reviews for: listing #84753 - Marco Island, Florida House rental

Stunning Marco Island Waterfront Estate & Pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,799 - $3,499 /wk

sort by:

2014 Easter Week

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

The home is an older home in an older, not particularly attractive neighborhood. The first sign of this is that there is not picture of the front of the house on the website. The high points of the home are the pool area and the separate building with three bedrooms. This functions well for a large family.
Unfortunately, the home was not clean; dirty clothes under two of the beds, one bed had unchanged dirty sheets and another bed had some prescription drug pills on the sheets. The home needs a thorough cleaning. In addition, some of the linens were thread bare. The home is older and requires updating, a new coat of paint, etc.
Based on the above issues, we would not recommend this home.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Our family of 7 adults had a wonderful time. The house was just as the pictures showed with sufficient room to spread out. We spent mornings in the pool and afternoons doing stuff and them came back to swim again. There are many pool floats plus a pump! This is the first time we have rented a house and if we come back to Marco would definitely come here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the house and hope you'll be able to return!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Christmas vacation

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Our family of 7 adults and 1 toddler had a wonderful time on Marco Island! The layout of this property worked very well for our family. We enjoyed the pool each day and also spent time at both South Beach and Tigertail Beach. We grilled fish caught by my son-in-law and had fun collecting sea shells and spotting dolphins. The owners were very nice to work with! I would definitely consider stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

marco island

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Everything was great except there was no hot water in shower in main house for the first 5 days. It was frustrating.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the house. It was unfortunate that the flow of hot water to one of the showers was restricted and even more unfortunate that you had called the wrong number to report the problem. You must have thought we were terribly unresponsive. We were glad you later decided to email at which point we contacted the plumbers to fix the problem. They tried to fit a visit in the same day but their schedule was full and since there were three other showers for the six of you they felt it wasn't an emergency that they could justify rescheduling other clients. They were able to come out the following day and fix the problem.
We hope you'll be visiting Marco again and when you do, you'll choose to stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible pool, beautiful property

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

The pool was really incredible! We enjoyed the beautiful beaches every morning, but we spent every afternoon at our pool! Not only we would recommend the property, but we hope to go back to this paradise next time we come to Florida!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We're so please that you loved the house and would like to return - especially since you came all the way from Italy!
Grazie mille

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rental house on Marco Island

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We have been coming to Marco Island for about 16years now,traditionally staying at the Marriott or Marco Beach Ocean Resort. Our family has been growing in numbers as well as the chldren are getting older so I decided to try renting something that had more room to accomodate us. I have to admit I was very leary and concerned about this type of venture since we have had such good memories and enjoyed our facilities in the past. I am pleased to say everyone LOVED this property. It fit our needs perfectly with room to spread out. Having the majority of the sleeping rooms in a different building was wonderful , allowing those who chose to sleep in the ability to do so(especially the younger children who were always exhuasted by bedtime). Fishing off the dock was perfect for the teenage boys and thier grandpa and all were entranced daily by the visits of the dolphins and the manatees. The pool was a wonderful diversion for all and being right off the livng /kitchen area allowed the adults the ability to observe what was going on while preparing meals or just relaxing. The location was great and many shops were within walking distance,which also kept the teenagers busy. The owners were very responsive and attentive. The property was very clean ,well maintained and as described. It was a wonderful experience and we are looking forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your glowing review! The Marriott is not only the nicest hotel on the island, it is ranked as the second best Marriott branded resort in the world*, so we certainly had a tough act to follow! I'm so pleased we stood up to the test. I do hope you'll be able to return again soon.

*according to US News & World Report's website

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Our family of 10 plus a 10 month old had a great vacation in this Marco Island home. It is lovely, well equipped and very spacious. The baby could sleep in the detached bedroom while the others plyed in the big pool or played cards or watched movies in the main houae. The older kids loved the pool and fishing with Granddad off the boat dock. It is a great place for relaxing and being with family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We're excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how well the home fit your needs. We continually get positive feedback on how well the layout of the house works for both small and large groups. We hope you and your family will be able to return again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best vacation house ever!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Our extended family of three children, parents and in-laws had a wonder stay at this amazing waterfront home in beautiful Marco Island. We have been visiting Marco for over twenty years and have never before had the opportunity to stay in such a fabulous house. The location was perfect, water views and lovely foliage. Everyone enjoyed the terrific pool and the well-taken care of house and grounds.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Wow, twenty years of visiting Marco and you rank our house as best. That means a lot to us – thank you! We’ve been offering our house for ten years and continually are making improvements. We’re so pleased our efforts have helped you and your family have such a wonderful stay. We hope you’ll become another one of our “regulars”.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Property for Multiple Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We rented this property with another family and it worked out really well! Definitely enough space for all 10 of us. The kids enjoyed the loft bedroom. The pool was great and the highlight for the little ones. Overall, a great place, with a great location. The only drawback with young kids was the pool access. There is no fence around the pool itself, so easily accessible. We would definitely rent the property again.

Owners response: We’re so pleased you enjoyed the property! It’s so fun to see the expressions on the faces of young ones when they first see the pool and later hear about all the fun they had frolicking in the pool. Vacations are all about treasured memories and we hope you’ll be able to return to make some more! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great week away at Nixon House in Marco Island!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We came for a bit of a family reunion, with a two year-old, plus grandparents, and we all had a great time! The house is clean and well-maintained- what you see in the pictures is what you find when you come. The beds are really comfortable, and the layout worked perfectly for us. There are great binders full of menus and activity suggestions, and when we were there there were a lot of pool/beach toys in the garage too. The owner was a pleasure to work with. Like others, we were surprised to find that we enjoyed the pool area just as much as the beaches! We also loved grilled fresh fish almost every night on the barbecue. There were lots of dolphins out in March - we did a boat cruise and really all enjoyed it! We came back with loads of beautiful shells. All in all, staying at the Nixon House made for a very relaxing vacation. It was the perfect escape from the end of the Northeast winter. Thanks so much!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments. We aim to please so it is always nice to hear that our time and effort is appreciated. We do hope that you come back, and who knows, it could become part of family tradition.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Escape the Summer Heat in Marco

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We arrived here in the hopes of escaping the oppressive heat back in Chicago and were delighted to find it cooler here! Between my parents (age 60) and the others (me = 30, my husband 34, my sister = 33 and our sun 8 ½ mos), we felt the house was perfect for our needs. We loved the annex due to the perfect napping atmosphere it provided for our infant. We loved the pool and spent the most time there since the beaches were too far too access by foot. Had drinks out at the Snook, The Brewery and Quinns at the Marriott.
Loved Lee Be Fish, but good luck catching them when they’re open and not out fishing! One of our best meals was from Joey’s Pizza. Although others gave it mixed reviews, we ordered some great salads and good pizza – and they deliver!
Had a great time overall even though we never saw one of the elusive manatees or dolphins

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation!!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

We had a great vacation! The six of us enjoyed the set-up of the house, the extra-large pool and sun deck. One night we took the Marco Island Sunset cruise and saw a beautiful sunset – including the green flash! We took an Everglades tour (Captain Doug’s) and saw a bit of wildlife, but due to the cold water, only one alligator. Saw several dolphins at the beach. Overall a great trip! Thank you for sharing your wonderful home!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

girls retreat

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Loved the property and the pool. We had a fabulous time. You could use a another mirror in the bathroom and bedroom in the main house...

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words and we're pleased you had a fantastic stay. We work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience so it’s extremely rewarding to receive such positive unsolicited feedback.

We understand with several ladies getting ready at the same time that extra mirror space would be welcomed and have added a mirror in front room. We have several "Girls Getaway" groups so thanks for the suggestion. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The perfect place for a very special week

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

What a treat! Our family and friends had a wonderful time at this wonderful house. It was just right for the 5 of us who stayed the entire week and 2 family members who could only spend a couple of days. Everyone was delighted to spend time together at the fabulous pool, in the welcoming living room and around the spacious dining table. We were equally delighted that the house gave us all space for private time too. It really was perfect for us, clean, beautifully furnished and instantly 'home'.

We enjoyed going to the beach and wiggling our toes in the pristine white sand; the Wednesday Farmer's Market and that night's feast of fresh shrimp, stone crab and the perfect romaine for ceasar salad; our boat ride in the Everglades to photograph birds and dolphins; perfect Key Lime Pie at the Rod & Gun Club in Everglades City and photographing alligators as we drove along Turner Road. We also spent a day in Naples, the highlight of which was their fabulous art Museum.

For us, the week was just the right blend of fun in the sun and sight seeing. We wouldn't hesitate to come back and would highly recommend this great get away house to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thank you for your glowing review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like it fit your needs perfectly. Please keep us in mind for future travel - we would love to have you again!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Our favorite vacation!

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We loved staying at the "Nixon House." The set-up was perfect for our family - the teens (3) stayed in the annex and Dad/Mom enjoyed our time in the main house. Everyone had plenty of space! The pool was so much fun! The sun deck was wonderful and we all enjoyed the privacy this home offers. Our week in Marco went much too fast but it was truly a peaceful and relaxing vacation.
Saw a dolphin on day 1 and the last day. Love the ibis birds! There is a bird (eagle or osprey?) that perches in the palm tree that is missing the palms. He arrives every night at sundown. Lots of pelicans too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so pleased you had a wonderful stay and are glad you enjoyed the pool. We extended the sun deck specifically so our guests could spread out and enjoy the fantastic Florida sunshine and not feel confined. We're pleased you made the most of it and hope you'll be able to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Rental

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We had 2 families stay here over Spring Break 2011 and it worked out great. Lots of room indoors and out. We loved lounging by the pool and the kitchen was well stocked with plenty of dishes and cookware.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and that you liked the kitchen. We recently renovated it taking lots of our prior guests suggestions into account and stocked it with pretty much everything you could want so we're especially pleased it suited you.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

We had such a wonderful time here. We have traveled all over the world for many years but never have we had such a relaxing vacation. We lay in the sun, swim every day, entertained guests from all over, fished, watched movies, played games and totally relaxed. We used to come to Marco when our (now grown) children were little & the memories are still here. We’ll be back!

Traveling Mom

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

We enjoyed our month here so much that we decided to buy this journal to share with you. We fished, we swam, we sunned and we watched the manatees and dolphins. One day, while the owner was here, we saw two manatees and a dolphin, all at once! Most days we would see at least one manatee come through, and even had one come at about the same time each day….. our “4 O’ clock manatee”! Another night, I was out on the dock, late night (11:00pm) and while I looked over the dock into the water, (the dock lights were on) a dolphin came up for a breath right in front of me…an arm’s length away. I heard the blow hole and looked down and he was right there! It scared me to death! He did a little show for us as he swam in the lights around the dock and the whole family got to see him. It was amazing!

Make sure you eat at Joey’s Pizza, Kretch’s and Arturo’s (great food, fabulous service) and on Wed mornings there is a great farmers market – fresh fruit, veggies, lettuce, bread, flowers, salsa, seafood, etc… all fresh and homemade! Shop here instead of Publix.

Papa Big Bucks

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Beautiful place – extremely relaxing. Four couples – best of friends for years totally loved the entire week we were here. Played lots of beach volleyball (nets@ Naples Pier – very nice) pool volleyball – awesome time. Pool was a little warm entire time we were here (84-88F) so not much for “cooling down”. Weather was fantastic. Went on a sunset dinner cruise – highly recommend it – the food was awesome, the entertainment – David Croud (?) was great – very much enjoyed ourselves. Watching the sunset out at the Gulf on a beautiful huge ship was something we will remember forever. Marco Island Rocks!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

After spending 10 days ‘doing’ the Parks at Disney, this week has been a welcomed release. It is unfortunate that I have been unwell but my husband and two boys (age 7 & 6) have really enjoyed the pool, an Everglades trip on an airboat, trips to the beach and many meals out. We all enjoyed a meal at the Snook In and the Capri Fish House both for different reasons. The Snook is a very popular place with an excellent guy singing whilst you watch the sunset and the Fish House is a trip to nature. We watched the sunset as well as out fresh fish coming off the boat – both recommended!
As we have been saving for this trip all the way from the UK it is unlikely that we will be able to visit again but we thank you for giving us your lovely home in such a beautiful part of the world.

Surrey, England

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

The girls (all in our 30s and 40s) called the trip “Cinco de Drinko” and a good time was had by all. This pool was perfect for the whole gang. We went to Jacks, The Snook Inn and Stans. All fun places to hang out, but the best was just hanging here at the house around the pool lounging and reconnecting with all us close friends. We couldn’t have had better weather, especially since back home it was cold and rainy. Unfortunately it is time to wrap things up. Whoever is here next, enjoy!
The Girls

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Our family vacation reunion was ever so wonderful and made perfect by our stay in your beautifully appointed home.
Where else could we have every need met- our own canal dolphin, a moon as giant as a pizza, a pristine pool, perfect weather and miles of beach for our wee Emma to run and comfortable cool beds to return home to.
Thank you for sharing your home with us and the chance to say we “stayed where a sitting President once lived”.

P.S. 15 month old Emma walked into the house and said “Ooooh!” That says it all!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This was great! My four adult children and their families joined me for our annual vacation. We loved your home and would love to come again next time. Marco Island proved to be all we hoped for. Snook Inn was great and the boat on the water made the trip. I loved the beach as did the kids! Thanks for such a good deal and for sharing your home – This is the life!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We booked “Nixon’s Place” a year ago (2 cousins & wives +4 kids). A little disappointed as we thought 4 adults could sleep in the main house. C’ess la vie!! [owner’s comment: We try to explain this in the website, but the layout is so unique it may be hard for some to visualize and is usually viewed as a big benefit] As a family area, the main part is brilliant, getting out of the sun, TV, eating. Location is brill, pool area perfect and if you sit it out long enough you will see dolphins!!
As my cuz said, fishing is great fun – it’s all about the catfish!! All the places mentioned are great or for a visual treat go up to Naples, simply stunning.
Our dream holiday we’d always talked about didn’t disappoint. This is the place to be after Disney!
Enjoy
UK

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

December 27th, 2010
10 of us ranging in the age from 74-14 yrs old stayed here New Years week. The house suited our needs perfectly with enough room to stretch out. The pool area is enormous and has sun the entire day. The pool was beautiful as was the weather. The house while nicely appointed, was not so “over the top” that you couldn’t relax and enjoy yourself. It is truly like home away from home. We spent our days at the beach, or by the pool. One day we took the “Key West Express” to Key West…..Awesome day. Another day we rented a pontoon boat and travelled the inter-coastal to Naples and to the beach at Little Marco Island… Fantastic. We even had a dolphin swim around and play by the boat for about 5 minutes. We ate at Joeys, Snook Inn and had many excellent meals cooked right here at the house. Would not hesitate to rent this house again!!
We will forever remember our week in paradise.

Ontario Canada

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nixon House in Late May

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

Stayed the last week in May 2010. 3 couples and a baby. Completely enjoyed the house. The owner was great to work with and the house was perfect for our needs. Hard to tell from the pictures or description but the house is at the end of a cul de sac, pretty private but very easy to find (only about 2 minutes) from the main road. The pool was well maintained and the deck area is outstanding. Huge, with plenty of seating options and ways to reconfigure for outdoor dinner or sunbathing. Very happy to find a gas grill there as well for some post-beach cook outs. We spent many days down at Marco's South Beach area. Owners and previous guests (including us) have left beach towels, beach umbrellas, straw mats, coolers and toys so I'd advise checking what's in the House and garage before heading out to buy new. Joey's Pizza on Collier was an enjoyable experience as was the sushi bar at the Marriott resort. Winn Dixie and Publix are nearby grocery stores although publix closes early (9pm). Great side trip to Gulf Coast Visitor Center for a boat tour of the 10000 islands area. About half an hour away but well worth it. Would recommend this house and may be back in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad that you had a great time. We relish comments such as these and thank you for for taking the time to recommend us to future guests.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review