reviews for: listing #8476 - Peaks Island, Maine House rental

Woodsea Place: Beautiful Log Home built in 1998
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Restful Luxury Cabin in the Woods

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

My wife and I were desperate to get out of the city and to the peace and quiet of an island hideaway. We were delighted with what we found. I was a little skeptical about the extra time it takes to catch the ferry. In the end, being away from the mainland (even if it was only 20 minutes) helped us leave our cares behind and besides the ferry runs so often that it is a piece of cake.
The owners have thought through the many details it takes to make a vacation home welcoming. The house is carefully maintained and clean enough so that I didn't hear a peep from my fastidious wife. The interior is homey and without the clutter of some places. We cooked dinner our first night and found everything we needed in the kitchen. Later that night in the cozy bed I slept better than I have in ages. Was it the good bed or the quiet of the cabin? The mornings were so lovely and calm, we sat out each morning with our coffee enjoying the beauty of the place. We found plenty to do on the island and when there were questions the information sheets that the owners left answered them. Our only regret is that we did not book for longer. We plan to be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Girls Weekend!!

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We had a girls weekend scheduled in Portland, ME last weekend and we (luckily) decided to stay at Woodsea Place. Peaks Island is absolutely gorgeous and is the quintessential New England spot. WE loved being able to take the ferry to Portland which provide the more urban experience. But we also really enjoyed all the time spent at the house and the island. The house was very spacious, plenty of room for everyone. We all said we want to come back with our husbands next time. One warning, we left ourselves only about 15 minutes to get to the Ferry Sunday morning, but didn't realize that their would be a line. Please give yourself some extra time if you are heading back with a car. We ended up having to wait for the next Ferry, but quite enjoyed our breakfast at the Inn at Peaks Island while we waited.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay on Peaks Island

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We arrived late only to find poor to no road signage. Also, the property we were staying at was not marked. When we sought help from island police the officer was sarcastic and not at all helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Janie for your Four Star Review! I understand that you arrived at 1am in the morning without the map that I emailed you three times. So sorry that you were not able to see the signs on the tree or the side of house, or the green post box. I am thrilled however that you and your family had a great time celebrating your 80th birthday! I will take your suggestions into consideration about improved signage and we have for many years found the police to be very helpful. Sounds like the stars weren't lined up that night. Come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We would totally come back

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

I could just feel the stress fall away as soon as I stepped onto the ferry for the brief, 15-minute ride to Peak’s Island, an island in Casco Bay, Maine, just off the coast from Portland. A short drive around the perimeter road, replete with vistas of the rocky Maine coast and the open sea (think, Sarah Orne Jewett’s “The Country of the Pointed Firs”), took us to Woodsea Place. Woodsea Place is a cozy yet surprisingly spacious house – it felt like “home” as soon as we walked in. The New England-y rustic look complemented with modern furnishings and appliances worked great for me. My family and I found the house clean and welcoming: Jeff and Carolyn have ferry schedules, info about Peak’s Island, lobster crackers, laundry instructions, plenty of blankets, a tea kettle... we settled right in. We spent our week cooking and eating great food, reading in front of the gas fireplace, walking around the perimeter of the island, exploring the WWII fortifications on the island, and playing board games and doing puzzles. The kids loved playing in the rocks and finding sea glass at the beach. TV and cell phone reception are iffy (perfect!). Hannigan’s Island market is adequate for most menus. For more adventurous eating, I recommend stopping at the excellent Portland Whole Foods just off Franklin St on the way in, and / or visiting some of the fish mongers along Commercial Street near the ferry terminal. We loved it, and would totally come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Woodsea is magical.

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

We have been going to Woodsea regularly for eight years. When my daughter submitted an essay this year about her “favorite place,” it was Woodsea and Peak’s Island. In the eyes of a child, Woodsea is the best place on earth. Our memories there have been magical. In the winter, the kids have spent many days building castles out of snow looking into the woods.

The kitchen is a fabulous combination of charm and practicality, with open space into the living room that allows for great flow of time in the evenings and for entertaining. We’ve cooked large pots of soup and entertained friends we met on the island. We’ve ordered lobster at the ferry terminal, and off-season had lobster delivered from the Portland side (where you pick them up from the ferry). We’ve spent winter breaks reading in the comfy beds and summer vacations walking the beautiful perimeter of the island. Woodsea is an easy walk away from the ferry terminal, which lends itself for enjoying the quiet and beautiful grounds but easily walking back to the ferry terminal area for ice cream.

Everything about Woodsea, and about Peak’s Island, helps the stress of everyday life fall away on the easy Costco Bay ferry ride. Once there was a mom with a newborn baby on the way from the hospital riding the ferry back to Peak’s. We’ve enjoyed hours walking long the waterfront in every season, and playing on the rocks in spring and summer. My kids especially love the large loft. We usually sleep on the main floor, but sometimes we’ve enjoyed all sleeping downstairs in the additional bedrooms there. The house could easily accommodate more people than my family, and would make a great destination for a group outing. The first time we went, we found the info sheet very helpful in knowing what to expect, (that we should bring our own specialty groceries, for example, but that we could find any necessities on Peak’s). The owners are delightful, and many of the special touches at Woodsea seem to indicate the charm I expect is connected to the owners. Woodsea is truly a favorite place, not just for my daughter, but for all of us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Gem of a Place

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Our favorite retreat for all seasons! Woodsea Place has it all: it's on a wooded lot but close to the water; it is both functional and beautiful, with lots of great details (comfortable beds; a light-filled common area to relax or work in; plenty of private retreats; wonderful views from every window -- one December, during a heavy snow storm, we watched some deer in their thick winter coats calmly browsing for food in a thicket of pines). It feels like a thoughtfully designed and furnished private home, down to the good-quality tableware and kitchen tools. Needless to say, everything is super-clean and in good working order, and the owners work with you both before and during your stay to make sure you are comfortable. In fact, as soon as the ferry leaves Portland for its short and easy ride to Peaks, that special feeling of comfort and relaxation we associate with Woodsea Place begins to take over. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect place for a wedding party!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Hi Carolyn,

We had a great stay at Woodsea. Our friend's wedding was great and really nice spending time with old college friends in the same place (w/o our kids!).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for letting us make a film at Woodsea Place

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Carolyn,

Thank you again for partnering with us and allowing us to film at Woodsea Place. We greatly enjoyed your home and from a few clips of footage I saw, it will look gorgeous in the movie!!

Thanks again,

Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving was Wonderful at Woodsea Place!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

Carolyn:

Thank you for the use of your cabin; we had a great time. Everything not only met, but exceeded our expectations -- we were really surprised/pleased with how fully-equipped and "renter-friendly" the cabin was.

Anyway, thank you again -- we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Thanks again,
Matt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place for a holiday!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Hi Carolyn,
I hope you're having a Merry Christmas. Our family is thoroughly enjoying our time here at Woodsea Place

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great site! We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

What a great site for a family vacation! Room for kids and adults, easy space for cooking and group meals (and puzzles, music, and games), quick access to the shore. We had a wonderful time.
From Bob Woodbury

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Subject: Thank you

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Subject: Thank you

I just wanted to thank you again for letting us stay at your house on Peaks. It was one of the best vcations we have had as a family in years. We are thinking of going back next year.

Regards,

Carrie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review