reviews for: listing #83856 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Beachfront Condo, 2 BR 2 Ba sleeps 6, 3 Pools 7 4 Tennis Cr
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Saida Towers
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $159 - $359 /nt
    $995 - $2,150 /wk
    $2,300 - $2,300 /mth

sort by:

Beachfront Condo #356868

Review submitted: August 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

This condo has a beautiful view of the ocean. Quick and easy walk to the beach! Very nicely decorated and has everything you need. We have 3 kids under age of 13 and they all loved staying here. There are 3 pools in the complex, which the kids loved. I highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were pleased they enjoyed there stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Easy way to enjoy the beach

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

Great location. Great view. Easy to check in and check out. Swimming pools were nice too. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We were pleased they enjoyed their stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extended stay

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

We really enjoy Saida properties, and come for at least a month.The grounds are well maintained & security is very nice. We walk to Isla Grand, and Gabriella's for restaurants. The unit has pretty much whatever you need if you plan to cook. The view from the balcony is wonderful.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: We were glad they emjoyed there stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

This place is a great area if you want a great view and well maintained. The condo was in a great location. We really enjoyed the stay. Condo was clean, beds were comfy and place was quiet. I enjoyed sitting on the patio. It was very roomy. Owner was easy to contact, when making the reservations.The only thing that was a little bit of a problem was the fridge , it was not cold enough to handle extra groceries and having to go and get towels. It should be stocked up with how many days you are staying or at least for 2 days at a time ,instead of having to go everyday to pick some up.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

I give my review 5 stars, because the condo was exactly as advertised. It certainly isn't a "5-star" destination, but made for a great family (2+2) vacation. The building is one of the older ones around, but has been updated and kept up pretty well. The view, and the sound of the surf were both nice. The beds were comfortable, everything was clean when we checked in. We brought our dog, and there was plenty of room to exercise him and let him do his business. There were a couple of things we had questions about, and Ron (owner) answered them extremely quickly. The condo is within walking distance of a couple of restaurants and shops, which was handy. The kitchen was roomy enough, and pretty well equipped. Obviously not gourmet-type equipment, but certainly adequate for a family vacation.
There are a couple of tiki bars by the big pool, one of which serves decent burgers, hot dogs, etc. The other has a bar, owned/operated by a couple of retired couples (Kelly, Boogie & their brides) with reasonably priced drinks and friendly service.
We forgot our tennis rackets, but one of the tower's check-in desks had free rackets and tennis balls to check out. Four centrally located tennis courts.
There were lots of families at the 4-bldg Saida complex, so always someone available with whom the kids could hang/play.
Our first trip to the Island, but we will be back and hope to stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased they enjoyed thier visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Condo

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Our family just got back from a wonderful stay at this great condo. The condo was actually better then expected. It is beautifully decorated and the beds are comfortable. There were plenty of dishes, pots and pans for us to make some home cooked meals. The grounds are kept to perfection and all the pools are very nice. Ron was very accommodating and answered all questions quickly. It was great to stay in such a comfortable place and have the flat screen TVs, wifi and even a recliner for my husband to enjoy. Our family enjoyed surf lessons while at SPI and my husband and the girls went bay fishing and caught plenty of fish which we took to Pirates Landing to have cooked. We will definitely stay at this condo again. The view was terrific and we all enjoyed the great patio furniture as well. Wonderful trip and wonderful condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased they enjoyed there stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WE HAD A BLAST

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

My family and I had the most enjoyable time in this lovely condo. I was very impressed with the complex, the cleanliness of the unit (this is a biggie for me), and convenience to everything. It was an easy walk to the pool even with carrying all of our stuff. The margaritas from the Tiki Hut were fantastic. I was sorry to have to leave. If you are looking for a great place to stay and a very understanding owner, this is the place for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad they enjoyed staying in our condo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WE HAD A BLAST

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

My family and I had the most enjoyable time in this lovely condo. I was very impressed with the complex, the cleanliness of the unit (this is a biggie for me), and convenience to everything. It was an easy walk to the pool even with carrying all of our stuff. The margaritas from the Tiki Hut were fantastic. I was sorry to have to leave. If you are looking for a great place to stay and a very understanding owner, this is the place for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased that they enjoyed there stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place all around!!!

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Everything was wonderful as far as the condo, location, owner, etc.
I would love to make room 250 an annual stay.
*****HIGHLY RECOMMENDED*****

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Owners response: The guest meant room 205 not 250.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best family location in Padre!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Our family just returned from a great family vacation in S Padre at Saida. We enjoyed the location, the condo, the beach and all the condos had to offer including tennis and the pool/hot tub.

We stayed 6 days. We took two dogs, who truly enjoyed all the attention they received from everyone at the complex. This place is incredibly pet friendly. Plenty of grassy areas, that are kept extremely clean and manicured. There are doggy "doo" stations at three separate areas, making it easy to walk them.

We loved the condo! Decorations (right down to the sea shell dishes) are all reminders that you are at the beach! The condo was very clean, beds extremely comfortable and the patio furniture was great for morning and evening relaxation.

The only negative that we could even mention was the fridge and Island Services. The fridge was overwhelmed by all our drinks and food, we had two coolers that we kept drinks and ice in. It just allowed the fridge the opportunity to only keep food/meats cool. There is no ice on property, but a convenience store is in walking distance, so no biggie. Island Services is the property management company. It is NOT within walking distance. You pick up your keys and exchange laundry/towels there. It was just easier to wash them ourselves downstairs. When we called to question the fridge working They hung up on us twice, but the owner was contacted and the matter resolved literally within minutes. Great owner - easy to work with. Avoid Island Services at all costs, really rude.

Everything you need, restaurants, convenience stores, souvenirs all within walking distance. Everyone in the condo complex was extremely friendly. We never heard any of our neighbors. The view cannot be beat. Weather was great, only rained for a few hours one day.

We took our 14 yr old and 17 yr old. We felt very safe allowing them to walk around. There is a security guard 24 hrs at the gate. You must have a code to get in from the beach and the street. The kids made lots of friends - great family place.

I just want to note one more time how great the condo owner was. From making our reservation, to answering our emails before, during and after to our leave.. Made us feel like their place was our place.

We will definitely return - hopefully many times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are pleased they enjoyed there stay and will probably replace the refrigerator.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

vacation

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

excellent location comfortable beds clean rooms felt like home

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: we are glad they enjoyed their stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome view!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

One of the best places to stay if you want an awesome view of the ocean and easy access to the beach and amenities. The place was big and spacious and the beds were indeed comfy except for the pull out couch which we did not really need. Complaints (though) we would most likely put up with it because of the above positives are shower pressure was nil and in the master it was hard to get the shower to work at all plus we did run out of toilet paper. The refrigerator does not close properly even after you think you have closed it so are drinks did not get cold. The serving utensils are very old and have burned a bit and have turned into lumps of spoons. we did not know that there would not be paper towels or dish soap (another trip to the store) and the water (which is that way everywhere you go) smells and does not taste good (another trip to the store for bottled water). Also there were no directions on how to use the tv and controls and the dvd player in the living room and no info about the island and things to do or places to eat. All of these complaints could easily be fixed but they really did not effect our trip and our main focus which was enjoying the beach and the pools which we did!

Owners response: We were very sorry to hear about all the concerns they pointed out even thought they enjoyed the over stay. Many of these issues could have been easily resolved it they had called me or my property manager. I have a property manager that that reason.

Let me address there concerns. I would have to agree that the water pressure in the building is not real high. I had it tested to make sure that it had not worsten and it was in the normal range. This has been our first mention of water pressure. The water is the same water that is supplied to the entire valley and I do not know what to respond about the smell.

The toilet paper & dish soap is supplied by my property manager and is available at there facility daily if needed.

The utilitils were all purches new last year. I will have to see what happened and if necessary replace them.

The instructions for the TV and DVD are in the dest a few feet away.

It is disapponting to us that these were issues that concerned them.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Getaway!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

For the past 7 or so years my sister, a friend or two and I have met at South Padre Island for a relaxing getaway. We come from all over, San Francisco, Chicago, Austin so we kind of expect a lot for a short vacation. We usually stay at the Radisson or the Peal, but this year we wanted to try a condo. This place was fantastic!!! The price difference was about $75 – 100 more to stay here for 3 nights and totally worth it!!! We had a great time and so much room!!! The king size beds were very comfy, we had tons of pillows which is a must and two bathrooms. To top it off we couldn’t have asked for a better view! We started and ended our days on the balcony. So nice to sit outside and relax listening to the waves.

We usually got out to eat but this year my sister picked up some food and on the spur of the moment she would whip up gourmet food. She likes to cook so have at it, nice to have a full kitchen!

The location of the unit was ideal. We liked the second floor, high enough off the ground to feel save and yet easy access to the beach and pools, great location. Just can’t say enough good things about the place!! Loved it!! The grounds of the Saida were well kept, clean and whenever we saw staff members they were very friendly and respectful. We also felt very safe here.

The owner was very responsive and helpful when making the reservations, couldn’t have been easier. Thank you and I do appreciate that! We only received 1 parking pass when we checked in (after hours), I had asked for 2. The security guard at the gate was very pleasant and helpful and gave us another pass.

The only complaint I have is that there was not enough toilet paper, we only had one dish towel, no sponge or dish rag, no paper towels or dish soap. I’m sure if I would have called and inquired they would have delivered the items needed. I had to run to the store, which is close, to pick up a few things and just got these as well, not a big deal. I was so pleased with the condo and relaxed that it didn’t bother me, no inconvenience.

We will definitely be back! Loved the place!!! Might even bring the kids one of these times, I know they would love it too. I would just have to be ready to give up my girls getaway. Hmmm… we will see… Thanks for letting us rent your wonderful condo!! We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: we are pleased they enjoyed there stay. Will address the shortage od toilet paper.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Will Be Back

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

My family and I had a great week in Room 205. The view of the gulf from the balcony just can't be beat. It is a 5 minute walk from the room to the beach. The condo was very comfortable and had everything you would need to feel like it's your, "Home away from home". I have been going to SPI since I was a child, and have stayed at a few different places on the island. Now that we have stayed in this condo, we would rather not stay anywhere else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unforgetable Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

It was the 1st time we were renting a condo for a vacation and it could not be easier, the owner contacted me right away, explained me the deatails and in a few minutes the rental was approved.
Perfect location, near the beach exit, near the pools and on the 2nd floor (easy to access via stairs and elevator).
The balcony view is superb. The condo is really spacious and has everything you need even wireless internet and an adorable décor, very well maintained.
The security at all Saida is very good
I was concerned about a review a read that said tourist without a car but we actually had to travel with 2 cars and the owner requested for us a 2nd parking permit and we did not have an issue, we parked in front the building.
Saida Towers are very near (walking distance) Yummies (where we took breakfast every time we stay at SPI) and Gabriella's (Dinner evry time we stay at SPI but is closed on Sundays) ..... a friend recommended a restaurant for dinner Cafe Kretzel (or something like this not wlaking distance from Saida) we went on Sunday night and it was beyond and above aour expectations, the place has this concept of slow cook everything prepared at the time and the wait was worth.
We all had a great and unforgettable time. Looking forward to stay again at this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

would stay here again

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

great conds o with excellent view. The saida I tower is the closest to beach. Owner is quick to respond to inquiries and booking info.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is what we strive for.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

padre 2012

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We loved the location & had such a beautiful view. The pools & tennis courts were great. The beach was beautiful. We were there with our 4 children & it was perfect for all of us. Unfortunately it was the Nationals spring break & the place was crazy with teenagers & 20's drinking & making noise. Not the stuff we wanted our kids to see. Stay here any other time than spring break, unless you like the party scene & noise. I would also recommend replacing carpet & have someone do a dusting of the woodwork & furniture. I will say that we called about a couple of things broken & they were immediately fixed.
We had a great time & would return at a different time of year!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

February 2011

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

The view from this condominium is excellent. It is nice to have a completely natural view of the Gulf. Other buildings in this complex don't have the nice view this one does as they are further from the Gulf although still beachfront and easily accessible. Two of the buildings provide a side view of the Gulf. We loved listening to the ocean even while indoors (remember to be green and save our resources by turning off the heat/ac!) One of the 3 pools is heated and is quite comfortable even when outside temperatures are in the 60's. There are some minor maintenance issues (missing towel bar, frayed carpet, missing wands to operate blinds) but overall for a rental condo unit this one is a definite WIN! If you plan to cook much, be sure to take pot holders as they are not provided. Other than that, I found just about everything I needed in the kitchen. Sofa and loveseat are very comfortable which was a surprise as they are rattan but of very good quality. I was disappointed that the condo had not been cleaned when we arrived at 4:30 or so but a quick call to the property manager brought a cleaning crew out in less than 40 minutes.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: As they mention, texas spring break is not a great time for families to be in South Paqdre.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Close to the beach & great ocean view

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Everything went well. No problems at all. There were plenty of towels, cooking supplies, etc. And most importantly for us, the condo was really close to the beach and the view was excellent from the balcony as well as the master bedroom and the living room, and was just as depicted in the pictures and advertisements. The weather was great, low 90's, and the water was very pleasant.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We strive for this type response.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great family getaway

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

My family and I had such a wonderful time in South Padre. The view of and access to the beach from your condo is awesome! The location is convenient to everything on the island. Parking was a breeze. Having the security gate and guard on duty at all hours gave us that extra sense of security that made us so much more relaxed. The condo itself was so comfy and spacious. It's well-maintained and nicely decorated. We also enjoyed having access to the pools. We definitely will keep this condo in mind when planning our next trip to SPI.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is what we want all of our guest to experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

South Padre Island Texas

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

Great unit right on the best part of the beach on South Padre Fantastic view and just a few steps to the beach. Comfortably furnished with everything you need and plenty of room to spread out.
We've beennto this property several times and this unit ranks among our favorites. Mm

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: .

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best Condo I ever stayed in

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

I am so glad we stayed at this Saida condo. I loved the balcony views, especially in the mornings. My friends and I spent a weekend in April enjoying the sun and the sea breeze. This condo was our base of operations for us and helped me explore SPI.

The interior of the condo was great! Clean, stylish, it seems like it has a brand-new design. My friends and I loved the dining room and little things like the palm tree legs. The condo was more spacious than our four guests would have needed.

The kitchen was nice and we used it for a couple of meals, mostly breakfast. The free high-speed internet worked great.

As much as I loved the inside of the condo, I will say my favorite part was the view. I mean WOW!! I've stayed at 3 Saida towers before I made this trip but this unit was the very BEST! The view of the Gulf, over the sand dunes, with nothing the balcony and beach, it something worth traveling for. It's awesome to see the natural beauty of the beach.

The condo complex shares 3 pools - each have a hot tub. I'm a big fan of hot tubs so I loved having 3 ones within a 2 minute walk. I left my shoes at the condo and let my feet enjoy all the sand.

There are a couple souvenir shops located right next to the condo complex. I walked to McDonald's once. The parking was convenient and free. I always had a spot available for my car right in front of the unit. I drove to the beach and had an easy time finding the condo.

I recommend checking the multi-story go kart track out that's open at night! My group of adults of loved it!

This was the single best experience I've had staying at a condo. I speak from about 20 stays in condos. I recommend this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review