reviews for: listing #83416 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

"Best on the Beach" Like New Aquarius
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Aquarius Condominiums
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $270 /nt
    $550 - $1,750 /wk
    $1,750 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Clean, comfortable, great value

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This condo is in a great location, close to everything. The building is clean, and the 24 hour staff is fantastic. The snowbirds have all sorts of activities in the building if you care to join in. Beautiful grounds and pool area, large laundry room.
The condo is right on the beach. The front balcony overlooks the ocean and morning sun, the side balcony is in the afternoon sun. The unit is clean and comfortable, with plenty of seating.We only used the master bedroom and found the bed comfortable. During the week it is very quiet at night, only snowbirds around.
Bob was great to work with, any concerns I always received a quick response to. He has some of the staff there to help with anything you need.
Be sure and go to the birding center on the island, also a short trip to Laguna Atascosta wildlife refuge and take the tram or bus tour.
For a cheap piña colada walk over to Daddy's Cajun restaurant. If you hit a rainy day there is also a movie theatre on the island, go early because everyone else will be heading there also.
We will stay with Bob's condo again when we return, wish we were still there!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Value

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We stayed at this wonderfully renovated and cozy condo from 8/17 to 8/20/2013 and had a splendid time in the island. The condo is equipped with everything any vacationer would want or need and more. Would rent it again in a heartbeat if we return to south padre.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fourth of July-Great Condo

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

My family just got back from Padre for the Fourth of July. We really enjoyed staying at this condo and it was equipped with anything you could need. (Also, since others had mentioned a smell I thought I would note that we did not notice any smells). The view of the beach was great! Plus, after walking up and down almost the entire 3 mile beach front, think this was one of the best areas. Fourth of July is very busy, but we always found a spot and didn't feel crowded. Great for families! I also liked how close it was to walk to restaurants on the Bay or the CVS if we needed something.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family fishing trip

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

I stayed in this lovely condo over memorial weekend and it was perfect for me and my three kids. WE had a blast it was right on the beach n had everything we needed. the smell was there n it was like maple syrup lol but it was not bad. water drained just fine. I plan on renting it again soon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We stayed at this condo from 3/9-3/16 and it was quite satisfactory and everything we were looking for. The fully equipped kitchen was great and left us with few things to bring besides food and our own personal clothing. The condo itself was great and had a very homey decor. Everything was very close by the condo which made the use of a car not needed, and the security of the whole facility made us feel very secure! The drainage in the restroom was a little slow, which was the only slight problem we ran into. Also, on the last day of our stay all of the power had went out in the whole condominium which was a little upsetting, but problems do occur with the large amount of people staying there during the spring break week. Overall this condo was a great rental for my friends and I and though I was skeptical of the foul smell I had read in other reviews I came to realize it was just a stuffy smell, and once you get in there the smell goes away. I would highly recommend this condo and rentals from Robert, he was there to answer all of our questions and concerns about our stay!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You get what you pay for

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We stayed in this condo 7/28 to 7/31. Upon entering the condo there was an unpleasant odor which never went away. The condo is updated not sure if it is for the better. The location is good and views are good. However everything else was below average. The towels and bedding were so bad we had to buy our own towels for shower, bedding for pull out couch and blankets for kids bed. I was never given check in instructions and was unaware of the need to bring my own toilet paper, trash bags, and paper towels. On the last evening the slow toilet overflowed.... And you get what you pay for....looking for inexpensive stay roll the dice here. Lastly, I have emailed owner twice in past two days about deposit no response. Safe to say I don't recommend.

Owners response: Unfortunately it's impossible to please everyone no matter what any commercial transaction entails. I refer all candidate renters to read the reviews from my other guests to Beautiful South Padre Island and the Aquarius who had positive responses to my Condo and desire to return. This includes responses both immediately before and after checkout of this guest. We strive to do our best and rely on the management , staff, and housekeeping folks to be prepared for all of our guests. I trust that the other reviews speak for themselves. Bob Carnahan

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome Condo And View!!! We Stayed 7 Full Days

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I would say this has been the best condo we have rented by far. The condo was great, and the view was awesome. The fully equipped condo is perfect. Just bring yourself, your clothes, food and everything else is there. Guaranteed to have fun. Everything is close. The beach is your backyard. The BBQ areas are perfect. The pool was clean. The area is gated and made you feel very secure about your property. Everything was so close that a vehicle wasn't really needed. Robert your condo was great and I will definitely recommend and visit time and time again..
Thanks
Mike

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What more can I say but to thank my renters for complimenting my condo and the Aquarius. We have a great staff and they represent the owners with pride.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Condo And View!!! We Stayed 7 Full Days

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I would say this has been the best condo we have rented by far. The condo was great, and the view was awesome. The fully equipped condo is perfect. Just bring yourself, your clothes, food and everything else is there. Guaranteed to have fun. Everything is close. The beach is your backyard. The BBQ areas are perfect. The pool was clean. The area is gated and made you feel very secure about your property. Everything was so close that a vehicle wasn't really needed. Robert your condo was great and I will definitely recommend and visit time and time again..
Thanks
Mike

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: My first year of renting by owner and selecting an excellent housekeeping service . I couldn't be more pleased than to get repeated reviews similar to this latest one. What better recommendation is needed to invite guests to the Aquarius and South Padre Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1st Time Winter Texans

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We rented Aquarius 207 for our first experience as Winter Texans. We stayed 1-1-2012 to 3-31-2012. We had a wonderful experience. The condo was clean and in good condition. We wanted an oceanview and the living room balcony has a beautiful view of the waves crashing and the sun rising. We loved it. The bedrooms have a separate large balcony that gives you great access to the afternoon sun. The condo has airconditioning but we seldom used it due to the wonderful breezes that blow through with all the sliding doors open. The building is well maintained by a friendly and helpful staff,thanks.The owner was helpful at orienting us to S Padre ( restaurants sights and activities etc) and the building and quick to refund the security deposit at the end of our stay. The building has secured parking, a nice feature especially during the lively spring break times. The building has a great central location on the island. We enjoyed going to the farmers markets several times a week that are in several nearby locations. We were comfortable and happy in the first winter we spent away from our home. The building has an employee/resident picnic/party to which all residents are invited. It was great,very well done. Every week the Winter Texans from Minnesota and other states got together for a potluck get together just to talk about there experiences on the island. The only thing we would have liked would have been better quality internet access. Otherwise it was just fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's especially gratifying to get a review like this that I will share with the Aquarius staff for their personal contributions to the comfort and security of our visitors. Bob Carnahan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at this Aquarius condo and it was lovely!! We have 3 children 13,4,&1 and the condo was perfect, it was so close to the beach and right infront of the pool the view was AMAZING! The kids loved it. The condo was nicely decorated and had a full kitchen which is a plus. The condo owner Robert was awesome to work with. The staff was also very nice and welcoming.We would definetly be staying here again and will recommend this condo to family and friends. Thanks Robert for sharing your condo with us!!! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nothing is more complimentary than a happy vacationer. My personal goal is to encourage my clients to share their experience in my condo, The Aquarius, and beautiful South Padre Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

girls getaway

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We spent 4 great days here the condo was neat and clean and comfortable,with everything you needed to have a relaxing stay. Walk out the back door and you are at the beach, good views off the balcony. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony and reading. The gated parking made you feel safer.A washer and dryer are available downstairs and the staff was nice the grounds were clean. It is easy to get to anything you want to do on the island. The only cons we noticed was in the hall the other condo's cooking odors was bad at times. A sweeper would help keep the condo cleaner. I can't wait to go back again.Thanks so much Robert for all your help we had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review