reviews for: listing #83629 - Big Bear Lake, California Cabin rental

Private Romantic Cabin +*HOT TUB*F/P,Netflix*Mid-Wk*$102./nt
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $102 - $250 /nt
    $600 - $1,200 /wk
    $1,485 - $1,695 /mth

sort by:

My 35th Birthday in Big Bear Lake.

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to this lovely
cottage for my birthday, when we arrived there was a
bouquet of ballons with a bottle of champagne and chocolates.

The jacuzzi was great, we felt like we were floating amongst
the trees.

The kitchen had everything needed to prepare meals,
which was convenient since we are vegetarians.

There is hiking trails a few blocks away, it was nice to have
the trails close by and not to have to purchase an adventure pass.

The owner returned our deposit in two days.

I have recommended this cottage to my family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

I rented this cabin for my birthday weekend and it was perfect. I am a single traveler and the cabin is cozy, quiet, warm. Very rustic and quaint. The hot tub was wonderful on a chilly morning and evening. The prices were more than reasonable. I look forward to returning soon. Kassie was wonderful and very easy to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Anniversary Surprise Ever!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

My husband told me we were going for a scenic drive in the mountains,
for our five year wedding anniversary we ended up at this
adorable cabin, when I opened the door there were candles
everywhere, a fireplace going and rose petals on the bed
and in the hot tub, champagne with yummy chocolate strawberries and
my favorite cupcake's, I was totally surprised, I was expecting
to celebrate our anniversay with a dinner, we ended up having
the best anniversary.

We enjoyed drinking champagne in the hot tub under the stars,
listening to music.

We had such an amazing stay we did not leave the cabin:) we ordered
in, there are several restaurants that deliver.

I would recommend this adorable cabin to anybody.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am elated that you had a wonderful anniversary.

Our goal is to provide a romantic adventure.
A stone to ceiling fireplace.
Private outdoor hot tub with romantic lighting
on a large double lot for privacy, all you will see
while you are in the hot tub, is star's & mountain
view's, no neighbors.

Affordable romantic add-on's $5.00-$85.00
Real Rose petals on bed, table and pathway to hot tub-$22.00
Large pre-lit white candles, throughout the cabin-$15.00
Pre-lit fireplace-$15.00
Award winning champagne with 2 chocolate or white chocolate strawberries-$25.50
12-18 long stemmed red roses with vase and take home box-$20-25.
Couples massage's in front of the fireplace or on the balcony
overlooking the mountain views-$65.-$75.00
"Your couple" song playing while you enter the cabin-$5.00

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

The right cabin fit for "our family"

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

Upon seeing the photo's (and price), I told my wife if it's half as good as it looks, I'll be thrilled,
we visit b.bear often, and have stayed at dirty,expensive, unkept,homes, I'm pleased to say
we definitely were not disappointed. Because of the lay out of the cabin, we were never
in each others way, our teens were excited to have a retreat of their own to get away from
the parents,play video games, & watch movies.

Our family particularly enjoyed the big stone fireplace and the basket of snacks
the owner provided. Our daughters enjoyed boarding at Bear Mountain,
and my wife and I took advantage, of some alone time.
Our daughers were crazy over "Get the Burger'"on the main drag.

All amenties were as promised, the owner was available for
questions, we are returning this winter.

The Morre's

Owners response: Thank you for your kind remarks and your observations.

My goal at Hansel and Gretel Cabin is to create
an experience, not just a place to stay.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Nice getaway!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this cabin. the cabin was cozy and very clean. Love the village and enjoyed the wine tasting room. We are looking forward to coming back and staying in your cabin soon. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind remarks, we hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A delightful stay for the four of us.

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

The four of us, were novice at renting a vacation home and none of
us had been to big bear before, we enjoyed having a kitchen for cooking
our meals together, the privacy of a bedroom and bath, having an area
where our yorkies could explore.

The jacuzzi we agreed was our favorite.

We usually go to mammouth, with fuel prices very high we decided to try Big Bear,
which is closer. There were only a couple of runs open and the sking was marginal
at best

There is a good selection of movies, we all agreed on watching "Frida" which was
a great movie about one of the greatest artists of our time.

We dined at Madlons one night, which is very expensive and satisfactory.

All of us were taken back with the beauty of Big Bear Lake, you feel like you are in
a village in the Alps, not two hours away from Los Angeles.

The rental process was easy we received our deposit back in 3 days, the owner was
accomodating. Vacation home renting exceeded our expectations, we will be
back again to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am thrilled you had a positive first time experience with
vacation home renting. It is more cost effective & healthy to
prepare your meals than eating out three times a day.

We have a fully equipped kitchen with everything you need to
prepare you meals, including spices.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Our first family getaway.

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

My wife, my two year old son and our beagle had
a relaxing time at this vacation home.

The property is private, it is a couple of blocks from
the lake for walking and biking.

The home was clean and cozy, the listing information
and pictures are accurate.

Our family had dinner at Maggios Pizza
the food is above average and reasonable.

I have recommeded this home to family members
and will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad these guest's enjoyed their stay at our
cabin, because we try hard to provide a
relaxing & peaceful experience.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fairytale anniversary at the cottage.

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

My husband surprised me with a stay at this adorable cottage for our
fith year anniversary, when I walked in the door there was a fireplace
lit, 'need you now, our couple song was playing on the stereo, rose petals were scattered
throughout the cottage, the champagne, cupcakes, and chocolates were yummy.
The jacuzzi had floating candles with large candles around the balcony.

We had a much needed couples massages our second day at the cottage, on our third
night, we went into the village and had a scenic carriage horseback ride.

We enjoyed walking to the lake and hiking in the forest which is a short walk
from the cottage.

We did all of our cooking at the cottage, everything needed for cooking is provided
Everything we did in big bear was a short drive away.

My husband received a discount, because it was our anniversary.

We both had a wonderful fifth year anniversary, that we will remember for
a life time.

Thank you for creating a magical cottage, for wonderful memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

To Whom Concerned

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

I must say that I enjoyed my stay at The Storybook Hideaway. The listing description was accurate and the photo's reflected the rental's appearance. I found the place to be "Spic and Span", and the property well maintained. I have recommended this rental to my family and friends.
I spent my time there resting and walking around the Lake. What a beautiful place to re-invigorate. I also did some sight-seeing, hiking in the Hills, and visiting the local shops and Cafe's.
On my next visit I hope to Bicycle and actually "wet a line" in the Lake. So, I cannot wait for my next visit.
The accommodations were very comfortable, having Cable available was very nice, although I did not watch much T.V., as there was many things to do in a limited amount of time at Big Bear.
The "Welcome Basket" I received was very nice; and the process of renting the Cabin, and having it ready for my "check-in" went as exactly as promised.
My experience there was highly enjoyable, I look forward to my return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind remarks and observations,
and for choosing our home away from home.

All repeat guests receive a discount of 10% on all
non-holiday stays.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thanksgiving for four, in the mountains.

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Myself, Boyfriend, Mother and Dad, came to Big Bear to have
Thanksgiving in the mountains, we were lucky to have
the first snow of the season, for three days.

The cabin is cute, everything is green or red, the fireplace looks
like it came from a movie set, the spa was excellent, our favorite
was the bear retreat, it has a fireplace & bathroom we were
able to share "alone time together".

The cabin is stocked with dvds,games,magazines,books.

The owner was helpful she emailed us things to do in big bear
with websites and phone numbers, which helped us plan
our trip. The manager was available and helpful, when we
could not find the remotes.

The four of us enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at Northwoods
Resort, the food was good, and surprising not crowded.

I have recommended this cabin to my friends.

My boyfirend and I plan on coming back for snow
boarding lessons.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Charming Little Cabin

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We had a very relaxing week at this cabin last October. The inside is cozy and comfortably furnished, with plenty of extra blankets. The kitchen is well-lighted and had all our basic needs. The fireplace is quite a focal point and looked pretty awesome with a roaring fire in it. Even without the fireplace the wall heater did a great job of keeping us warm. Especially loved the rear deck with its built-in seats where we spent many hours with our 2 dogs there. The shower stall is rather small, but had plenty of hot water. Good location for exploring, being close to a main road to the lake and the village, Octoberfest and a convenience store nearby.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review, repeat guests receive a
discount of 10%, on non-holiday stays.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful, private, retreat

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

This was our second Stay at hansel & gretel retreat, we have stayed
at seven vacation homes in the big bear area in the past four years,
we came back to this cottage because of the privacy, most homes
in the big bear lake area are on small lots with no privacy.

I enjoyed reading under the pine trees in the
hammock, hubby enjoyed mountain bike
riding at bear mountain. We both enjoyed the
hot tub the most. I usually dont care for wine
however, the merlot that was included
had a cherry chocolate taste, we drank
the entire bottle in one night..

I suggest traveling to big bear lake during the Spring or
Fall during the week, the prices are reasonable
and there is NO crowds, the beauty and the change
of seasons with the clean air is rejuvenating .

The manager Ramona during our 1st stay in August 2011
rescued us in Lake Arrowhead after our hybrid over
heated. The booking process takes five minutes,
and our deposit was returned to us in two days.

We dined at Captain Jacks, great atmosphere.
Lumber Jack Cafe has the best breakfast, they
give you a lot of food, I suggest splitting an entree

This is a special place, we will be back in April.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Val, for choosing our cabin twice, your kind
remarks and observations are appreciated.

All repeat guests receive a discount of 10%, on all
non-holiday stays.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Very Satisfied Renter

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

My mini-vacation was unforgettable!! The cabin is adorable!! I loved the cabin, especially the beautiful stone fireplace! We think Big Bear is such a great place with the beautiful lake, hiking, and wonderful restaurants like Maggios....mmmm-great Italian food. My birthday gift basket was crafted with alot of thought and care with the bottle of Champagne and Truffles, and it really added to my special weekend with my husband. I HIGHLY recommend this cabin as it is darling, extremely clean and well cared for, and there are many extra nice things done for you as the guest. Don't forget to enjoy the hot tub on the back deck in the evening with all the stars...enchanting!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Proposal stay in big bear.

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Jodi,

Thank you for arranging the surprise romance package,
you did a great job, my fiancee in the past could not
be surprised.

Selina was surprised she had no idea that I was going
to propose, when she heard "faithfully playing" Selina
knew something was up, she started saying yes, when she
saw the rose petals and strawberries.

The floating roses and the roaring fireplace were
awesome, Selina has posted our pic's on our website
so our frinds and family may view our proposal stay.

We did not leave the cabin, it was two days of relaxing
and planning a wedding May 22, is the day.

Selina could not find a facebook or twitter account,
let us know the links so we may refer the cabin to
our frinds and family.

Thanks again,
Matt & Selina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday stay

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

Thank you jodi, so much for the birthday basket
Stefano was excited to have a birthday basket
with Itallian beer and nuts.

We had a surprise visitor, which scared me at first
when I saw two dark eyes peering down at me from the tree
then Stefano explained it was a raccoon, I thought maybe
the racoon wanted to go in the hot tub with us.

We came to the bear mountain to enjoy the zipping in the
air through the mountains for Stefano's birthday.

I was afraid the line
line may break, I was relieved when we were done.
Stefano, really enjoyed the excitment and the views.

The weather was colder than we expected, we ended up
using a lot of the wood that you supplied for us, Stefanos
enjoyed the huge fireplace, my favorite was the hot tub.

The maps and menus were helpful, we decided to dine at
the Peppercorn grille, I would not recommend because of
the service was bad and the wait for our food was over
one hour.

The Grizzly cafe had a great breakfast and was reasonable
in cost.

Thank you jodi for our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

weekend getaway

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

My husband needed a weekend getaway after a very stressful work week and it was to celebrate his birthday, so after a little research I thought the Hansel and Gretal cabin would be perfect. I wanted a quiet, private getaway for the two of us.
The pros; The price was very reasonable compared to other cabins. The cabin is quaint, wood floors and a nice fireplace which we didn't use because the weather was warm. The back deck was great, had a table and chairs and the little jacuzzi for two was clean and perfect to enjoy a glass of wine. The location was a quick drive to town. Kassie was very easy to work with.

The cons; Even though the cabin was clean, the shower was awful. It was a very small, metal surround and the hand held shower nozzle kept falling off the mount when my husband took a shower which resulted in water spraying everywhere. Mold was on the tile at front bottom portion. The lighting was also very poor. The bedroom is an upstairs loft room which does not give alot of head room. So if your tall, it might be awkward. From deck and the bedroom you can hear some traffic from the busy street- even though you can't see it. The property is not fenced in the back completely, which would be good to know if you bring your dog. If you want to use the jacuzzi, turn it on when you first get there. It took a long time to warm up- I think it was at least 4-5 hours.
There is alot to do around Big Bear- it is a beautiful area. We had awesome deep dish pizza at Paoli's in town.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: On Friday 9/14, I received a text from guest Pat
at 10:PM, stating the hot tub was cold and not
working, I sent the handyman Randy to check on the hot tub that night
Randy found the hot tub unplugged, this was the reason the hot tub
was not hot. Guest pat requested I refund her for a nights stay because the hot tub, was not hot & ready when pat and her husband wanted to use the hot tub.
I explained, I do not refund due to the fact the hot tub was unplugged, the spa technician Ted, had cleaned the spa at 12:pm that day and the hot tub was hot at 102 degees.
There has never been or will ever be any mold in my cabin, I
am allergic to mold, I have the cabin inspected every
three months for mold, the last inspection was done in September.

In reference to the shower falling
off of the shower holder and "spraying water everywhere"
this is the first time, I have heard of this, we ask the guests to
call or text us immediately when there is a problem, so the
problem may be rectified within the hour, or as soon as possible.
The handyman Randy inspected the shower, there was no problems with the shower holder, and there was no mold in the shower.

Guest Pat did not mention anything about mold or the shower holder
being broken and spraying water, when she text me 4 times during check out.

*We take great pride on creating an "experince for our guests" not just a place to rent or stay, Hansel & Gretel Cabin is clean,cozy & comfortable. I ask future guests to read and consider the "43" other truthful reviews.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Romantic Get-A-Way! This Cabin That Brought Us Closer Together...

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

I have to say that our time at Hansel and Gretel will be some of my most memorable.

There was a gift basket that was made with care and thought but I have to say the wine was the best part. Oh! And one of the sweetest parts of our stay was our “song” was playing when we walked through the front door! I don’t know how they did it but it was a great start to a very romantic time.

The kitchen is well equipped for dinning-in. We had several nights of romantic dinner and music! We even prepared several meals together and the bonding that we experienced is something that will stay with me forever.

I really enjoyed the romantic setting of the outdoor spa. It was great for the two of us. The accent lights around the spa really set the mood and the privacy fence made us feel secluded as we relaxed with spa jets giving us a massage. (Much needed after a day of hiking.)

The Village was a lot of fun to walk through and there are romantic horse drawn carriage rides! But my favorite was the hikes. The Hansel and Gretel Cabin is just down the street from some wonderful trails for hiking and less than a mile from a place called Van Dusen Canyon. (A dirt road that leads to some awesome hiking and climbing!) We actually found a waterfall not too far into the hike.

I really want to thank Kassie and the Hansel and Gretel Cabin for giving me (us) some of the greatest memories I will ever have. I look forward to spending more time at this adorable cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Storybook themed cottage.

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

The best words to describe our stay at Storybook Cottage was enchanting.
My girls 5 and 6, had so much fun pretending the were lost in the
woods, hiding from the evil witch, taking turns getting in and out of
the oven, it was a giant playhouse for our girls. The cottage is
whimiscally decorated just like the pictures, well equipped with
everything needed for cooking
After our darlings FINELY fell asleep, hubby and I were able to enjoy
the hot tub with a glass of wine. The owner made the renting process
simple I recommend the Moonridge zoo and
the Discovery Center, both places were fun and
educational. Our family had a great stay here,
we hope to come back for sledding and sking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: How exciting, that your girls had fun playing fairytale
stories, our goal is to create an "experience" not just
a stay at a cabin.

A tree house for children to play in and create memories
will be completed in 6/2013.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Views and Jacuzzi

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

This was our second stay at Hansel & Gretel, we love the new
jets in the jacuzzi and the new
sofa couch, we enjoy the silence and the feeling we are
"alone in the woods".
Since we were repeat guests we received a discount which was a plus.
The last trip here, we did not leave the cabin, it was December
it was cold the fireplace with smores and movies were all we needed.

This year my hubby and I, are training for the 2013 Los Angles
Marathon, we decided to train with 1 mile swim in the lake, 6 mile run
around the lake, a 8 mile mountain bike ride, we suggest renting
mountain bikes from big bear mountain biking company,
they have the best rates. Since we were sore and exhausted
we decided we deserved a a couples massage, the massage's
were pricey, the best part was getting into the jacuzzi
afterwards with a glass of merlot. Thank you Jody and
Cassandra, we hope to be back in April, after
the Marathon for recuperation. I would
recommend this cabin for anybody.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cute Cabin

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We were here Labor Day weekend (which I don't recommend simply because of the crowds in Big Bear!) and found this cabin to be charming and quaint. The gift basket was an extremely thoughtful touch which we really appreciated. Kassie asked us if we would rather have sparkling cider and gave us that instead of wine. And she also left mints on the pillows in the loft bedroom...very very nice. The cabin looks exactly like the photo's and that's a big help...we didn't know there were rough stone stairs which were very uneven to get the the cabin though. Also, we weren't sure where to park, it's just along the street on the gravel. I think it might be an issue when it snows but it was ok for us. The other thing is that if you use the restroom at night you have to navigate the rather steep wooden stairs as there is no bedroom on the same floor as the bath. We didn't use the extra guest suite in the basement but I know that one had a half bath right in the room. Also we couldn't use regular wood in the fireplace, just the manufactured logs. It's not a huge deal but we love to burn pinecones for the scent, so we were a tad disappointed at that.

The spa was great but only meant for two very slim people. And there's no moving around, just one spot so that was a little unfortunate issue for us as well.

All in all a cute little cabin that I would recommend for younger people or maybe folks who would be spending most of their time on the slopes or out shopping. We are thankful to Kassie for making it a charming, cozy, cute little cabin and for all her little extra's.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your kind observations, with a "Holiday stay" we offer "award winning wine" red or white, champagne or sparkling cider, the gourmet snacks include cupcakes,chocolate french truffles, pretzels, nuts and holiday cookies If you have a kids we include a
toy for the kids or a pet toy if you have
pets.

I was obfuscated about the comment the "hot tub was
uncomfortable" for (2) adults
I had not heard the comment from any other guests, I consulted the Hot Springs Hot Tub Manual,
the hot tub is 235 gallons, the hot fits
(2) adults and (1-2) childern or (2-3) adults
depending on the weight
of the occupants of the hot tub, the weight capacity of the hot
tub is 575 lbs comfortably.

Helpful votes: 7 / 11

 

Great Cottage, Great Location.

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

The four of us come to BBL every year for a well needed "girls getaway" we had a great time.
Everything was within walking distance or a 5 minute car ride away, everything you need for
cooking is provided, the bedroom set up is great for privacy. We enjoyed paddle bording,
biking and hiking. Our favorite new place to eat is the Himalayan restaurant in the village,
who would think that you could get yummy indian food in the mountains. Thank you for the
wine, we will be back next summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Romantic Proposal in Big Bear Lake.

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

I wanted my proposal to be romantic and memorable, I had never rented a cabin from an owner and was leary. My new fiance was excited to see chocolate strawberries,champagne,lit up jacuzzi with rose petals. The cabin was private, clean, and cozy. The jacuzzi has awesome views. Thank you..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am elated that your marriage proposal was a success.

We offer romance packages from $13.-$75.00 see
picture #16 and the catering section, for details.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Hansel and Gretel cabin

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

We recently enjoyed our third stay at this cabin. It would have been our fifth were it always available whenever we need it. This beautiful, natural wood cabin with a loft bedroom, a cozy hide-away downstairs private room and lovely deck~furnished with a hot tub~over looking the forested slope, is just minutes from Big Bear amenities. Perched up on the hill among the trees, it is very quiet and peaceful. Everything you need to cook a family dinner, or just cozy up with a good book by the fire is all there. The cabin is clean and comfortable.

I would recommend this cabin to anyone. The price is right, the location is ideal, and I promise you will be comfortable and well cared for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Our getaway!

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

This was our second stay and will not be our last. First, I made a mistake in dates and we showed up a week early. Could have been a disaster, but they sent us to get a drink and to come back in 30 minutes. We did and the cabin was in tip top shape, including a birthday basket I had ordered.
When we stay here, we do not venture far - with a jacuzzi on a deck under the stars with evergreens, a fire place and a cozy cabin, there is no need.
I cannot say enough about the special touches and details -My husband and I love this cabin and plan on coming back again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind remarks and observations. We are looking
forward to seeing you again soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Storybook Anniversary at Hansel and Gretel Cottage.

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

My husband surprised me with a trip to Big Bear for our ten year wedding anniversary, I arrived at the cottage with our wedding song playing, "My heart will go on" a bottle of champange, chocolate strawberries, rose petals and candles everywhere! Words cannot describe the view from the hot tub, we felt we were floating in the trees, we had a wonderful anniversary, we appreciate the attentiveness the
manager provided for us. I truly recommend this beautiful cottage for a romantic get away that you will not forget!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hansel and Gretel Cabin, a jewel in the rough.

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

H&G is a perfect cabin rental with everything two couples vactioning together
could want. The bear retreat was great for the privacy
we needed, the spa and the fireplace were great for relaxing. The owner was helpful and
made the rental process easy. The fat cat red wine was so smooth....what a find, I had
to buy a case when we returned home. We are returning alone, for our 15th Wedding Anniversary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Thank you for a relaxing wonderful time in Big Bear, it is what we both really needed.
We really enjoyed the fireplace and the jacuzzi. We enjoyed barbequeing on the deck
and the abundant wildlife. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Snowboarding family.

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Our family of four really enjoyed our stay at Hansel and Gretel Cottage, we felt like we
stayed at the Big Bear Ritz.

I was skeptical to rent another vacation home, because of our last dirty vacation home
rental in Big Bear.

The cottage is adorable and better than the pictures, there were so many special touches,
chocolates on the pillows,restraunt menus, a basket full of snacks. The beds were
comfortable and warm.

The manager was available by phone and very accommodating.
Thank you for changing my mind on vacation home renting, I hope
to be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: With a Fri. & Sat. night stay or a 3 night stay, enjoy
complimentary red or white wine or chocolate truffles.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Magical Cottage In the Woods

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

My husband, myself and my in law's came to Big Bear for a Holiday Weekend, all of us had a lovely time
we felt we were in a large tree house with a splendid hot tub. The gift basket we received was full of
great things to eat and drink, the guest retreat was adorable, comfortable and private which is ideal
when traveling with family. I suggest dining at the Himalayn Restraunt in the Village, great Indian food.
My husband and I hope to return for snow boarding in January. Thank you for making our trip to Big Bear Special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for sharing your experience at Hansel and Gretel Cabin.
We look forward to having you again for any occasion.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect little cabin

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

We had a great time at the hansel and gretel cabin. This cabin has everything you need for a perfect mountain getaway. We especially loved the hot tub. Oh ya, our dog had a blast too! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

So cute and it has everything you want and need!

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

My family and I spent a holiday here in the winter and absolutely loved this cabin. We are looking forward to going again this winter. The downstairs addition was nice for privacy. You will love this place! WE had a beautiful snowfall while we were there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enchanting Weekend in the Woods

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

My husband and I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay at the Hansel & Gretel cabin--the minute you see the cabin, you are taken aback by the huge stone chimney and quaint rustic exterior. When you step inside, you're taken back in time to a less hectic pace due to the cozy, cheerful interior accented by country accessories with tones of red and green which complement the polished hardwood floors and knotty pine walls and high-beamed ceilings. The natural rock fireplace is drop-dead beautiful--with a carved metal grate that looks like some artisan spent hours designing and should be on the cover of Architectural Digest. The upstairs bedroom looks out on majestic pines, whispering in the summer night air, and the bed is so comfy you just don't want to get up. But the mountain air makes you hungry, so we whipped up a truck driver's breakfast--fried eggs, biscuits and gravy, a rash of bacon, coffee and juice--to work it off we went for a long hike around the lake, not far away, and rented a boat at North Shore Landing and tried our luck fishing for trout--no luck but had fun anyway and came home hungry again--and bbq'd on the deck--ribeye steaks, baked potatoes, a green salad and the lovely Merlot wine that Kassie, the landlord, made sure was in our welcome basket. Before bed, we turned on the jets and relaxed in the outdoor spa under a starlit nite. Our stay was brief but memorable--thanks to both Kassie and Ramona, the manager and neighbor who went to great lengths to make sure our every need was met. We can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your thoughtful comments and observations are appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again! :)

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Enchanting & Romantic Hansel & Gretel Log Cabin.

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

My boyfriend & I had a perfect three days at Hansel & Gretel Cabin, the reason we chose this cabin, is because the cabin had great reviews, many of the other cottages & cabins had no reviews or few.
The spa was romantic & sparkling clean with a lavendar smell. The complimentry red wine & chocolates
were excellent. The ziplining over the lake & mountains was so much fun! The food at the Peppercorn Grille in the village was excellent! I unequivocally reccommend this cabin, I have booked a weekend for
Oktoberfest & my parents 35th Anniversary.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect cabin in the woods

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

First of all I would like to thank the owner for making the booking of the cabin so easy and convenent. Second, I would like to thank the manager for making my stay in Big Bear as confortable as possible. She went out of her way to make sure we have all the information we needed and more for the cabin and sights to see in Big Bear. The cabin was centrally located, not far from the lake (nice little walk,) clean, cozy and well kept after. I only had one night up in Big Bear, I wanted to suprise my girlfriend with a proposal. While I was at dinner at Sweet Basil (great place Ramona) The manager went to the cabin, spred rose peddles all over, lit candles, placed chocolate strawberries and champaine out on the deck and started some music. While we were in the spa I popped the question. I could not inmagined a better place or a more romantic place to ask the love of my life to marry me. Thank you to the manager and to the owner for allowing us to have the most pleaseable moment ever! By the way she said "YES!"

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A Very Nice Cabin with a Wonderful Owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

The only reason I only rated our experience as good and not excellent was because of a small issue we had with the property manager, but Kassie the owner is fantastic. She resolved the issue fairly and definitely for our benefit. She also worked with us so we could bring our dogs for our visit to Big Bear. The rental rate and fees for the property were so much more reasonable than other properties we looked at. The place worked out so nicely for our visit and was very comfortable for 4 adults and our two large dogs. I would definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Awesome hansel and gretel getaway!

Review submitted: May 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We couldn't of asked for a better place to stay, the quest retreat was perfect for our friends, the hot tub
was awesome & you can't beat the price, I was looking at other condos & cabins for over $250. with
a hot tub, wireless & two bedrooms. We named the ratcoon's Archie & Edith, they were fun to watch.
Thank you for this amazing cabin getaway, we will be back soon.,

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Birthday Getaway.

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

I love Hansel and Gretel Cabin! it was a surprise romantic getaway for my boyfriend's 31st Birthday, he
was surprised & overjoyed, especially when he saw his favorite guiness beer & treats in a gift basket.
The outdoor spa was romantic & private with a great view. Close to everything, National forest was
right up the street & the Lake was a short walk away. We had a great dinner at the Swee basil Bistro,
great food & good service. Thank you for making Brians Birthday special, We will be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: December-March with a Friday & Saturday night stay, when it is
your Birthday,
a complimentary customized Birthday basket, is included
with your stay at Hansel and Gretel Cabin.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Honeymoon retreat!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

We arrived to a fire in the fireplace, champagne in a bucket of ice, rose petals on the bed, a beautiful white cake, chocolate dipped strawberries, lit candles and soft music playing. What a romantic start to our honeymoon! The cozy cabin was perfect and absolutely everything was supplied for us. We particularly loved the big, stone fireplace, the hot tub and the beautiful view of the trees from the back patio. We had a fabulous and relaxing week. Thank you for putting so much thought and care into our stay at Hansel and Gretel!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: We specialize in romance at Hansel & Gretel, we are happy to hear you had a great time!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

My husband surprised me with a trip to big bear for my 35th Birthday! H & G was romantic with white lights on the deck,great hot tub, Wine with truffles,
balloons. The manager was helpful and informative, she had great recommendations on dining and day trips. We will be back with our 2 kids to enjoy the lake.

Owners response: I am elated that your Birthday getaway was wonderful. I appreciate you choosing Hansel and Gretel!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

What a great way to end our Valentine's weekend.
The cabin was very Romantic-the jacuzzi was awesome!!
We will definetely come back and refer friends. Thanks

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

We had a great time... what a cool place! Thank you
so much for letting us stay here. We will be back soon! From Hansel and Gretel Guest book

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your lovely cabin, gorgeous views, relaxing hot tub, lots of snow & a cozy
romantic cabin, nothing could be better. We will definitely
be back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

I wanted to let you know that my brother and I enjoyed the
Hansel and Gretel Cabin greatly, it was so adorable and in
the perfect location. Thank you. Emailed to the owner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

Thank you so much for making our weekend! We love everything about this place-except the *cold! which we
signed up for and you cannot help.
Thanks again-you really helped make Angel's Birthday special!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

We had a great time at the cabin! The Hansel and Gretel is absolutely adorable...it was even more than what we expected. We had a great time relaxing in the hot tub and also in front of the fire. The manager was so accomodating.
The basket and the chocolates on the pillow were a great added touch. We will definitely come stay at the Hansel and
Gretel again. thanks for a great vacation. Sent to owners email & in the guest book at H&G**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

This was one of the best weekends ever!
Your cabin is so beautiful and just what we needed! Thnaks for sharing your
peaceful getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

Well we made it all the way from Marina Del Rey on our Harley motorcycle. What a Darling Cabin:). I feel that
we just stepped into a Children's Storybook "Hansel and
Gretel". Had a great time and Thank you for sharing your
sweet cute cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 7, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

Thanks for sharing this wonderful cabin with us, We especially enjoyed the frequent visits from the wildlife,
and the clean quiet neighborhood. Best Regards,

from guest book at H&G.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

"OSO GRANDE" we call it, the natives call it Big Bear.
We come here to celebrate adventures.. After the snipe hunt
proved unsuccessful we ended up in the hot tub, two buck
chuck star gazing at each other.

from guest book and h&g cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

The most charming and romantic cabin we've seen in our lives, in the true spirit of Grimm brothers enchanting tales. we absolutely love "Hansel and Gretel and we'll
definitely be back!!

guest book at cabin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

What a great place to escape to relax and study:)Thank you
for the gift basket and for making things so easy! I hope
to return one day wity my boyfriend for a romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 28, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

MY BOYFRIEND AND I SIMPLY FELL IN LOVE WITH THIS CABIN. THIS TRIP WAS THE BEST BIRTHDAY & ANNIVERSARY GIFT EVER,
AND THIS CABIN WAS THE BEST THING ABOUT IT. THANK YOU
FOR THE MEMORIES!!:) WE CAN'T WAIT TO PLAN A SECOND TRIP
HERE TO THE HANSEL & GRETEL CABIN.
from h&g cabin guest book

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review