reviews for: listing #84095 - Chicago, Illinois Apartment rental

Luxury and Value. City and McCormick Place. Skyline View
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  McCormick Place
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $275 /nt
    $950 - $1,650 /wk

sort by:

AWESOME LOCATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

We rented out the top apartment recently and were very pleased with everything! The location was awesome right by 35th/Sox stop on the red line and South Halsted Street was about 3 blocks away for the buses. The place had everything you needed a full kitchen with all the pots, pans, cups, utensils...etc etc. The roof top deck was great along with the fantastic indoor hot tub(make sure you crack the windows open in there it gets steamy!). The bathroom was fun also, HUGE shower and steam bath! We had 6 of us staying in the place and plenty of room for all of us. It is very nice that they have an extra half bath in the basement to use also. We didn't have a car but if you do they have a garage where you can park one car per unit. When we arrived the apartment was nice and clean and fully stocked. Kathy's Deli is right around the corner and Schaller's Pump is right up the street...great food at both spots!!! The owners of this building are wonderful and so nice! We all would love to come back and stay here again!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Long Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

My husband and I met "halfway" - me from Alaska and he from England - for a long weekend in Chicago. We absolutely loved staying in this apartment. The hot tub is great, the rooftop deck is great, and steam shower amazing. Situated about ten minutes S of the South Loop area, 5 minute walk from White Sox stadium and less than an hour by train from the airport. My only complaint would be I wish there were some restaurants closer, but you're so close to the bus stop and train station that we were able to get anywhere easily. We utilized the BBQ and full kitchen to make dinner and breakfast every day. Overall, definitely recommended. We had a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your very nice comments Phoebe. We do have a few 4 star restaurants in our immediate area, but most of our local restaurants are great Italian, Chinese, Mexican, or Pizza/sandwich places. I lived in the area for 17 years and for the days when you don't want 5 star dining, which is very available in our downtown city center, you can save a fortune eating in our local area and enjoy some great and authentic Chicago food.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Comfortable, Safe, and close to Downtown and McCormick Place

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

This apartment (upstairs) was perfect for our business trip. We were only a short drive to McCormick Place where we had a conference, and we were not far from other interesting spots in Chicago: Chinatown is just north, and the sights of downtown Chicago are a short five-to-ten minute drive. There are several lovely pubs in the neighborhood, and we felt safe walking to them. We went to Cork and Kerry at the Park, Shinnick's pub (which boasts the original old bar) and Schaller's Pump, a pub/restaurant from the 1800s and the friendliest staff around.
The apartment was very clean and comfortable. The shower was awesome!! We didn't use the hot tub, but we did go on the roof and the view was spectacular (although a bit cold in October). The stairs are pretty steep but there is a downstairs apartment run by the same person for anyone with accessibility needs. Bob was very friendly and helpful, and the apartment has a book with tons of information on the area and transportation. We had a car and parked on the street; there was always parking available and it seemed pretty secure. If you are looking to stay in Chicago for fun or especially for any thing at McCormick Place, this is a great choice!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

nice apartment, helpful owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We stayed at Bob's place for four nights in August 2013. Everything was as described, and Bob was incredibly helpful and thorough -- he even has a Youtube video orientation to the apartment. We enjoyed the hot tub and the large TV. Beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked. The neighborhood was very nice to walk around and we enjoyed meals at a couple of the local restaurants that Bob recommended. We were able to easily drive to downtown Chicago. We didn't try taking public transportation from the neighborhood as the L was under construction at the time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rental for my son's wedding

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

The Chicago rental was exactly what we needed to accommodate my son's family of six, my parents and my sister for my eldest son's wedding. The location was close to the wedding venue and many of the attractions downtown. The two car garage and parking passes were very helpful as we entered and exited the neighborhood during the White Sox games. The owners supplied both units with everything we needed! The video tours were most helpful prior to our arrival. I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone visiting the Chicago area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Homey feel.

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

My family had to be in town for a trade show and found Bob's home to be a perfect location for the venue. It was so nice to be back and able to relax within minutes of leaving McCormick Place. The hot tub was a definite plus as we unwound while talking over the day's events. The bedrooms are not large, but very comfortable. I actually slept better in my bed (middle room) than I do at home. We found ourselves feeling very at home. Sofa and recliner very comfortable for watching TV, reading or just kibitzing. Thank you, Bob. You are a gracious host. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great stay in Chicago

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

We chose the location for a family stay while attending an Oak Park wedding for our neice. We found the location convenient to travel downtown, to the museums, and to Oak Park for the wedding. This location offered a very comfortable stay for my family. We didn't use the hot tub, but used the steam shower system daily.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Near south side gem

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

Finding an affordable, convenient and secure rental in Chicago is a challenge when you are not familiar with the neighborhoods. Everything described in the listing was accurate. The owners provide renters with a video that details most things you need to know about the rental. Property was clean and well equipped. One parking space is provided in garage but street parking was always available in front of the building. The location has easy access to public transportation and expressway. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little something extra

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

I must say that Robert the owner has gone above and beyond to make you stay at this place as comfortable as possible. He has all the amenities, you really only need to buy some groceries to make your stay just like home. In fact our four year old was calling it his "chicago home" by the second day. There are maps, lists of local cuisine and train/bus schedules, games for the kids to play, satellite tv, a hot tub and a nice rooftop deck that you can see the city skyline from. We had a few questions now and then, and he always answered the phone immediately, and was very accomodating. It is only a few blocks from a trian stop, and only about a 5 min drive from downtown. I would recommend this place to anyone that would like a nice comfortable, convenient "chicago home" while on vacation. Matt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little something extra

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

I must say that Robert the owner has gone above and beyond to make you stay at this place as comfortable as possible. He has all the amenities, you really only need to buy some groceries to make your stay just like home. In fact our four year old was calling it his "chicago home" by the second day. There are maps, lists of local cuisine and train/bus schedules, games for the kids to play, satellite tv, a hot tub and a nice rooftop deck that you can see the city skyline from. We had a few questions now and then, and he always answered the phone immediately, and was very accomodating. It is only a few blocks from a trian stop, and only about a 5 min drive from downtown.
I would recommend this place to anyone that would like a nice comfortable, convenient "chicago home" while on vacation.
Matt

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

McCormick Place

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Was coming to Chicago for a trade show at McCormick Place with some family, and did not want to spend the week in a hotel. This place offered us the perfect place to unwind in the evening, take care of business, and put our feet up. More affordable than any hotel, more room than any hotel, and the feel of home that we were hoping for. 15 minute cab ride from downtown made it easy to go into the city for dinner in the evenings.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Rental

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this rental for a long weekend with another couple. The pictures and description actually don't do it justice. The unit was very clean and well maintained. Great decor and a lot of personal homey touches that made it very nice. The owners really thought of anything you might need to make your stay more comfortable. The shower with jets and steam was amazing! The hot tub was definately relaxing after a long day spent enjoying the city. Though it was a bit cool the roof top deck was quite enjoyable bundled up in one of the many blankets provided and had a fabulous view of the city skyline. The location is perfect. Nice quiet neighborhood. Far enough away from the bustle and noise of the city but close enough to hop on a train or bus for a quick trip downtown. There are also some great local bars and restaurants that we enjoyed within a few minutes walk. Though we had a car available we really could have gone without. The garage was great but there was tons of street parking. As far as the owners, wonderful to work with. Always available and provided tons of information on everything from shopping to restaurants to which train to hop on for the quickest ride to Navy Pier. We loved our stay! Highly recommend this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

We (four females in our 30s) had a great stay! The condo was clean and well-maintained, just as described and pictured. The owners were very helpful, sending information about the condo prior to our arrival and answering any questions we had. They also left a lot of information about restaurants, public transportation, and sight-seeing around the city. We were able to park our car in the garage for the weekend and use public transit (bus and train @ Sox/35th stop) to get around without a problem. Thanks for the great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

This condo was a perfect place for a girlfriend-getaway. We were within walking distance to the stadium and public transportation. The hot tub and roof deck were an immediate hit! Prior to our stay, the owners provided a large amount of useful information about navigating the city, including an online map. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation location. Very responsive owners and rental couldn't have gone any smoother. I would definitely do this again! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

What a perfectly wonderful find! We had such a good time in Chicago and the apartment made it all the better. It had everything we could possibly need with a few extra bonuses, definitely home away from home. Whether you are traveling by car or using public transportation, the location can't be beat. Look no further, this is THE place to enjoy your upcoming visit to Chicago.

Thanks so much, Bob!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

4 of July Week

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I could not of picked a better place for my parents to stay. The vacation rental was perfect. It included all the necessities needed, even more with the comforts and atmosphere of a home. The location was a perfect access to all transportation, and close to the U.S. Cellular Field. Parking was great with access to a garage. I would definitely recommend this rental. The price is worth it. I would like to thank both Bob's for sharing their apartment.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We found the property to be easy to find, very clean, and lots of instructions/information for guests. The hot tub was especially great to have! We liked that the property was so close to public transportation, which allowed us to get around easily without needing to rent a car. The owner was accommodating and answered a couple of questions that we had very easily. We also liked being so close to the ball park, as that was a main reason for our trip. Overall, I would definitely recommend this property to a friend, and would consider staying here again if we return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We found the property to be easy to find, very clean, and lots of instructions/information for guests. The hot tub was especially great to have! We liked that the property was so close to public transportation, which allowed us to get around easily without needing to rent a car. The owner was accommodating and answered a couple of questions that we had very easily. We also liked being so close to the ball park, as that was a main reason for our trip. Overall, I would definitely recommend this property to a friend, and would consider staying here again if we return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great time was had by all!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

We couldn’t be more pleased with our stay, everyone had a fantastic time. Our visit took place April 12-15 and there were six of us; my parents (early 50’s), younger brother and his friend (both 16), my husband and I (30). The layout was very conducive our needs, it provided the people who wake up early with places to go without having to worry about disturbing the others who were sleeping. Conversely those who stay up later could do so without having to worry about keeping the others awake who wished to sleep. We stayed in the upper unit and there was a large living room with two very comfortable chairs and a convertible sofa bed. Next to that there is a spacious dining room with a large dining table and a desk with a computer. The first bedroom is located off this room. Continuing through the condo you will pass the bathroom on you left. The shower is absolutely incredible, during our visit I took two showers a day just to enjoy it’s fabulousness. Once you pass the bathroom you will find yourself in the well appointed kitchen. It was very roomy and included a smaller dining table which was a nice surprise in addition to all of the things that one would expect in the kitchen. The second bedroom is also located off the kitchen. Both bedrooms are large and contain a queen sized bed which was very comfortable. There are also extra blankets and pillows in the closet. In the back of the kitchen there is a door to a landing which contains the laundry facilities and the entrance to the roof deck. The roof deck was spectacular, it included very comfortable furniture and provided panoramic views of downtown Chicago. The hot tub is located downstairs and is what dreams are made of, it was absolutely fabulous. There is a garage that can be used for parking but we just parked on the street during our stay and utilized the parking permits that Bob provides. The apartment is also conveniently located to several bus stops and the train is just a short walk away. The neighborhood is also very quiet and relaxing. There is also a selection of board games which were a wonderful surprise. Bob is a wonderful host who truly anticipates his guest’s needs and we will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent! So cosy and very clean

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

We stayed 4 days in this very cosy, well kept and so clean apartment. Location was good; easy walk to train station (we didn't have car)with easy access to down town Chicago. Can't find any negative issues about the apartment or neighborhood. Or maybe one; Our stay was too short! I highly recomend this unit to everybody who need accomodation in Chicago area - you won't be disapointed. Loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dkboltfamily

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay during our family vacation to Chicago! The location was perfect--we couldn't take advantage of the mass transportation offered, but with three small children, a short car ride to downtown was exactly what we needed.

The place was clean and accommodating. It had everything we needed--even small noise making fans! We appreciated being able to make cozy family dinners in the kitchen instead of lugging our family of 5 to a restaurant.

By the end our kids referred to it as our "Chicago home.". We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Conference at McCormick Place

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

While attending a convention taking place at McCormick Place I stayed at this property with 3 colleagues. We found the apartment to be very comfortable and clean. We appreciated the internet access and were also grateful to have the linens provided as well as coffee and tea in the kitchen, music and games. The hot tub was a special treat we enjoyed on our last night there. Bob was extremely helpful. He is very efficient and thorough and provided all the information we needed about the area and the public transportation. The neighborhood was quiet and it was an easy walk over to 35th street to take the Red Line North to popular Chicago attractions. We all enjoyed being able to leave the convention and return to relax at the apartment.

clean
comfortable
internet access
linens provided, coffee, tea, games, music etc
landlord very organized and efficient. Communicated frequently, provided good information re: area and mass transportation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Economical and convenient

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Four of us stayed in the 2nd floor apartment for the Chicago Marathon and were very pleased with our stay. The apartment's location is just South of Chinatown, making it convenient to travel by bus/train and in a less-expensive section of town for dining out, groceries, gas, etc. Bob was extremely helpful before and during our stay - providing very accurate descriptions of the apartment's amenities, location, and the general area. I highly recommend this rental - the price was right, what you see was what you get, and Bob could not be more helpful in making our stay comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great find

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

This apartment was perfect for my recent stay in Chicago for a conference I attended at McCormick place. We parked our car in the garage and never moved it the whole week. We were able to commute to the conference in less than 30 minutes daily using public transport and saved a bundle on parking by purchasing a 7 day CTA pass. The apartment was huge, clean, and had great amenities. We especially enjoyed the shower! It was so relaxing that we only used the hot tub once. It is located in a very quiet neighborhood with extremely friendly people. Bob, the owner, was great to deal with. He answered all of our questions very promptly and provided us with wonderful information. I would recommend this property highly to all and hope that it would be available if I am in the area again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

This is a large, nicely furnished apartment in a nice neighborhood. It is south of the city, but still easy to access. We were attending an event at the University of Illinois-Chicago and it was quite close. We had a wonderful stay. The owner is very helpful, the apartment was in pristine condition, the hot tub was delightful, the beds were extremely comfortable and all arrangements were efficiently handled. Parking was a breeze with a large garage out back. A stay could be handled without a car, however, as the public transportation was simple. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

convenience and

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

we are two girls and a guy who stayed in the unit for 8 days in April. Bob was very helpful in sending loads of information about the unit and visiting info.
Very nice place and good rates - the kitchen is very well equipped with everything you will need, shower facilities are clean and well maintained, and the convenience of laundry is an added plus! the only thing is that we booked a little late and could not get the 1st floor apartment and had to go on second floor, which meant hauling suitcases up a flight of stairs, but otherwise no complaints! will definitely consider coming back in future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Please see our other guest comments

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

Although this is one of our newer ads that began in 2011, we have been operating our rentals since October 2007.

Please see our many reviews at our other Home Away Listing # 225815

Here is one of the guest comments from our early days.

By Natalie, Las Vegas

This place is definitely a great bargain and well worth the money. I can say it is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed at. It is very big with all the extras you can imagine: big comfy beds, spa shower (like a massage), Internet, laundry, and more. It is a home, not just an empty rental. It is also VERY well stocked with necessities. It is in a safe neighborhood very close to public transportation. One of the biggest perks is the truly kind and helpful owner, who always answers his phone and helps you with anything you need. I'd stay for his helpfulness alone. I really recommend this place!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful neighborhood, Great apartment!

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

First off, the location is excellent! The apartment is very easy to get to from the interstates but located in a well-kept comfortable feeling neighborhood. The apartment was only about 10 minutes from the Field museum and other tourist spots. It was very easy to find our way back after a long day of sightseeing.

There is a little family owned store that was just around the corner that greeted us with a smile and were happy to answer any questions we had. The apartment came with a binder of local restaurants and delivery options that made dinners a breeze. It was so nice to know that these were the places to go and get good food without worrying about what you might find or the locations.

The apartment was spacious and so clean it was much better than staying at a hotel. We have 2 teenagers and there was never an issue of space or being too close to each other. The apartment had a very comfortable relaxing feel to it that made you feel at home right off the bat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, Clean, Friendly

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

I was on business in Chicago with the company I work for on an extended assignment (90 days). My company put me up in a nice hotel in the Oak Brook area. However, it was just that, a hotel. My family came to visit for the weekend and I wanted somewhere larger than a hotel room. Someplace that was clean and comfortable. Bob's unit fit the bill perfectly. We rented the 2 bedroom unit fully equipped with a large screen TV in the very spacious living room. It had a hot tub, a roof top deck, and a shower complete with multiple facets and a gadget that generates relaxing steam for those tired muscles. It was to die for! I have never met a host (Bob) who was so attentive to our every need many times before we even knew what we needed ourselves. I would highly recommend Bob's units and would stay there again in a heart beat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments Arnold.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

This was our first time using a vacation rental instead of staying in a hotel and we were a little nervous. It went REALLY well though and we would highly recommend going this route, especially for families with children. Bob was really easy to work with - always easy to get a hold of on the phone and he was very organized. Being from out of town, we especially appreciated all of the info he sent us ahead of time about public transportation, what to do in Chicago, and local restaurants.

The apartment was great - very clean and had everything we needed, including off street parking. It was quite spacious and it was so nice to have a dining room, living room and kitchen during our vacation. We especially loved the big screen TV! The key-less entry was also very convenient. We found the cost of the rental to be very economical.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. Thanks, Bob!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best place to stay in Chicago!

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

My fiance and I stayed the weekend here during one of the worst blizzards to hit Chicago. Bob could NOT have been nicer about the entire stay. He went above and beyond what was expected to make sure that we were able to enjoy our weekend. The house is so clean, filled with all the amnities you could want and we just can't say enough good things about the hot tub and shower. If you are in need of a place to stay in Chicago, look no further. You have found it. You won't find a better deal in the whole city and you get the nicest people to deal with during the process. Stay here - you won't regret it. Thank you, Bob and your staff, for providing us with a weekend we will never forget! We will be back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review