reviews for: listing #84519 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Gorgeous remodeled 2/br end unit: Steps to swimming beaches
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kihei Akahi
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $249 /nt
    $1,120 - $1,645 /wk

sort by:

Oustanding condo!

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2014

This is an EXCELLENT condo and my family had a great stay here. The location is about a three minute walk down the driveway to the beach and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. In addition, there are three grocery stores (Foodland, Times and Safeway) within about a 5-10 minute drive so you can easily stock up on whatever you need. The Safeway (most expensive of the bunch) is located in a brand new plaza with a bunch of restaurants. The condo has everything that you need, including a fully equipped, large kitchen, washer and dryer (not quite full size but more than enough), dining area with a table and chairs, living area (pull out sofa couch, a/c unit and TV), two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It is a corner unit at the back of the property so there is no noise at all except the birds in the morning (and they can start chirping early). Boogie boards, cooler, chairs and umbrellas for the beach are also available in the condo. Great sunsets at the beach to boot. The drive to Lahaina is about 30-40 minutes so if you are doing a lot of activities there, be prepared for the drive. There is also a golf course (did not play) about a 5 minute drive away. The only thing missing for me would have been an a/c unit in the main bedroom since it could get pretty hot in the condo (lots of fans though) but with electricity prices so high, the one unit in the main area did a good job of cooling down the area. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent value location

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

This is a spacious 2 bed 2 bath end unit. Comfortable convenient location. The wifi worked great. It was nice to have 2 separate twin beds in the 2nd bedroom for our kids. Full stocked kitchen with everything you need to make a full meal. One ac unit in the living room which kept the place cool enough. The condo had all your beach needs: chairs, towels, umbrella, sand toys, boogie boards. This was a huge plus since these items are charged heavily at the resorts. Kam 2 is the best beach ever!! The absolute best sunsets on Maui. Great location to walk to dinner and trinket shopping. We would rent this unit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Central Illinois Family

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Kihei Akahi. The condo was perfect for our family of four and it provided everything we needed including beach chairs and umbrella. We were able to use Kihei as our home base while we visit the Maui island. We visited many great restaurants in Lahaina and Wailea as well as making simple meals in the accommodating kitchen. We were happy to have the use of the washer and dryer and the 2 full bathrooms made getting ready for the four of us a breeze. The on site pools and grills gave us the flexibility to be comfortable while on vacation. The owners were so helpful and the listing describes the condo perfectly. We hope to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Suited our Needs Perfectly

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

Our party of three had an excellent two week stay at this condo. South Kihei is an excellent base for a Maui vacation (close to Wailea / Makena beaches at a fraction of the price, as well as easy access to other areas of the island) and Kihei Akahi is our choice complex that we seem to return to on our Maui trips. This was our first time staying in this particular condo, as well as our first time staying in a two bedroom corner unit. I must say that the space was very welcome.

The two bedroom condos have particularly large lanais, and this condo was no exception. The west-facing lanai meant that we could linger over breakfast without baking in the sun as the shade would last well into late morning. This condo was also very convenient due to it being situated very close to the parking spot, which was tremendously helpful for transferring baggage, groceries, etc. We’ve stayed in other Kihei Akahi units where such tasks were comparatively arduous, and we really came to appreciate the convenience.

The condo itself was nicely furnished, tastefully decorated and had all of the conveniences that you’d expect and more. I really can’t say that we wanted for much of anything that wasn’t already provided by the condo (e.g. kitchen utensils, beach equipment).

I corresponded primarily with Kathleen, and she was excellent with communication and answered any questions in a thorough and timely fashion. I would not hesitate to recommend this condo to anyone looking for a perfect Maui holiday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT LOCATION, BEAUTIFUL ACCOMODATIONS

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

This is a great location. Locals we met said the best weather on Maui is in Kihei, and we believe it. Walk to great local beaches and short hops to Wailea or Lahina/Ka'anapali. The luxurious accomodations made us feel like pampered guests. Knowing we had a washer/dryer allowed us to leave the pack mule at home.
We enjoyed hanging out at the pool and BBQing as well as just relaxing on our deck and enjoying the afternoon breeze. Our entire stay was magical. Mahalo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two week 40th Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

Location was absolutely ideal, very quiet. Photos were mostly accurate in reflecting the condition of the unit. Property was basically well maintained but needed deep cleaning. Closet full of beach chairs, etc. and coolers were much appreciated. Bed linens needed replacement although beds were very comfortable. Concerns were promptly and adequately addressed. We would still recommend this property to friends and relatives as it won't take much to bring this unit up to a high standard. The nearby beach, cinnamon bun shop, ice cream parlour and Fred's for breakfast were wonderful nearby ammenities. Had a great time with our Alberta friends making new memories on Maui.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Canadian's visit

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

Four of stayed very comfortably in this condo. It was convenient to everything, walking distance to many restaurants, shops, beach etc. Our queen size bed was comfortable, lots of towels, adequate kitchen supplies for cooking in. I would go back there anytime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion over Christmas

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Our family planned a reunion with my wife's siblings and her mother on the island of Maui and this unit really served us well with its roomy interior to host get-togethers for dinner over the week plus time we were on Maui. In addition, this complex is centrally and conveniently located to beaches, shops and restaurants. The unit is really clean and well equipped for cooking and there are 2 different BBQ areas in the complex that came in handy for cooking outdoors.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo with splendid surroundings and activities

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

This is our second visit to this condo and there were 4 adults and our other family members would stop by to visit (3 families in the building). The upgraded baths were a pleasant surprise. The ceiling fans were sufficient to keep everything pleasant...even though it states it a first floor, since there are ground floor condos; this is up a flight, breezes blowing from the east or west and the birds in the trees to greet you in the mornings.
The kitchen is more than amply supplied. There is a whole closet just with beach towels. Beach equipment, toys and supplies multiplied since the two years we were there. We did not have to rent anything…thanks to the owners and others like us who “leave behind”.
The pool is at the end of our building and an easy 5 minute walk. The beach is across the street…..Kamaole 2…our favorite. Great snorkeling ----fish and turtles. There are at least 4 other beaches we either walk or drive to…especially Big Beach. Restaurants 10 to 20 minute walk away. Whaler’s mini store about 10 min and an ABC store with a Deli about 15 min. Foodland and easy 8 minute drive with local artisans galore. Large Safeway an easy 10 minute drive.
We will reserve again for our next visit in two years and highly recommend to all.
John & Judie – Tacoma, Wa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very happy guest

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Kihei Akahi D102 on three trips to Maui. Each time I have found the condo to be clean, well equipped, and well maintained. Kamaole I Beach is only steps away and I would rate it as one of Maui's finest beaches for swimming and snorkeling. The staff at the Kihei Akahi complex have always been most friendly and helpful and the evening security staff provide a quietly efficient sense of security. I would recommend this condo to my friends and I will be returning early next year for another visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui review

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We had a great time in Maui and the condo was perfect. We appreciated the beach chairs, noodles, beach towels and coolers, all of which we used daily! The kitchen was well-equipped for cooking and the washer and dryer totally made our whole trip much easier. Thank you for allowing us to check in early, as well.

We will definitely stay with you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fantastic stay at this condo

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Beautifully decorated, well equipped and clean. Our family enjoyed a wonderful stay here and would gladly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay, would come again!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

Loved the location and the condo was awesome. Very comfortable, kitchen was great and anything you needed was right at hand. I would definitely recommend this condo - clean, affordable and being so centralized in Kihei is an added bonus. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous time in Maui

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Thank you so much for the note and we had a fabulous time in Maui. The condo was absolutely great and there was everything there that we needed. It was great to have a big kitchen and the gas stove was the best, we really appreciated it (since we are a family of cooks!) There were no problems with anything other than we blew a fuse once but thanks to your good instructions, we were able to figure out how to flip everything back on. We never used the air conditioning (don't like it personally) and the fans were more than perfect to bring in a nice breeze.

Anyways, thank you so much for your hospitality and we would love to have the chance to come back again and stay at Kihei Akahi. We would definitely want to stay with you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Kihei in November

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here in Kihei during our November trip to Maui. All I can say is AWESOME!!! The condo was clean, comfortable, full of every needed / useful amenity, and it even came with beach toys! Walking out the condo door and across the street to fantastic beaches was a huge bonus. The beaches were perfect for our sunbathing/swimming/snorkeling needs, and the needs of our two small children who wanted to play in the nice sand and mellow surf. We had a blast spending our mornings at the beach, taking the kids back across the street for naps, and heading out again at night. The ability to do laundry kept our packing to a minimum, and cooking most of our meals saved us hundreds! Kihei is a beautiful area, within short (20-30 min.) driving distance to Lahaina; and offers everything a traveler would need. We appreciated the vibrant plant and animal life on the condo grounds, and the clean local environment. The first floor condo access also makes life easier and allows access for all individuals. I highly recommend this condo and I can't wait to get back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great place for our family

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2010

We stayed here with our 2 boys, ages 6 and 3. It was very comfortable (beds were great), clean and was a very convenient location. We were extremely pleased with the beach toys, boogie boards and beach chairs that were readily available. They were used every single day! Even though the family like to explore different beaches, it was nice to have Kam II across the street for those quick evening dips. It was nice to be situated in the "back building" so we didn't get the traffic noise. The only thing that was a little bit disappointing for our boys was the swimming pool. They found it quite boring, but we didn't go to Maui for the swimming pools! I'd also like to mention that the owner was extremely helpful with detailed information. I e-mailed her many times about the unit and she answered all of my questions right away. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

Your condo truly felt like home away from home. Everything we needed was there - beach towels, snorkles, coolers, beach chairs, info, excellent "library". The location was perfect - righ across from the beach and not too far drive to so many more wonderful sights. We also loved that the ice cream shop and cinnamon roll shop were so close. The pool being so close to the unit was also fantastic.

The only trouble we had was that the oven did not work. The burners were fine but we were not able to bake in the oven - which for us was a problem because we eat in every night. We called the on islnad contact who said someone would come by to fix it but no one ever did. We just used the grill instead.

We will definetly rent this unit again when we come back to Maui next year if it available.

Mahalo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha,

We were in the unit during November and checked to make sure that oven and cook top are working properly. We did notice, that since the oven does not often get much use, it may take some time for the gas to get to the burners and ignite.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent place for families

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

Though only 4 adults stayed there, we had 5 more join us and two children for dinner....great for hosting parties....access to the grill and pool were very nice...close to the beach and walking distance to small grocery stares and restaurants made it very convenient. The condo had great accomodations and beach things. We will stay again. The Toth's of Tacoma

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review