingering until night and strolling, and especially enjoyed the LaBrea tarpits, the Getty, Paramount Studio tour,
shopping on Melrose and just people watching in Venice. What a great trip, with a perfect place to call home while we were here. We were a bit worried about the noise at first (it abuts a busy street), but that didn't turn out to be an issue.
Cheryl,
Oak Park, Ill.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Beach Location

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Thanks, Joanne, we had a tremendous week - good advice from you to extend our car rental!

We had a great trip to the Getty Center, the Annenberg (althought it was closed - note to self - check before leaving home!) We also did the touristy bit and got to the sign and saw the entrance to Springsteen's LA home.

We also made West Holleywood's Halloween street party-great fun.

We enjoyed the bikes, ran along the boardwalk and saw the canals.

Thanks for the flowers and for everything else.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Beach Rental!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This is a great beach rental. It’s a quick walk to the Venice beach, close to a variety of restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. We spent a week here with our college aged daughters. Everyone was happy. The house was clean, comfortable, and had almost everything you could need or want. We did a mix of beach days, LA sightseeing, and hiking and biking in Malibu. We all had a wonderful time. We are planning to rent this unit again next summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Thank you JoAnne for being so accommodating. Even though the weather wasn't great, we had a great time. We visited the LaBrea Tar Pits, Griffith Observatory, and the Getty villa. Took many walks on the beach, bike rides, visited Abbott-Kinny, the canals, and up Main St too.
Love your home!
Sincerely,
the McKinley's

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is a treasure in Venice!

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Me and my friends spent the month of April there and it was fantastic! The house is just amazing, it has everything you need, including movies and board games! It’s beautiful, clean and secure. The owner has a really useful book with maps and tips about the best places in LA. The location is unbeatable, one block from the beach. The house comes with bicycles and body boards, we're four people so we saved a lot of money since renting a bicycle is around $15/day! Main St and Abbot Kinney are around the corner so we just walk to great restaurants and bars. Great weather, the best place to be in sunny California. We love the place :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is a treasure in Venice!

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Me and my friends spent the month of April there and it was fantastic! The house is just amazing, it has everything you need, including movies and board games! It’s beautiful, clean and secure. The owner has a really useful book with maps and tips about the best places in LA. The location is unbeatable, one block from the beach. The house comes with bicycles and body boards, we're four people so we saved a lot of money since renting a bicycle is around $15/day! Main St and Abbot Kinney are around the corner so we just walk to great restaurants and bars. Great weather, the best place to be in sunny California. We love the place :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

El mejor lugar para quedarse en Venice!

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Joanne es muy agradable y te dara bicicletas y tablas para hacer body board o surf gratis durante tu estadia! La casa es espectacular, limpia y segura, tienes todo lo que necesitas y entran facilmente 7 personas. La ubicacion es excelente, a una cuadra de la playa y puedes caminar a todos los restaurantes y bares de Venice! Sobre todo conocimos los de Main St y Abbot Keney, a 5 min de la casa! Esta es la mejor opcion que vimos y la recomendamos!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a treasure in Venice!

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Me and my friends spent the month of April there and it was fantastic! The house is just amazing, it has everything you need, including movies and board games! It’s beautiful, clean and secure. The owner has a really useful book with maps and tips about the best places in LA. The location is unbeatable, one block from the beach. The house comes with bicycles and body boards, we're four people so we saved a lot of money since renting a bicycle is around $15/day! Main St and Abbot Kinney are around the corner so we just walk to great restaurants and bars. Great weather, the best place to be in sunny California. We love the place :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Venice Beach House

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

This is a great apartment to stay in it is a 2 minute walk from Venice beach and very close to the beach & boardwalk in Santa Monica too. There are lots of cafes & bars close by & you would never tire of walking VB boardwalk lots to see & do. Venice beach is a great location to stay at from where you go discover the rest of LA. This apartment is as described exactly and so much more, the parking is easy, bikes, surfing boards & boogie boards are in perfect condition. Joanne also provides basketball, tennis & other ball games. There is also a great collection board games & books to read, she also provides lots of tourist brochures and handy tourisrt tips for getting around to see everything. All kitchen, laundry & bathroom facilities worked perfectly as did the TV & internet. I was staying here with my partner & 13 year old daughter we had a great time and were very comfortable in this apartment.
Joanne is the perfect host, we had some mail posted here and it didnt arrive before we left, Joanne went out of her way to get the mail to us and she also posted back a number of items we forgot here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Jolie maison mais...

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Charmante bas de duplex à proximité de la mer. Bien équipée, propre et décorée avec goût, cette maison de caractère est à distance de marche de la plage (max. 5 min par rue piétonne). La propriétaire est accueillante, discrète et donne de judicieux conseils. Les vélos qui sont fournis, la planche de surf et les boogieboards sont un gros plus puisque leur location est onéreuse et l'une des principale activité de notre semaine passée à Venice a été de se promener le long de la mer et des canaux. Cependant, le secteur est très bruyant, à tel point que nous n'avons pas mangé dehors une seule fois et que notre sommeil était perturbé chaque nuit (circulation automobile sur la rue qui longe la maison, présence de fêtards, proximité des piétons par rapport à la fenêtre de la chambre principale). De plus, il faut savoir que ce secteur de Venice comprend de nombreux sans-abris et des commerces aux fréquentations des plus douteuses. À considérer sérieusement...

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Very close to beach with all necessities

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

Joanne provides bikes, boogie boards and even a surfboard for you to use during your visit. There are so many things to do around Venice, even just walking along the boardwalk visiting all the merchants; there are several impressive artists!

Our family spent most of the time using the boogie boards in the ocean. Being from the Nebraska, we don't get to see waves or the ocean vary often. We should have done more but the kids had a great time.

Bike rentals are $7 per hour along the boardwalk and the boogie boards I assume are similar. Joanne provides these free of charge so that is a huge benefit.

This place would be good for a smaller family or a couple looking for a place close to the beach with the necessities provided.

Joanne attempts to make your stay enjoyable. Thanks Joanne!

The Nebraska people - GO BIG RED. GO HUSKERS.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Labor Day Venice Beach Experience

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

My husband, son and I had a wonderful Venice vacation over Labor Day weekend 2010- Joanne's hospitality and Venice hideaway were exactly as portrayed in the property description! Joanne quickly dealt with minor difficulties- fixing the TV/cable connection, providing dishwasher soap (HOW GREAT TO HAVE A DISHWASHER AND WASHER AND DRYER!) , had a map and suggestions for hiking, eating etc. on the table when we arrived. We thoroughly enjoyed eating at Sauce on Hampton, coffee/tea at Abbot's Habit, walking along the boardwalk with all its sights, biking to Santa Monica pier and beyond( THE BIKES ARE INCLUDED IN THE RENTAL), we saw a great play at the Electric Lodge, hiked at Will Roger's State Park plus the Topanga State park(WHAT VIEWS) and went to the Getty (AGAIN SPECTACULAR VIEWS)- we explored Abbot Kinney Blvd, the canals( so charming), the beach (we saw dolphins jumping along the shore), the surfers- the carnival atmosphere! I would recommend this property!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely, convenient, comfortable and hospitable.

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

What a lovely place to stay! It’s very comfortable and in a convenient location. The bed is heavenly! The pillow top made it the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The TV was an added bonus. We loved the outdoor eating area and Barbecue. What an awesome location! The owner is a lovely person and very accommodating. Every day was filled with an adventure just outside the door. A quaint flower lined walk street takes you a few steps to Venice Beach and the Boardwalk. We walked and rode bikes everywhere and were surprised to run across valet bike parking at Santa Monica Pier for the Thursday night concerts and on Saturdays at the Farmers Market. This beautiful home apartment is located close to everything. We often walked the beach to the Santa Monica Pier, sun bathed and used the boogie boards, umbrella and beach towels which are provided at the apartment. We enjoyed the art peddlers, stores, coffee shops and restaurants on the boardwalk. One day we rode bikes (provided at the apartment) down the beach, around Marina Del Ray and out the jetty to Playa Del Ray. We highly recommend The Warehouse Restaurant in Marina Del Ray. It has wonderful food and a unique atmosphere. Another day we walked to Main Street, had coffee at a wonderful new coffee shop and shopped the many stores. The next day we rode bikes to the 3rd Street Promenade and had a wonderful time shopping, watching the street performers, and seeing a movie. If you have access to a car you have free parking at the apartment and there are many tourist attractions close by. You can't go wrong renting this apartment. We'll be back soon! Thanks Joanne!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review