reviews for: listing #8479 - Silver Lake, Michigan House rental

Fall rates as low as $95.00 a night
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Floradale
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $125 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,300 /wk

sort by:

Excellent family vacation location!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

My family and I rented two cottages from Beach Blast Cottages. They were very nice and very clean. Everything was ready when we checked in. The kitchens were well stocked too. The Flora-Dale resort is wonderful, we spent a lot of time in the pool , at the lake, and having bonfires at night. Will be going again next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Making 50th Anniversary Memories

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

Since 50th anniversaries only come around once in a lifetime, we wanted to be sure everyone in our family had sweet memories of it. When our kids were small we vacationed at Silver Lake for 15 years. These were good times. Our grandkids had never vacationed here before and we wanted them to make memories of their own to share with their families. We rented 2 cottages, the Bunk House/Annex, and the 3-bedroom cottage on the hill. Both of the cottages were spotless and so beautifully decorated. We had 17 people with plenty of room for everyone.
We were so pleased with the well-stocked everything. All we took along were sheets for the beds. We took lawn chairs, etc. but didn't even need them because there more than enough outdoor chairs to go around. The Bunk House served waffles for breakfast a couple of days and kept blowing the fuse. Must have been too much juice used at once. The 2 littlest grands (aged 2 & 4) loved the play areas with sand boxes and swings. It being the week of the olympics, we held our own in the pool. Even though there were lots of people in the pool, it never felt crowded. The morning coffee times on the spacious patios and the bonfire for melting marshmallows at night were precious sharing times. The "regulars" (not visitors) and the grounds keeper Gary, were also very willing to assist in any way to make our stay even better than it already was.
There was plenty to do in the area. We attended Grace Youth Bible Camp chapel on Sunday. We swam at the lighthouse beach, some of us even climbed to the top of the lighthouse, ate at the Sands restaurant, the teens went to Craig's Cruisers and the zip line, we all took a dune ride, went skiing, walked on the dunes and went out to dinner on Thursday night in Pentwater with the adults. Caught the band concert as a bonus.
We took a quick tour of the 4-bedroom house before we left. That too was beautifully decorated with a beach theme, the same as the others. My husband loved the view from the deck and thought if he came here again, he'd just sit on the deck in back and drink coffee, looking at the lake all day. :-) And he probably would!
All in all we had an incredible celebration of our 50th anniversary. We made many long-lasting memories. Before we even left the lake, the kids and grandkids were talking about doing this again next year. It would be fun! Time to start planning!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Brace Reunion

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

This was our second visit to the Beach Blast Cottage. We will rent from Bonnie again. The place is always clean and well stocked. There is a million things to do at and around the cottage. We brought our bikes this year. So much to do, the dunes, rented a pontoon boat, shopped in Pentwater and Ludington. You can always reach Bonnie with questions and know she will respond quickly. Next time we will rent the unit with air conditioning...this year was just too hot to be without it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guys weekend

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

Great! enerything was neat and clean and in good working order. Very good value.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect vacation spot for families

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

By some stroke of luck, we discovered this cottage in Silver Lake 4 summers ago and we have returned to the same spot every single summer since. The cottage is in the FloraDale Association which is meticulously maintained and has a beautiful pool with a water slide, a game house, tennis courts, shuffleboard, tether ball, and a private beach with boat wells if needed.

Everything about the cottage is exactly as written in the description and shown in the pictures. The bunk cottage is fully stocked with everything you will need - even bath towels - and it has a dishwasher. The washer and dryer in the secondary unit are nicer than the ones I have at home! The cottage is decorated very nicely and is well maintained and comfortable - plenty of room to spread out. The bunk cottage is literally steps away from the pool and is on a huge corner lot with a private swing-set and sand box for the little ones. There is a fire pit with plenty of camp chairs, a patio set with table and chairs and a small picnic table for the kids, and the front porch area has several adirondack chairs for relaxing.

As much as there is to do right at the cottage, you will still want to explore the Silver Lake area. Silver Lake is just a little south of the Sleeping Bear Dunes recently named the most beautiful place in America! If you have a Jeep or ORV you can drive on the dunes, or you can take an organized tour, or go to the public access areas where you can walk/climb and explore the dunes on your own. Lake Michigan beaches are just a short drive, as is the Little Point Sable Lighthouse. The town itself is very quaint with several restaurants, shops, an arcade, go-carts, miniature golf, bumper boats - plenty of activities for families.

We always enjoy the week we spend in Silver Lake, and my boys (now 5 & 6 years old) look forward to it every year. Last year we invited a friend to join us, and she loved it so much that she returned this year on her own with her extended family.

Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great place to stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

The cottage was everything I had hoped for and more. The cottage was very clean and very spacious. The locationof the bunk cottage couldn't have been more centrally located. I would recomend this cottage or any of bonnie's cottages. Great place and my family and I can't wait to go back next year!!! Highly recommended! The pool and clubhouse along with the rest of the grounds were kept in great condition .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

wonderful place!!! great family time

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Our family enjoyed this home alot. The extra house was perfect for our boys. Having a large family it is difficult finding just the right place...with Beach Blat Cottage..we did just that! Having the pool right our front door was awesome!! cant wait to go back and enjoy another week of fun with swimming, boating and sand dunes. Thanks Bonnie for helping to make it possible :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review