reviews for: listing #8405 - Stowe, Vermont Condo rental

Cozy Mountainside Condo
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mountainside Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $250 /nt

sort by:

Wonderful week of skiing

Review submitted: March 7, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Terrific week. Great location. Just the right size. Small and easy to keep clean. Comfortable. Warm. Great gas fireplace.

No surprise fees. Very nice owner.

You have to walk up & down two flights of stairs.. but we didn't mind. You have to drive to Mt. Mansfield/Spruce.. but we didn't mind.

Highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Pleased

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 2, 2014

Somehow we missed in the review that this was the bottom unit in the building (the 2 flights of stairs mentioned take you down to floor 1 of 4 floors), or I might not have rented it -- the people above us were VERY noisy and running and thumping overhead throughout our stay. The stove and cookware could use an update -- the burners are spotty in their performance and the teflon pans are scratched and flaking. And the mountain wasn't as viewable from the porch as I'd expected from the description. But everything else is exactly as described -- cozy, comfortable, no hidden fees, owner & resort-office easy to work with. I'd likely give other condos consideration if we return to Stowe again.

Owners response: I am sorry your stay at my condo was not as pleasant as you had hoped. I appreciate your comments so that I can make improvements to ensure future guests are very satisfied.
I have notified the resort; they will replace the teflon pans and check the burners on the stove. Just prior to your arrival the condo was "deep cleaned" by the resort and the burners may have loosened in the process. I have prioritized my update list to include a new flat surface stove; the resort is also looking into that for me.
While I have no control of other guests, I do know that the staff is very attentive to guests' needs. I have checked with the resort's guest relations manager and am advised that, if notified, they would have requested the occupants above to be more considerate of those below. They would also have sent maintenance to check the stove. Guest can also call me directly and I will contact the resort.
The building sits on a mountainside with the main parking area being two levels above the condo. In my email response to each inquiry, I specifically state, "the condo is down 2 flights of stairs, no elevator."
The condo can also be accessed from a parking area below, by walking up a grassy hillside without having to encounter any stairs.
The pines have obscured the mountain view in the last several years and I have changed the verbal description to reflect that. The picture of the view from the deck, was taken in the last 12 months, and gives one a more realistic idea of the view. The good news is, in order to protect their property from damage, the neighbors plan to remove the pine trees this fall, and the mountains will be very visible above the hardwoods.
Thank you again for the rental and your comments.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this very cozy, well equipped condo. The condo was spotless and had everything a renter would need. We were lucky with the weather so we were able to hike and drive around to look at the foliage, but we still found time to use the pool and the hot tub. Being able to play the movies available at the condo and borrow others from the front dest made the evenings entertaining. Hope we can find time to go back again. As one renter said the stairs are a bit much but we are in our seventies and we were able to handle them ok. We looked at it as a good workout!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Visual Delight

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Your condo is a visual delight! The renovations and decorating are wonderful. Many relaxing hours were spent on the porch in the comfy of the new furniture. We have had a great week seeing the sights, going for walks on the rec path, and enjoying the many good restaurants.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Perfect

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

We loved the condo. Perfect for two people. This is the second time we came to Stowe and your place was absolutely perfect.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Early July Stay

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

The condo is really lovely - obviously recently renovated, and very comfortable for two. Wonderful large deck with great new porch furniture for lounging. We were in Stowe during the Balloon Festival, and could see them from the deck once they were up in the sky!

Great location - only a few minutes from the Toll Road and the rest of town. Across the street and behind the Stowe Motel gets you onto the middle of the rec path. Yes, there are lots of stairs, but it's good exercise ;)

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I chose this condo based on other reviews and couldn't have been more pleased. The owner was responsive, accomodating, and extremely helpful; the entire transaction from initial request to full payment was simple and efficient. After traveling all the way across the country, when I finally arrived the check-in was quick and the front office staff friendly and organized. The condo itself was immaculate, looks exactly as described in the photos, and is perfectly furnished with everything you would possibly need including pots and pans, dishes, etc. The bed was great, and the view was lovely out of all three windows. It's also located within 2-5 minutes of everything in Stowe.

Some of the other units got terrible reviews and I was really glad I didn't read those first or I would have passed on this. This particular unit is not a party pad; it's a home that the owner allows travelers to rent and enjoy. You may wish to note that this unit is down three flights of stairs (it's still on the mountain side with great views). I had no problem, but if you're elderly or have mobility issues you may wish to ask the front desk staff to lend you a hand getting suitcases down to the unit while you're checking in. Thanks for having me; I can't wait to go back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo in "heaven"

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

Thank you again for letting us share your condo in "heaven." We enjoyed sitting on the deck and smelling the crisp Vermont air. We will be back soon when the trees start turning color in the fall. This is the second time that we stayed here and hope it won't be our last.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Week

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

Thank you for letting us use your fantastic condo. We have stayed here 2 years in a row and have no desire to ever stay any where else! We loved the rec path and the hiking. thanks again; we will return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for Us

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

We had a great time staying here in Stowe. The condo was just perfect for us and our two small children. Loved the convenience of the location and we will definitely be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable and Quiet

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Wanted to thank you and let you know we loved the condo and had a great time. The weather was beautiful. The condo was so comfortable and quiet. It was so nice to have the balcony to have coffee and a late night drink on. Hope to get here again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect summer getaway

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

This was a great place to stay with so much to do in the area in the summertime. Easy access to Stowe recreation path. Stoweflake Spa right across the street. Just perfect accommodations for a couple with two young children. Nice mellow CDs, good books for reading. We especially enjoyed the patio overlooking the playground. Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect honeymoon!

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Stowe, VT and loved everything about this cozy condo. The condo was tidy and well-equipped for our needs. It is conveniently located near Mount Mansfield and downtown Stowe. We enjoyed hiking Mount Mansfield, biking on the bike path, eating in some of the local favorite restaurants, and kayaking on the Winooski River. Our 2 1/2 week stay was just not long enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible 2 weeks in Vermont

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

We enjoyed an incredible 2 weeks in Vermont. Your condo is cozy and comfortable; well equipped for a relaxing stay. We loved the location - so close to Mt. Mansfield! We could not get over how perfect our vacation was and your condo really made us feel at home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Place

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2009

What an awesome place you have here. It's comfortable and cozy. The location is perfect to get to everything easily. We look forward to coming back in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: January 17, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

Excellent location - very close to the downhill skiing at the Mountain, yet private and quiet. Best X-country skiing right across the road, at Trapp's Family Lodge. Great bakery there as well. Well-maintained resort amenities, big pool, jacuzzi/sauna is especially nice after a full day of skiing. Condo is just the right size for 2 (with 2 small kids). Very well equipped kitchen, full range of entertainment possibilities. Gas fireplace makes the room warm and cozy - it is the best!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: August 20, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the condo. All amenities were provided,so we didin't have to cary extra things.
The location is convenient to Stowe center as well as other
recreational places. Close to the bike path and well as within walking distance of several stores. The view is lovely and the porch is a nice place to spend some quiet time. The pool and spa and availability of washer and dryer were a plus. Having the extra room to move around in rather than a motel/hotel was a novel experience that we liked, and are more likely to go this way again. If we stay in the area again I would not hesitate to come here again, or recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Summer Paradise!

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 7, 2008

This is our second year in this condo and we hope to be back next summer!

The place is in a great location and was the perfect size for our family of four (we slept in the bedroom and the kids slept on the fold-out sofa). The Stowe balloon festival launched right across the road and the rec. path (biking, walking, river wading) is a short hop away. We all enjoyed swimming in the pool and lounging in the hot tub. And the playground and tennis courts are right off the back deck, so we could keep an eye on them without leaving the comfort of the deck.

We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Summer in Stowe

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

What a Beautiful place to stay! The condo is very clean, comfortable, and well equipped, which made our first get-away with an infant such a pleasure. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the deck and looking out over the mountain, pushing our little guy on the swing just steps from the door, hiking on nearby trails with the baby in a backpack, and strolling through the quaint little town. What a perfect weekend!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review