reviews for: listing #84501 - Snowshoe, West Virginia Condo rental

Great Prices, Ski-In/Out, Next to Village, Remodeled -ML 125
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mountain Lodge
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $360 /nt
    $450 - $1,995 /wk
    $650 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Very nice accomodations

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

My family of four and me recently stayed at this very clean and spacious condo for spring break. It was great for the four of us. Right in the heart of downtown snowshoe, close to restaurants and shopping and skiing of course. The only complaint is that the walls are thin and it was sometimes hard to sleep (or stay asleep). Besides that, a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retired teacher

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

The property owner was accurate in describing condo's cleanliness, appearance, and amenities. The location near the Village was much of a convenience as was the ski-in ski-out advantage.
Unfortunately, our 3 day holiday was cut to 2 days because of an oncoming icestorm.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Ski Experience

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

This is an affordable way to enjoy some awesome skiing at Snowshoe. The lodge is right on the slopes so we could put on our gear in the condominium walk across the hall and we were on the slopes. The place slept six easily and had all the conveniences we needed. Everything for cooking and preparing your own meals was in the room except food. We highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

First time visiting snow shoe, so this was a perfect location considering we didn't know the area too well and it is close to everything. You don't have to drive anywhere. Everything was clean, rooms are spacious, great kitchen for cooking and eating in. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because of the noise or the walls being too thin. Bright and early and late at night, it gets loud and because I slept in the room near the outside hall way to the other condos, I could hear everything and I couldn't sleep. You could hear people walking by or closing their doors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jan. ski trip

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

Had a 3 great days of skiing and was very happy with this condo. The owner responded very quickly to questions and allowed us to check-in early and check-out lat since the unit was not rented the day before or after our stay. Everything worked properly, the beds were comfortable, and having a dryer in the condo was great. This unit was VERY close and convenient to the slopes. It faces the parking lot which doesn't give much of a view but the convenience makes up for it. We have stayed in various condos at Snowshoe and while some of the other buildings are more luxurious, we prefer ML because of the convenience for skiing and price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

The room was great for our skiing get away. Service from staff was excellent. The room was equipped with everything we needed. The location is perfect for skiing and close to all the restaurant and shops in the village.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a blast!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

We couldn't ask for more. Not only it was ski in/out was easy access to everything. We had very nice time there. Will be back again :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

My family stayed here in September and it was a nice quiet place to get away to. Tim was very helpful and accomodating. It has great access to the village. The Wi-Fi was a little touchy but you did have it in the condo. Having the washer/dryer in the unit was a huge benefit. We saw deer almost everyday. The village employees were great as well. They were friendly and inviting. If you do go to snowshoe, give this place a try and don't forget to stop by the Foxfire restaurant.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family Stay at the Resort

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

My family of 5 went the very last week of the season, when they had gotten a ton a snow. It was our first time and Snowshoe and we loved it! This 2 bedroom condo was exactly what my family needed. It is an older condo, but was very clean and in the perfect location. You literally walk out the door, put your skis on and ski down the mountain. This particular condo had a washer and dryer in it, which was very nice since I have three kids. We washed a lot! The condo was stocked with everything you need, including floor fans. Tim was a pleasure to work with! Our trip was Awesome, Thanks so much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Stay! Amazing Value!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

Our trip was great! We were very impressed with the accommodations at Mountain Lodge. We were able to unpack our stuff and spread out within the condo. The snow conditions were absolutely wonderful-there was fresh powder each morning. The ski in ski out from Mountain Lodge is ideal-it is literally steps from the Ballhooter lift-there are not many centrally located ski in/ski out lodges where you literally put on/take off your skis at the door.

Tim was the best, most friendly helpful owner/manager I've ever dealt with on VRBO.

Overall, I think Snowshoe is AWESOME for eastern US snow skiing. It is the closest in size/scope/amount of fresh powder to the western resorts in Colorado, Utah, etc. Thank you again for the GREAT vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ski In/ Ski Out

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This property slept six adults comfortably, with the pull out couch in the living room. The washing machine and dryer combo was extremely nice to have. The skiers in our group used the dryer to refresh their ski gear during multiple trips to the slopes in one day.

The ski in/ski out was a great amenity. You can literally walk from the first floor of the lodge onto Ballhooter, I think that was the name. I loved being so close to the slopes!

The only thing was the wi-fi did not work. There was a signal, but it never connected to the signal. We had our iPads and iPhones. For those that have never been to Snowshoe, there is absolutely no cell phone service. We were not expecting that at all. My friends went to the Catholic Church for service and they enjoyed the service, for anyone that is curious.

I would definitely use this VRBO again. The renter answered all my questions in a quickly manner.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very good stay at this property!

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Check in on Friday afternoon went very well without any delays at the front desk.
The condo was clean and very convenient to both the slopes and the main village.
We were 4 adults and a child and the size was perfect. Note, the child slept in the master bedroom.
In all honesty, it would be tight for 6 adults.
We cooked in 2 of the 3 nights and ate at the Fiddlehead at the bottom of the mountain one night and it was great food with a lot of locals there. We also ate lunch at the Old Spruce Cafe which had delicious sandwiches and soups.
Overall, we had a very nice stay and the owner was very easy to work with and professional.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ML125 was very good!

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

All was as expected, Very clean, comfortable, convenient and no hassles what-so-ever. Super easy check-in & check-out. Only minus was lack of wi-fi... could only access it in the halllway, and even then was iffy.
This was a last minute booking and Tim made it happen effortlessly. Would definitely recommend going with his properties, and will myself in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for skiing

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Our family had a great experience staying in this unit. We skied a holiday weekend, so the resort was packed, but we never felt crowded at Mountain Lodge. The accommodations are not luxury but are functional and comfortable.

If you are staying during a busy time, location in the Mountain Lodge is important as all of the ski lockers were taken before we arrived and we had to bring our equipment back to the condo. The location of this unit was perfect being on the first floor and close to the exit for the lift.
The parking lot was tough to drive and park in. Many vehicles got stuck, but there was a Snowshoe truck assisting drivers with chains if needed. Since the parking lot it always crowded, I was told it is difficult for them to plow it well. This was not too big of a deal as we did not need to use our vehicle while there.

Our family would stay here again and would recommend it to a friend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Snowshoe - Mountain Lodge

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

Everyone that we met on the mountain was beyond friendly. We felt so welcomed, almost as if we were a local. I would definietly travel back to the mountain and to this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mountain Momma

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

My stay at Mountain Lodge was quite enjoyable. The listing description was accurate; I especially appreciated having a washer/dryer unit in the condo. The help was friendly, knowledgable and went out of their way to be helpful. The condo was clean, furnished nicely and it was a pleasure to use it as home for two months.

Since I as there at off season and it wasn't fully staffed, it would have been helpful to have had a telephone number that was near the front desk for information and emergencies.

I would highly recommend a trip off-the-mountain to the town of Cass for a ride on the train and a trip to Green Bank to visit the National Radio Astronomy Observatory and the artisit guild. Local farmer's markets in both Marlinton and Green Bank are also fun! And, don't miss the Opera House in Marlinton. For outdoor enthusists, Cranberry Glades is close by.

I would highly recommend Mountain Lodge to all who enjoy the outdoors and living among the clouds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GNCC Weekend

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

We had a great time at Snowshoe. Tim was wonderful to work with and went way beyond providing information to me with the many e-mails I sent. The condo was very nice and comfortable. My only complaint was the wireless internet service. I had to use my laptop in the master bedroom to get a good signal. I also like the units that face the slops but this one had very easy access to outside. All in all, good experience. Thanks Tim for your assistance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

What a great vacation! The owner of this condo was an absolute PEACH to work with-- we were coordinating among quite a few people and had to send several emails before deciding on the right dates/location/etc. and Timothy responded quickly and politely to every single one. We were able to stay two nights, where most of the places require a three night minimum. I'm not sure if that is the norm for this property or if it was allowed because we were staying later in the season/last minute, but we REALLY appreciated it. The Mountain Lodge is certainly a little bit old and dated as other reviewers have mentioned, but this condo was clean, featured a great layout, and comfortably fit 5 adults. While it's not "luxurious" and new, it certainly fits the bill for a perfect ski weekend location. Also, the room itself is incredibly close to the exit that leads out to the slope, so while the Mountain Lodge is ON the slope, I imagine other rooms do have to walk through the lodge a bit to get to the exit (although there may be other exits closer to other rooms... I didn't look) but you take about 10 steps from this unit and you're there! Snowshoe itself is a fantastic place to ski. It is a HUGE resort and there are so many different trails for all skill levels. And the "Village" where there are plenty of shops, DELICIOUS restaurants (I recommend the Fire Fox grill for some of the best BBQ you've ever had), Starbucks and random weekend entertainment put on by the resort, is also literally steps from the lodge. We had quite the drive going in-- lots of rain and fog-- and it ended up taking us WAY long than we expected to get there. Everyone in my party swore they would never go back, but by Saturday evening they were making plans. I HIGHLY recommend Snowshoe, the Mountain Lodge, and Timothy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Retreat

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

For a first time ski trip, we were looking for accommodations that were budget friendly, easily accessible to the slopes, and comfortable for the whole family. What a gold mine we found! After doing extensive research, I found this condo to be the best priced for the amenities it provided. Also, having a washer/dryer in the condo was a huge plus. Most units did not have this feature. Nothing is worse than kids complaining about wet/cold snow gear! The owner was very friendly, quick to respond to our questions, and provided useful information for first time visitors (lift and rental discounts, restaurant reservation tips). Highly recommend. Our family will rent this unit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location and Very Comfortable

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We stayed in this Mountain Lodge condo over the New Years weekend. It was very easy to get out to the slopes from this unit. Having a washer and dryer was great for drying out our ski gear. Very clean and comfortable with plenty of room for our family of 5. Additionally, the owner provided us with a lot of information and discounted ski rental options. He sent great directions and information about the condo and the village. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super-Convenient and Comfy Location

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Had a group of six stay at this unit this past weekend. Its first-floor Mountain Lodge location can't be beat. You're literally a minute away from the BallHooter lift and the Village complex.

The master bedroom is fairly large and has its own bath. The guest bedroom and hall bath were also reasonably sized, as was the pull-out couch. The kitchen was stocked with all the utensils, dishes, and cookware we needed to help feed our hungry group. There was bedding supplied for the pull-out couch.

The owner was responsive with any questions I had about the unit. Everything was found in clean and working order. Our overall experience was great. The only drawback was the first-floor noise of early morning guests headed out to the slopes, which could be heard from the master and guest bedrooms. Still, a small price to pay for the location. I'd definitely consider staying at this unit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review