reviews for: listing #83270 - Galveston, Texas Condo rental

Tropical Beachside Getaway-Walk to Beach-Step into Spring!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Victorian Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $135 /nt
    $495 - $775 /wk
    $1,295 - $1,850 /mth

sort by:

Our Family Get Away

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Hi my name is Kaitlyn (9 yrs old in 5 days) The condo was great for kids and adults. We had friends sleep on the fold out couch and in a sleeping bag on the floor that we bought from Wal-Mart. If you need to go shopping the Wal-Mart is right next to the condo. The condo has two pools, very very nice pools. The beach is right across the street from the condo. Rain Forest Café is fun and down the street.

That was my soon to be 9 year old daughters review of this condo. I honestly think she hit the high points. My wife, two daughters and our baby sitter were going to be the only residents for three nights; we picked up a nephew and a friends daughter after one day at the beach. We were all accommodated in the room. The boys did shower outside by the pool to let all the girls have the room to primp. The refrigerator is on the small side, but we brought coolers and the condos provided ice. There are six grills and we did everything from burgers & dogs to steak and fresh fish. The site has access to a small gym; but, running on the beach and seawall is really nice (there were also classes on the beach that we were invited to join.) If you want to be pampered in a hotel or spa then go pay the extra money that it entails. We had security parking and an extremely friendly staff, there were Pedi cabs, golf, Moody Gardens, great people and a 2 hour game of "Marco Polo" with at least 20 something kids, parents and grand parents playing! We will go again and again. In all honesty we never had the opportunity to do all the things that we had planned; we just ran out of time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend Stay

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We went down to Galveston for my sons birthday and to relax on the beach. We loved the condo very comfortable for us. 4 adults and one child. My favorite was the hot tub of course becasue it was a bit cool that weekend. The location is great right across from the beach!!The big plus was the fact that the owner/manager to the condo was very helpful and made the booking process super easy. We will be back and look foward staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

This condo was great for our weekend stay. Our daughter wanted to go to the OniCon (anime convention) and this place was perfect. We had 2 adults and 3 teens and were quite comfortable. The lower bunkbed was a bit snug, but big enough for a 5"3" girl. The location is great for a lot of Galveston attractions - it is on the seawall, close to the convention center (walking distance), and a quick drive to Pleasure Pier. The restaurant at the condo makes a pretty good pizza too.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great weekend getaway

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

This condo was great for our weekend stay. Our daughter wanted to go to the OniCon (anime convention) and this place was perfect. We had 2 adults and 3 teens and were quite comfortable. The lower bunkbed was a bit snug, but big enough for a 5"3" girl. The location is great for a lot of Galveston attractions - it is on the seawall, close to the convention center (walking distance), and a quick drive to Pleasure Pier. The restaurant at the condo makes a pretty good pizza too.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Going again

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

I can't wait, I get to go again! I just booked a few days for my son and his girlfriend and a few days for my husband and myself. In 2 weeks I'll be relaxing on the patio with a frozen drink in my hand looking down at the pool and the beach!

Every time we go the place gets better (we have been at least 5 times.) The updates to the kitchen (Granite countertops) and the bedroom look great!

We have stayed in several hotels & motels in Galveston in the past. But after we stayed at the place, we haven't stayed anywhere else. You can't beat the price and the location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a little weekend getaway and we had a blast! The condo was the perfect size for my husband, myself, my 2 kids, and 2 friends of the family. We loved the patio looking out over the pool and out to the beach and we enjoyed being so close to the beach. Pleasure Pier was also a short drive away. We loved it so much we've decided to make it an annual tradition!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

My wife, 2 year old daughter and I stayed at this condo and it was truly amazing. Everything inside the condo was perfect and so neat and clean. We stayed 5 night and it was to the point where my daughter was calling the condo home! Shelly was more than helpful in the registration process and even made contact with us just to make sure we were doing well during our stay! You are really missing out if you do not plan to stay in this condo! Great place and great owners!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic! Will Definately Be Back!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 3 children during Mardi Gras and it was a Blast! Not only did I enjoy the Mardi Gras festivities, I enjoyed the whole Victorian Condominium as well! This condo was decorated elegantly and was immaculate. All of the beds were very comfortable too! The Kitchen was perfect for our needs and had great updates! The location has 2 pools, one that was very kid friendly and one that was more geared towards the older kids and adults. My wife loves to work out, so the Gym and the tennis courts were a big plus for us! We were in walking distance of the Beach and a few restaraunts, which was very convenient. Overall, This was my best stay in Galveston and I will be returning many times with my family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fishing

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

Myself and 3 Buddies from Church decided to go to Galveston
to get away and do some fishing. We stayed here and found it
to be a perfect Place. Nicely furnished, Beautiful kitchen and
great location. There is a nice fishing pier located directly
across the street where they were catching Flatheads, Reds, and
a Shark. We decided to take one of the charters off of pier
21 for a bay trip.The cost was like $25.00 per man and 1 of our
guys caught a HUGE red.There is the Cajun Greek rest right around
the corner which was Great food and inexpensive. We found this
place to be perfect for a quick trip and would highly recommend.
We will be back!
Dave

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This was the best! My girlfriends and I - total of five grown women - stayed at this condo! We loved everything about it. The beds were comfy and the amenities were great. The balcony was one of our favorite spots. We could sit out on the deck and see the ocean and overlook the pool. The restaurant is literally a door away and they delivered. The decor was above what we had expected; granite counter tops, toaster, coffee maker, pots and pans, act. A great stereo system and tv's. For a beach get away it was perfect. Walmart across the street if you forget anything. And nail salon around the corner. It was a great location and we are already planning our next trip to this fantastic condo. The price, the staff and the comfort - you cannot beat it... And the owners were more than accommodating. Especially since we kept adjusting our dates, she never once made me feel I was inconveniencing her. I cannot wait to take my husband!! Thank you! Thank you! Thank YOU!! Good job!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Fabulous stay"

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Is it ok to keep your ph# handy for future rentals?? We had such a fabulous stay that we would like to rent again this summer & for November 2012. Please let me know if this is ok. Thanks so much again for your kindness & hospitality. - Cindy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Hope to be able to rent from you again"

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Hi Shelly,

Just wanted to say Thank-You so much for letting us rent your condo. It was sooo Awesome and the location was so Great! Everything was there that we needed and more! Loved the Pool too! We are definently going to try to make this a yearly trip, hope we will be able to rent from you again sometime!

I hope eveything was in order from when we left.



Thanks Again,


Chrisi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great place to stay"

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

I wanted to thank you so much for a great place to stay... The condo was perfect and the scenery was amazing.... We all enjoyed it and wished we could stay down there longer.

Again, thank you we had a wonderful time.



Thank you

Danielle Owens

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great appearance, but uncomfortable and dingy

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Great location, great pools, great patio, friendly front desk staff. However, the interior was far less than we expected. The beds are hard. The bunks squeak every time you move, and you can feel the mattress springs as you lay there. Too much noise from the party in the adjacent ballroom. The front desk staff was very courteous when we asked them to do something about it, but they never did turn it down. The room is nicely decorated, but it was very tight with 2 adults and 2 kids. The sofa had a strange smell--like a wet dog? The shower head quit working during the middle of taking a shower. One of the dresser drawers was broken. The bathroom faucet doesn't have enough pressure, so you really need to wash your hands in the kitchen sink to get them clean. TV remote in the bedroom doesn't work, and doesn't get the same channels as the living room. This place has great "curb appeal" with the lovely decor, but it it is old, dingy and uncomfortable. New mattresses, a new sofa and a few minor repairs would really make it a great place.

Owners response: Yes, this is a great location directly across from beach, has a wonderful spacious patio with relaxing view, great pools and recreation on site, with the added perk of being a fabulous value as well. That said, great care has been taken to address updates to this property. These include a completely renovated kitchen with new cabinetry, granite countertops, brand new kitchen appliances, new carpet throughout the unit, and new TV in the bedroom in October 2011. Naturally, there are always improvements to be made and we strive for excellent customer service and communication. We do believe in going above and beyond in our dealings with our customers, as well as having a property we take great pride in, as many of our wonderful reviews and repeat visitors can attest.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Beautiful place to stay...Home away from Home!!!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We have rented from The Victorian before, but, this condo was the TOP of the LINE!! Warm & welcoming with ALL of the comforts of home, this condo was beautifully decorated, roomy, and had little surprises like a 4 star hotel would have (ie: little soaps, shampoos, hand sanitizers, coffeemaker, coffee, tv's in the living room area and the bedroom, plush towels, etc..etc!!!! I could go ON & ON!!!)
The owners were VERY accommodating, easy to work with and even called to make sure all was ok during our stay. We will be back. This condo is truly a Diamond in the Rough. Thank you SO MUCH for a WONDERFUL stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A truly enjoyable experience.

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

I have nothing to give but compliments and would highly recommend both the property and the owners.

The photos show exactly what you will see and the condo and the entire complex is beautifully maintained. The location is perfect, access to the beach is easy as the stop light to cross Seawall Boulevard is right outside and there is a Walmart close-by to purchase anything you may need. Shops, restaurants, movie-multiplex, tourist activities are easily accessible.

Shelly and David, the owners,did everything they could to make my stay perfect and I shall definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice place for a getaway

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

The description and photos were accurate. We really enjoyed the view and the porch. The pools were fun too. It was minutes from everything in Galveston. I would recommned this property. The front desk could have done a little bit better in directing us to our room (it is a confusing place when you first get there) but other than that it was great.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review