reviews for: listing #83910 - Fort Lauderdale, Florida Studio rental

ocean manor
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Manor
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $395 - $770 /wk
    $1,295 - $2,900 /mth

sort by:

Amazing view! Perfect vacation

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We stayed for a week. The room was exactly as presented on the web site. It was perfect for the two of us. The room was clean and had everything we needed. It had a perfect view of the beach and the sunrise every morning. The beach was beautiful and not over crowded. We were close to everything we wanted to do. We did rent a car and drove to Miami and Hollywood Beach. We were also close to many attractions and really enjoyed the air boat tour at Hollywood Park. There was enough kitchen utensils to allow us to actually cook a few meals in. We ate at the Bahia Mar Cabana which is write on the water. Delicious food! We also enjoyed the Old Key Lime House in Lake Worth. We enjoyed coffee on the balcony every morning and a comfortable bed at night. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Great Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

After reading several reviews on the Ocean Manor Resort, we were somewhat hesitant to rent in the building. The building definitely shows its age and the hotel staff is OK. However, this particular unit was great! You don't have to deal with checking in and out with the hotel staff. It was VERY clean with fresh sheets, towels, etc. The room did not smell stale or stuffy. Tomiko, who met us upon arrival, was very informative and helpful. The unit is very comfortable and has all the necessities needed for a week long vacation. The location is great. There is a grocery store, liquor store, and Dunkin Donuts all within walking distance. There is no need for car unless you're planning some sightseeing. We just were interested in a simple "beach vacation". The balcony has beautiful views of the ocean just like the pictures in the listing. The tiki bar was a great spot during some of the thunderstorms and the food was good and reasonably priced. Only downside was that you couldn't bring your own cocktails down to the pool or private beach area. If you are crafty, you can find ways around that like we did.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Clean - Great View

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

First off I want to say that renting this unit was very easy, the owner and property manager went above and beyond answering any & all emails.
The property manager met us at the unit and walked us through. The unit was very clean & cozy, just right for my husband and myself.
The view was outstanding, it was wonderful to sit out on the balcony and have breakfast every morning.
The Tiki Bar was great, very convenient & the food was awesome. They gave great service and were very friendly. In addition the restaurant in the hotel was very good as well.
A few downsides - the hotel does not let you bring your own beach chairs or umbrellas (which the condo does provide) The hotel charges $5.00 for each beach chairs & $10.00 for umbrella - per day. If you have your own beach mat, I would advice you to bring it.
A bigger downside was the noise level in the hotel, people coming back for the night - screaming in the hallways, loud banging - every night. Very disruptive and uncaring of other people trying to sleep. Unfortunately, we didn't sleep much - which is something we look forward to on our vacations.
Overall, I would return to this condo - it was clean & updated and the beach and view were amazing.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: First of all,
Thank you for visiting & staying my unit.

I am so sorry to hear you had noise problems during your stay. specially from next door guests.(the day you left , You mentioned that)
I want all my guests enjoy their holiday without problem.

For future guests--please contact/call hotel when similar incident happen.
they have a security at the hotel. Owners of units &hotel we all want guest enjoy their stay.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


The Perfect Vacation!!!

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

The best vacation so far!! me and my boyfriend were staying in this studio for 2 weeks in october, we had such a great experience, owners were very friendly and helpful, especially Tomiko was soo nice and always was happy to help! Thank you so much, Tomiko! Domo Arigato!!
studio was exactly the same as on pictures, view from balcony was gorgeous, balcony has chairs and tables, we enjoyed out breakfast or evening tea there. studio has small kitchen, plates, pots, silverwear and everything needed for cooking are there, very convenient to have breakfast or some dinners at home, if you would like to save money on food. plenty of towels,basic amenitiest, has beach chairs and beach umbrella in a room, if you would like to go to a different beach very helpful to have those. location was great as well, 7 min drive to las olas blvd, 10 min from pompano beach, and next to hotel are plenty of stores and food market..also bus stop across the street,parking is included in a stay, we didnt bother to ask for valet parking, you can park your car yourself. tomiko will give you a parking number.
overall the stay was pleasant and we enjoyed every minute of it. we didnt try All you can eat Lobster in Tokyo Blue Restaurant downstairs, but there is a very nice restaurant next to hotel, Greek Ireland, cheap and good :)also 10 min walk there is Italian Bakery, must taste the desserts, so delicious.
we will be coming back for sure!! cant wait for our next vacation!! Highly recomend this appartment!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6


Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

I apologize the initial review got sent before I finished.

After much debate if we should stay in a hotel or do a vacation rental , the room at Ocean Manor won.

The communication between the owner assistant and I was amazing. They had no problems answering all of our questions and concern.
Upon our arrival we were met by Tomiko, she showed us up to our room. It looks exactly like the pictures. It was clean and up to date . It contained:
-1 Queen sized bed
-1 table with 2 chairs
-Stove top
-Full Bathroom
-TV /DVD player
-WIFI( amazing signal)
-Chairs for outside
-Plenty of towels
-Basic supplied

We did not rent a car and had no problem getting around on transit which stops in front of the building. It is across the street from teh grocery store so shopping was not difficult.

Tomiko was very helpful in answering our question about attractions and how to get around.

My boyfriend and I appreciated the easy access to the beach. They don't like you bring drinks and stuff down so we put our towels and drinks in the bag and went. There didn't seem to be any problem. The restaurant downstairs had a "all you can eat " lobster night for $40 a person. Great way to start out vacation.

There were some minor repairs that needed to be done,we informed the owner of this and they were having it taken care of right away.

I can't wait to go back !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7


The perfect place to relax and unwind

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The owners were welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. I would highly recommend this rental for a couple or couple with a small child.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Excellent location on the north side of Ft. Lauderdale. Since the condo is not located on the public beach, its quieter and less packed, giving you more opportunity to enjoy the sand and water. Condo is as stated in the description. Previous reviews for the resort were discouraging and in some cases, I can see why, but this private unit was everything we expected. The owner has taken great care is renovating the unit and you could not ask for better accomodations, especially for the price! Owner is very friendly and will go out of his way to accomodate you. the unit has a great view of the ocean on the second floor. Valet is covered in your rental and the staff was very attentive. Grocery, shopping, food all within short walking distance. If you are looking for a rental for you and your significant other, this is an excellent deal. Not 5 star accommodations, but still very casual, comfortable and very economical. Dont be scared off by other reviews of the resort, this particular unit is great! This end of the beach is more family-friendly and quiet, if looking for more of the party atmosphere, you may want to look further south to the central beach area. Only negative is that the resort wont let you bring chairs, umbrellas, or coolers to the beach. You have to rent chairs and umbrellas daily and you are "supposed" to purchase drinks at the tikki bar. Its a money-making scheme on the resort's part, but im sure you can think of creative ways to get around the drink rules, like my fiance and I did.

Good description of the unit:
Studio with queen size bed (comfortable), new tile flooring, sofa, desk, nightstand, granite counter tops, chairs and tables on balcony. Decor is almost all from IKEA- lighting, faucets, etc so its pretty nice. Also has an open closet with some hangers and extra linens & towels.
Kitchen has fridge w/ freezer, full sink, two-burner glass top stove, plates, glasses, utensils (although more knives for food prep needed), spices, towels, some small pots and pans, toaster oven. Bathroom is nice, including the shower. Had soap but needed shampoo and conditioner. No daily housekeeping, so its up to you to tidy up.

Again, if you are looking for top of the line everything this place is not for you. But, if you are looking for a nice place to lay your head at night while you roam the shops and beach during the day, this is the perfect unit for two. I would return for a second stay and I would recommend to my friends! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


3 Weeks in Ocean Manor never again

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

We have spent 3 Weeks in this apartment. When we arrived the room wasn't cleaned very well and the bed sheets were already used, half of the lights were not working. The room could be much nicer when everything would be better quality and taken care of. The Kitchen is more for decoration then to use. The bed is too small for two and the sofa is very unconfortable. The bathroom is far away from newly updated. The switch to choose to shower oder to fill the bath is removed, so you can only shower.

Once the owner came to our room while we were out without letting us know before!!!! This was really disturbing for us. Especially my wife felt very unsafe after that. His behavoiur when he came early on a Sunday morning!!!??? was quiet arrogant and he can't understand why people complain about the condition of the room and the hotel. In his ad on vacationrentals his discribes it as freshliy renovated which is clearly not the case.

The Ocean Manor resort is in really bad condition.The standart is of a Travelodge and not 4 star at all. The pool was most of the time green, the beach dirty.

The view is nice but as soon as you open the window (which can't be locked)the odor from the Tiki Bar Kitchen fills the room with smell of oil.

The fast internet and the nice TV in the room we really appreciated.

We wouldn't rent it again nor recommend.

Owners response: my answers are
1. we hire clean ladies each time and they wash everything from plates,glasses,cutley and bed sheets,towels, bed covers and others. We asked cleaning ladies about his complain . They said they cleaned and washed everything. Guest told us that the sheet was not washed and found hairs . But the complain was made 5 days after arrival date. so I could not check the fact. I asked the other owner who hire same cleaning lady for few years . He never had a problem with her.
2. I do not enter to the room without guests permission. -I entered guest room only 2 times for repair since I started rental.Both case I had a permission from guests.Yes I entered the room during this guests stay. we changed all bolbs (guest was in the room )after guest complained. But closet light was still not working. I called electrician. He calle the day We went in (He called me and told me that he could come that afternoon & he was going away for 3 weeks.) I called guest 4 times that morning -no answer.Electrician was at the hotel for other work .I thought I 'd better ask him to fix( I thought it was quick fix)so I did enter.I thought it is important to fix .I was with him all the time and stayed only closet area.(upon request of guest to fix)
3.We have not fixed drainer cover . We will have few days vacant days this month. so it will be fixed.
4.I renovated kitchen and bath rooms few years ago.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Great Condo for 2!! Wonderful Views!!

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

This condo is perfect for 2. Wonderful views of the ocean, pool & resort!!! This condo was clean and very comfortable. Everyone was very friendly, the owner, valet & staff!!! Everything is in walking distance, shopping, grocery store & resturants. We stayed at this condo for 2 weeks and had one of the best vacations ever! We can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Great stay!!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Flew down for the weekend to celebrate a 40th bday!
Studio condo was fully equipped from beach towels to dishes. Clean and comfortable. We felt safe.
We were able to walk to supermarket and restaurants and the bus was right at the door. The owner was very helpful during our stay and answered all our questions about where to go and how!
We loved being right on the beach!!
We would come back again for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


Right on the beach- great!

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

The Studio has everything, is well-equipped, has a nice balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean- just a few stairs from the sand! The owners really went out of their way to make us comfortable and were constantly making sure everything was working (and it was!), phone, wifi, cable tv, etc.
The beach and ocean are spectacular and there is a nice lively tiki bar next to the pool- you just have to decide where you want to dive and sunbathe!
I would recommend the place both for young and less young!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Not what we expected

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We rented the unit for 6 nights but left a night earlier because it wasn't as great as portrayed. The unit has been remodeled but you need to slam door to shut it. Lots of rust and decay in corners of all doors (bathroom and door entrance to unit). Large hole forming in outdoor balcony wall. Service elevator (to use luggage cart) tile is broken and broken pieces left there for you to step on. Tokyo Blue is a restaurant in hotel that has parties on weekends so don't plan on sleeping as you will here music and screaming til 4 a.m. as we did Friday and Saturday night. We left and went to Fort Myers for 2 nights when we found out there was another party on Sunday night down there. No internet connection in room, which we were told there was. You have to go down to lobby. Little to no cell phone reception in hotel at all, especially in room, so you need to go outside to get a clear phone conversation. Had a drink the first day we were there in Tiki bar and was charged $11 for a well drink in a small dixie cup. Went to several other restaurants and wasn't charged near that price for the same drink. Pool was extremely cold, not heated at all. Very disappointing.

Owners response: I am sorry to hear this.

Yes. The guest called me and told me they were leaving -a day earler. . They said It was noisy at the weekend so they went to ft myers.
I did not hear from guest so I thought everything was fine.
I try to do best to give a clean unit and comfortable stay for guest .
Sorry this happened.

1. Entry door and bath room door---yes entry door is bit hard to close
It is already planned to replaced all doors by hotel/association .
Bath room doors --we try to give spotless unit .the door is fine but not new .

2. balcony hole?---we just had all hotel balcony freshly painted this month. We noticed the worker left one part of corner unfinished (we did not have this till worker did painting work this month)we already notified to hotel to patch /fix it back .

3. internet /there is wi-fi. -- we never had a complain. actually we had business people stayed recently and they said the reception was very good no problem to use computer in the room .will check and do put box as well.

for Cell /tel--- all beach area there (not only ocean manor)---some cell company do not have a good reception
I have a varizon and works very well .Depend on cell company.
So I provide unlimited local and long distabnce call .

regarding noise

I did not know tokyo blue had a big event that weekend .will check with hotel about this -

Helpful votes: 4 / 5


Can't Wait to Come Back!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

This Condo was absolutely beautiful and super clean. Hotel has nice restaurants and a busy Tiki Bar. Everything is close and convenient. Despite all the horrible reviews I read, and questioned whether to stay here or not, All I can say is What the hell are there people talking about? Hotel was clean and undergoing renovations, even with renovations we couldn't hear anything.This unit was great, fridge, stove, bathroom and balcony were spotless. We spent 6 days with our kids (2yr old, 6 month old baby)and had a blast. What a breathtaking view each morning on the balcony with a coffee and breakfast.
We are definitely coming back later this year!!!
Thank You So Much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


Wonderful Condo For Two

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

This condo was amazing for couples I recommended it to so many people I was really happy with everything there was two restaurants in the place where you could go eat at as well there were a bunch of stores surrounding the area and it was rite on the beach. I was so happy that it came with a fridge mini oven and a stove. Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Wonderful Condo For Two

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

This condo was amazing for couples I recommended it to so many people I was really happy with everything there was two restaurants in the place where you could go eat at as well there were a bunch of stores surrounding the area and it was rite on the beach. I was so happy that it came with a fridge mini oven and a stove. Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review