reviews for: listing #8453 - Guntersville, Alabama Cabin rental

Polecat Place - Cozy Cabin with Boathouse (FREE NIGHT DEAL!)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $85 - $150 /nt
    $510 - $900 /wk
    $1,530 - $2,700 /mth

sort by:

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

My husband and I had a great week at the polecat pad, we loved the lil room, had everything we needed. The boathouse was great to keep our boat, the pier was a quite place where we spent most of our time, fishing and swimming! We loved the area, we even got an invitation from neighbors to hang out around a campfire. Loved the place, and Mrs. Libby was a blessing to work with, we can not wait to go again! The trip to town for groceries was only a short distance, that gave us more time to spend enjoying our cabin. While in our room we were very comfortable, the bed was very comfortable! The atmosphere in the lil cabin was very comfy! I can't think of one thing that I would have changed.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad u enjoyed ur stay. It is not always that we get to meet our guests but I can say most all such as yourself are such a blessing. Thank u for taking such good care of our place. And even though our "antique" boathouse is functioning we do hope to build new one soon. Thanks again and come back to see us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Escape!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on he lake! The Polecat Place should be renamed The Polecat Palace, because we definitely felt like royalty watching the sunrise each morning from our wonderful view on the deck on the second floor. Libby keeps the place spotless and the decor is so comfy, we felt like we were right at home from the minute we arrived! We've already booked a return trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoy your stay Randy. Guests like You are such a blessing!
Libby

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

The place has been completely redone since I was there last and it is beautiful. The really fun part was sitting on the deck with all my relatives and visiting, AND watching my granddaughters catch bluegill on the pier. They had a blast! Libby, her husband and son and "Jack" the dog could not have been nicer. Thank you for another wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stress Relief...

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We moved here about 5 months ago and I never knew about these cabins.

I had a very stressful week so my sone and daughter in law booked me a cabin. It is so peaceful here and cozy.

I felt so at ease and my stress has lifted.

Thank you for this time here.

I will let people know about this place

Thanks

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Boathouse...

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Loved the place. It was what we needed. Fishing was o.k. Its our first time. Looks like what I saw on the internet. Loved the boat house. Made it easy for going out.

We will be back!

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Short Stay

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We could only stay a couple of nights but thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Nice little getaway. Look forward to coming back soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First timers

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Thanks Libby for the wonderful clean place to stay. Fishing was good. Our first time here. Look forward to coming back in the future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bug Free

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Thanks Libby! for such a wonderful vacation! As usual we enjoyed our stay and as usual you ensured that we were very comfortable.
Thanks for keeping Polecat Place clean, bug free, beautiful, and happy.

We'll see you next year and can't wait to see you then.

Much Love

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rest

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Just what we needed! Your cabin is outfitted well and we found the site and the cabin peaceful. We laughed, we rested. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Fish

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We stayed here for a week to go fishing. We had a great time and caught some nice fish. We appreciate you allowing us to stay here and for the use of you boat house. We look forward to staying here again in the future.

Thanks

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

We arrived at Polecat today and were welcomed with a clean and wonderful place. Enjoyed all week here and we'll be back. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fishing

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

This is our 2nd year coming to Guntersville and staying at Polecat Place. Last year we stayed in the lower cabin and it was very nice. This year we stayed in the middle cabin and it was absolutely wonderful!
Our friends have been coming to Guntersville since the early 80's and they love staying at Polecat Palace! We love how you put the boats in when you get here and don't have to take them off the water until you leave. Parking is a little tight but the location on the lake makes up for that. The fishing was better than it was las fall - but we plan on returning in the spring to catch the "big ones" Libby and Mark are two of the nicest people you could every meet. The cabins are stocked with the comforts of home and more. They are here if you need them but respect the privacy of their guests.
Thank you Libby & Mark for giving us a chance to "live on the lake" for a week. We feel right at home here and plan on returning for several years!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Childproof

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

This was a wonderful trip. We enjoyed it so much. The weather was perfect and everything we needed was right here. Saw our family ad plan on coming back.
The place was very childproof in every way. Would tell anyone to stay here for a great time! Hope to be back in at least three years.

P.S. Love the fact it does not have carpet. It gives it such a clean feeling. Very child friendly!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Frosty

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

This will be our third stay here at the Polecat Palace. We have always had a fabulous time here and once again, we made it home. the place has changed its look over the years, but its heart and soul has not. We always talk about the fun times we have had here, and now have new stories to share.
The weather was a little chilly but we made the absolute best of it. We made it to the Gray Bat Sanctuary early only to leave due to angry clouds and some frosty passengers in the boat. We will always remember our stay and most definitely return next year. C U soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

TORNADOS

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We stayed here for seven nights after all the tornados went through. Two nights were without electricity and you don't realize how inconvenient not having it can be. The owners here are extremely nice and allowed us to shower in their floor since they had gas water heater. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The levels are clean and comfortable. The area is quiet and the boat house and pier are very close will definitely stay here again.
P.S. The two guys, Check & George, who were in the lower unit the same week we were here were two of the nicest people you could ever meet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Polecat Palace

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

Our stay was great! The listing accurately depicted the location, the photos accurately showed what the house is like, the property was clean and well maintained, the owner is super nice and helpful, I would reccomend this property to anyone for a fun getaway on Lake Guntersville! It is conveniently located to sveral boat ramps for fishermen and the state park for fun with the kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 45 / 45

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review