reviews for: listing #8358 - Lake Norman, North Carolina House rental

Carolina Hideaway - Exclusive Private Retreat
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lakepoint South
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,000 - $8,000 /wk

sort by:

Memorable-One Of A Kind Vacation

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

Our week at Carolina Hideaway was superb. The house, location and amenities were all exactly what we were promised. We especially loved the fact that the kids could water ski, tube and use the skidoos right in front of the house. Not a very busy boating area. The theatre room was a big bonus for everyone. House was very clean and the kitchen is outstanding. Everyone had a very relaxing and enjoyable week. We would definitely recommend this home to our friends or relatives.

Owners response: Thanks for the great review ... and for being fantastic guests at our lake norman home! We're glad you'll be coming back to the Carolina Hideaway next year. We're striving to make the Hideaway Lake Norman's finest vacation rental home ... and appreciate your positive feedback!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The trip of a lifetime, beats the beach!

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

When we pulled up in the quiet private driveway we were blown away by the privacy this house has to offer and then when we went inside it was like being in a model home! I'm a stickler for furnishings, bedding and linens and I felt like everything was so tasteful and high quality. The kitchen has all that you need for gourmet meals and is absolutely beautiful. Then you step into the backyard and you are in your own slice of heaven! From either way you look you see the lake and the Carolina Hideaway property, it's breathtaking! We rented boats and spent most of our time in the water or in the fabulous boat bar over the water. In the evening we gathered around the outdoor fire pit while the kids played ping pong or on the fabulous grassy areas. The theater room was a big hit too! On day 2 we called Patrick to rebook for the next year. He provides lists of great places to eat and rent boats and where to shop, there wasn't a stone left uncovered. If you are lucky enough to find a week open here grab it immediately! We loved it!

Owners response: Meghan,
Thanks for your kind remarks! We try very hard to make your stay at the Carolina Hideaway a very special one. Our goal is to make it the best vacation rental on Lake Norman ... so we appreciate your kind words! See you and your family next year! Pat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST ON LAKE NORMAN

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

The house was great prior to the renovation. Now it is nothing short of spectacular. The new gourmet kitchen, hardwood floors and views of the lake are outstanding. You need to stay here - we'll be back!

Owners response: Thanks John. We're very pleased with the results of the renovation efforts and glad you are too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home at a truly unique setting!

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

We recently spent three nights at this amazing property. Four discerning couples who have spent the last 10 years renting together for a relaxing getaway. In all those years of renting, we've not come across a property like this. From the first encounter at the entrance and the drive down the private road to the house, we were hooked. Beautiful scenery. A sense you are on an island with an almost 360 degree view of water. Very private. The picture highlighting the property is the real thing when you actually arrive.

The house is very well equipped. The attention to detail by the owner made it a seamless experience for us. Very clearly written written instructions and recommendations. The furnishings are top quality and the kitchen is fully equipped with all the things you need to cook in.

The theater was too good. With the sound system and large screen it was a mistake to watch a scary movie one night! Scared one guest out of the room. LOL

The views from every room are amazing. Decks, patios, beach, huge fire pit with adirondeck chairs were all drawing us to them, even on a cool day.

The owner was very helpful when we did have a couple very minor problems that would happen anywhere. He even contacted us to ask us how we were enjoying our stay and how could he help make it better. Most pleasing of all was the return of our deposit just a few days after our return. Very considerate.

There were only five stars or we would have rated it higher.

And after all this, NO I am not a relative or a paid promoter! LOL

Owners response: Gene,
Thanks for your kind words. It was a true pleasure having you and your group at our Lake Norman vacation home. I hope you'll come back and be among the first to enjoy our new gourmet kitchen in 2014!
Pat O'Brien, Carolina Hideaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal for a long weekend...

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

The Carolina Hideaway is an ideal location for a long weekend. We live in Charlotte and thought about renting on the coast or in the mountains for Labor Day weekend. After thinking about driving for 2 – 4 hours in holiday traffic, we opted to stay close to home. When searching online for alternatives, we stumbled onto the hideaway. …We had a brilliant long weekend with another family, floating in Lake Norman, watch our kids play on the water trampoline, or simply sitting on the deck drinking wine and laughing about the day's events. …We will return. I am certain. Pat, you have found a remarkable place to eventually call home. Thank you again for all of your help and for making our stay a highly memorable one.

Owners response: Tom,
Thanks for your very kind review. We look forward to having you and your family back at the Hideaway!
Pat

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love the Hideaway!

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

The Hideaway was truly spectacular. Even better than the pictures. The location is fantastic and the house is meticulously maintained. It’s a spacious home, spectacular yard, fun boathouse bar, cozy fire pit, tremendous movie theatre, panoramic view, etc. etc. etc. For us, it was the perfect spot for creating family memories. We’ll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Unforgettable Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We chose the Carolina Hideaway to host our family for our 40th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived, everyone was thrilled with their accomodations, the private and lovely setting, and all the extras this home offered. The house was well equipped with enough dinner ware and linens for 12. We enjoyed the many inviting indoor and outdoor spaces which made it easy for people to congregate in large and small groups. Working with the owner was a pleasure. He furnished us with a guide to area restaurants, shopping, and activites-along with his insights as to his favorites. The recommendations for boat rental and golf courses were spot on. Very useful. And when we first arrived, we had a few quick questions about the house which he promptly answered. Our security deposit was also quickly returned as well. Our family has rented many houses from VRBO over the years, but this is our favorite. Also have to say that Lake Norman was clean and beautiful and having Charlotte about an hour away makes it a great combination of lake living with easy access and with activites nearby for rainy days or city night life. But with great weather, you really will not want to leave this beautiful setting. There are plenty of activities at the house-games, ping pong, theater room, firepit and boathouse bar. Its a great home for a family get together of any kind and we all can't wait to come to the Hideaway again! Thanks for an unforgettable celebration!

Owners response: Merry,

Thanks so much for your very kind words. Our family absolutely loves the Hideaway and we're delighted that your family did too! We have also rented many homes over the years, so always try to think about what can do deliver the perfect vacation getaway for our guests and are glad we achieved that goal for you and your family. We look forward to having you back at our home!

Pat O'Brien

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Simply Perfect!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Life time friends from Northern VA and Dallas TX arrived on July 2nd for a 4th of July getaway ~ that turned out to be PERFECT. The kitchen was big enough to hold all the families favorite foods and drinks we brought along to create our home away from home for our week long stay. The house was immaculate and well equipped. The house had ample space to spread out and cozy spaces to gather, there was nothing missing. After a hot day in the sun we found comfort in the "home theater" setting before dozing off to dreamland in our comfy lake side beds. Sitting on the deck enjoying morning coffee and watching the sun rise was peaceful, so peaceful we even returned with a night cap to watch the moon rise. No doubt we are still dreaming of Carolina Hideaway in Texas and Virginia :) Thanks for sharing your wonderful get away ~

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words!! We absolutely LOVE the Carolina Hideaway and are delighted that you and your family and friends did, as well. We work very hard to keep the place in "immaculate" condition -- and to equip it with anything/everything you might need. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Perfect Vacation Home!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

This is a most awesome vacation rental home! The location is at the end of a cul de sac, but very private. The property is right on the lake, has a small private beach area, a boat house that's great for entertaining and kayaks. We spent the whole time in the lake or on the lake in a boat and jet skis. The house itself is very spacious, and well laid out allowing a gathering place as well as privacy. It worked out perfectly for our big happy family.
The owner is wonderful to work with. We've rented many vacation properties, and I must say this is our favorite so far. I would highly recommend this beautiful home for your vacation on the lake!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: You're very kind. Glad you had a great time and look forward to having you back at the Carolina Hideaway!

Pat

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing house and setting

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

The Hideaway is simply amazing. The house and setting are fantastic.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to having you back in the future!

Pat

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Simply Spectacular

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

If you want a once in a lifetime lake vacation, this is it. The setting is amazing. The house is beautiful and is in immaculate shape. There are many amenities as well ... private beach, fire pit, movie theatre, kayaks, outdoor ping pong .... and the boathouse bar is spectacular! The only problem was that our grandkids didn't want to go home. We'll definitely be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I appreciate your kind remarks. Our family finds the Hideaway to be a very special place. We're glad yours does too and look forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review