reviews for: listing #83658 - Pacific Beach, California Condo rental

Oceanfront - Walking Distance to Everything!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $805 - $1,715 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

The condo was great!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

Email from renter:

"The condo was great! The check-in process was clear and straight forward. No issues. The instructions in the condo were very helpful.

Excellent location. Literally steps from the beach. We walked down to Kono’s every morning for breakfast. Watched the sunset every evening. One day we went to Disney (1.5 hr drive). Close to shopping, bars and restaurants.

Place was clean and tidy for arrival. Pool, hot tub, and grounds were clean. Bed was very comfortable. I would rent this place again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice condo

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

"Thanks Nicole. We enjoyed our week. It was a nice condo in many ways."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect...

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

"We had a great time and the unit was perfect. Our sons moved to Pacific Beach last December so we will be visiting San Diego again and will let you know when we plan to be in the area. It was a pleasure to work with you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT CONDO-AMAZING LOCATION!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Above all, the location of this condo is incredible. It is right on the boardwalk and steps to the beach. It is also in the heart of PB, close to shops and so many dining options. There is a grocery store (Ralph’s) just a few blocks away to buy all of your groceries if you aren’t the type to go out and pay for every meal.
The condo was recently updated and very clean. There were plenty of beach toys for little ones, an umbrella, and towels to take to the beach. The building was nice and quiet-great for families and no loud parties. The pool is very basic but my three year old was happy with any pool. The beach is right out the front door so I can’t see any reason to spend too much time at the pool! There is a parking space but this is so central you could get by without renting a car.
The ONLY downside was no ipod/iphone dock and the stereo in the unit didn’t work. If you are used to having music on all the time like we are, you might consider bring one with you.
I would highly recommend this condo for anyone but it is a WONDERFUL spot for families!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

great condo at great location

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

great condo, everything very nice. We stayed in this building before but in a different unit. This one has partial ocean view which was great. The location is awesome, everything is really close but the building is very quiet. Nice pool and hot tub. I think we are coming back if we can!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good location, convenient to everything

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

Convenient location on the beach, but if you have young children, be advised that there are quite a few steps to navigate to walk down to the beach. Also, like many places in San Diego, there is no air conditioning and in warm weather, the living room can get too warm. The bedroom was fine......there are fans. The only other complaint I have is that the bed was a little soft and not that comfortable. One more thing........the pool was only in the shade and never got the sun. The property was clean and well maintained.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice condo - Great location!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My family and I stayed in this unit for seven days. It's a nice, quiet little condo and was perfect for our needs. The location is just perfect - you can walk to all the neat stuff on Pacific Beach. The condo is just a short and easy drive to/from the airport. Once you walk out the front of the complex you are just feet from the boardwalk and the beach. People are out taking strolls, riding bikes and enjoying the beach right outside. Great restaurants and shops are just a short walk away, as is Crystal Pier. We only used our rental car for day trips, as everything we needed was within a 5-10 minute walk from the condo. When you can walk everywhere, you cut down on all the wasted driving time (and the "searching for parking" time - parking is scarce across the whole area). The unit was clean, well-appointed, comfortable and had everything we needed. The sofa sleeper opened up right next to the window where you got a nice ocean breeze. Our boys (ages 7 and 9) were so excited when they saw that the unit included two boogie boards for their use. You get a beach view from the unit, just as shown in the photos. The heated pool was also nice. We had zero issues with this condo. For those with kids: We found that having everything so close was a HUGE plus - no long drives to/from beach, no long walks carrying stuff to/from the beach, no long drives to/from restaurants, no long waits for tired, hungry kids. We absolutely felt that we got to enjoy more of our vacation time because we did not waste so much time driving around. We can't wait to go back to Pacific Beach, and we will certainly check to see if this unit is available again when we go back. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location, Accurate Photos, Perfect for Couples

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

This condo is in a great location, right on the boardwalk and across from the beach, just north of Crystal Pier. The building itself is a bit outdated, but very quiet. The pictures of the interior of the condo are accurate and everything (furniture, carpet, linens, etc.) seemed brand new. The kitchen is well-stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc., although, we didn't use it much because there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. There are quite a few supermarkets as well though, so if you wanted to eat in, it would be very easy to do so.

Having never been to the area before, we relied heavily on Yelp's mobile app to find local restaurants and weren't disappointed. And while a lot of activities were within walking distance, having a car was nice for short trips - Del Mar, La Jolla, Coronado Island and downtown San Diego are all within an hour. We also took a few extra days and went out to the desert, which was an amazing 2 1/2 hour drive through the mountains.

One drawback is that there is only one key for the main door of the building (the unit itself uses a keypad lock), so if you are there with someone else and don't want to spend every moment together, you have to leave the key for the other person in the lockbox. You also can't leave beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, etc. out in the hallway per condo rules, and there really isn't a convenient place inside the condo to put them either, so we left them in the car instead of lugging them up and down every day.

Definitely note the low height clearance in the garage. The rental agency ran out of compact cars and gave us a minivan, which fit in the spot, but the trunk lid couldn't extend fully. Not sure if a larger SUV would work.

All in all, it's a great choice for couples who want a beach getaway with nightlife, shops and restaurants nearby. There isn't a ton of storage space for clothes and suitcases, so I think two adult couples for a week would be a tight squeeze.

Also, the woman from the rental agency was great - very helpful and responsive to all of my questions, even on the weekend when she was out of town.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

If you enjoy parking your car for the week (underground even!) and walking/running on the boardwalk, shopping in Pacific Beach and visiting all of the great beach restaurants, you won't find a better location. Right on the beach, ocean view, contemporary design with beach chairs and ocean breeze - we will be back again next year!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review