reviews for: listing #84085 - Playa Potrero, Costa Rica House rental

Casa Cerca de Mar (close to the beach) ocean view
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Surfside Estates
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $4,550 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

House is exactly as described. So comfortable and pretty. The location is about an hour away from Liberia Airport. It was perfect for us four single ladies on a birthday vacation. The locals were super friendly. Saioa was a rock star! The owner was a pleasure to deal with. I highly recommend staying here. My friends and I would definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

3 of my girlfriends & I stayed for Memorial Day weekend. The house is exactly as described. We felt very safe and well taken care of. Saioa is amazing. She gave us so many recommendations, replies to her emails quickly, & is super attentive. The locals are so friendly & helpful. The house is comfortable, clean & about an hour from the airport. We hired a chef just for breakfast & he was great. We had the most amazing time & can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place for a vacation!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Casa Cerca Del Mar. The house was exactly as described. Our family of eight adults had a wonderful vacation. The owner answered all our questions quickly, the housekeeper Sylvia was very sweet, Benito the groundskeeper took care of the pool and Saioa was very helpful with suggestions and information. If we needed anything she was a phone call away. We rented a couple of golf carts to take us around the area and had a delightful time exploring at our own pace. We visited Del Sol down the beach and the swim-up bar which is beautiful. The restaurants were very good and yet we cooked our own breakfast most days and a couple of evenings. The Shack restaurant has great food and friendly service. The house was just so lovely and comfortable, the terrace on the third floor was beautiful to watch the sunsets. Our kids had such fun zip lining and ATVing. We couldn't have asked for a better experience and nicer people to make our vacation very memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful home and great location for Guanacaste operations!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Sylvia, Benito and Saioa were all wonderful. One of the drains was loose on one side of the kitchen sink (No big deal by the way) and I mentioned it to Saioa and within 10 minutes Benito was knocking on the door. In the land of mañana that is some pretty impressive service!

Your house is beautiful and the accommodations were perfect for the 8 people we had. We cooked all breakfasts and a couple of dinners in the kitchen and it had everything we needed. I can't think of anything I can even tell you that may have been wrong with the house or suggestions to improve. We loved it just the way it is. The a/c's kept everything cool and it was over 100 degrees several days while we were there. Even when we shut them off when we left in the morning, we would arrive in the afternoon and the house was still pretty cool and once the a/c's ran for 15-30 minutes it was perfect again.

I want to go back. It's only a 2.5 hour flight from Houston so no big deal for sure. All of the roads from Liberia were very good and many were brand new. Costa Rica is definitely a step above any other Central American country in the amount of organization and cleanliness along the road ways, etc. I have done business in Latin America my whole career and have spent lots of time in many different countries and Costa Rica is special.

Thanks again and we hope to be calling you up again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We stayed at Casa Cerca Del Mar for 10 days in early April 2014 and had the time of our lives! We had 8 people who all slept comfortably in this great house. We used the pool almost every day and were able to watch Monkeys and iguanas in the trees a few times from the pool. The upper lookout deck views are amazing! The daily yard man, Benito, and the house keeper, Sylvia, were super kind and did an awesome job keeping us comfortable. We loved the secluded feel of the house, even though there are neighbors, it feels off the beaten track. We will definitely recommend the home to friends visiting the Guanacasta region and hope to come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Vacation in Costa Rica

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

Our family just returned from a wonderful vacation in Playa Potrero where we found the house to be family friendly and just steps to the beach. Instead of renting a car we were able to hire local drivers to take us to and from adventures and we had only a short walk to everything else we needed. Getting to know the local customs was important to us. The "house manager" Saioa made absolutely certain we were taken care of! It made the difference between getting top value for our dollars or not. We celebrated every day by watching the sunset from one of the upper decks. We recommend this place for anyone seeking a tranquil time away from the bustle of the heavily used tourist areas. Our thanks to everyone involved in making this trip so special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

We recently took our entire family for a fabulous vacation in Costa Rica. The group included our two daughters and son-in-laws, as well as our 16 month old and 8 year old grandchildren. Casa Cerca Del Mar was perfect! The house was clean and well kept. We enjoyed having enough space for all of us to lounge. We spent many hours a day swimming in the pool in the beautiful back yard. Morning coffee poolside and a glass of wine watching the sunset from the "crow's nest" were some of my favorite times. We also walked down the beach and visited the local hotel to enjoy the swim up bar almost every day. It felt like a private beach to us and we spent some mornings watching our grandson fly his kite. We quickly felt part of the community talking to neighbors and the friendly restaurant owners. We did not rent a vehicle, but even with our large group we were able to rent rides to do a few excursions with the help of Saioa. None of us were ready to leave. In the words of our grandson - "best vacation EVER - this is paradise!".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect house by the beach

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

We enjoyed all the comforts both inside and out. We were able to relax by the pool after our days adventure. We always picked a restaurant that was on the beach nearby or in Playa flamingo, so that we could enjoy the sunset and relax to the sounds of the surf.
Soia was great. She gave us perfect directions to the house, recommended a car rental company that would accommodate our early departure. On the morning we were leaving she even met us at 2:30 am. She had maps to all the local restaurants and stores.
Potrero beach is calm and great for swimming and kayaks which there were two that we could use. The boys wanted to surf so we headed to Tamarinda (which also has lots of touristy shops and places to rent boards. We liked Blue Trailz for renting, you could switch out the boards without extra cost or hassle. Then we discovered Playa Grande which my son loved the best for Surfing. Playa Grande is great for surfing and boarding, not much else happening there. We rented boards and umbrella and enjoyed the day on beach.
Casa Cerca Del Mar was a great place and location to enjoy and explore Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Cerca Del Mar

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Our two week stay at this fantastic home could not have been better. Thank you so much Tom and Saioa for the care and attention provided to this home and your guests! We were 6 retired friends who enjoyed the Potrero Surfside life for two weeks and can't imagine anyone who would have complaints about the great house and grounds (thanks to Sylvia and Benito) or the fabulous proximity to the beach, restaurants and convenience stores. Costa Rica hospitality is second to none. Vendors like Flamingo Tours, Miguel and Kevin's amazing catering services, Super Wendy's, The Shack, La Perle and hotel Bahia Del sol were among those who made us feel very welcome. This was a fantastic vacation and it all started at Casa Cerca Del Mar

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Great Home away from Home!

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

This was a fantastic vacation home. The Manager, Maid, and Grounds Keeper were all friendly and trustworthy. This was our 4th annual vacation to Costa Rice but our first to Playa Potrero. There is a lot to do within the area all within walking distance. We chose not to rent a vehicle this time and got along just fine. When we did find we wanted to adventure out further then we could walk, making transportation arrangements were easy and reliable.

The Vacation House is exactly as described, we were delighted with the layout and having separate bathrooms for each bedroom was great. The house was well equipped for just hanging out all day and if you wanted to cook there were plenty of kitchen supplies as well as an outdoor barbecue grill.

We enjoyed our 2 week stay. The only downside was when our vacation ended and we had to leave.

We would rent this place again in the future and recommend highly and have already to our friends and other family members.

The location of the house makes it simple to just stay and enjoy the local area and the ocean is truly just steps from the beach. We are so glad we found this place on VRBO and that it was available for our vacation. We cannot give this place a high enough rating. If you choose to stay here you and whomever you go with will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Luxurious, spacious, &perfect for relaxing reunion

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

Something for everyone in our extended family reunion! We enjoyed all the comforts inside and outside. Walking on the beach, hanging out poolside, kayaking, BBQ dinners on spectacular deck overlooking beach...we loved it all!
Everyone wants to return soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great vacation!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

It's taken me a while to make the time to review this place but it needs to be done.

I don't know where to start! Everything was fantastic!

Saioa, the property manager, was very knowledgeable and helpful in pointing us in the right direction. From where to eat, shop, sight-see, dive shop, car rentals... she will have a answer for you right away.

The property itself was immaculate and very well maintained. The house was clean, huge (there was only 4 adults), and had everything we could need. The maid went above and beyond, doing our dishes and the laundry of those that left anything on the floor.

A typical day would be to get up later, 8ish (we were on vacation after all), have a Costa Rican coffee (1812) or two and plan the day. Since we had a car we'd usually go somewhere else (Tamarindo, Potrero, Coco Beach, Arenal [2 day trip], Flamingo Beach). We'd stop at Wendy's Grocery and the butcher next door for some fresh meat and supplies on the way home. Once back we'd start the BBQ, have a few beverages (Centurio, Imperial) and a swim, cook, eat, few more beverages, and then retire. Next day was always stressful as we just kept on doing the same thing.

The local eateries and watering holes were fantastic, met lots of great people, some that live only 100KM away from us at home! We spent a few afternoons just sitting watching the waves and relaxing while we waited for the always spectacular sunsets.

When we were there the wind was fairly bad so we didn't get to go deep sea fishing or scuba diving. Just a couple of more reasons to go back as far as I'm concerned. It did make playing in the surf a lot more fun though.

I'd definitely recommend this place to anybody. You can be as busy or relaxed as you want.

We'll be going back, but this time just my wife and I. It was cheaper and a lot more relaxing than any resort we've been at.

If you don't have a great vacation here it's your own fault. ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

El lugar perfecto para ir

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Tuvimos la posibilidad de ir a esta casa a finales de mayo. Estaba buscando una casa que tuviera la posibilidad de poder tener a todami familia (9 en total) y ademas que nos permitiria llevar a mis perros. Eso y mas lo encontramos en esta casa, ya que tiene todo lo que se puede buscar, desde una buena cantidad de cuartos, asi como la sala en comun, las terrazas y la piscina, las cuales te dan la posibilidad de tener una union con las personas del viaje que no te daria un hotel en ninguna forma. Especial agradecimiento a Saioa, quien es lamanager del lugar que te trata como si fueras de la familia. Realmente les agradeces todas las ayudas dadas durante nuestra estadia. Les invitamos a visitar este maravilloso lugar con una ubicacion enviadiable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great stay

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

This is a great house in a great location. No sense of disappointment when we walked through the door. Quite the reverse. Everything ran very smoothly as the open site manager was excellent. We chanced the rainy season and were glad that we had a great retreat when the weather was unfavorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect place to get engaged

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our stay in Costa Rica was incredible. The house was everything we expected, Saioa was accommodating in every way possible and the rest of the staff was fantastic. Beautiful beaches,friendly people, sunsets that cannot be described,our stay was one of the best family vacations ever.
The perfect place for our 25yo old son to propose to his girlfriend....... she said YES!!!!!!
thanks to Tom, Saioa, the rest of the staff and all of their insight and recommendations, a truly memorable vacation

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First time travelers to Costa Rica

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

Our trip to Costa Rica was beyond our expectations, beautiful country and friendly people! Great & comfortable house and we really enjoyed the swimming pool to relax and cool down. The house is very close to the beach, excellent local restaurants in the area within walking distance such as The Shack (excellent breakfasts), Maxwells (their hamburgers are to die for), Spain Restaurant just the down the road, Las Brisas, Bahia Del Sol, Coconut. If you like wildlife, there is a family of howler monkeys that can be seen from the backyard. It is fun to watch them jumping from tree to tree and the adult monkeys howling and rounding up the babies at dusk! We really enjoyed the neighborhood and met several friendly neighbors. Gorgeous sunsets can be viewed from the crow's nest and 2nd floor patio. Tom and his staff gave us a lot of ideas of things to do in the area and also kept the house and compound in tip top condition. We would highly recommend Casa Cerca Del Mar if you are visiting the Guanacaste area of Costa Rica and we will definitely rent the house again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

We recently returned from a month's stay at Casa Cerca Del Mar and a fabulous month it was. The house was all it was advertised to be and then some. It is located in one of the best spots on the Pacific side of the country with easy access to most beaches and towns that you'll want to visit. The house itself is perfectly designed for a short or extended stay with all of the comforts and utilities of home. During our stay we had many visitors including children and grandchildren and the four bedrooms and bathrooms accommodated us all with no stress. We loved our morning swim in the ocean (about a one minute stroll from the front door) and our kids loved to frolic in the pool as well. The owners couldn't have been more helpful (filling us in on all of the local sites and eating spots) and their staff made us feel like royalty. There is a property manager who exudes friendliness and was always immediately available to answer any questions or help schedule any needs. She was most helpful in arranging immediate and highly competent medical assistance when our daughter had a brief spell of food poisoning. The twice-weekly housekeeper and daily groundskeeper were equally nice and friendly. We have rented through VRBO before and this rental was right up there with the best. Rent it if you can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home. Excellent Location. Excellent Service.

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

It hasn't even been a week since we were at Casa Cerca Del Mar and we already miss it.

From the moment we inquired about this property we had nothing but excellent customer service. Tom, the homeowner, has set everything up so perfectly we didn't have to worry about a thing. Saioa, the property manager, was wonderful and took care of our every need. Benito was the friendliest and even showed us where to get the best fish to grill at home.

The home was amazing and had everything we needed. Plenty of room and more for our family of 6. We traveled with our parents and our two children. The little ones loved going back and forth between the beach, which was only steps away, and swimming in the pool. The adults loved that we could kayak whenever we wanted and Benito even helped roll the kayaks to the beach.

A beautiful home and the perfect location to explore Costa Rica. We absolutely recommend Casa Cerca Del Mar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

In Love....

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Everything was amazing!!! The house is comfortable and well equipped with everything you'll need on vacation from a blender for adult beverages, a gorgeous ppol, laundry facilities on site and comfortable furnishings!

Our favorite part of the trip to Costa Rica was exploring all of the beaches easily accesible from the house on foot, by bike or with a rental car! Finding Playa Concha was an ABSOLUTE treatl!!

Saioa, Benito and Slyvia was wonderful!

Thank you for sharing your home and you'll be the first to know when we come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful family house!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Excellent location!! The beach is just steps away. The housekeeper and groundskeeper were wonderful and the reality company was excellent. Best of all the house was perfect for our family. My wife and I are in language school in Costa Rica and our grown children came to visit. We have two kids and one is married with a baby. The other's girlfriend came and there was plenty of room for everyone. There are four baths!! The master suite upstairs was wonderful and the view was great. The pool is perfect for kids or for the family at the end of the day. If you're looking for a family retreat that is close to numerous attractions and beaches but away form the big tourist areas this is the spot. The price is also very good for the quality that you get and in comparison to other similar properties. We had a wonderful week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Hi Tom, we just came from the beach.We loved Casa cerca del Mar. We had a great vacation. The house is amazing, well equiped and maintained. Saioa was very helpful and nice. Hope to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great vacation!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

What a vacation! We loved the house. Nice to have private baths with each room- very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the beach and great to have a private pool! Everything was easy to get to. Just a short walk to great restaurants, grocery stores, fruit stands. and beaches..The owner even helped with a private chef so that we could enjoy the sunsets while our meals were prepared. The zip-lining was awesome! I would recommend the snorkeling tour on the catamaran. It was spectacular! We will definitely return to this wonderful house and great vacation spot in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We stayed at this property for a week after my daughter's wedding near Liberia. My family of 8 adults and 1 child were visited by our new family one day and we had a great time at the pool getting to know one another. The house is as advertised; spacious, clean and well equipped. The house is approximately 4 km down a stone road with many good restaurant choices. There are numerous beaches that each have their own benefits. Unfortunately the red tide was in during our stay so we used the pool every day. We also took the boat to Palo Verde which was excellent and did some offshore fishing catching snapper for dinner.

I would highly recommend this property and Saioa, the property manager, was most helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your generous review of Casa Cerca Del Mar, "The House Near The Ocean." I am sorry about the "Red Tide" you encountered during your stay. It is an algae over-growth that occurs naturally from time to time in coastal areas around the world. Fortunately, it is rare on Playa Potrero, and I'm glad you were able to make full use of the pool during your stay. Thanks Again, TOM...OWNER Casa Cerca Del Mar

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

La Casa es su casa

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

For those that want to experience the essence of Costa Rica...the PURA VIDA... this is the place for you! My family of four has stayed at La Casa Cerca del Mar twice. Once when our two children were 8 and 11, and again when they were older teens. Playa Portrero and the surrounding areas provide a great mix of exciting, outdoor activities, and more leisurely, relaxing opportunities. With the beach only a short walk away, we played in the surf a few times a day, and even at night. We used the bikes, provided with the house, to ride to local markets, shops and restaurants, and the house's kayaks enabled us to explore the variety of beaches and snorkeling spots. When we heard the calls of the howler monkeys in the morning, we knew that Benito, the gardener, had arrived with fresh coconuts for drinking. The kitchen at the house is clean and well designed and we used it to cook with the foods we bought at local markets. On our second visit, with a larger group of 8, we hired a local chef to cook dinners for us, using fresh fish and produce. The sunsets, seen from the third floor observation deck, brought everyone together before dinner. The owners of the house have a great talent for interior design and have furnished the house with comfortable, pretty and efficient furnishings and amenities. We had fun excursions with Quad Adventures, zip-lining and twice, we hired a dive boat to take us scuba diving. The overnight trip to Arenal Volcano was really a highlight of our second visit. We also enjoyed day trips to Tamarindo and the village of Brasilito. The people are friendly and we felt safe and welcome. This is a great house in a wonderful, tropical location and you'll feel like La Casa, es su casa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place To Stay!

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Casa Cerca Del Mar was an excellent vacation home. Very nice accommodations and well set up for guests. There were 6 of us (3 couples) and can very comfortably accomodate 8 people. One of the best vacation homes that we've rented. Pictures are accurate. Home is very clean and well maintained inside and out. Yard is very nice and the pool was a welcome break from the heat! Saioa the property manager was very helpful and provided us with a variety of resources for tours and other activities. The location of the property is a little remote, however there are several good restaurants and a couple of small grocery stores ($$) within walking distance. Definately need a car or arrange for a driver to go to a larger centre for groceries. Overall we had a great time and the accommodations were excellent - would definately recommend it!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Del Fabulous

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

We stayed in the house for seven days. There were four of us. It was in January. Weather was great every day.The house is incredibly comfortable and roomy. Each bedroom has a full bathroom. Beds were very comfortable. The house looks just like the pictures on the website. Maid service and yard care regularly occur keeping everything clean and neat. We used the kitchen appliances and stove. Everything worked great. It helped save money to spend on tours and activities. Grocery store and restaurants near by. You don't need a car. Restaurants came and picked us up. Taxi if you need to get somewhere. Tours picked us up at the house. Caretaker helped set up an emergency dental appointment. She was great. Caretaker also set up for someone to come in and cook a fabulous Sea Bass dinner at very reasonable cost. Scenery was spectacular, ocean near by and the pool was in regular use. I can't imagine a better deal for the amenities and size of the house. Lot's of trees, plants, flowers and animals all around. Fruit stand near by. We had lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. People of the area are incredibly friendly and helpful. It was our first time in Costa Rica. We loved it and look forward to another visit. We have had two friends stay at Casa Cerca Del Mar and that is where we got the recommendation. It really lived up to the reference we got. What a great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Cerca Del Mar

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

We found the property extremely well cared for and maintained. It was all the photos showed, and more. The location couldn't have been better - so close to the sea! It was quiet, peaceful, and gorgeous. The layout of the house was very efficient with plenty of room for everyone. We liked that there were many restaurants close by, and booking excursions was done easily in Playa Flamingo, very close to Playa Portrero. The property manager was so very helpful and handled each request quickly and much to our satisfaction. Everyone we dealt with was really friendly and accommodating. We can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Cerca Del Mar

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

We found the property extremely well cared for and maintained. It was all the photos showed, and more. The location couldn't have been better - so close to the sea! It was quiet, peaceful, and gorgeous. The layout of the house was very efficient with plenty of room for everyone. We liked that there were many restaurants close by, and booking excursions was done easily in Playa Flamingo, very close to Playa Portrero. The property manager was so very helpful and handled each request quickly and much to our satisfaction. Everyone we dealt with was really friendly and accommodating. We can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Why stay in a hotel when you can stay here??

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

To say that our stay in CR was amazing is an horrible understatement. The house was amazing, had all the ammenities and was unbelievably clean, well stocked, and comfortable. The people that took care of the house were incredibly friendly and helpful. Being right next to the ocean was so nice! Even though we cooked most of our meals there were a couple of restaurants within walking distance we tried out to our delight! One of the really pleasant things about this house is that it's located within walking distance of just about everything you could need or want. We rented bikes, jet skies, snorkeled, fished, kayaked,shopped, ate, drank, swam, slept, sunbathed, and danced the nights away. There is nothing like dancing in the rain, swimming in the ocean during a rainstorm or playing in the pool while above you monkeys are playing in the trees. I can't recommend a place to stay any higher than this house,,, gotta warn you though,, the cow bell you hear in the morning,,well it really is a cow right outside the front door, just strolling down the street!!! We loved it and can't wait to return. The only bad thing about the house is that we enjoyed it so much that we don't really want to stay anywhere else but we want to see more of Costa Rica,,, talk about being stuck between a rock and a hard place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tranquilidad, comodidad y buen trato

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Fuimos de paseo en Mayo tan solo un fin de semana pero podríamos habernos quedado por mucho más tiempo porque la atención es excelente, la ubicación también y la casa es super cómoda y estaba muy limpia. La vista desde el deck es muy refrescante y la comida en el bar-restaurante al final de la playa "Las Brisas" es super rica.

Muy buen lugar para hospedarse.
Gracias Saioa por el buen trato.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Potrero House near Flamingo Beach

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

This rental home far exceeded our expectations. We only stayed one week in Feb 2011 but wished we had booked it for longer. We were hesitant to rent the house since there were no reviews (on line) of people who stayed there. The house is one house from the beach and we often had the entire beach to ourselves. Many locals came out around 5pm or so to enjoy the magnificant sunset. The kitchen had all we needed to feed the 7 of us, but we did take advantage of some of the local restaurants. The blender got used alot! The last few km are on a gravel road, and there are several small grocery stores and a bakery (but its closed on Sundays) and the banks and ATM machines are only a few km away. The pool area was cleaned daily and we made good use of the outside patio. We enjoyed the wireless internet in the evenings and played in the pool and it was great to have some English channels on the tv. When we had a problem with the internet it was resolved the next morning. The BBQ was great to have and we cooked a few meals outside, after a BBQ you should expect an entertaining visit by the local raccoons. But they run at the first sign of movement. Having a washer and dryer really helped to keep our towels clean since we spent so much time kayaking, (two kayaks come with the house for use), boogie boarding and just playing in the surf. The beach is clean and gentle waves perfect for young families. The pictures do not do this home justice! Our maid, changed sheets and cleaned the house one day and even brought us a typical Costa Rican breakfast one morning with rice and beans. She was so sweet to spoil us! We were all sad to leave. We are planning our next family vacation to Costa Rica for 2012. I will definitely be calling to see if we can rent the house again, but this time for LONGER! It was perfect for a family get together. And there were many towns and beaches close by to explore.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review