reviews for: listing #83490 - Flamingo Beach, Costa Rica Townhome rental

Monkeys & Parrots Lush Tropical Paradise ~ Video
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Surf Side Estates
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $250 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,450 /wk
    $3,600 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Beach Lovers' Paradise

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Costa Rica for our honeymoon, and after a night in San Jose we drove across the country to Stef Surf in El Delfin. Stef Surf was absolutely perfect. The condo was beautiful! We loved the large open space and especially enjoying morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the gardens below. From the moment I inquired about Stef Surf, Greg and Gladys went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. Greg and Gladys gave us several recommendations for the local food we really enjoyed Las Brisas and the macadamia nut pancakes at a small eatery close by. Greg and Gladys really helped us feel at home and shared their local wisdom of the area.
We rented a car and really enjoyed that Stef Surf was not in a large condominium complex but conveniently located near many restaurants and beaches. During our stay at Stef Surf Gladys helped us book a snorkling cruise with Panache which was wonderful! The boat was roomy, unlimited drinks and a small dinner was included. We got to enjoy a beautiful sunset from the boat, so even if you don't snorkel the sailboat ride is a great experience.
We visited playa penca, playa flamingo, and playa dante. We loved them all, but if we had to choose playa dante was probably our favorite. We had breakfast there on the beach and spent a couple days paddle boarding.
I cannot say enough good things about our accommodations at Stef Surf and the hospitality of Greg and Gladys. I only wish we could have stayed longer, and I hope we can return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Lush Relaxing Oasis...what a Jewel of a Spot

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

Greg and Gladys have obviously missed their vocational calling. While actually in the Real Estate business, they couldn't be more welcoming hosts and more informative travel consultants for the entire Guanacaste province. Everything from the online welcome package to daily advice on great things to see and do in the area exceeded our expectations. Our Villa / Condo was absolutely gorgeous with all the modern amenities of home, and placed amongst the lush jungle greenery and freshwater pool that makes up Stef Surf. It is also very central to everything including the lovely beaches, howler monkeys, restaurants, grocery & wine/beer shopping, fruit and meat markets, banks....everything! What I liked best after arriving home from zip-lining, river tours or beach walking was coming "home" to the refreshing pool and chilling out with Greg & Gladys and other guests around the "hot" tub! What a wonderful vacation !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Do yourself a favor and visit Stef Surf!"

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

We visited Stef Surf with our 3 children ages 15,10 and 2. The house had absolutely everything we needed to fully enjoy our stay at the beach. Our kids loved the refreshing pool, and walking to the beach. The property is beautiful and lovingly cared for. We rented bikes to cruise town, and visit nearby beaches. Greg and Gladys are wonderful hosts. We truly felt like a part of the local community thanks to their enthusiasm and warmth and all the insider tips. Highlights included the swim up bar at Bahia del Sol, playa Penca, Las Brisas, karaoke at Max's, a trip to Rincon de la Vieja with Jaime and the pizza party at Stef Surf. Truly a wonderful place!
Lauren Bowie Eugene Or

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Family memories that will last a lifetime"

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We now have a perfect way to bring our young adult sons 'home' for the holidays every year. All we have to say is, "Want to go to Stef Surf in Costa Rica?" We've been back in the states 10 days and it has been so fun to hear both of our boys (16 and 18) tell friends and family about our trip. Stef Surf was our beautiful home base for countless adventures (many of which we would not have discovered without personal suggestions from Greg and Gladys). The proximity of beautiful beaches,fabulous restaurants and services mixed with the adventure of touring the country with brilliant guides blended perfectly. Coming home to the beautiful and well stocked El Defin after our outings and resting in the sanctuary of the grounds was delightful. We highly recommend Stef Surf, the wonderful caretakers, and anything else you can pack in to your trip.
Bob Val Nico, and Paul from Portland

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A week in Paradise

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Stef Surf is surrounded by a high wall and when you step inside it is like stepping into an oasis with beautiful ferns and palm trees.
The four units are all beautifully decorated and geared to relaxation with day beds and chairs on the balconies. The pool area is very inviting for both swimming and lazing around.
The beach is a minute walk away and there are many good restaurants such as LasBrisis, the Shack , Purla's all within a few minutes walking distance and serve a wonderful variety of local cuisine.
The property is well maintained by live in staff and Greg and Gladys were extremely helpful in assisting us with tours and getting to know the lay of the land.It was a great holiday and I would recommend a visit to Stef Surf.
Peggy from Huntsville, ON

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Stay!"

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and lush...the pool amazing. For us it was perfect bc it was shady and kept us cool on some of the warmer days. Upon arrival it was cloudy, and we weren't really sure about Portrero Beach as we walked up (truly less than a five min walk)...but we learned within a few days that each and every beach changes color with the skies and sun position...pretty neat...the darker lava sand threw us for a loop at first, but we enjoyed the calm bay floating on rafts and noodles more than once! One day it was a cool green, one day a deep turquoise...and never crowded, it was ours...as were most of the beaches we visited.

The location is great, a quick drive to several other areas like Playa Danta, Tamarindo, and Langoste. Roads are good between towns...and we felt very safe at all times.

Stef Surf is very close to several cool little spots to eat and listen to music or participate in Karaoke (really hoping no one got video of that night!). Maxwells, El Coconut, La Perla and the restaurant at Bahia del Sol were all great, accommodating, and clean. We simply ran out of time to try others, not a single bad review for anything we tried. Bahia del Sol welcomed us at their swim up bar, spa, and restaurant.

Greg and Gladys happened to be in town while we were there and we really enjoyed talking with them, and they had so many great ideas for us. We seriously just needed more time...

Photos of condos and grounds are very accurate...and any issues we had were quickly attended to (but really we caused the only issue by blowing a breaker at the road bc we had too much going on at once inside, oops). Caretakers were always there to answer questions or help if needed. Only bathrooms are upstairs, which is fine, unless you have someone who can't do stairs...that is the only thing I would point out.
· By Debi from The Woodlands, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't wait to return

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Stef Surf is a peace of paradise minutes away from the beach. The condo complex offers a very comfortable home away from home with all the amenities that we needed and more. We often started our day with smoothies made fresh from bananas grown on the grounds followed by a long walk on the beach. Although we love swimming in the ocean the pool and grounds of Stef Surf allowed us to cool down amongst the native fauna while sipping wine at pool side. Gladys and Greg are a wealth of knowledge which they freely share. From helping us to set up excursions with Jamie to restaurant recommendations. As we leave Costa Rica the only question is how soon can we return.
Evelyn David from Ottawa, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stef Surf Condos- awesome place to stay in Costa R

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This was our first time to Costa Rica and how we fell in love with this beautiful country. We loved our stay at the Stef surf condos. We were met by a sweet caretaker, Marli, and she was so concerned about our comfort and making sure we were well taken care of. This condo unit is lovely and the grounds so lush and green. It has caretakers there 24/7. The location was great to many of the awesome beaches of Playa Flamingo, Playa Conchal, Playa Danta, Playa Potrero, and Tamarindo. Greg and Gladys have done an excellent job detailing the yummy restaurants in the area of the condo and we tried many of them and they were all great. Their information on fun activities was so helpful. The comfort of the condo was so nice. The kitchen has every thing you would need to cook with (but we did little due to the great restaurants). Great a/C, hot water, comfortable beds. The condo is located about a 5 minute walk to Playa Potrero. So we were able to have fun beach strolls. We did some inland visits to Rincon de la Vieja (great canopy tour and hiking here) and Tabacon Springs by Volcan arenal (must see). There is some driving involved, but what a way to see this beautiful country. I definitely would rent an aWD vehicle when coming here. There are a lot of dirt roads and it did help to have one. The roads from Liberia to the coast are nicely paved, but then you do get to the dirt roads as you get closer to the coast. There are nice grocery stores to purchase food at. I was surprised as how readily we could purchase items with the american dollar and how many people did speak English.There is so much to do here. We enjoyed surfing at Tamarindo and scuba diving off the coast of Playa Flamingo. We kayaked at Playa Danta. Then at night we watched the sun set at Playa Conchal. The ocean was about 85 to 90 degrees. So much to do here. Thanks again Stef Surf for your wonderful place to stay.
Eoin Joan from Utah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise found

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Stef Surf. Accomadations were first class, well appointed as if you were staying at a private residence not rental. Greg and Gladys were there at the time and provided great tips on restaurants and places to visit. Highpoints for all of us were the people, the river tour with our private guide and the restaurants in the area. Stef Surf is a beautiful oasis. Tranquil setting (except for the howler monkey wakeup call at 5:00 am).
Don and Shelley from Vancouver Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Luxurious 2 BR Condo nr Playa Potrero"

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We rented El Tucan from Semanta Sana March 2013. This condo is immaculate, a five minute walk to Playa Potrero, with shared pool among 3 other condos. The condo was absolutely gorgeous, clean, and very well decorated - loved the high ceilings and floor to ceiling glass doors and windows. Having a washer and dryer in the condo saved us from having to pack too many changes of clothes. The area surrounding the condo is quiet. It is a short drive to Playa Flamingo where we spent most of our time, had wifi, and cable TV. Bars and restos are close by so not much need to cook. The owners are very responsive to emails and all transactions went smoothly. Meeting the caretakers - Marling and Francisco were the best part of our stay. They were very attentive to our needs, friendly, and extremely helpful when we needed something. Marling has the best smile :)

What I liked best about the condo was its proximity to several beaches, various bars and restos, and two grocery stores. I was not too crazy about Potrero Beach but absolutely adored Flamingo. What I liked the least was the lack of a microwave and the gravel road to get in and out of the area (which did not bother the rest of my family one bit but gave me a big headache. The short drive seemed like a long journey LOL!).

I would highly recommend this condo to families looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city!
Cybill Bartlett IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical Paradise

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Our family of four had a terrific stay at Stef Surf during the last week of March. Private, lush and relaxing. Surf lessons, boogie boarding, beaches. Walked to wonderful local restaurants each evening - Las Brisas, Estero azul, Coconuts - can't go wrong. Hired guide, Jaime, for a trip to Palo Verde National Park - great day. Greg and Gladys were very easy to work with and very helpful with recommendations for food and activities. Definite repeat and highly recommended!
Paul from Evanston ON

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful...relaxing...and friendly!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

Rented this property for one week. An incredible value in a lovely community. Greg and Gladys were incredible. We instantly felt welcome and were sad to leave. Can't wait to go back.
The property itself was clean and just as in the pictures. The outside was like being in a little tropical paradise. Walking distance to Potrero beach and minutes to many other beaches.
Greg was excellent at recommending things to do as well as places to eat. It was an unexpected treat to have one of the most amazing pizza's I have ever eaten, recommended by Greg from Cara's Pizza. A must while staying in the area!
Many great local bars and restaraunts.
The fruit and vegetable market was a daily stop and very close to the property as well.
Our family of 4 stayed at this property very comfortably and enjoyed it so much we can't wait to go back.

Be sure Greg books you for a tour with the most amazing tour guide...Jamie. My teen age boys are still talking about him. I could do an entire trip with him as our personal guide. He is so passionate about Costa Rica and it shows.

A special thanks to Greg and Gladys for assisting us with our lost keys in the ocean situation! We can laugh about it now.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't wait to return

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Stef Surf is a peace of paradise minutes away from the beach. The condo complex offers a very comfortable home away from home with all the amenities that we needed and more. We often started our day with smoothies made fresh from bananas grown on the grounds followed by a long walk on the beach. Although we love swimming in the ocean the pool and grounds of Stef Surf allowed us to cool down amongst the native fauna while sipping wine at pool side. Gladys and Greg are a wealth of knowledge which they freely share. From helping us to set up excursions with Jamie to restaurant recommendations. As we leave Costa Rica the only question is how soon can we return.
David & Evelyn Ottawa Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like home...only better

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

My family and I just returned from a week's stay at Stef Surf and we had an amazing time. The condo compound is amazing...lush and tropical (like being in a jungle)and Greg and Gladys made us feel welcome and at home; they even did a cooking lesson with my two young daughters. Everything was in walking distance...the beautiful beach, a small grocery store, and a variety of bars and restaurants. While not necessary we rented a car, which allowed us to visit other beaches, hit a zip line adventure (a must do - great for kids, my 7 yr old was fine going alone), and do other day trips including a day in Tamarindo (very touristy), as well as a day at Rincon. Jaime, a local tour guide, took us on an amazing horseback ride at Rincon and was very informative. Greg & Gladys can hook you up...very worth the price for the guidance and info. Be prepared...everything is fairly pricey (meals, shopping, etc). All in all a great trip and we hope to go back on day. We miss you already Greg & Gladys!
CRLover from New York

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A most restful vacation

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

The condo/house at Stef Sur was the perfect getaway. The house was beautiful, meticulously maintained with an exquisite pool. The biggest decision to be made is which of the stunning beaches to visit. Stef Sur is close to all the beaches and good restaurants. Thanks to Gladys and Greg for being a fabulous resource for all our needs. Take the Palo Verde boat trip with Jaime...you won't be disappointed! Gladys and Greg helped us arrange a trip to the Bouriguen Mountain Resort which was truly spectacular. We will be back again!

Donna & Norman from Beverly, MA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay at Steph Surf !!!"

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

We spent the first two weeks of January 2013 at Steph Surf and truly enjoyed it ! The weather was incredible: no rain at all,very dry + sunny. The house we stayed in was the Delfin. It was clean, decorated with good taste, and spacious. Steph Surf is an oasis with plants and trees and a nice swimming pool. We have seen monkeys and all kinds of birds very close to the house. The beach is only about 3 minutes of walk away. Greg and Gladys are great people. They will be happy to help you if needed, they will provide you info about things to do in the area and will be discreet. They will make you feel at home. This was our third trip to Costa Rica. We will be back some day for sure. We miss Greg and Gladys ! Cheers !
Christian & Jeanne from Montréal

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stef Surf - Pura Vida

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Stef Surf is an oasis in the area of Seaside, Portrero, Guanacaste, Costa Rica. Consisting of four two-level condos, Stef Surf is simply beautiful.

We stayed for a week in March 2013 in the Pelicano condo. This is a 2 bed/2 bath cond, complete with a/C and a stacked washer/dryer, as well as newer appliances and cable tv. There is also wifi available, and it worked fine. The pool is very well-maintained, as are the grounds, which are cool and provide plenty of shade and privacy. Francisco and Marling kept the grounds clean and as pristine as possible.

This is a walled/secured property, and we felt safe our entire visit. Within walking distance to Playa Portero, several great restaurants/bars and grocery stores. Be sure to buy your produce and fresh fruit at the vegetable/fruit stand down the road towards Flamingo - best starfruit and red peppers we've ever had!

Greg and Gladys were our hosts - they are owners and handle all bookings. They provided us with a very complete document on what to do, where to go, as well as directions to Stef Surf that were easy to follow. The location is perfect, about an hours drive from the Liberia airport, and within 30 minutes of some of the best surfing in Costa Rica. Be sure to ask them about Jaime, tour guide extraordinaire! You won't be disappointed. He has a wealth of knowledge and love of his country that is infectious!

We can't recommend Stef Surf enough - you'll experience the true Costa Rica there, unlike staying in a resort town, such as Flamingo or Tamarindo. It truly is Pura Vida. We plan on returning again for a longer stay!

Bruce & Dawn from Champlin MN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Experience!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Our family recently returned from our wonderful vacation in the Guancaste area in Costa Rica. We stayed at the Stef Surf in Surfside and wanted to leave feedback for the rental accommodations and of course our wonderful host's Greg & Gladys. Our town home was perfect! It was large, modern, spacious and nicely decorated, but most importantly in was clean and had all the amenities one would ever need while on vacation. My wife and I felt that our family truly experienced what CR had to offer for the short amount of time we were there, mainly because of Greg & Gladys. Greg & Gladys are exceptionally knowledgeable about CR and can provide a day's itinerary in a moments notice. We visited almost every restaurant they suggested and had a great experience. They provided information on the local supermarket and pharmacy to arranging guided tours and surf lessons. Jamie was our tour guide. He was fantastic! Jamie was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about CR, at the end of the day you feel as if you had an extensive history and cultural lesson, all the while you are having fun horse back riding and zip-lining from the top of a mountain. Jamie went above and beyond by really reaching out to our kids, bringing snacks and making roadside stops so the kids could see fruits, trees or in some cases monkeys in the trees. The day we left Jamie he called us to wish us a safe trip home! By the end of trip we felt like we had made lifelong friends at the local restaurants let alone Surfside. Make sure you visit the Shack, Perla's and Maxwell's while visting Surfside! Even though we just got back we are already trying to figure out when we're going back! Thank you so much Greg & Gladys for being such wonderful hosts! Puravida!!!
Margaret Eusebio Isabella Mila from Chicago on

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Honeymoon

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We made last minute reservations with Greg and Gladas and we had an amazing vaccation! They were very helpful right from the begining all the way through to the end. Steph Surf was always clean and well kept. It has a very tropical feeling, with lots of loungin areas for maiximum relaxation.
We stayed in both El Tucana and El Pelicano and they were both well equipt with anything we might need.
I have already recomended to some people to visit and will continue to to whoever may ask.
· By Michelle & John from Sarnia on

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second time stay

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Stef's surf and it was just as wonderful as the first. Greg and Gladys are truly the best hosts possible. They both go out of their way to make you feel at home and have great knowledge of the surrounding restaurants, beaches, and sights in the area. The condo's are in a great area, close to beaches and many restaurants and our favourite hangout - Perla's. The pool area is truly a lush troical garden. Francisco and Marly, the condo's maintenance and housekeeping staff do a great job to keep the grounds clean and safe. Well worth it to book a vacation at Stef's surf. Our adult children joined us this year and took advantage of surfing, Paulo Verde jungle tour, jet skis and horseback riding on the beach. Greg and Gladys made sure we had the opportunity to also go to the "Drag" races and Parade. Quite a sight to see!! Thanks again you two. See you next year!!!
Neil & Susan from Winnipeg, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your personal oasis!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 29, 2013

Stef Surf is the perfect place to stay. Only a minute or two away from gorgeous beaches and amazing sunsets. You can walk to a small grocery store and there are restaurants within walking distance too. The condos have everything you could possibly want and with only 4 condos in the complex, its quiet and intimate. You really feel as though you're at home away from home. Everything is clean and well maintained and the lush tropical plants throughout the complex are beautiful. We had a fabulous holiday. We highly recommend Stef Surf - we'll be back!
Les & Sharon from Kingston Ontario

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful, lush retreat

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We have just returned home and are already planning our next trip to Stef Surf!
The location is great - walking distance to the beach, good restaurants and bars, grocery store, bakery and fresh fruit\vegetable stand.
The accommodations were perfect - well-equipped kitchen, washer\dryer, 2 luxurious bedrooms with balconies, 2 bathrooms, a large bright living room, 2 outdoor shaded sitting areas (1 with BBQ) and wifi through-out. We were 2 couples and stayed in El Toucan which was very quiet and private and most days we had the pool all to ourselves.
Our hosts and fellow Canadians, Gladys and Greg, couldn't have been more helpful and were an incredible resource for all things local, including restaurant recommendations, booking tours, sources for fresh fish and suggestions for walks. They are also very knowledgable about the local flora and fauna.
This is a very laid back, peaceful and unspoiled area of Costa Rica and the people, Ticos, ex-pats and tourists alike, all seem to be genuine and happy to share their "Pura Vida" experience.
Highlights - the lush tranquil gardens surrounding the pool, waking up to the sounds of the parrots and monkeys, a hike in Rincon de la Vieja National Park with local guide, Himmie (sp?) and walking the beach at sunset.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable surroundings, Pleasant atmosphere

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This was as good as many resorts with the pool right outside our door. The beach was about 3 minutes away and great places to eat were within walking distance. We felt that this was our private adventure and Greg and Gladys were our private enablers. Any questions we had were cheerfully and readily answered and Greg had great resources for tours and guides, that far out shown any commercial tours you could find. Francisco and Maria were virtually at our beck and call for cleaning up and helping out. The accommodations were delightful and were surprised to have ready access to Wifi and TV, although we rarely used the TV. We are home and we will always miss this spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oasis

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

StefSurf was a luxurious oasis complete with flowers, pool, and beautiful birds. Greg and Gladys were quintessential hosts. I loved every minute we were there! We enjoyed the neighborhood very much which we explored on foot and by bike. Great food; dramatic, natural coastline; and wonderful local people who are very proud of their country.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hidden Gem in Potrero, Costa Rica

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

Most beautiful private condo in Potrero! What an incredible gem Stef Surf turned out to be. We'd seen images online before our departure, which had us so excited to visit in February! The moment we set foot into this little oasis we knew we had arrived! I have never seen anything like this in all my travels. The owners of Stef Surf have created a jungle oasis in the middle of the sweet little town of Potrero. Immaculately and tastefully decorated apartments, a spa like pool experience, and the most lush vegetation create a real sense of being "away from it all". I think what we enjoyed most about our time here was the feeling of privacy and total accessibility when needed. Waking up every morning to the sounds of wildlife, over looking the palms, from the comfort of our king size bed was surreal. Being able to wander the beach for miles was delightful. Literally just moments from pristine beach front, restaurants, bars, and entertainment we think this is the place to stay in Costa Rica. And the cherries on top? Greg and Gladys were such a great resource in our preparation for Costa Rica. We knew where to eat and shop, where to party, what attractions to visit... Having been so well informed and prepared ahead of time made our experience in Potrero feel like home. These two know how to get you ready for a great vacation. Not only that but meeting them upon arrival was a joy. You can tell their hearts are here, at the beach, at their home - in Stef Surf. I can tell you we'll be back very soon. Much sooner than later!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

Three travelling friends spent a week at Stef Surf and it was better than we could have imagined. Gladys and Greg are knowledgeable, perfect hosts with great tips about where to go. They arranged amazing trips for us. Stef Surf - we stayed in Delfin - every amenity, howler monkeys in the trees right outside our outside patio, cows walking down the street, bananas to pick right from the tree. Gorgeous, refreshing pool, nice outdoor bar area, free phone calls to USa and Canada.

The sites and sounds of Costa Rica - river cruise with the best tour guide, Jaime, ziplining, Atvs, horseback riding, animal rescue sanctuary, watching the surfers at Tamorindo.

The food - every restaurant we ate at was amazing, reasonable and had fabulous sunsets. From the freshest fish to macadamia banana pancakes at the Shack to the best cervice at Las Brisas - we ate healthy and hearty and the drinks were special too!

We have already recommended Stef Surf to several people and made a Shutterfly book that everyone loves.

Thanks for an amazing adventure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good location close to many beaches and restaurant

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We stayed in El Pelicano for one week in early February. Because this is a small condo complex the pool was almost never occupied and neither were the loungers so that was nice. The condo is pretty well equipped except for a bbq (although Greg and Gladys were gracious to let us borrow theirs) and some kitchen items. The master bedroom is huge. Air conditioning worked well. The property is well cared for and we found everyone (Greg, Gladys, Marling and Francisco) to be very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The Playa Potrero beach was within walking distance of the condo and was an okay beach. A grocery store is within walking distance and we've always felt safe in this area of Costa Rica. Many good restaurants within a walk or short drive away. We love Mar Y Sol restaurant in Playa Flamingo and they have a complimentary pickup and dropoff service so you can go there and enjoy the sunset, a few drinks and a fantastic meal and not have to drive! We love Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Stop Of Our Honeymoon!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

We found this accommodation here on VRBO. We were on our honeymoon with another couple, and we are so happy we found Surf Stef. Many many thanks to Greg & Gladys for making the first part of our trip amazing. Anything they recommend to you, do it. We wanted to take them both along with us for the rest of our trip :) The area has lots of wonderful beaches and eateries. Our highlights include: Playa Conchal for snorkeling, Playa Dante, The Shack, Playa Avellenas, & Lolas at Playa Avellenas. The private river boat tour with Jaime is also a wonderful adventure. Surf Stef offers a wonderful peaceful gated area, and the pool is a highlight. Francisco is a delight to have around and assist with anything.Thank you again Greg & Gladys!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, excellent hosts

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here, the place was clean and comfortable, and the location was ideal for swimming and touring nearby attractions. We didn't need to do any of our own research because the owners were very helpful, gave us all the restaurant info we needed and put us in contact with a fabulous local tour guide. Our hosts were very friendly and made us very welcome. We were traveling with a young child, and it was also very family friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best beach house we have ever rented

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

Greg and Gladys at Stef Surf are only one of the many reasons why staying there is so delightful. They are fun and charming hosts who will guide you to every restaurant, bar, or event you would like to attend. And they'll often go with you! The walled in garden with four identical 2- story beach houses is an oasis of plants and cooling water. It is gorgeously designed for beauty and privacy, yet creates common space to meet the other guests. Each house is a soothing combination of shade and sun with sliding glass doors to four different porches on both levels. The palms outside the windows bend in the breeze and host songbirds from dawn to dusk. We stayed there with another couple, reading, cooking,exploring beaches, and venturing out for Mardi Gras celebrations, live music, a local carnival, zip lining in the hills, and touring with a guide down the river looking for monkeys and crocodiles. We had such a marvelous time that we are already planning to go back to Stef Surf next winter. You can't go wrong staying there!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Accommodations and hosts exceeded expectations

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

ur recent stay at Stef Surf was absolutely wonderful, due to the knowledge and kindness of Greg and Gladys and to the high quality of the condo we rented. We traveled with two other people and found the space accommodated us beautifully. It was spacious, clean and in a perfect setting with a sparkling pool and comfy lounging spots all around. Lush foliage shades the long walkways to each condo (there are only four with identical floor plans) and privacy is assured. Yet people can join in the common area to share information and get good recommendations for food and tours from Greg and Gladys. Greg checked with us frequently to secure bike rentals, transportation to and from the airport, and a river tour booking with a wonderful guide, a native Costa Rican with a wealth of knowledge and a fine sense of humor. The area, Playa Flamingo by reference, is called Surf Side and has fun restaurants within walking and biking distance. We enjoyed breakfast at the Shack, the swim up bar of Bahia del Sol and the graciousness and friendliness of owners and vacationers as we walked and biked our way around. We long wanted to go to Costa Rica and now that we've been, we'll join others who return regularly. Everything about Stef Surf exceeded expectations and we are already looking at dates to take our grown children with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It was the best trip ever

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Thanks to Greg and Gladys we had an awesome time. When we started planning the trip we had no idea where to go but Greg sent us a complete list of things we can do and also had a concierge that came to the house to help us plan our stay.
The house is beautiful and safe. We would love to stay there again when we travel to Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for Sharing This Special Place

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Thanks for Sharing This Special Place with us
We Explored
We Relaxed
We Ate
We Drank
We Dreamed
in other words we loved every minute! hoping to return again soon. Francisco and Marling were excellent with us. Very Accommodating and Attentive, We were glad to have them around.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome Family Vacation, Livingston NJ

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

Our family of 5 (3 girls ages 7,10, 12) had an unforgettable time at Stef Surf. We stayed in the El Dorfin condo. It was gorgeous and even better than the pictures. Greg and Gladys were unbelievable hosts and we had a really great time swimming in the beautiful pool. Total paradise. Did not want to leave. Maria and Miguel were very hospitable. Felt totally safe. Excellent Restaurants. There was a red tide and unfortunately could not swim in the ocean but we still managed to have an unbelievable vacation. Also loved Greg's recommendation to stay at the Borinquen Resort. Thank you so much and we hope to visit again! Girls also enjoyed playing with the parrots Paco and Taco.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

beautiful landscaped grounds are as fantastic

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

The location of the condo is in a nice quiet little village just north of Playa Flamingo. If your looking for a busy tourist area, you are looking at the wrong place. If you are looking for a quiet place within close walking distance to the beach and with many informal local restaurants with great food and peope, you have found the right place. There are also many other great beaches, each with a different characteristic, within walking distan from the condo. Mark & Daniella Toronto

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place! Great People!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Stef Surf (El Tucon). When we arrived at the condo, we were greeted by Miguel who was there waiting for us and showed us to our condo unit. Both Miguel and Maria where so hospitable during our entire stay making our whole group feel very welcome. We were so very fortunate to have Greg and Gladys there during our stay. They helped us in so many ways when it came to deciding what beach to go to that day or what watering hole to have a few drinks Mark Ingrid From Minnesota

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was awesome!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

Greg and Gladys were great hosts. They provided great suggestions for outings and even made arragements for the group that was staying there at the same time. The condo did not disappoint. You get what you see in the promo video and pictures. Miguel and Maria were always helpful.
Denis Gisele, Sudbury, Ont

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Serene Getaway

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Stef Surf for 10 days during our honeymoon. We came during the rainy season, so we were not surprised to find that we were the only renters there. Miguel and Maria showed us around and were very helpful and friendly during our entire stay. We were pleased with the accommodations. Our bedroom had a TV, air conditioner, bathroom, large closets, and floor to ceiling glass doors out onto the covered porch. The kitchen was great and laundry was readily available.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacation

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Greg & Gladys made our vacation "great". Without them, we would have missed out on many things that they recommended.
The condo was very nice, plenty of room for 4 adults, clean and all the amenities we needed. Greg & Gladys were always available if we had any questions.
Angie & Hans Niagra on the lake Ont.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical Oasis with the amenities of Home!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the Stef Surf units (El Pelicano) this past March Break with our two teens and had a great stay. The condo was spacious and had all the amenities from dishes, small appliances (blender a necessity for smoothies!!) to linens and towels and a deluxe air bed (for a third bed option). Although not necessary, the free wifi was definitely a bonus as was the air conditioning. Location was great with a short walk to one of the many area beaches and to several local restaurants."Ohio"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A truly outstanding experience.

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

Stef's Surf is truly a hidden paradise. The accomodations exceeded our expectations. Marie and Miquel are constantly taking care of keeping this place in pristine condition. Greg and Gladys went out of their way to make us feel at home and provide us with information on tours, restaurants, beaches, shopping, etc. Everything we needed! We had so much fun and it was, by far, the best vacation we've ever had. We can't wait to return next year!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A dream vacation with peace and tranquility!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

Gladys and Greg are lovely people, welcoming us like family. They are genuinely interested in sharing the best of places to visit and the best tour guides, not to mention the best massage therapist!It was like staying in a sanctuary. We have booked for next year. We want to share this place with our kids.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, relaxing and authentic experience

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Greg, Gladys and the accomodations at Stef Surf Condos. I was looking for a condo on or very near the beach that could house at least four guests and could accomodate per night stays vs. weekly since we were only looking to stay three nights. Turns out El Pelicano fit the bill.
The condo itself is beautiful. Very clean and well maintained by the very friendly and wonderful Miguel and Maria. A full kitchen made it easy to cook breakfast and frozen cocktails

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Condo & Great Location

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

The condo was perfect for our family of 5 (3 children under 10). It is beautiful and spacious with many lovely outdoor areas for relaxing. We enjoyed the gardens and pool after a day at the beach. Greg and Gladys were so helpful, giving us tips on beaches, restaurants and activities in the area. They made sure we had everything we needed for a perfect vacation. The condo is only a 2 minute walk to the beach. We also went via car exploring some of the other beaches in the area. The kids loved it

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unbelievable! Superb Hospitality !

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

I would like to personally thank Greg, Gladys, Miguel and Maria for an amazing vacation experience! The accomadations were fantastic and experience was even better. First, the place was beautiful and the grounds were kept in immaculate fashion. Miguel and Maria were super helpful, as was the advice from Greg and Gladys. The beach is virtually a 2 min walk from the place and it is a stellar beach that is not too busy which is a bonus. I must say that the sunset view from the beach is also superb!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PURA VIDA

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

This place is amazing! the layout of the townhome,the privacy, the other guests.
a family with 4 children from ages 6 to 12 could not have a better time anywhere else. the beach a few min walk. its got it all at stef surf!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magical place!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

Tropical paradise is absolutely the right word to describe this place!!! Once you get there, you won’t even want to leave the house to go anywhere. It is so welcoming, cozy but spacious and modern at the same time! It is very tastefully decorated, have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Huge windows and fans let the ocean breeze in and cool the house so you won’t even want to turn the air conditioner on. Beds, pillows, furniture, curtains, screens, floors, appliances - everything is new, super-clean and high-quality (not the cheap stuff you find in most rental properties).

The property is located in a small village - a nice community with a few restaurants and a couple of grocery stores. It is 3th of 4th house from the Playa Potrero beach (about 2 min walk). Plus, if you rent a car, you are within 15 min drive from several magnificent beaches that are not crowded and very clean.

Greg and Gladys are wonderful hosts - they were there to welcome us, made sure we are comfortable and even left some cold beer in the fridge prior to our arrival! They gave us some good restaurant recommendations as well as directions to other beaches. (El Coconut and Bahia del Sol restaurants were our favorite places to eat).

The pictures on homeaway were taken a few years ago - the plants and trees even more lush and beautiful now! Don’t hesitate – book this place, go there, relax, recharge and have fun here.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unbelievable! Superb Hospitality!

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

I would like to personally thank Greg, Gladys, Miguel and Maria for an amazing vacation experience! The accomadations were fantastic and experience was even better. First, the place was beautiful and the grounds were kept in immaculate fashion. Miguel and Maria were super helpful, as was the advice from Greg and Gladys. The beach is virtually a 2 min walk from the place and it is a stellar beach that is not too busy which is a bonus. I must say that the sunset view from the beach is also superb!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Canadian saviors in Costa Rica

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

Air canada delay of baggage and some luggage taken but Greg and Gladys were there to get us through! Knowing the troubles we had on arrival they graciously put booze and coffee in our fridge as well as offering all they could to get us through till morning where we could go shopping. They had a list of nearby grocery,bars and restaurants,as well as beaches they felt were worth visiting.They were spectacular! Greg and Gladys were terrific people offering anything they could to make our stay enjoy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful retreat

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

This is a very tastefully designed property, and a great place to hang out The gardens and the pool give the property the feeling of an oasis. The outdoor furniture in the pool area provided wonderful spaces for relaxing and reading. We stayed in El Tucan which is a wonderful 2 bedroom condo. We made good use of the kitchen during our visit it was great to have a barbeque at our disposal and the marble countertops were good surfaces for both meal preparation and eating The master bedroom Amazing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to stay at Potrero Beach

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

The house is beautifully laid out, with great views from all the windows. The rooms have overhead fans, creating a lovely wafting of the air. The vegetation surrounding the house is lush and the pool is beautiful -- cool and inviting on a hot day. Nice walks to take in the area. The beach is quiet and sandy. The staff kept the whole area clean. Greg and Gladys are fabulous hosts - helpful in every way.We loved it.
Bev and Harold

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful vacation - we'd do it again

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and it was a great one. We reunited with friends we haven't seen in many years, and a terrific time was had by all. The condo complex is lovely and accommodating. Greg and Gladys are a bonus -- they are more than willing to provide information about what to do, where to eat, etc. The property comes complete with a gardener/maintenance person and his wife who is the housekeeper - a very nice, caring couple (speak Spanish only) Diane Barry Gladys Tony Florida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Oasis

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

We spend Xmas and New Year at this little oasis.If you are looking for a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica this is the place you what to stay. Greg and Gladys are great host. You are just a walk away from the beach. The restaurant around the condo are great and the food is very very good. The local people are very friendly
Larry & Andy Toronto

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Even Better Then Our First Costa Rica Trip

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Our first trip to Costa Rica was wonderful but this one was even better. The Stef Surf was part of the reason, what a absolutely amazing place. Gladys and Greg's home is beautiful as are the grounds. We loved the gorgeous beaches that were close by and nearly private on our visit. We do very little shopping or clubbing so I really can't comment on that feature. A beautiful place, great food and fantastic people. What more could you want.
Cindy and Harold Missouri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream Come True

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

"dream come true"

This was a real dream come true. Everything was unforgettable. The house, top of the notch quality. European comfort, High ceilings, gigantic windows and behind them, the view tropical gardens with bananas, papayas and some fruit which we were not able to identify! We loved the cozy table and chairs with a couch in front of the entrance door and day beds on the balconies Beautiful swimming pool to enjoy after a fabulous beach. We really suggest you to visit Playa avellanas and Playa Danta - almost all beaches are secluded - only you and the pelicans above your head like Playa Danta, unbelievable hiking and bike trails. As for the restaurants, we saw so many attractive and cozy ones. As for us, we send a message here to kosher guys don't have a single doubt plenty of kosher food in Tamarindo supermarket, as well as all delicious fruit and familiar vegetables around check with the website, google for ex.like Costa Rica kosher. Greg and Gladys, the owners, are wonderful people! We really appreciated their advice and assistance. We traveled to the Caribbean many times but Costa Rica was really a marvel!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great option in Guanacaste

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

I truly loved staying at Stef Surf. We are a couple with two kids (6 & 8). Stef Surf has 4 units and we stayed at El Delfin. The unit is more like a townhouse. It is modern and comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped and they have beach towels, washer/dryer, tv with DVD player with a good DVD library, nice BBQ, lovely ourdoor lounges on the balconies for enjoying wine, coffee or reading. The property is centrally located on Potrero Bay, walking distance to the Protrero beach and close to many other beaches and activities. There are groceries and restaurants close by.
Greg was extremely helpful and nice and Maria and Miguel on the property will do anything to help you.
The ONLY thing that would make the accommodations better is to have two beds in the 2nd bedroom but the layout would not allow it. Either way my kids were comfortable. The spiral staircase could be inconvenient for elderly or hadicapped guests as the bathrooms and bedrooms are all upstairs.
I would definately consider staying there again in the future...so much better than a hotel!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Option in Guanacaste

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had a great time and really enjoyed staying at Stef Surf. It is perfectly located to all the main beaches and fun activities. Delfin was beautiful and very comfortable. We really appreciated having a fully equipped kitchen and the DVD as most of the nights there were rainy and we were able to make dinner and watch movies. Maria & Miguel are truly wonderful people. Thank you for your help and all your recommendations.
Denise

We hope to make it back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Costa Rican heaven

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Let me be clear, the only reason I would not rate Stef Surf five stars across the board is if I am planning to vacation there and I'm scheming to keep the reservation open for myself. Frankly, it was one of the best vacations my wife and I have ever been on. We traveled with friends and made even more friends, both at Stef Surf and at the many establishments close by, all within walking distance or where the restraunt will send a van to pick you up. We were treated to beautiful surroundings, great hosts in Gladys and Greg and wonderful caretakers in Miguel and Maria. There is plenty to do if that's what you want or plenty to not do, if it's relaxtion that you need. What a great, great, great place to stay. Returning would be nice, but retiring here would be better!
· By Jeff missing Costa Rica from Coppell, TX

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Warm and wonderful!!

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Thank you Greg and Gladys for your hospitality. Stef Surf was a wonderful spot for our family to call home base while we explored the Pacific coast of Costa Rica. Maria and Miguel were also wonderful hosts. We felt very safe and secure in our personal tropical jungle. We enjoyed eating in as much as eating out, and took full advantage of the outdoor patios and poolside deck as much as possible. We also enjoyed getting to know Gary, Pat and family who were renting next door. We would highly recommend Stef Surf for anyone wanting to experience the Flamingo Beach area and all of its beautiful sand and sky. Our souls are still warm despite our return to the rainy Pacific northwest

Keith, Cindy, Sam, & Jack VanderGriend
Bellingham, Washington

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Found!!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

mmediately when we walked through the doors of Stef Surf, we fell in love with the lush tropical setting! The accomodations exceeded our expectations and our hosts Gladys and Greg were extraordinary. We ziplined, surfed, found our new neighborhood bar, The Shack, where everyone new our name! and explored five different beaches, all thanks to our wonderful hosts. We followed their guide booklet and couldn't have been more pleased with their recommended restaurants loved those passionfruit margaritas at Mar Y Sol while watching the stunning sunset and experiences.
We also enjoyed the community of Surfside as it had that laid back, bohemian feeling that we were looking for after a crueling Canadian winter. We felt safe, comfortable as both the Ticos and expats were very friendly.
Miguel and Maria, the caretakers, were special people who took great care of us providing us with bananas right off their the trees and coconuts for rum drinks!
We will return again and are telling all our friends who want something different from an all exclusive that this is the way to go.
Stef Surf epitomizes the Pura Vida lifestyle to the fullest!

Ainslie Halifax, NS ON

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxation and hospitality at it's finest!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

We stayed at Stef Surf Condos with some close friends, and had an absolutely fabulous vacation!The property is gorgeous with a lushly landscaped grounds. There are lots of cozy places to get some sun, read a book, take a dip, talk with friends, and make new friends. The homes are very comfortable with everything that you would want or need for your stay.

And then there is the hospitality! We were fortunate to have met some of the owners, Greg and Gladys, who made us feel incredibly welcome and at home. They recommended numerous things to do and see, and made many great restaurant recommendations.

Be sure to walk to Las Brisas down the beach for margaritas and ceviche. And don't miss the Greek salad at the Coconut Beach Club. Oh, and there's also the massages on the beach in front of Bahia del Sol hotel nearby. Can you say great, 60 minute massage for $30.!
Miguel and Maria are the groundskeepers. They work hard to make sure everything is beautiful so send them our mucho gracias!
We are looking forward to returning soon!

Kelly and Sergio Texas Dallas,Tx

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

To many great beaches restaurants not enought time

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

Greg and Gladys are friendly, hospitable hosts who gave us many good tips on restaurants, beaches both near and far, and directions.
Miguel and Maria are always ready and willing to help.
Stef Sur Condos provide a cozy and initimate place for friends to relax. The pools are clean and refreshing.
Bottom line: We'd like to come back!

Mark and Diane Regina, SK, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay could not have been better

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

Our plane arrived late, our driver waited and drove us right to the door.Miguel and Maria as well as Greg and Gladys gave us a warm welcome and a tour of the place. We fell in love with it immediately.The location was perfect, because of the design and layout, you could barely see our neighbors through the lush foliage and banana and coconut trees.The pool is where we spent a lot of our time reading, sunning and just plain unwinding. The choice of small to larger restaurants were all great, within walking distance and we found them to be very affordable. Our place was very well equipped and spotless but most of all very comfortable.We loved waking up in the morning to the sounds of the monkeys and parrots and all kinds of strange animals and to spend hours just walking on the quiet and pristine beaches and sipping an Imperial at the beach restos.The thing we liked the best is that we had found paradise, the thing we liked the least is that we had to leave after two weeks, we should have stayed at least a month. In fact we loved it so much, we have decided to book next years holiday and return to Stef Surf for a month.
Yours truly,

Paul and Danielle Toronto, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Don't pass this up

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

Experience Pura Vida at your stay here in Costa Rica. This place has all the luxuries necessary to enjoy your stay in a tropical paradise - if you need them stocked clean kitchen, ac, wifi, etc. But you probably won't be spending much time in your room. The condo is close to so many fabulous local hang outs. Greg and Gladys were able to guide us in so many ways to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The maintenance staff Maria and Miguel were there around the clock and even did our laundry for us! Not to mention the free pipas they brought one afternoon. I've never written an actual review before but feel very comfortable recommending this place to future first time or regular costa rica visitors! If I had to mention one thing i would caution sun worshipers that the pool area is somewhat shaded by all the green foliage. It makes for a nice relaxing cool down after a long hot day. You will want to have a mode of transportation to check out some of the other fabulous beaches that are a short driving distance.

Alyson from Lakewood, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

El Delphin Review

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and it was really a great experience. Greg and Gladys were extremely helpful with advising us on activities, bars and restaurants around the area. The beach access was great and very easy to walk to, and there were multiple beaches within minutes via car. The pictures listed are accurate. All in all it was a very pleasant trip and we hope to come back soon.

Jim and Nicole from Buffalo, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Comfortable Secure Condo.

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We had an amazing week at Stef Surf! Enjoyed the surrounding beaches and especially enjoyed the company back at the poolside. The lush, well maintained gardens were a delight.
The local restaurants and bars were within easy walking distance. Loved the fish and chips at Las Brisos and the sushi at Mar Y Sol not to mention the fantastic sunset!!

The condo itself was spacious and very comfortable. We always felt safe & secure. Maria and Migel were always there with a friendly hello and smiles.
Greg and Gladys were incredibly hospitable with lots of suggestions on what to see and do.

Stef Surf is definitely on my short list of memorable vacation spots and we highly recommend it.

Al and Paulette from Parkhill, ON

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Step Surf. The location was very central to a wide variety of beaches and each beach was unique . We did snorkelling, shell hunting and even tried surfing. The condo was a great size with lots of space for a family of four and I would highly recommend a SUV if you really want to experience the area, including the very bumpy roads off the paved hiway

Bev and Dave London Ontario

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a very relaxing, laid back little paradise

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

We spent 8 very relaxing days at Stef Surf. Greg and Gladys were fantastic hosts, very helpful with advice on local activities and restaurants and fun to hang out with. The community is very laid back with very good local restaurants all within walking distance of Stef Surf. The living space is very pleasant with a nice pool and it was nice to wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. See the sunset from Mar e Sol, walk to the different beaches nearby, have a margarita on the beach at Las Brisas, go to karaoke at El Castillo.

Tim and Beth Chicago

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful - We Will Be Back

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Greg, Gladys and their on site care takers Maria and Miguel were wonderful and attentive. They made us feel like family. They were very helpful with suggestions for things to do, places to eat and easy directions for getting around. They were equally as kind and enthusiastic to my in-laws and my 5 year old. I would recommend this to families and couples alike. My family will return.

Sarah & Seth from Seaford, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

We had one of the most relaxing weeks of our lives. A great place for kids, lots to do, but also fine to stay at home and swim in the pool. We hope to return and recommend it highly.

Lars and Megan from Newcastle Maine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Green Iguana stops here !

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2011

Well, this place was like an oasis ! We were warmly welcomed by Miguel and Maria ( the Caretakers).
The condo was beautifully decorated and every need was met.
Greg, the camp director, helped so much with our days adventures and the great selections of all of the wonderful restaurants.
Greg had told us of a green iguana on the property.
After setting by the pool, staked out for the appearance
of the green iguana, he made a showing.
We enjoyed our visit so much. Thank you so much to Greg and Gladys.
Pura Vida,

Herb and Robin Idaho United States

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a wonderful home

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Stef Surf. The property is absolutely beautiful. Very calm and relaxing. Very well equipped. Very safe and secure. We would definitely return. Thank you Greg and Gladys for sharing your home with us.

By Kelly from Ottawa Ontario

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Oasis surrounded by an Oasis

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

"An Oasis surrounded by an Oasis"
This lush oasis was a relaxing and refreshing experience in every aspect. The design of the condo, the decor and furnishings were practical, tasteful and we never regretted spending time inside. The surrounding grounds have been kept in immaculate condition and are maintained daily by Miguel and Maria. Every day we were greeted by new things to see in the gardens or poolside including flowers, bananas, iguanas, frogs, birds or bugs...
The surrounding town of Potrero is rustic, quaint, quiet and a perfectly located secret in our opinion. Access to restaurants and groceries was within walking distance, with most other interesting towns within a 5 to 55 minute drive. The closest beach 3 to 5 minute walk (with kids)). was accessible, beautiful and safe, with many other more beautiful beaches to be found nearby.

Travelling with children (ages 2 and 4) was never an issue. The condo was safe, however, the 'corkscrew' stairs were of initial concern but the rooms at the top of the stairs all have doors that close, so it was safe if you keep them closed. The pool was a delight to swim in and the kids always looked forward to their swim in the pool after spending the whole day at the beach. Some of the surrounding beaches are a little more 'kid friendly/safer' than others, so pay close attention to any reviews/write up you might see before planning your day and heading out with the kids. This was never a problem since we knew which beaches were best for just a quick visit and which were best for lingering, swimming and playing... our favourite being Playa Danta which was a 10 minute drive. The sunsets at Playa Flamingo should not be missed (with either a drink in hand or playing on the beach).

The restaurants in the area were all very good, with our favourite being Las Brisas with their beachside view and fish tacos or Blacke0ned Tuna (yum!).

Simply put, anything that Greg or Glady's recommended, ended up being great. Thanks for a wonderful experience and your hospitality!

Chuck and Lisa Toronto Canada

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Relaxing
Our first time in Costa Rica was magical we toured for 2 weeks and saw and stayed at some beautiful places! Our third week we stayed at Stef Surf, very tropical and beautiful, Condos private, well equipped and comfortable, beautiful pool and always clean and inviting. The beautiful beach was only a few minute walk away. Good restaurants and local shops nearby too. Greg, Gladys, Maria and Migel all very helpful and made us most welcome. Greg gave us lots of tips, where to visit and good places to eat! All in all we had a fantastic and relaxing week which finished off our Costa Rica holiday beautifully.

Brenda and Carl Martin - Denmark
Mavis and Keith - England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Oasis

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

A Beautiful Oasis
From the moment we arrived at this lush tropical oasis we felt at home. The grounds are beautiful and our suite was well appointed and clean. The master bedroom was awesome! We were very close to a beautiful beach and several great restaurants and bars, The staff were very helpful with lots of tips and suggestions for things to do and see. We definitely will be back!

Jean & Paul Toronto Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Amazing !!"

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

"Amazing !!"
We went to Stef Surf We had an amazing time! We loved our condo, and the setting could not have been prettier. The pool was private and always clean, and Miguel and Maria were so nice and so accomodating. We treated so nicely by Greg and Gladys, and they made us so comfortable. We already are talking about our next trip...and yep... it'll be at the same place. Greg and Gladys, thank you so much for everything!!!
Randi and Owen Chicago

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A tropical paradise

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

From the moment we arrived at this lush tropical oasis, we felt at home. The grounds were so beautiful and our suite was well appointed and clean. The master bedroom was awesome with floor to ceiling windows. We were a block from a beautiful beach that was great for swimming, as well as lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Everyone was very helpful with lots of tips and suggestions of things to do and see. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury Sun and adventure in a clean safe place

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

Nothing short of fantastic in every sense! We had previously imagined our stay at Stef Surfside to be welcoming, relaxed, comfortable, safe, clean and fun. Well it was and then some. Our condo/home was modern, clean and had everything you needed from home. Washer and Dryer so you can pack light. Flat Screen Tv so you can watch North american shows. Wifi so you can bring your laptop and stay connected with home. A full large kitchen with all of the tools a great chef would need. 2 Large walk-in showers. Balconies with day beds off each bedroom. Fully air conditioned with individual remote machines in each room. Maid service on request and most of all... Clean Drinking Water from every tap. The units run on their own independent filtered supply of water so drinking, washing and food prepping can all be done with no issues. This is something you will not find in local rentals or resorts. It is lush in and around the large pool and units. The fauna is so well maintained that it acts as a great privacy barrier from your neighbours. There are great photo opportunities right from the grounds. The pool is well maintained and has daybeds at one end and a covered bar at the other end. Great place for meeting your neighbours. We had Zero worries regarding security. Our belongings were always safe in our unit. So close to the beach too. We paid high season prices for a week long stay and we feel it can not be beat. We were lucky to have met the owners of one of the units in Stef Surfside, Greg and Gladys helped us out so so so much. You can figure it all out for yourself yet that extra guidance from them helped so much. They're our new friends and we miss them already! I've travelled extensively across asia, South and North america and africa, this is now my favourite place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

Costa Riican Hide-away
We spent 2 lovely weeks relaxing at Stef Surf and exploring the surrounding area. From the moment we walked through the gate and into the courtyard, we were completely enchanted by the place. We loved the beautiful tropical gardens, walkways and pool area, and the condo itself is decorated with an elegant simplicity and had everything we needed. The entire development is meticulously and lovingly cared for by the caretakers, Migeul and Maria, and the managers, Greg and Gladys were extremely knowledgeable and hospitable. We were also very impressed with the staff at EcoTrans and used them for transportation to and from the airport and a very enjoyable river tour at Palo Verde. We explored the most of the surrounding beaches and local restaurants and were never disappointed, but definite favourites were Las Brisas for margharitas, cerviche and sunsets and Potrero Beach for swimming. Would not hesitate to recommend this place highly to anyone who wants to explore the area and come back to relax in beautiful and tranquil setting.


· By Deni in Vancouver 11/1/2010

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing stay!

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Greg and Gladys had give us a wonderful welcoming! We reserved our trip at the very last minute (the day before!) and they provide us a wonderful service to garantee us that everything were okay to get there. Everything at Stef surf is so clean... the pool., the garden : Maria and Miguel are working hard to keep the place very clean everyday. And, Its rare that you will find a vacation property where the pictures don't do it justice and this place is one of them! The property is near good restaurants (Marisol in Playa Flamingo is fantastic and perfect for sunset view!!) and very nice beaches (had a wonderful time surfing and boogie boarding at Playa Grande, just 15 minutes away by car). We recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Amazing!

This place was amazing! Its rare that you will find a vacation property where the pictures don't do it justice and this place is one of them! The property is relaxing and Greg and Glady's provide everything you can dream of and more, just bring your swimsuit and your guaranteed to have a great time!

The property is located in between countless beaches and amazing spots for surfing, zip lining and much more. I recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing home away from home!
· By jk from Calgary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

Amazing Stay!

Greg and Gladys were incredibly friendly and helpful! They gave us amazing information and tips on things to do and see, and provided fool proof directions (which is difficult in an area with no street signs!) The whole staff (Migel and Maria) are super friendly and hardworking which definitely shows within the whole complex.

The townhouses are modern, spacious and very clean, we were a group of 6 and we all fit in there comfortably. Free wifi, private pool for just the complex and a fully stocked kitchen were an added benefit!

The secure front gate was an added bonus, not that we felt unsafe but the extra measures were definitely appreciated!

The location itself was great - a minute walk to the beach, and a short drive to any other area you may be interested in seeing.

All in all it was an incredibly memorable trip which is a direct result of Greg and Gladys's hospitality! More...
· By MelQ from Calgary, AB

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Just returned to Canada after a fabulous visit to Costa Rica. We heard about this place from neighbours in Toronto. One always wonders if the pictures are really true to life...and in this case they are. The home is beautiful, the gardens give the feel of a tropical oasis, love the pool...it's really perfect!
Greg and Gladys have thought of everything you'll need...you can see that this is a home...not just a rental.
We would recommend a car for getting out to shop or for sightseeing.

Potrero Beach is great for walking (wait for low tide)...we loved!!! the food at Las Brisas at the one end of the beach and the beautiful white sand of Flamingo in the other direction.
We tried zip-lining with our granddaughter on the Congo Trail...loads of fun. Wonderful beach day at Playa avellanas...best place for shells that we found, and the food at Lola's was fantastic.
Do your shopping at Super Masai and you'll find almost everything you need without going further than that. We tried to eat mostly local and it was delicious and not expensive. For a fancier dinner out you can't beat the food at angelina's...we'd give it 5 stars and we're fussy!

Greg & Gladys make everything easy and you'll want to come back again and again to your hideaway in Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

"Wow, wow, wow... We're coming back!"
We really lucked out with this place. The house is beautiful with stunning enclosed gardens, a private pool, and a rancho bar for those warm tropical evenings. Potrero Beach is a 1 minute walk from the house and stretches for miles. The local restaurants were unbelievably good. Las Brisas and angelinas were super and very very reasonable!! We are already planning a return trip!! Greg you are the man!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you for a really wonderful week in your superb home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

Miguel and Maria Greeted us when we arrived and were very helpful our entire stay! Our Fist night here we tried to go to May y Sol
was so excited to there for months reading about how amazing it was!! go to find out after driving around playa flamingo about 5 times
they are closed for the rainy season. When to Angelina's was amazing food. Next morning we went to Monkey Bar in our Steelers Gear to watch game.
The owner Ulrich, was very nice and made sure we were able to watch our Game (we won)
Next day we chartered a boat our of DG's fleet- right around the corner. it was the most amazing fishing experience ever ( and we have fished the keys many times)
Caught a sailfish, makirlin (he broke the line) and Wahoo, 2 jacks and a bonito. We say turtles making babies, Dolphins, and videoed 2 whales.
the rest or our trip we spent surfing & bar hopping the bars around the area. we met all the locals, they greeted us with smiles and hellos the minute we walked in any place. the owners of the Shack super nice! Their new Saturday night game night is a must to check out "Rasta" the bartender is my favourite now. La Perla was great too The C Canadians made us feel right at home! Too bad Perla was in Canada! She sue is a Hottie! Ha! Spent our last night @ Maxwell's 50 cent wings make sure you get there early.
Thank you for letting us experience your condo and Playa Flamingo- we will definitely come back - Already planning ... with friends Andrew & Amanda

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

"The house was fantastic" and it made the trip even more enjoyable it was lovely comfortable and in a good location. Maria and miguel were just as wonderful. They are beautiful people I just wish we could have communicated with them more .........your notes and restaurants were very helpful and we used them a lot I also added a few of my own to the guest book for future guests.........my boys and I had a great time and experience My husband was out of his comfort zone Too bad for him!!!!!! I would like to return in the near future but we'll see. I appreciate all your help and the use of your house. I can not think of anything needing improvement. We really enjoyed the outside bar area by the pool and ate brkfst out there and a sound system /stereo would be nice although we just hauled o e out there all the time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

"Paradise Hide Away"

As soon as you open the gate into this 4 unit complex, you feel like you have wandered off the dirt road and stepped into a secret garden. You make your way down a short path to find your own gate, and step through to your own private slice of heaven. We spent most of our days gathered outside, on the comfortably furnished patio, where we kicked back and read or slept or planned our next day's adventure. Inside is equally special, with a modern kitchen and welcoming decor. We enjoyed walking along the close beaches and discovering places to eat, or jumping in the car to visit nearby towns.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

"A great place to relax."

A luxury home away from home. The lush vegetation surrounds the pool/bar allowing you to sit back and relax in the privacy of your own complex. Yet close enough to the beach and towns to meet with the local culture. Be sure to catch the local baseball league on Sundays ... just like watching the Yankees .. almost :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

"Couldn't have been any better!"

What a great location! This is one of the nicest homes in a beautiful lush setting - I didn't want to leave. Everything you need is in the home - from the completely equipped kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and a beautiful and spacious living room. The private patio, including a must have BBQ, is perfect for dining and entertaining. The pool, surrounded by flowers and trees is a welcome relief on the hot days! You have all the privacy you want with a 5 minute walk to the beach and easy access to great local restaurants. I couldn’t have asked for more from this place, and will return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

"HOT, HOT. HOT"
Our family spent 2 weeks over the March Break. The children are ages 9 and 10. The accomodations exceeded our expectations. The home itself was modern, very clean and comfortable, especially the beds! Lovely private patio and the pool area was gorgeous. The complex was taken care of meticulously and was very safe. The location was excellent and just a short walk down the road to a beautiful beach. Grocery shopping was very good and the local restaurants served great food and atmosphere. Lots of local attractions. The kids loved zip-lining, boogie boarding in the ocean and swimming in the pool. The weather was outstanding, hot and sunny everyday, no rain. Would definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review