reviews for: listing #84109 - Portland, Oregon Condo rental

Charming condo in the best location. Walking score 98
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Nob Hill
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $110 - $130 /nt
    $700 - $800 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,600 /mth

sort by:

Wow! What a great deal!

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We finished a two month stay at this property just before Christmas and had a wonderful experience the whole time.
The condo’s top plus is its location on 21st St. in the heart of Portland’s tree-lined Alphabet District. Everything you need is within walking distance -- top marks for walkability. Portland’s A+ public transit system is also fully accessible with a streetcar stop a block and a half in one direction and a bus stop the same distance the other way. We drove to Portland but only moved our car about a dozen times during our stay.
The fifth-floor, 1 br. condo is gorgeous. It’s in a vintage 1911 building and most of the original character of this era is preserved in the building's 1996 modernization. The condo has original architectural details, a huge cast-iron tub (with shower) for long soaks, and a kitchen with all the mod. cons. including a working retro-look Pavoni espresso machine. The building has lots of character too, with a tree lined entrance walk leading to a beautifully preserved tiled main entrance. The building is serviced by an old-style cage-door elevator.
The condo is fully stocked with all your basic needs – many incidentals too. Included were wi-fi Internet access, cable TV and an Internet enabled blu-ray player.
The landlords were friendly, approachable, and available for advice, assistance, and to fix any issues that came up.
Our dog was happy too. Couch Park, with an unfenced off-leash area, was three blocks away. A long walk away, Wallace City Park offered a fenced off-leash opportunity.
Parking was not included and on street parking was not always available in front of the building, but the furthest we had to park was two blocks away. We were always able to get the car back in front with a little diligent observation. For a short stay, this will never be an issue: you will park it and leave it as the condo’s walkability is key.
Ours was a winter stay: the condo’s only negatives were original, noisy hot-water radiators that clanked a lot and slightly drafty old-fashioned sash windows. But the heat was plentiful and after all, Portland doesn’t really get that cold.
We do not overrate when we review. We reserve five stars for “heaven on earth” situations. But, if for you, vintage character is a plus and not a minus, if you consider this property’s extremely reasonable rental cost, and if you factor in location, location, location, it might easily be five stars.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo in a great location!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

This was an ideal place to stay!! Close to SO MANY restaurants and shops; 5-6 blocks to the MAX light rail; and in an area that felt safe and well populated with a truly comfortable mix of people...I loved this neighborhood! The condo itself is super clean and charming, in a meticulous, well maintained 1920's building with high ceilings and a lift elevator. The owner has filled it with everything you need for your stay, and is available should you have any questions, without imposing on your personal space. This is a reasonably priced rental, and you get far more than you would at a hotel. Yes, I would definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend Getaway in Portland

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with charming ambiance. Excellent proximity to great restaurants and shopping along both 23rd & 21st. Quiet location. Arrived via train. Not sure on availability of street parking as it seemed packed 24/7 & observed a notice on one parked car suggesting street parking would be further limited.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for hanging out with the locals

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We were very happy with this apartment and would stay there again. We didn't get to meet Amela - you can check in and out on your own - but she was helpful on email.

The apartment was very clean and very well equiped. Lots of space for two people. The wifi worked well. The building has a lot of character. The heating system was quite loud when it came on in the early morning and again in the late afternoon, but maybe this was because it hadn't been turned on since last winter. The laundry room in the basement is useful.

The location of the apartment is great. If you're a walker, you can easily walk to the Pearl, old town and downtown areas. But to be honest, for eating and drinking with the locals, you really are spoilt for choice up and down the nearby 21st and 23rd avenues. For further afield, the fantastic $1 streetcar/tram system is just a couple of blocks to the north.

This was our first time in Portland and we loved it. Picked up the first season of Portlandia on DVD and are looking forward to watching it! I do hope someone starts a direct service from London soon...

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Superb

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

Wonderful condo, fully equipped with easy access to streetcar, restaurants. Impeccable care of a very charming property that is fullly equipped. Would love to stay there again upon our return. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Superb

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay while in Portland. Easy access to restaurants, streetcar. Impeccably cared for property, fully furnished. Very charming. Only hope it will be available when we visit again!!!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Portland

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

A great place to stay....Amela and her husband were very
accomadating and the appartment was very clean, organized
and stocked with everything you need to feel like you were
at a home away from home including a bowl full of quarters
for guests to do laundry...the esspresso machine was a great
added feature! Within a five minute walk you have an abundanc
of restaurants and bars, a Trader Joes, Fred Meyers, a movie
Theatre and the heart of Trendy 23rd Avenue where shopping is
fantastic....a fifteen minute walk to the Pearl district and
downtown, where transit is free in the downtown area...We
would defenitely stay again and recomend to our friends...
the only concern is parking which can be a challenge if you rely
on your vehicle to get around...we found everything so close
we chose to walk to the rose garden, japanese garden, downtown
etc. and didn't actually need a vehicle except to visit the Gorge
and the Waterfalls which we would highly recomend.
Thank you Amela and Amir....Thank you Portlad

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Five Days in Portland

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

Spent five days in Portland and couldn't have found a more lovely and convenient condo to stay in. Upon our arrival, we were struck with the beauty of the entry way garden. The condo was very clean with a great deco theme. There were shelves of books with a variety of topics. The cookbooks kept me inspired for cooking and with the grocery store across the street, along with Trader Joe's a couple of block away, we never lacked for variety of meals. The dishes provided were more than adequate. The beds were comfortable with high end bedding. The condo was spacious. The contact with the owner was helpful and she provided information for restaurants, bakery and shopping. Would go back to Portland just to be able to enjoy the condo!! A great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great value and location

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

I highly recommend this apartment for its affordability and location. It is within easy walking distance to the streetcar (providing access to the Pearl District and downtown Portland) as well as multiple restaurants and shops. Our biggest concern was finding a parking space on the street; although the streets were full, we found one just outside the entrance and didn't have to move our car throughout our stay. The apartment building is older but my husband and I thought it was charming (particularly the elevator!). The suite itself was clean and had everything we needed throughout our stay. We particularly appreciated the thoughtful touches in the apartment, such as a container of coins for the laundry. Portland is a great city to visit and this apartment was the perfect background to a satisfying vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best four days in Portland area

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

We found this wonderful condo on the internet while looking for a place to stay
when in Portland. We like staying where we can fix meals, relax and have room
to move around comfortably. Amela was a wonderful host who corresponded with us
frequently. Upon arrivig at the condo, we weren't sure what we had committed to due to the age of the building, but upon entering the sweet condo, we knew we had
found a gem. It is not only "European" charming, but clean, comfortable and homey. There were lace curtains with orange and yellow pansies in the window boxes. Hardwood floors made the condo warm and welcoming. The beds and bedding
were top class. The kitchen was well supplied with dishes and cooking utensils
along with a little extra food which was so nice since we hadn't had time to get
to the store.We loved the extra cute dishes, cups and saucers. We ate at a built-in table and benches, fun. Amela had flowers on the table which added such a welcoming note.The only downside is the parking, but it wasn't as bad as we had
anticipated...it is on street parking and by some miracle, we easily found a spot. We could walk to the street trolley or we simply walked downtown for the day.We will definitely plan to return and would highly recommend it.

Patricia and Don

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great find in a charming city

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

The trouble with reviews are that if they sound too positive, the reader will not believe the writer is not a friend of and or the owner himself.

I have never been to Portland so I decided to take my son Dylan on a road trip before starts Berkeley this fall.
I chose and then contacted the owner at random. Amela was so energetic and full of ideas and so honest and trusting that I felt I had found the perfect place. It seems that I was right beyond my wildest expectations.
Once I parked my car, I did not need it for any part of our stay. Amela said it was convenient and that "The Pearl" area was the place to stay...it is. Close to anything and the free metro lines if you must, but why would you not choose to walk everwhere in this amazing city.(listen to her suggestions of places to eat and visit)
Anyway, as I was saying...the place is beautiful, it is a home, not a rental property. All the bedding and cooking and ESPRESSO MAKER are of superior quality we made breakfast and some dinners as well.
Husband Amir is really a great guy as well. He even designed some of the kitchen cabinets

The problem with a "glowing review" is that I may never be able to find a vacancy...this is a wonderful place and area and I recommend it to anyone who wants to experiece this great city.

Thank you Amir and Amela, I look forward to my next visit, Eric W.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful place to stay in NW Portland

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

If you are looking for a cozy place to stay while visiting Portland, this is a great place! The apartment is warm and inviting, with lots of charm. The owners are incredibly nice and made us feel very welcome. The secure building is right in the middle of the best part of NW Portland, with tons of great eateries in walking distance, and easy access to public transportation as well. Parking is on the street, but we had no problems finding a space, most of the time right in front of the building. We preferred this so much to a hotel room. We enjoyed hanging out in the apartment, not just as a place to return to sleep. Anytime we return to Portland, I will be looking to see if this condo is available!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great condo in heart of the Pearl District

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Great location in NW portland. Condo is beautiful and has all basics needed. Excellent hospitality from owners!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review