reviews for: listing #836 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Gorgeous BEACHfront Fabulous Rental Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $600 /nt
    $3,550 - $3,600 /wk
    $3,600 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful place, awesome location

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

A condo rental is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you are going to get. Unfortunately, online descriptions don't always match reality. My wife and I found this oceanfront property to be delicious. It greatly exceeded our expectations.

When we arrived, we were absolutely delighted to find a clean, beautifully furnished (the owner is a very tasteful decorator), and well appointed space right on the beach. By on the beach I mean the sand is 4 feet away from the patio. Everything we needed to feel right at home was there, including kitchenware, washer, dryer, outdoor grill, internet access, and linen. All in good condition. This was the perfect home away from home and escape from the Northeast snow and cold.

As much as we loved the property, we were blown away by the location. The beach views and sunsets are gorgeous. The property is right on a bike/walking path which takes you to any from lots of restaurants and bars, which are far enough away from the property to minimize nuisance factors. We walked every day. Great way to get exercise in the SoCal sun. Quick car right to lots of great Newport Beach restaurants.

The owner Sheila lives upstairs and is very friendly and un-intrusive. She was responsive whenever we reached out for help or suggestions. She takes pains to ensure a hassle-free experience.

We rented for a month and were sad to leave. We are going to rent this unit again next year.

Can't recommend this place enough.

Owners response: I really enjoyed having such a nice couple as guests in my rental property. They were obviously enjoying everything the area and the home had to offer. It's so wonderful to observe people having a good time and appreciating the weather and the experience here. I am so looking forward to seeing them again next January!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little piece of heaven!

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

I came to Newport Beach for a surgery and needed a place to recover for an extended period of time. I considered several very beautiful hotels, until I saw Sheila's property. A listing that was almost too good to be true. The pictures were beautiful, the reviews were wonderful, and the price was great. All the other properties online looked like Santa Cruz in the 70's, great for kids and families, but not when you are trying to recover. Spa and Zen is what you need and that is what I got. When I arrived it was a beautiful and clean as the pictures. I didn't feel like I needed to do a deep cleaning like I normally do when I arrive at a hotel. The view was spectacular! And Sheila is one HOT Mama (my mom says she second that)! Really what I mean is she is a beautiful woman inside and out, adorable, sweet, cute shoes and doesn't bother you. However, she did check on me and at one point I was stranded there alone unable to drive and barely walk and in need of something from the store (emergency), I text her and within minutes I had what I needed. She is a gracious and proud vacation owner. My husband enjoyed the walks along the beach and some of the local attractions. The car issue is true, stick with compact, but we stacked two, a compact and a full-size, when the nurse came. I was not disappointed in her property, it exceeded my expectations and I have super high standards and did not leave it for three weeks! It was amazing!!!!! I didn't want to leave. We are planning a trip back were I can play next time. Thanks for everything Sheila! ; )

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I must say that when I took this reservation I was very worried about having someone recuperating from a surgery! I soon found out that all of my worries were for nothing: this was a very sweet lovely person who had just had major surgery and was cheerful and pleasant every time we interacted. Despite her discomfort she seemed to be enjoying the house, the location and as much of what it had to offer as she could and was so appreciative of everything. I was only too happy to check in on her and try to make her feel as much at home as I could and offer her the few things that she needed when there were none of her helpers around. I am really looking forward to her returning and vacationing here to enjoy all that the area has to offer. She was a pleasure to have as a guest in my rental home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT LOCATION and PERFECTLY COMFY on the beach!

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Having vacationed on Newport Bch and Balboa Island many times, I knew this time I wanted to stay ON the boardwalk, ON the beach but in a newer, nicer place. Sheila's place fit the bill!
We rented 3 bikes ($40 for the week) - we have a 12 yr old son- the very first day we got the bikes- a MUST on every trip to the beach.
We rode them everywhere! It only takes about 3 minutes to get to the ferry over to Balboa Island which we did almost every day. Also 3 minutes to get to a mini grocery store. Also 3 minutes to the closest margarita at the mexican restaurant-One day we jumped on the bikes and rode them to Huntington Beach- about a 45 minute beautiful ride each way. So much fun! Sheila's place is so easy because you just park your bikes on the side of her house and jump on the boardwalk that is literally in her backyard. We also skateboarded up and down the boardwalk each morning. Threw the football on the beach everyday which is Sheila's backyard. I just cannot express enough how perfect the location was to everything. Also, every night, we enjoyed happy hour in her backyard with her comfy outdoor furniture. Great people watching and we met so many nice folks! We even captured the perfect photo for our Xmas card this year!
The unit itself is so calm, cool and serene- All neutral white colors- very beachy feel. Nice desk area to catch up on work each morning and have the entire beach as your view. Cooked breakfast each morning and ate outside on the patio (once again).
Yes, Sheila lives upstairs - another reviewer said she watched you like a hawk- quite the contrary for us- we hardly knew she was even there. Nice to know she WAS there if we needed something which we didn't because she has thought of everything. (thanks, Sheila for the thoughtful gifts for my son, too). Beds are super comfy, furniture is super comfy. All in all, just a great VRBO rental which you will enjoy as much as we did.

Food: Wish we had discovered The Crow Burger on our FIRST night instead of our LAST night.
The Crab Cooker.....If you MUST go, only order the shrimp skewer AND the chowder. They are both worth the trip.
Our fave restaurant over here is Cafe Allessa Italian food. There is one in Laguna and Huntington. Must order the Mamma Mia meatballs covered in burrata cheese.
Don't miss Sushi on Fire either on Main Street Huntington Beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I so enjoyed having this lovely family stay in my vacation home! They just looked like they were having the best time each and every time I saw them and that makes me extremely proud and happy. I try my best to keep the house looking beautiful for my guests and having the amenities that I would want if I were the renter. It is heartwarming to know that I am doing things right. I hope to have them return in the near future to vacation here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing family vacation

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

My husband, 13 year old son and I finished off the summer with a week long stay in this great spot. Family friends were renting half mile down the boardwalk and we all had a great time. Lots of walking, beach and sun. Easy stroll to the ferry to Balboa Island. Many days we didn't use the car. Boardwalk can be fairly busy during the weekend but things calmed down during the week. Condo was very comfortable and as represented. Sheila was a great hostess. We rented a Toyota Avalon and it barely fit in the parking spot so if you are renting a car, rent a small one. After walking by other rentals, this unit is well above average. We would definitely like to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always a delight (and it was definitely one in this case) to have a really lovely family come to stay in my beach house and see them really enjoying every moment. They seemed to take advantage of all that the area has to offer and have friends and family to enjoy with them. I hope I am lucky enough to have them stay again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A true slice of heaven!

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

I hesitate to give a glowing review because I want to be sure that the property will be available for us again!

My husband and I spent a glorious month in "our" beautiful beach house. It really felt like home, so comfortable, yet classy. Great care (and great taste!) has been taken to furnish and outfit the lovely space. We felt a true "pride of rentership" that reflected the "pride of ownership" of the owners.

We met wonderful friends, hosted dinner parties and graciously accepted their compliments on our home, on behalf of the owners. Who, by the way, are just wonderful! So considerate and accommodating. Not to mention fun and California fit! (great role models for we midwesterners!)

The boardwalk, right beyond the patio, provided such visual entertainment with the walkers, dogs, bikers, skaters, strollers, Segways. It was fun to sit outside and watch the world go by. It became very peaceful and quiet by sunset time.

The property is located right between the Balboa and Newport piers, which attract most of the tourists. So it's a quiet little stretch to call home. The beach is clean and pristine and gigantic!. The waterfront is spectacular. We saw whales, dolphins, sea lions, starfish and collected many sand dollars to bring home to Kansas.

We enjoyed the many happy hour menus at the local restaurants. My husband found driving ranges nearby. The fabulous Los Angeles area art museums are within an hours drive. Our Lady of Mount Carmel church has a beautiful daily mass just a short walk away. The Newport beach library provided us with nightly entertainment of foreign films. Be sure to get your library card on day one!

Supposedly, being from Kansas, "There's no place like home", but I wish I could click my heels three times and be transported back to my Newport beach home. It was a true slice of heaven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: As one might imagine, these renters were such a delight to have here! They were obviously enjoying their time immensely and took advantage of all that the area has to offer and then some. Their enthusiasm was infectious and their warmth and friendliness endeared them to everyone that they came in contact with. By the second week of their visit they knew virtually everyone in the entire neighborhood and probably some others in outlying areas. They are such warm wonderful people and were a gift to have as renters as well as to get to know. I count myself lucky to have made their acquaintance and to have had the privilege to rent to them.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Vacation

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the month of February at this beach vacation rental. We found it to be an excellent experience in every way.

The apartment furnishings were of high quality and comfortable to use. The kitchen was fully equipped. The beds were of good quality and we slept well. We appreciated having access to a well functioning washer and dryer which was right in the apartment.

We enjoyed the availability of flat screen televisions in the living room and bedroom.

We found being there in February was quiet and relaxing. The apartment is right on the beach and boardwalk and since we enjoy walking and riding bikes the area provided abundant alternatives for doing so.

Although the parking spaces were small we found them to be convenient for off street parking.

There was a variety of excellent restaurants easily accessible locally and a quality super market was close by. There were many top of the line shopping areas available locally.

The owner who lives upstairs from the rental property was extremely helpful and was available to answer any questions about the apartment or the local area.

When we arrived the apartment was very clean and mid month a housecleaner cleaned the apartment. The listing description and pictures were accurately represented.

We loved our stay and hope to return again next year. We would recommend this property to any of our friends or relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always a pleasure to meet new people who are so lovely and are really enjoyirg their visit here. These nice people came all the way from Austria and were fortunate to have a month of wonderful weather here at the beach which made their stay all the more enjoyable. They took advantage of all that the house and area has to offer and just seemed to relax and totally enjoy the month. I am very pleased that they loved their stay and I cannot wait til they return for another visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home with a lot to see and do

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This home was perfect for our needs. The location right on the boardwalk was great for afternoon people watching. For those of you who are not familiar with Newport Beach or this location, the walk from the boardwalk to the ocean is 1/8 of a mile. Hauling beach chairs and belongings was quite an undertaking, but once at the ocean it didn't get more heavenly. The sand was gorgeous. No rocks. Great waves. It is close to both piers but doesn't have too much public crowding. I do think it is important to note that the owner lives above the ground-floor unit. My family and I felt like our every move was being watched, which made the stay slightly uncomfortable. We found ourselves out of the house as much as possible for fear we'd get warned for doing something wrong. We did get notified by the owner that there was a noise ordinance (we had only just gotten there so it was a tender warning) and that our towels were not to be hung on the low wall because "it looks bad." The parking space(s) was a joke. We had to crawl through our back window to get out because there wasn't enough room to open the doors. Two SMALL cars could possibly fit, but more like one SUV. Overall, the location was fantastic, the weather perfect and the house itself was tidy and just what we needed. We had a great week with lots to do to keep us entertained.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I sincerely appreciate the positive feedback and the time taken to leave commentary.
When guests reserve my condo for their family and then invite a second family to spend the entire week here except to sleep,it violates the rental agreement and weighs heavily on the home's resources. Maybe guilt over doing this caused the "watched" feeling. Up to now each of my renters has expressed delight at having me live upstairs because it gives them a feeling of security and well being. My only interest is for everyone to enjoy their vacation here. I always give new "check in's" a little advice on where to get things, patio etiquette and safety, and a few other helpful hints. Sadly, these renters misunderstood my advice and were offended. While I have no control over the vastness of the beach (an asset), nor the size of the two parking spots (some homes have none), I do have control over who I allow to vacation here and the size of the parties who rent my property. I feel sorry these guests had some discomfort since they were a very nice family and seemed to really enjoy their experience here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the perfect place

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

This was our second year at this rental, which feels like a home to us. It is always clean, welcoming and the location can not be beat! I highly recommend this to a family of up to 4 people. It's perfect for relaxing, people watching, eating in or out and of course for beach time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always wonderful watching a family so obviously enjoying their time here in my beautiful rental house. I love seeing them each year and look forward to their return next year. It's so nice when vacations can be planned a year in advance and with no last minute stress! It leaves so much more time for having fun.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Enjoyed the down time in the condo. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Great location, can't wait to get back. Your home away from home on the sand.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic All Around

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

The location is absolutely perfect - just west of Balboa Pier and only a 15 minute walk to Newport Pier. Right on the boardwalk with beach as far as the eye can see.

The condo itself is beautiful - very nice modern beach feel to it. Really cozy with plenty of room for our family (2 adults, 2 small children). The porch was our favorite since you can grill out, people watch on the boardwalk and enjoy the sun during the day and sunsets at night.

Overall, we would highly recommend this condo and will definitely be back! Thanks, Sheila!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a delight to have a such a wonderful family enjoy their vacation in my beachfront property. They were able to take advantage of all that the home and area had to offer and it makes me very happy. They were able to relax and spend family time on the beach while seeing friends and barbecuing on the patio. I look forward to having them return again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Rental

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed the week of July 9, 2011. We could not have been more pleased with our stay. They unit is impeccably kept, and the location is wonderful. We brought our bicycles and never needed to drive anywhere. I will say, we have a Tahoe and the parking at the unit was really not wide enough to park in and be able to walk around. Found a spot on street and never needed to move it. There is just something magical about sitting on your private patio and watching the sun go down over the ocean. We will return in the future, and would recommend the unit for any family of 4.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: It is always wonderful to see a family so respectful of the property and having a great time relaxing, bike riding, swimming, eating out, and just plain enjoying all that the beach and this property has to offer. I look forward to having them return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feels like home

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This house was so refreshing. It was clean and ready to live in upon arrival. The owner was very accommodating. The house has everything you need to feel comfortable. It is in a great location, right on the beach and close to Balboa Fun Zone and many places to eat out and enjoy! We would definitely return to this rental! We did not want to leave.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love having renters who totally enjoy the experience, appreciate the house - both location and amenities, and are respectful of the property. AND who are just delightful in every way!! I hope to meet many more exceptional renters this summer and many summers to come.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular Beach Front Property

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

Our stay at this beautiful beach front property was wonderful...an entire wall of windows looking out over the beach...a patio looking over the beach...just steps away from the sand...decorated well...the owner is just above this property in her home and was willing to help with any and most of our needs...she is even a personal shopper, which was extremely helpful to us while staying in Orange County...loved it...will be booking a stay every year from now on since we were so pleased with this property and all it has to offer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic location and immaculate gorgeous living space. Right on the beach!

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

As good as it gets. Can't wait to return. Our family loved every moment. Perfect spot!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach Front. Immaculate-Great Location

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Perfect beach location between Balboa and Newport Piers. Quick, pleasant walk to a multitude of restaurants, bike, boat and kayak rentals,carousel, merry-go-round, car ferry, fun zone and much more.

The property owner is extremely helpful and a wealth of knowledge about things to do and places to go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location on the Water.Immaculate

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Perfect beach location between Balboa and Newport Piers. Quick, pleasant walk to a multitude of restaurants, bike, boat and kayak rentals,carousel, merry-go-round, car ferry, fun zone and much more.

The property owner is extremely helpful and a wealth of knowledge about things to do and places to go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review