reviews for: listing #84601 - Newport Beach, California House rental

30 Seconds to Beach! *AUG DATES OPEN* Patio/Bikes/garage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $189 - $371 /nt
    $1,325 - $2,800 /wk
    $6,400 - $9,200 /mth

sort by:

Happy 2 family vacation

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

The kitchen was extremely well stocked with any dish and even cooking seasoning you may need. The bedros were comfortable and were easy to keep clean. There was lots of space to enjoy the outside atmosphere with your choice of outdoor seating. Grilling in the fresh air made the stay even better. Close to everything and literally steps away from the beach. Loved it and will stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love this house and location.

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

The beach house was comfortable, well-maintained and had wonderful, easy access to the beautiful beaches of Newport. Easy drive from John Wayne Airport. The garage is a little snug so I would not recommend a huge rental car. Kitchen was well equipped. Neighborhood felt safe and friendly. We enjoyed our 20-30 minute walks to the downtown area (a quick bike ride or a cheap $7.00 cab ride). Rolo was just a phone call away. Can't wait to stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to send this really nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back soon to Your Home by the Sea!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Real beach feel

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We loved our "home from home"...real livable feeling. Close to everything and thoughtfully stocked with ANYTHING you might need. Comfy and clean, not some over stuffy decorators fantasy (as some vacation rentals are). We were there 4 nights, will have to go for at least a week next time! Thanks Michelle and Rollo.... Just the right vibe!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Near perfect location and a great experience!

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

My wife and I had never been to California before, and we wanted to see what southern California was all about. The house was perfectly fine but almost became an afterthought to everything around it! It's truly just steps from the beach (140 of my steps before I hit sand) and within easy walking distance of many great restaurants and shops. We did rent a car, but probably wouldn't have needed it with our personal choices, since we did decide to walk pretty much everywhere we went. That was probably a good decision since we were nearly constantly stuffed from Do'sants (Cronuts) from around the corner, Laventinas Pizza (thanks Rollo! - try the antipasto salad!), The Crab Cooker, and 21 Oceanfront (very romantic fine dining).

I just want to iterate that if you have *any* issues at all, please contact Michelle or Rollo and they will take care of it right away. They really want the traveler to have the best time possible.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and I'm so appreciative of the owner for letting us stay in her home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Honeymoon!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our honeymoon at this property on Newport Beach. We honestly couldn't have asked for a better location! It was seconds to the beach and a very cozy home. The home was kept very clean and Michelle was amazing to work with. We were very thankful for the 2 beach crusiers that came with the property as we put over 50 miles on them touring around Calfornia. I would recommend this property to anyone!

Owners response: Hello!
I am glad you two love birds made it home safely! It is wonderful to hear you had a memorable honeymoon. We hope to have you back soon!
Michelle & Rollo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

30 seconds to beach a charming place!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

It was a wonderful trip:) So relaxing and beautiful there at your location. We slept very comfortably and there was lots of living room space for game playing and movie watching. We also really enjoyed the lovely patio:) Knowing we were just a short walk from the sand made it so nice for those who wanted to head back earlier or whatever. Neighborhood was quiet and people are friendly.
Thanks again for everything Michelle.
Linda and David

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Linda and David,
Thank you so much for staying. I hope you will return soon to Your Home by the Sea!
Michelle

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Jaime Knab

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Awesome overall!! Rollo was great, Michelle kept in touch with us, clean!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

This was a wonderful place for our family beach vacation! The house had everything we needed to enjoy our time together. The kitchen was very well appointed, the furniture was comfortable, the house and property were clean and the outdoor space was great for relaxing. The location really can't be beat- easy walking to some good food options and easy access to the freeway for other destinations. And just an eight house stroll to the beautiful beach where the kids played while we watched the surfers, dolphins and ocean. Michelle was very responsive to any questions and so helpful. We would love to come back sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! I am so glad you enjoyed my home and the location! We take pride in assuring our guests have the best experience possible.
I look forward to your return to your home by the sea!
Michelle

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Will do 2 weeks next year!!!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

It truly is 30 seconds from the Beach!!! What an excellent place to stay!!! The bedrooms are large and very comfortable. Great to have kitchen and BBQ. Kitchen was stocked with more than enough Kitchen utensils and dishes. Small private porch off the kitchen was so nice to have for relaxing. Within walking distance to the Newport Pier, shopping and food. We had 5 adults and 2 children--everyone was comfortable. House is very clean. The neighborhood is quiet and relaxing! The Owner was always available if we needed help or just needed directions to any location. We went for 1 week this year---Next year already booked 2 weeks!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I look forward to your family coming back to your home by the sea next summer!
HappiTravels!
Michelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Newport fun

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

this was a trip for my daughetr's high school graduation with several of her friends. The home was wonderful and has everything you need for accomodations and cooking! The neighborhood was perfect for our visit and I would recommend it to anyone. Make sure you read the 1 - 1/2 bath...if you take five girls, you have to schedule the shower! Wonderful vavcation and incredible memories!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for the nice review Alex. I really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule. It was a pleasure having you and "the girls" stay. Thank you for leaving everything so nice and clean!
Thank you for making the point about reading the ad details. I really try to explain everything in detail on the ad.
Thanks again! Hope to see you back soon!
HappiTravels!
Michelle

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED !!!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Our family rented both the top and bottom of this property for a group birthday party. The house ( a classic beach bungalow) and the amenities provided were exactly as advertised. The setup was perfect for all of the activities we had planned for the various age groups. The two patios , one front and one in back were ideal for b-bques and entertaining. The beach truly is only a half block away and the owner thoughtfully provided bikes and boogie boards. We needed some smaller bikes and there is a bike rental store nearby. There are plenty of restaurants and grocery stores, which makes shopping and eating very convienient. One restaurant suggestion: A trip to Newport Beach would not be complete without a visit to the CRAB COOKER. A long standing tradition in the area, it is always our first stop. (To avoid the lines- they have takeout)Many of us @ the party grew up in the area and have fond memories of good times @ the beach. We all agreed that this beach house helped to instantly bring back all of those great memories. It was just a really fun place to be.

Thank you Michelle

Linda

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Linda! Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Transplanted California

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

There is no place like home except this nice Beach House. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. You have everything that you need to just relax and enjoy a nice time at the beach. The beach is perfect and just a few steps away. My family is already planning our next stay at this lovely Beach house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Life is easy

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

The house had everything we could possibly need. The manager went out of her way to help us, even after we had already paid. Checkout was a breeze. The location is a real treat because it is less than 2 blocks to food and to the ocean. There was something fun to do every minute.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Beach Home

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Great house close to the beach with a full kitchen. Was a nice, clean home. Enjoyed the big living room with a cozy fireplace:) Easy walk to the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Birthday Retreat

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

This beach house was an awsome place to spend my 40th birthday with my family and some friends. It was so comfortable and conveniently close to the beach. We were able to spend the days walking the beach and playing in the sand with our child, and in the evenings we enjoyed the sunsets from the patio and crisp beach air. My wife and I even got away for a bike ride to the pier while the grandparents babysat (bikes included in the rental, wow!) One thing thats great for young kids is that there is a small park with a playground only 2 blocks away. Everymorning I had dady and daughter time while mommy slept in.
The condition of the house was great and there was room for the 5 of us with plenty to spare. We did some entertaining and had all the supplies we needed to host friends for cocktails and barbequeing. The small private patio in back is a nice place to relax when privacy is desired but you still want to feel like you are at the beach. It was great to have a private garage for parking too so that we didn't have to search for street parking each time we went to see the local sites that we couldn't walk to. We had such a good time we are thinking about coming back every year and we can't stop telling all our friends about how much fun we had.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

We rented the property to celebrate my sons birthday. It was very convenient to a local body boarder surf spot. It was close to local restaurants and the beach boardwalk. It had a nice patio, great to enjoy Newport's weather. The house had all the cookware that you could possibly need. Michelle also thought of all the little things like spices, coffee and cremer! The pictures on VRBO were exactly what was posted. We were not disappointed. It felt like our home away from home.We hope to return soon. Thanks Michelle

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun, Clean family vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We had such a great time! The house was great, well stocked with everthing you would need for the kithen, bathroom, and laundry. Michelle was wonderful and really made sure we were happy. I would recommend this house to my friends. We may even go back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

cute little cottage feel

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

My self, six of my children, and grandma stayed in newport Beach, in this fabulous cozy place, just 1/2 block from the beach. We absolutely loved it, the place had everything in it; even some groceries, coffee, beach toys, boogie boards, grill, beach chairs, washing machine etc. Michelle, our land lady was great, and very sweet, calling; making sure everything was ok. She even send my phone charger, I left behind., mimmi

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just as Promised

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

I'm picky. Moreover, I was travelling with a bunch of teenage girls, and they're even more picky, and we were all beyond happy! Our stay at this beach house was comfortable, clean and convenient. The listing is completely accurate, and the house was just as I imagined. The house lay out and location is perfect for families, and Michelle was more than accomodating and helpful. I would recommend this property to a friend in a minute. For the amount of people this house can accommodate, it is a good deal, too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much! It was great meeting you and your girls. Please come back to your home by the sea!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This home has everything you need to have a great vacation. We took our kids and grandkids. There was plenty of room for everyone. The patio out front was perfect for eating breakfast, lunch or dinner. MIchelle provides beach gear, bikes and all the linens. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, and pots and pans. We look forward to renting from Michelle again next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: HI Maryann:
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I look forward to seeing you and your family next year or sooner!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More than expected!

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

The property was very open and plenty of space for my family of 7.The beach was at a perfect distance,enough space to shake off the sand before you reach the door.they had every thing you need or wanted in a vacation home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying and taking such great care of the property! Please return to your home by the sea!!
Michelle

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Week in Newport

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

We had a wonderful week in this great property. Michelle was GREAT- took care of all our needs, her main concern was that we enjoyed our stay at her lovely house! We will be back for many years to come.!!!! Thank you!!!!
Listing is completely accurate
Photos accuratley reflect the property
Owner was WONDERFUL!!
Property was well maintained and clean
I would recommend tis property to a friend

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review