reviews for: listing #8442 - Manuel Antonio/Quepos, Costa Rica Villa rental

Winner "Top Vacation Rental" 2011 & 2012 -TrpAdvisor/FlipKey
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Manuel Antonio
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,250 /nt
    $5,265 - $7,900 /wk

sort by:

Absolutely awesome time

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

We had an absolutely awesome time in Costa Rica, and did not want to come home! It is hard to get all of our family together in one place as they are scattered across the U.S. And in Japan! Everyone was thrilled with the accommodations, and the location of the house was perfect as everyone was very comfortable with jumping on the bus! The house is perfectly arranged, especially for a group like ours, and was extremely well equipped!

We loved the upper deck and the views, and our resident iguana. We had a wonderful Christmas dinner prepared by your staff, who were delightful! And I cannot say enough about how great Thomas was. He was so responsive, capable, and personable. You have a real gem in Thomas!!! The house exceeded our expectations, and I will definitely recommend it to others who may be interested!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Had an amazing time!

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Had an absolutely fantastic time, the staff were a great part of making our stay fun, easy and exciting. Definitely would use stay there again and use this company.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most relaing week of our lives

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

Michael, Thomas, Hazel,
Thanks for helping to make our stay in Costa Rica a memorable one.
All 7 of us had one of the best, most relaxing weeks of our lives.
The house was all we could have hoped and more.
I can see why you've all decided to move to Costa Rica.
I hope we can make another trip there soon.
Thanks again.
-Greg

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our third time to Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This trip was our second time to Costa Rica - not even a full year went by until we returned. Casa Tolteca and this country is absolutely beautiful - its people very friendly. Between our two trips last year and this, we have spent total of 14 nights in Costa Rica - its still not enough. So much left to see!! We highly recommend visiting Costa Rica and Casa Tolteca is the BEST!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular home for our family reunion

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Our family, spread out as we are, is only able to get together every 3 - 4 years for a special occasion, and we couldn't have picked a more perfect location this year! The staff were incredible in every way. We loved the deck at sunset and our awesome dinners prepared by Francini and Cornelious.
Casa Tolteca was everything and more than we expected. The photos look wonderful, but they just don't capture the true beauty of this home and country. The jungle surrounds the house so there was always plenty of birds and monkeys. And, even though we were so close to everything in town, the privacy at Tolteca was unbelievable. We felt like we were miles away from everything and everyone, but we were just steps away from restaurants and bars. Great house, great views, great staff, great location.
What a gorgeous home and country!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

What an absolutely wonderful place. My writing cannot possibly do it justice. Casa Tolteca & the Costa Rican people have been fantastic. An experience of a lifetime. Paradise. Ultimate luxury. The owner is fantastic. Every wish is taken care of. Five stars!! Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful spot. It was perfect. We could not have asked for more on our 10th wedding anniversary. See you on our 20th!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for family reunion

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Our annual family get together - first time in CR. 13 people perfect - Casa Tolteca perfect for us. Large great room for big dinners together. Other living areas for games and kids. So much outdoor space around pool to lounge all day. Wildlife - monkeys everyday! Francini and Cornelius - don't miss their meals. Body surfing, boogie board experience the waves in Playa Espadilla (local beach).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nine glorious days at this fabulous home

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We leave behind wonderful memories of 9 glorious days at this fabulous paradise. The house is fantastic without exceptional staff, complete privacy for 5 couples and all the comforts of home. We did not see a sloth at the house, but we were visited by monkeys, a coati and iguanas. Have a few meals at home. Francinie and Cornelius do a fantastic job and their shrimp are the best I have eaten.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best vacation ever

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

One of the best, if not the best vacation. A wonder blend of adventures and pleasures. The people of Costa Rica so warm & friendly, makes tourists feel so welcome. Manuel Antonio has much to offer & we enjoyed our time here thoroughly. Plus, who wouldn't love the luxurious Casa Tolteca!
This place is a dream! We had such a wonderful time. Beautiful view. Wonderful people. Who could ask for anything more. I love Costa Rica! Thank you for a fantastic experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect House and Vacation

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Great trip & Casa Tolteca was the perfect house for our group of 19. Everyday was wonderful. We fed the monkeys bananas, saw sloths, played in the waves and loved the view. Our days started early with the jungle sounds but our time went too fast. Cornelius & Francini were amazing cooks. We enjoyed all the meals they prepared for us. Thomas helped arrange all our trips for us. Some days we simply relaxed around Casa Tolteca & town. Lots of walking, relaxing, and time with the family. Thanks to all who helped make this an amazing trip!

Owners response: Thanks Michael. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again at our home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible setting for the big 3 - 0

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

This was the most incredible setting to celebrate the big 3 - 0 with my girls and family. The house is spectacular as is the town and country. I would rank this among the best vacation spots in the world. Definitely do the white water rafting and take a visit to the spa... you won't be sorry!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great location for a family get together.

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Casa Tolteca was a perfect spot for our family to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. The accomations were great and all of the activites were outstanding. The whole family had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We came together at Casa Tolteca to celebrate our parents 50th wedding anniversary. We have had a wonderful week of adventure & relaxation. Everyone loved the zip lining and white water rafting. Horseback riding on the beach was a dream come true for the three girls. The people are friendly and always laughing and joking. We had several amazing meals prepared by Cornelius & Francini. The tenderloin was one of the most amazing things we have all ever eaten.
What an absolutely wonderful place. My writing cannot possibly do it justice. Casa Tolteca & the Costa Rican people have been fantastic. We will all dream of returning someday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Costa Rica at its best!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

The most relaxing, comfortable and private paradise in Costa Rica. It is minutes away from great quiet and clean beaches and the beautiful Manuel Antonio national park. Dozens of local restaurants and spas to chose from. All walking distance, if your not up for a walk transportation was always available right out the front door.

The host team will meet you at the door and give you a great tour of this great escape and assist in booking all of your activities and tours. Everyone we met was friendly and accommodating.

The house offers great private retreats for large families complete with their own kitchens! Maid service daily makes it a true vacation. Clean, safe and well appointed home inside and out!

The pool is nestled in the center of the many rooms and is nestled in a jungle paradise. Next best thing to the beaches!!!!

If you want a world class getaway in Costa Rica, Casa Tolteca is a must see!

Thanks for offering your home Michael, our group really enjoyed our week and we will be back!

Tim and Billy

Owners response: Thanks Tim. We enjoyed having you at CasaTolteca and look forward to your next stay this fall.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Tolteca Was Perfect For Four Families

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We had 8 adults and 8 kids (ages 11-15). The house is conveniently laid out so that each of the parents had their own room in different parts of the house and all the kids had their own rooms as well. The property is big enough and laid out over several levels that even with 16 people it never felt crowed. The quality of the house is very good. Everything worked well and was maintained in good working condition. We nevered turn on the TV/DVD set up which is a testimony to the fact that there was better things to do then watch TV or movies.

Even though the house is in the heart of Manuel Antonio and the gate is literally steps from the main street running from Quepos to Manuel Antonio Park, the property did feel private. Other house are visible from the decks but we spent most of our time around the pool which is private and does feel like it is in the middle of the jungle. The location is very good. We walked down the hill to the beach and park and took the bus back up. El Avion restaurant is practically next door and serves good food and has a bar inside the body of an airplane. We did not eat out much as we made frequent use of the chef couples that are available. Marisol and Isreal prepared most of our dinners and breakfasts. The food was great and we always had leftovers for the next days lunch. We used Francine and her husband as well. Both couples make delicious food. We did leave two nights to eat out just to have a change of pace. El Avion was very good and the other place was not so good but the name esacpes me. Do not order the local lobster thinking you are getting a thick meaty tail as it is more akin to a large crawfish with very little meat. That was the most disappointing and expensive meal we had. Eating in was the best value and the best food.

We booked our activities through Hazel who did a great job of answering questions and made sure everything worked out well. We zip-lined, river rafted and rappelled down water falls. We had a great time at each venue. Be prepared for 1-2 hour bus rides into the jungle if you do any of those activities. We made use of Dante's Water Sport services. Dante was very helpful. He providing surfing lessons for all of the kids and shuttled us back and forth from the house to the beach when we asked. He provided beach chairs for the adults while the kids surfed. Hikes in Manuel Antonio were great. For a large group this house is perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words about CasaTolteca. We value all comments and suggestions to continue to make our home better. As you know, we take all comments and suggestions very seriously. From your comments, we have made improvements to our home and staff in order to make CasaTolteca even better for your next trip.
Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Tolteca is absolutely amazing!

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

I couldn't ask for a more amazing place to spend my 30th birthday with friends and family! The house is absolutely amazing! As is everything else in Costa Rica!! This is definitely one of the best vacations I have ever had!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Tolteca is absolutely amazing!

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

I couldn't ask for a more amazing place to spend my 30th birthday with friends and family! The house is absolutely amazing! As is everything else in Costa Rica!! This is definitely one of the best vacations I have ever had!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Splendid

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Our stay in Casa Tolteca was splendid. All 14 of us loved the place, your beautiful and convenient furnishings, the jungle around us, the charming monkeys and iguana, the view of the ocean, the gorgeous sunsets, to name a few of the many assets. Everyone except the two elderly and infirm grandparents went on fun excursions each day. They particularly loved a boat ride through the jungle, the horseback ride, the spice farm, and shopping for local seafood and fruit. The party which we had your cooks prepare for our sixtieth anniversary was absolutely wonderful. They are excellent cooks.

Thank you for allowing us to experience Costa Rica in such a beautiful surrounding. We would recommend this trip to anyone who loves to travel.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptional Rental and Service - Casa Tolteca

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We enjoyed Christmas in paradise this year at Casa Tolteca. There were 13 of us which included our kids, their spouses, 2 grandsons and great grandma. The house is fabulous and perfect for several couples and kids to have their own private rooms and baths. Thomas and Hazel were really great hosts. I believe that sets this experience apart. Family members were flying into San Jose on 3 different airlines and it got all messed up with cancelled and delayed flights. Hazel talked to our different groups, rearranged ground transportation from San Jose to Quepos and even picked up our son-in-law up a day later because he couldn't arrive with my daughter and grandson due to cancelled flight and not enough seats. She remained in email and phone contact with them and kept everything synced. It would have been a nightmare without her help.

The chefs at Casa Tolteca are fantastic. They did 2 dinners and 3 breakfasts for us. Just wonderful food and friendly people.

BottomLine: gorgeous convenient setting, service above and beyond, great house staff and beautiful house. My grandson loved the monkey visits and we can't wait until we can go back. Fishing, zip line, park tour, spice tour, sunset sail all great and all conveniently arranged by Hazel.

Owners response: Thanks Ron. I'm glad you had a great trip. We are sorry you had so many issues with your flights, but we were happy to work with your group to make sure everything went smoothly once you arrived. We look forward to having you back again for next Christmas... as you've requested, we already have the home reserved for you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect accommodations

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

Casa Tolteca is beautiful and the views, especially at sunset, are indescribable. We were here as a family of 11 coming from IL, MO, MN, UT, and Japan. The house accommodated us perfectly! We were busy every day with visits to the beach, 4 trax, Manuel Antonio National Park, white H20 rafting, having a great time on the sunset sail on Christmas Eve, and finishing with the zipline. Anytime we needed to go anywhere, the scheduled pick ups were right on time. We cannot say enough about how great our tour guides were - for everyone we went on. And we cannot say enough about the wonderful staff of Casa Tolteca that took care of our every need and made us feel at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pura Vida at Casa Tolteca

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Pura Vida to the Casa Tolteca team… Got absorbed into a rich & full potpourri of adventure, relaxation, water sport, nature & wildlife for 2 weeks to celebrate 50 years of marriage with our diverse & wonderful family… all 14 of us! Casa Tolteca was all that had been promised and then some. From staff to setting, from Thomas to Cornelius & Francini. What a backdrop for very special 'moment' for all of us. Thank you Michael, you facilitated a magical time for all of us...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

Casa Tolteca was fabulous. Breath taking views and amazing sunsets! Recommend strolling through National State Park, visiting beaches, ziplining, and checking out the local restaurants in the area.
We would definitely recommend CasaTolteca for anyone having a large family reunion like ours.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week at Tolteca

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

What a wonderful week at CasaTolteca! We didn't want to leave! We enjoyed the views, the sunshine, the animals, and the seamless service from the staff. Our front top patio was crawling with squirrel monkeys 2 mornings in a row. Bob and Helen, the iguanas, visited us every day and entertained us. We took the National Park tour and saw birds, bats, iguanas and sloths. We visited a watering hole with a rope swing and pristine beaches. The food everywhere was great but it was the best at CasaTolteca prepared by the house chefs, Cornelius and Francini. We had their dinners 3 out of 5 nights and it was exceptional all 3 nights. Hope to be back some day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a great time

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We had a great time. Not a single bad experience to report for the whole trip. We enjoyed all the tours which Thomas arranged. We also liked the meals which Marisol cooked in the house for us. We also really enjoyed an evening nature
hike for frogs, held at Si Como No.

We appreciated the DVD library in the changer, and the nice instructions to
show how to use it.

I hope everything is in good shape after the earthquake. We heard reports that Manuel Antonio had some significant shaking, with fragile things broken, but
no major structural damage.

We had a great time. We'd definitely recommend the place to any similar sized group.

--Richard Cochran

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Tolteca was absolutely PERFECT.

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

WE DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE! This was a specatcular place to spend my 40th birthday. It was absolutely PERFECT. Turning 40 in our family is a huge celebration and we make it "all about me" for whomever is 40. My turn has given me many memories of CR I will cherish for the rest of my life... most importantly the beautiful people who blessed me with their love. Costa Ricans are generous in conversation and smiles. I love it here and will definitely return ASAP.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our stay was outstanding Michael, and the entire family is still talking about how great our vacation was at Casa Tolteca. There were no problems whatsoever with the house during our stay. Thomas is extremely helpful, but also very unobtrusive. The perfect concierge. Our meals were among the best we've ever had, and we always looked forward to the arrival of Cornelius and Francini. The kids loved them, they prepared the best meals we had all trip, and they were a delight to be around. We have recommended Casa Tolteca to some of our friends already, and will continue to do so. We hope to one day be able to return. Thanks for everything.
Tim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We will be back!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

There were 14 people in our group. Everyone had a great time. The house was beautiful. The beach was great. We enjoyed all the different activities. The cooks made the most delicious meals. It was a perfect vacation. We hope to come back. Our 5 year old LOVED the zip lines.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond our expectations

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Casa Tolteca was a blast. Many things to see and do. The environment was pristine. The company of friends and family was fun and caring. The house was beyond our expectations. The owners were very accommodating. The care takers went out of their way for us. We love, love, loved it!

Owners response: Thanks guys... we loved having you at the home and look forward to your next trip. Just let me know when you will be back in town. Remember, CasaTolteca does fill up quickly so let me know a couple months in advance to make sure the week is still open.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Tolteca Rocks!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

The house was perfect. It is on three levels, so it worked out great for our group of three families. It is close to both the National Park and the city of Quepos. We used the bus to get around and found everything worked well. Take advantage of the in-house cook- she was spectaculor.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Wedding Location

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Casa Tolteca was amazing. This was our first time in Costa Rica & we're already making plans for next year. Watching the monkeys here was amazing. The food that your staff cooked was out of this world. We had our wedding here at Casa Tolteca. every thing that we dreamed of came true. I didn't want to leave this beautiful villa. Than you Thomas for all your help and all your staff. They are great.

Owners response: I'm glad we could make all of your wedding wishes come true. Maybe we can see you back for your first anniversary celebration.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to stay for large groups!

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

As there were 11 of us vacationing, ranging in ages from 14 to 70, it was a fantastic choice (I'm sure it would be a great choice for only 2).

The staff are great, and the service we received was fantastic. The tour groups Casa Tolteca uses are really friendly. We went jet skiing, a boat/kayak tour through the mangroves and white water rafting.

We also had the chef service twice for dinner. That's a great deal for a large group. And the food was fantastic!

There are also some fine restaurants just outside the door of the villa.

It was a great place to stay at a great price! I have recommended it to all my friends and co-workers!

Owners response: Thanks Chad. We enjoyed having you stay at CasaTolteca and look forward to having you back again in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous, fantastic, wonderful

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Casa Tolteca - what to say? Fabulous, fantastic, wonderful - all that and more. As a large group with 11 adults and 3 kids, it was hard to find the right place, but we found it in Casa Tolteca and the wonderful staff. Thomas and Katherin are extremely helpful. They always get back to you as soon as they can with any question you have. Cornelius and Francini are The Best! Great people and great cooks! If you can, get at lest one breakfast and one dinner prepared by them. It is absolutely worth it. Yorleni, the house maid, is a very sweet person who makes your home away from home sparkely clean. We had a great time here and sad to leave Casa Tolteca. We said our good-bye to Gettes - the iguana who lives under the top roof and comes for an occassional visit. We said our good-bye to all the Capuchine monkeys who entertained us enlessly with their fearless jumps. And we said our good-bye to the deliccate squirrel monkeys who invaded our balcony several times. Life is good and we are happy we could spend part of it here at Casa Tolteca.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Our family of 11 had a wonderful visit to CasaTolteca. On the first morning we saw the iquana who took charge of the property. Later in the day we were treated to a visit of several white-faced monkeys. And on our walk to the beach, we saw a sloth in the trees and one on the ground. We also saw the house agouti almost every day and had 3 additional close monkey encounters. I loved taking the bus into town and to the beach and shopping at Super Joseth down the street.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a Paradise!

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

I absolutely needed a rest and your delightful place provided privacy, comfort, beauty, and all the rest. What a paradise! I hope you will invite us back. The pictures won't even capture the beauty we experienced here. We enjoyed the monkeys, iguanas and all the wild life. Thanks to the entire staff!

Owners response: Thanks Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We will be back!

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

Our first trip to Costa Rica was outstanding in part because of this gorgeous villa! Staff were efficient, honest, friendly, and warm-hearted. We were welcomed by refreshing fruit! Our first night of night swimming in a clear blue pool by the dark sky and a bottle of crisp wine by the poolside. We spent the days out on a few select tours, on the pristine beaches, at restaurants, or simply at the poolside. The hammocks were wonderful for an afternoon snooze caressed by sea breezes. This villa was great. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Humara, we enjoyed having you at our home. See you again next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Tolteca was the Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

Casa Tolteca was the perfect ending to our Costa Rican adventure. What a wonderful week! Manuel Antonio was fascinating and the beches were stunningly beautiful. We ate wonderful food all week but Cornelius and Francini's delicious cooking was the best! We loved having our little monkey visitors almost everyday. So different from what we see at home. The Costa Rican people were so kind to us. What a wonderful vacation! Thanks to Thomas too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Peggy. Thomas, Francini, Cornelius, and the rest of our staff are looking forward to your return trip.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We hated to leave this beautiful home

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2008

Britt's 40th birthday @ Casa Tolteca! 5 couples from New Bern, NC enjoyed a glorious week of: lounging by pool; ziplining; sport fishihg; horseback riding; Manuel Antonio beach & market; Café Milagro; dinner at the house with Francini. We hated to leave this beautiful home, beautiful view and sunsets only God can create... but our 11 children want us back! We'll be back for more 40th birthdays - and 50ths & 60ths...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Great

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2008

The Montana gang thanks you and your wonderful staff for everything. We had an absolutely great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Tolteca is Incomparable

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Casa Tolteca is incomparable! We have been to Costa Rica three times now and this is by far the best (nicest, cleanest) place we have stayed! The owner was very accommodating with our many questions and concerns. Highly recommended. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Pam. We will see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Tolteca is Incomparable!

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2007

Casa Tolteca is incomparable! We have been to Costa Rica three times now and this is by far the best (nicest, cleanest) place we have stayed! The owner was very accommodating with our many questions and concerns. Highly recommended. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Pam. See you again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magnificent Place

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

In the airplane on the way home, I said, I have to write Michael right away to tell him what a wonderful time we had and what a magnificent place. I feel badly because I got home and lost track of time and I wanted you to know how special it was! You kept telling me that it was perfect for a family of 16 and how much we would like it. You were absolutely right.

From beginning to end it was a great vacation. Thomas was there to meet us and he was a tremendous help through out our stay and very attentive when needed. Francine and Cornelius were perfect. Everyone ate very well (better then out) and the children didn't complain! They also were nice to have around.

The house was comfortable and perfect with the different levels. Each family had a main bedroom and then the 4 older children with the blow up mattresses took over the unit on the left. My only real complaint was not having enough cash. I didn't know to bring enough or to get traveler checks. I walked up to the cash machine which meant many trips since I needed a lot! I would warn people at least.

Many many thanks, Georgie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's amazing how many people end up having our great chef prepare all the meals. She really is the best cook in town. See you again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond our expectations

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2007

Our stay at Casa Tolteca was wonderful. The house is beyond our expectations… and the view is awesome! We had a large family reunion and are already planning our return visit. On our second day, we were even visited by a group of spider monkeys. The attention to detail before our trip was top notch. I would highly recommend the 'zip line' and ATV - 4trax tours

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks John... thanks for referring your friends to us. They had a great time at CasaTolteca also. When are you coming back?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and location couldn't have been better

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We absolutely loved everything about our trip...your place is beautiful and the location couldn't have been better, as well as your staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The excursions we took were a lot of fun and quite adventurous, it being the rainy season, but that only added to the fun. We also loved the wildlife around your villa, and spent a lot of time looking out at the ocean and at the monkeys and birds. We hope we were good guests too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Fabulous

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

The house was absolutely fabulous...perfect for the four couples that stayed there.  Everyone was so pleased when we arrived at the villa and they all kept commenting on how perfect it was the entire trip.  I have to give great compliments to the gardener, who helped us find some monkeys and also helped carry our bags up the stairs when we were leaving for home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Sandy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Fabulous

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

The house was absolutely fabulous...perfect for the four couples that stayed there.  Everyone was so pleased when we arrived at the villa and they all kept commenting on how perfect it was the entire trip.  I have to give great compliments to the gardener, who helped us find some monkeys and also helped carry our bags up the stairs when we were leaving for home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Trip and Amazing Home

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

I cannot tell you how amazing our trip was! We had kids ranging from 8-18 (5 of them) - and there was something for everyone! We zip-lined (absolutely so amazing), surfed, horseback rode through the rain forest to a beautiful waterfall. Horses were great. Thomas couldn't have been more helpful. We felt very safe, and the 18 year old girls went out alone and it was totally fine. Groceries were expensive - better to do that on your own when you get there, than order them ahead. Monkeys, lizards, beautiful landscaping. I can't say enough. Would go back tomorrow if I could...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A House to Remember

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Casa Tolteca is a house to remember and definitely to return. Every other year we do a Family Reunion, this time we chose Casa Tolteca. We couldn't have picked better place. The house itself is in a very convenient location. Many restaurants easily to reach by foot, a bus station basically in front of the house makes it a breeze to get around. The staff of the house are very helpful with every request and leave you a lot of privacy, so you really get the feeling of staying in your own home.A private cook can be requested, which I highly recommend - once, it is a vacation and you don't want to start cooking for a big bunch, second - and most important, the food is absolutely delicious. We also did a lot of day trips and tours during our stay, which were conveniently organized by the staff of the house. Ziplining, Wild Water Rafting are a must. Our entire Family Clan enjoyed those tours , with their age ranging between 8 and 78 years. If you want a true vacation Casa Tolteca is the place to go -Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

CasaTolteca was the perfect place for our friends to get together. The services that are offered by the house manager make planning the trip incredibly easy. They will arrange anything and everything that you desire. We utilized the van service from San Jose and the house concierge service. They will arrange for any/all activities that you wish to participate in. One of my favorites was the chef service. Cornelio and his wife will come and prepare an amazing meals in the CasaTolteca kitchen. While you are eating they clean and are done usually by the time you are finishing dessert. CasaTolteca is laid out perfectly for a large group. The 6 bedrooms/bathrooms are spacious and spotless. The location is superb with great views and natural habitat all around. CasaTolteca was better than I ever imagined.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa Tolteca had it all

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Casa Tolteca had it all. The house was so comfortable with all the amenities of home, nestled in the beautiful landscape of the rain forest. The house was stocked with everything from blenders to beach towels. All the rooms and bathrooms were updated with tasteful and calming decor. The Beds were Comfortable!! A must for 7 nights! And a perfect location, you could sit by the pool all day, go for walk, or catch a cab for a day excursion.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Week

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a wonderful week at the house and really enjoyed Costa Rica!! We loved the house, and would absolutely stay there again. The view is spectacular, as is the layout of the house. We had 10 people there, and there was plenty of space for us all to gather and to spread out and get out of each others way! The outside space was also amazing, with plenty of seating and that true jungle feel! We had the pleasure of 2 monkey troops visiting us one day, which was so much fun. We also saw the sloth a couple of days. We didn’t have any issues with anything in the house. It was really great! We loved the park, and the beach right outside of the park (the further you walk down the beach back towards the house, the better!). We found a nice, shady spot under some trees and had a great day at the beach! We also walked to Playa Biesanz. Took a cab on the way home – what hills! We loved the beach there though, and saw monkeys on our walk down to the beach. Our group decided to try out the local restaurants versus having the chefs come in. We really enjoyed these restaurants: Café Milagro for breakfast. Aqua Azul – closed on Wednesdays, very hard to get in to…go early if you are planning to eat dinner (no later than 5:30!). Salsipuedes – tapas plus regular food.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Week!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a wonderful week at the house and really enjoyed Costa Rica!!

We loved the house, and would absolutely stay there again. The view is spectacular, as is the layout of the house. We had 10 people there, and there was plenty of space for us all to gather and to spread out and get out of each others way! The outside space was also amazing, with plenty of seating and that true jungle feel! We had the pleasure of 2 monkey troops visiting us one day, which was so much fun. We also saw the sloth a couple of days. We didn’t have any issues with anything in the house. It was really great!

We loved the park, and the beach right outside of the park (the further you walk down the beach back towards the house, the better!). We found a nice, shady spot under some trees and had a great day at the beach! We also walked to Playa Biesanz. Took a cab on the way home – what hills! We loved the beach there though, and saw monkeys on our walk down to the beach.

Our group decided to try out the local restaurants versus having the chefs come in. We really enjoyed these restaurants: Café Milagro for breakfast. Aqua Azul – closed on Wednesdays, very hard to get in to…go early if you are planning to eat dinner (no later than 5:30!). Salsipuedes – tapas plus regular food.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Melanie.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best There Is

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We were a family of 11 - grandparents, kids and 5 grandchildren and this was the PERFECT villa in every way. The layout gave everyone lots of private space but plent of room for us all to be together. The location is the best in Manuel Antonio. We never need a taxi or rental car - we could walk to wonderful restaurants and the bus stopped right outside out gate. The property is surrounded by lush tropical forest and although you are steps away from the main road never hear a sound. The pool was perfect and everthing was of the highest quality. We cannot recommend without reservation. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Carol... we enjoyed having you stay in the home and look forward to your next stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Casa Tolteca AAAAA+++++

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Jorge & I want to express how happy we were at the Casa Tolteca last week 2-19-11 to 2-26-11
Everything was great, Jorge had the greatest fishing trip ever. You were right when you said the Casa Tolteca
was great for large group of people, no one got in any ones way, every one had their own space which made me very happy!
Your staff was great, the couple that cooked for us, well lets just say we wanted to bring them back to New York City.

Casa Tolteca was beautiful, every room was great, I still have a mental picture of the whole villa, I can't take it out of my mind.
We had our wedding there, everything we dreamed of came true, everything was just perfect Jorge & I, our family & friends will
never forget this amazing trip.

Now lets talk about entertainment, monkeys, monkeys & more monkeys, wow did we have fun, it was amazing to see all those
monkeys all over the villa. Everyone enjoyed them tremendously.


Michael thank you again for everything,

Casa Tolteca AAAAA+++++

Jorge & Evelyn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words Evelyn... we look forward to having you back again next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Tolteca and a wonderful time in MA! The house was perfectly suited for our needs and guests! The ability to have privacy and a "group" area at the same time suited us perfectly! Your staff did all they could to keep they place clean but at the same time respected our space. Marisol and Israel (sp?) were fantastic, so much so we had them cook for us twice!!!! We enjoyed all the trips we took and, for me, the zip line tour was amazing! We could not get the rain forest tour so we will have to do that next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

The house was fabulous!  Everything was perfect!  We Loved the homemade ice cream at Si Como No deli.  El Avion was a great restaurant.  The water was so warm we didn't need the wetsuits!  We fished on the Blue Pearl II and had a wonderful experience catching all kinds of things and releasing them back except for one Mahi Mahi and a few small fish that were good to eat!  We even saved a few turtles that were caught in some floating debris.
 
Watch out for the racoons and monkeys inside the National Park!  They are very aggressive when it comes to taking your food that is sitting right next to you!  Luckily, we got our sandwiches back!
 
The entire country of Costa Rica and it's people are so beautiful!  We visited with many loving families and made good friends.  Everyone had an awesome time!  We are coming back in the summer of 2011 for a reunion with some more old friends in the San Jose and Guanacaste areas.  We hope to return to the Manuel Antonio area again in a few years!  Loved the beaches and the wildlife that abounds there!  You are so fortunate to own such a beautiful property! 
 
My girls loved the pool and the horseback riding!  The driver was about 30 min. late for horseback riding and the drive seemed long but the food was good that they prepared and the horses were fun to ride and our guide Jimmy was very fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you, Thank you

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Where to start...we absolutely LOVED staying at Casa Tolteca and having driven around most of the rest of the country I can assure you that it IS one of the best houses in Costa Rica!

After being up all night on the plane and traveling on the hot bus from San Jose the first thing we did when we got there was jump in the pool. We thought it was so neat to have one all to ourselves. The kids spent most of their days swimming while the adults enjoyed the jungle environment. We were in awe of the view and fascinated with the wildlife. Everyone agreed it was paradise and we spent several moments just feeling incredibly lucky to be there.

Dave and I could not have picked a better place to have the wedding! We had so much fun decorating using some things from the jungle and putting up twinkle lights which we left for the next people.

Some of the things we liked were the temperpedic top, king-sized beds and bathrooms off of every room. We enjoyed the accommodations in the kitchen and cooked there often. Hot showers were great! If the electronics weren't working we didn't notice as we did not turn on the TV upstairs once. People used the computer often to check email etc.

It was nice to be able to call Thomas with questions and get his advice on things when we needed. There's not a lot I can tell you to do differently ; )

I still daydream about Casa Tolteca and cannot wait to go back. Thank you, Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Awesome Time

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2008

We had an absolutely awesome time in Costa Rica, and did not want to come home! It is hard to get all of our family together in one place as they are scattered across the U.S. And in Japan! Everyone was thrilled with the accommodations, and the location of the house was perfect as everyone was very comfortable with jumping on the bus! The house is perfectly arranged, especially for a group like ours, and was extremely well equipped!

We loved the upper deck and the views, and our resident iguana. We had a wonderful Christmas dinner prepared by your staff, who were delightful! And I cannot say enough about how great Thomas was. He was so responsive, capable, and personable. You have a real gem in Thomas!!! The house exceeded our expectations, and I will definitely recommend it to others who may be interested!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We will be back!

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 11, 2009

We really enjoyed the stay at Casa Tolteca—it was wonderful. My son and his bride had a sunset wedding, and we had the reception (night-long party) at Casa Tolteca.
The location on the hillside overlooking the ocean wowed everyone, as well as the convenience to the beach and shopping. The home was furnished beyond our expectations—everything was first class and nothing was missing! I can't imagine any better place for our family to celebrate.
We have already started talking about returning to Casa Tolteca for next year. I know that Tolteca is very popular (even all the taxi drivers knew the house) and rents out months in advance, so we want to be sure to pick out our week and reserve the house before it fills up.
Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for our wedding

Review submitted: November 24, 2009   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

We thought Costa Rica would be a great place for our wedding. I started looking online for villas with the intention of finding several in close proximity where I could house my closest family and friends. I found many villas and began emailing them, but quickly saw that Casa Tolteca was the best for us.

From the minute we stepped in, we knew we had found the perfect place for my large group of over thirty people.
The view from CasaTolteca was absolutely amazing! So we've decided to have the wedding and reception there.
The concierge also assisted me in planning my wedding, which is truly a blessing. He’s coordinating everything for me and taking care of all the logistics of the event. All I have to do is relax and enjoy the experience.

The group and I had a great time during our visit to Casa Tolteca…so much so that we’re already talking about our next visit.
The villa was perfect for our needs, and ideal for large groups in that it provides two large great rooms for community activities while affording all the privacy of four separate living suites, each with its own kitchen. We used the upper level as the “common area” where we gathered for meals. I truly enjoyed this aspect of the house.

The views of ocean and jungle are extraordinary from every level.
Casa Tolteca is ideal for large groups because it has two large great rooms for community activities while also giving all the privacy of four separate living suites, each with its own kitchen. We used the upper level great room as the “common area” where we gathered for meals. I truly enjoyed this aspect of the house.

It also has the perfect location... walking distance to restaurants, casinos, bars and discos. So we could go and come on foot individually as we pleased, without worrying about “drinking & driving.”

Thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful home to celebrate our wedding. It was truly unforgettable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: November 21, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the villa and I can't thank you enough for all of your help and tips for a great vacation. The villa is just delightful and couldn't have been more comfortable. We loved everything about it. Everyone had a wonderful time, and the time, sadly, just flew by. What a perfect world it would be if we could stay there forever. My husband saw a chipmunk this morning and that showed just how far we've come from the exotic life we lived last week.

Marisol was a dream chef—the food prepared was delicious and there were enough leftovers each time that we never cooked dinner ourselves. Now that's a vacation! Evelyn was also very conscientious and her services made for a perfect week.
Thank you for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfortable space for 20 people.

Review submitted: October 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

Six families from Pasadena California & one grandma from Alaska and great grandma from New Orleans. With a total of 10 adults and 10 children, we were afraid we might feel crowded. But CasaTolteca was perfect for our large group. There was plenty of room for everyone to spread out.
Thank you Thomas and all the staff for a fantastic time.
So many great experiences in our two weeks. Thanks to all that help make our stay so great. I doubt that this is our last trip to Costa Rica. I have two young boys ages 4 and 9. There was so much for them to see and do here as there was for me. I am grateful to be able to share this with them as well as with my very best friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay could not have been better

Review submitted: September 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

Just a quick note to say that our week at Casa Tolteca could not have been any better. You have a great property manager in Thomas and his son. He was extremely helpful assisting us with planning and getting us from San Jose to Quepos. It was actually a very enjoyable trip over the mountains, giving us a chance to see more of the country. The house was nicely provisioned as we had planned with Thomas and our decision to have a cook come in for the first night resulted in them coming in 5 of the 7 nights we were there. That was not planned, however we did have her in every day for breakfast, which everyone enjoyed and gave us a good start for the day’s activities. Francina and her husband Cornelius did a wonderful job preparing meals and were extremely pleasant and fun to have with us. The last night, one of our group taught them how to prepare Banana's Foster. I think they were eager to learn so as to make it available to future guests.
My wife and I stayed in the guest cottage, which was ideal for us. The rooms and baths are more than adequate and it's nice that each space has its own living area. We all had our privacy when necessary and got together for drinks and dinner in the evening. During the day, if we were at the Villa, we were all around the pool. You purchased a very nice property and was ideal for our group of 12. I would have no problem recommending Casa Tolteca to anyone, which I will do when asked.
Thank you for letting us experience Casa Tolteca and I'm quite sure we will visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

SPECTACULAR!

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

Our stay at Casa Tolteca was nothing short of SPECTACULAR! The house was in wonderful condition, the maid service was excellent, and the attention Thomas gave was outstanding. We cannot say enough about how much we thoroughly enjoyed Costa Rica! I have since given the Casa Tolteca website to several friends who all want to visit, and all 12 of us highly recommend your property. It was an amazing vacation - we will certainly be back!

Thanks again for all your helpful information and for sharing your wonderful home with us! It made my 40th birthday one to remember!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Plenty of room for 19

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

Great trip & CasaTolteca was the perfect house for our group of 19. Every day was wonderful. We fed the monkeys bananas [please don’t feed the monkeys] saw sloths, played in the waves and loved the view. Our days started early with the jungle sounds, but our time went too fast.
Cornelius & Francini were amazing cooks and we enjoyed all the meals they prepared for us. Thomas helped arrange all our trips for us. Some days were simply relaxed around CasaTolteca. Thanks to all who helped make this an amazing trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

When Can I Go Back?

Review submitted: August 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Manuel Antonio is truly one of the most beautiful spots in the world with the rainforests on one side and the ocean on the other. I have been to Manuel Antonio several times, and have had the good fortune and pleasure of staying at Casa Tolteca each of those times. The house and grounds are breathtaking, and because of the many levels and separate casita, provide both space for large gatherings and/or smaller get togethers. While there you truly feel as if you are in the middle of the jungle, yet the house is walking distance to the beach, Manuel Antonio, and local nightlife. What truly sets Casa Tolteca apart though is the personal attention that Michael Cunningham and his staff pay to every aspect of your trip. Michael was a font of information about travel to Costa Rica and what to see and do while there (and you can do as much or as little as you want). The house manager, Thomas, was invaluable in coordinating trips and excursions for parties as large as 20 and as small as one person. Each stay has been more enjoyable than the last, and it gets harder to come home each time... After your first stay there you too will be asking "when can I go back?"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Who needs the Manuel Antonio Park?

Review submitted: August 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Michael--We had a wonderful time and the house was beautiful!

Thanks so much for opening it up to us!

We really enjoyed the cooks--Cornelius and Francini. They were wonderful!

We did the canopy (zip line) tour, the ATV tour and the whitewater rafting. I think everyone's favorite was the zip line but we enjoyed them all and loved the drive thru the country side and thru the endless grove of palm trees . . . Boy I would hate to get lost in there!

It was also very exciting when the power went off Wed night for 2 -3 hours when a big storm came in (what a lightening show from your place!) and it was a night that Cornelius and Francini were preparing dinner. So luckily you told us to bring flashlights and we did so we used those to see and they used the grill outside to cook our dinner. It was kind of spooky! Glad there was a big group of us.

The wild life at your place were amazing also--we saw three sloths in the trees out front, the toucans that sit in the front window, and the white face and cappuccino monkeys which we hand fed (we later found out we are not supposed to hand feed them bananas!), howler monkeys, iguanas, scorpion, lizards, etc!

Who needs Manuel Antonio Park?? We saw more right at your house!

Thanks again for letting us stay there--it is a beautiful and very friendly country. I hope your staff knew that we appreciated their hard work.

We hope to return sometime.

Thanks again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

To sum it up, we had a perfect vacation at CasaTolteca. We were thrilled with the service, the staff, the home, definitely the location and its accessibility to so much.
We were especially pleased with Thomas, and his knowledge and helpfulness –and before that, with the owner, and all his responsiveness and helpfulness as we went through the decision-making phase. Thank you from all of us …. It was, bottom line, a memorable family together-time that will always be earmarked by memories of your Casa Tolteca……

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Whole Family Had a Blast

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

The whole family had a blast.  The house is beautiful as well as the surrounding property.  The kids all had no problem navigating there way around the house and pool area and they could have gone nowhere and been in heaven the whole trip.  One day about 30-40 spider monkeys descended on the property and stayed around for about a half hour giving everyone a very unique treat.  Zip lining, para sailing, deep sea fishing, golfing, and small side trips were all very easy to accomplish due to the location of the property.  Although we really didn't need Thomas assistance that much he was available whenever we did need him, thank him for all his help.  The chefs were great and we all ate more than we needed.  They also did a great job with the birthdays we had.  We are already looking into dates for next year for a return trip around the same time.  The weather was perfect and we all felt much more comfortable in Costa Rica(Manual Antonio) than on most of our previous family vacations to Mexico. 

Thank you again for opening your house to us and we will be in contact for next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We LOVE Casa Tolteca!

Review submitted: April 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay and loved Casa Tolteca. It was a dream-come-true to take our children and grandchildren with us, although unfortunately my daughter couldn't make it with the new baby. The house was all we had hoped and was perfect for an extended family like ours because each group had its privacy, its own place.

Thomas was a tremendous help; he is a real asset, always available and coming over to see for himself how everything is going, which really allayed my nervousness because taking this group of so many people at such an expense, we really wanted everyone to be happy and felt responsible for their happiness (sounds crazy but I did) - Thomas was so consistently helpful that I calmed down, which helped my vacation.

We LOVE Casa Tolteca!

Again thank you very much. You have a beautiful property and I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking about going to CR.

Rose

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A+

Review submitted: April 9, 2009   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

The house was stunning, well appointed, comfortable and relaxing.  I would give it an A+.
 
The wait staff (Cornelio and his wife) were wonderful and also A+.  The maid service was just perfect. 

I thought the house and services were quite terrific.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

The house was stunning, well appointed, comfortable and relaxing. I would give
it an A+.

The wait staff (Cornelio and his wife) were wonderful and also A+. The maid
service was just perfect.

I thought the house and services were quite terrific.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay and loved Casa Tolteca. It was a dream-come-true
to take our children and grandchildren with us, although unfortunately my
daughter couldn't make it with the new baby. The house was all we had
hoped and was perfect for an extended family like ours because each group
had its privacy, its own place.

Thomas was a tremendous help; he is a real asset, always available and
coming over to see for himself how everything is going, which really allayed
my nervousness because taking this group of so many people at such an
expense, we really wanted everyone to be happy and felt responsible for their
happiness (sounds crazy but I did) - Thomas was so consistently helpful that
I calmed down, which helped my vacation.

We LOVE Casa Tolteca!

Again thank you very much. You have a beautiful property and I would
recommend it to anyone who is thinking about going to CR.

Rose

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Time Ever

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

We would come again in a heartbeat if the economy were better...I know it is affecting everyone in every country. Casa Tolteca was more than we could have asked for or dreamed of. We had 11 of us and we all had the best time ever... I left a long message in your guest book...I tend to ramble...but thank you again... it will be forever remembered as one of our most memorable vacations...Francini and Cornelius were the best and the food better than any restaurant...one morning many families of monkeys came flying through the villa on rooftops and railings...the guys caught 10 sailfish and 3 Dorado...we shared all the photos we took each evening on the big screen TV and as I mentioned in your book... “Our memories of Costa Rica will linger on long after our footprints in the sand are gone”. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

We would come again in a heartbeat if the economy were better...I know it is affecting everyone in every country. Casa Tolteca was more than we could have asked for or dreamed of. We had 11 of us and we all had the best time ever... I left a long message in your guest book...I tend to ramble...but thank you again... it will be forever remembered as one of our most memorable vacations...Francini and Cornelius were the best and the food better than any restaurant...one morning many families of monkeys came flying through the villa on rooftops and railings...the guys caught 10 sailfish and 3 Dorado...we shared all the photos we took each evening on the big screen TV and as I mentioned in your book... “Our memories of Costa Rica will linger on long after our footprints in the sand are gone”.Thanks for sharing your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Garden of Eden

Review submitted: February 21, 2009   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

This is one special house! After touring in the northern mountains the week before in 40-50 MPH winds and horizontal rain, arriving at Casa Tolteca was akin to finding the Garden of Eden.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Jim & Bonnie. I'm sorry that part of your group wasn't able to make it this time, but I hope everyone will be able to stay with us next year.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2009   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

This is one special house! After touring in the northern mountains the week
before in 40-50 MPH winds and horizontal rain, arriving at Casa Tolteca was
akin to finding the Garden of Eden.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

January 2009 Trip

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 24, 2009

Well our tans are fading but we are all still reliving our incredible trip to Casa Tolteca through our photos and videos. My partner of 17 years was celebrating his 40th birthday with 12 of our best, lifelong friends. The Casa is perfectly laid out, gorgeous and well maintained. We got lots of help from the manager who lives nearby and would check on us each day and help with booking tours, meals, or just friendly advice. Costa Rica is beautiful and the people are genuinely hardworking, humble and very friendly people. Casa Tolteca is in Manuel Antonio and an ideal location. What was great is that we never drove and mostly walked to the beach every day except for our zip lining tour. There are lots of bars, grocery stores, restaurants, taxis and buses around. The owner of the Casa was very easy to work with and we got what was advertised. We Loved It All! Jeff

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad that your stay at CasaTolteca was perfect. We look forward to your return trip to Manuel Antonio before your tan completely fades away.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

Well our tans are fading but we are all still reliving our incredible trip to Casa
Tolteca through our photos and videos. My partner of 17 years was
celebrating his 40th birthday with 12 of our best, lifelong friends.

The Casa is perfectly laid out, gorgeous and well maintained. We got lots of help from the
manager who lives nearby and would check on us each day and help with
booking tours, meals, or just friendly advice. Costa Rica is beautiful and the
people are genuinely hardworking, humble and very friendly people.

Casa Tolteca is in Manuel Antonio and an ideal location. What was great is that we
never drove and mostly walked to the beach every day except for our zip
lining tour. There are lots of bars, grocery stores, restaurants, taxis and
buses around. The owner of the Casa was very easy to work with and we got
what was advertised.

We Loved It All!

Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

The whole family had a blast.  The house is beautiful as well as the surrounding property.  The kids all had no problem navigating there way around the house and pool area and they could have gone nowhere and been in heaven the whole trip.  One day about 30-40 spider monkeys descended on the property and stayed around for about a half hour giving everyone a very unique treat.  Zip lining, para sailing, deep sea fishing, golfing, and small side trips were all very easy to accomplish due to the location of the property.  Although we really didn't need Thomas assistance that much he was available whenever we did need him, thank him for all his help.  The chefs were great and we all ate more than we needed.  They also did a great job with the birthdays we had.  We are already looking into dates for next year for a return trip around the same time.  The weather was perfect and we all felt much more comfortable in Costa Rica(Manual Antonio) than on most of our previous family vacations to Mexico.  Thank you again for opening your house to us and we will be in contact for next year. 

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

We had an absolutely awesome time in Costa Rica, and did not want to come
home! It is hard to get all of our family together in one place as they are
scattered across the U.S. And in Japan! Everyone was thrilled with the
accommodations, and the location of the house was perfect as everyone was
very comfortable with jumping on the bus! The house is perfectly arranged,
especially for a group like ours, and was extremely well equipped!

We loved the upper deck and the views, and our resident iguana. We had a
wonderful Christmas dinner prepared by your staff, who were delightful! And
I cannot say enough about how great Thomas was. He was so responsive,
capable, and personable. You have a real gem in Thomas!!! The house
exceeded our expectations, and I will definitely recommend it to others who
may be interested!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommended for Weddings

Review submitted: December 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

We can't imagine any better backdrop to have our wedding. We had our wedding party stay at CasaTolteca and guest stayed just across the street at the Falls Hotel. The chef made a great wedding feast at the house that fit our group of 40 guests!

We have been to Manuel Antonio many times and have stayed at many villas and think that CasaTotleca must be the best of them all. We love how you have large areas for the entire group to get together, but also have space to get away from the pack when you want. And the location can't be beat!

We would like to thank Michael, Thomas, and Yensy for making this the perfect wedding day.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 4, 2008   Date of arrival: December 4, 2008

We can't imagine any better backdrop to have our wedding. We had our
wedding party stay at CasaTolteca and guest stayed just across the street at
the Falls Hotel. The chef made a great wedding feast at the house that fit our
group of 40 guests!

We have been to Manuel Antonio many times and have stayed at many villas
and think that CasaTotleca must be the best of them all. We love how you
have large areas for the entire group to get together, but also have space to
get away from the pack when you want. And the location can't be beat!

We would like to thank Michael, Thomas, and Yensy for making this the
perfect wedding day.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

I just wanted to say thank you for helping us have such a fabulous vacation. The entire week was fantastic and Casa Tolteca was the perfect spot for us. The house is beautiful and we always looked forward to returning after the days activities. It was like a dream.

Thank you so much for all the arrangements you made for us. You certainly recommended great tours, and it was always nice to see your smiling face. Cornelius and his wife were fabulous cooks. They prepared great meals and were very warm and inviting people.

We all relaxed, and are now sad to be home. I hope we can return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 11, 2008

I just wanted to say thank you for helping us have such a fabulous vacation.
The entire week was fantastic and Casa Tolteca was the perfect spot for us.
The house is beautiful and we always looked forward to returning after the
days activities. It was like a dream.

Thank you so much for all the arrangements you made for us. You certainly
recommended great tours, and it was always nice to see your smiling face.
Cornelius and his wife were fabulous cooks. They prepared great meals and
were very warm and inviting people.

We all relaxed, and are now sad to be home. I hope we can return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review