reviews for: listing #84871 - Boone, North Carolina Cottage rental

Mountain Cottage-3 Miles from ASU!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $99 - $175 /nt
    $650 - $700 /wk
    $1,800 - $1,900 /mth

sort by:

Pat Campana

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

It was a quaint place and in the perfect area. Just minutes away from Boone and App St and restaurants and shops. I would go back gaain and rent this house.

Owners response: Thank you Pat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect family vacation

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

The home owners were amazing and worked with our crazy schedule. We loved staying at this cabin in the snow. There is an amazing sledding hill right out the door that our kids played on for 3 days straight and cried when we left. I absolutely loved this house and it is set up perfect for a family or couple either one. Located close to the appalcart, easy to get to right off main road with roadside parking. Cannot wait to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Babbling Brook soothed our souls!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

We have had the most wonderful week at your beautiful home. We came from Florida and the cool weather and babbling creek have soothed our spirits and souls. We will always treasure the memories this time has created.

Thank you for providing such a gorgeous setting for our family to grow together.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love our stay!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

We loved our stay at this cabin. It was the perfect setting to celebrate my son's graduation from ASU. It provided a cozy setting for us to spend family time together and those kind of times are far and few anymore. We will cherish the time we spent here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another wonderful stay here!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

It is so warm and cozy and you feel so much at home. We look forward to coming back as soon as possible. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place to vacation. Truly a blessing.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

What a wonderful stay! We felt at home as soon as we arrived. There was snow on the porch and side yard and the 2 yr. old and the dog loved it (we don't see much snow in Charleston). We loved how close we were to Boone! We will return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love this place!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We love this place. Thank you for letting us come here. It was so cute and homey. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay. We just love the fire place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the snow and the big yard!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving here at this adorable cabin. My four kids loved the snow!!! Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

We enjoyed this little cabin on our visit to Boone to get a Christmas tree. It was the perfect size and a great location!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very nice stay.

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 7, 2014

We had a very nice stay here. The cabin is in a very nice location and the kids had a blast sledding down the big hill in the front yard. The cabin was very cozy and made us feel like home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

This cabin was so comfortable and nice, it felt like home. God Bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cabin not clean, poor customer service

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

First of all, we had spoken at least twice regarding my arrival time. I was to come to your store to get the key but if I arrived was after a certain time and the store was closed to call your cell because you stated you lived close by. I arrived about a half hour later than anticipated, not bad considering that was my first time making the 425 mile journey. I spent 45 minutes calling your cell and leaving voicemails, trying to arrange to get the key. Finally, I called the local sheriff dispatch, explained my dilemma and obtained your home address and drove there. I knocked on the door, introduced myself and told you I could not reach you on your cell. You came right out and stated that your cell usually does not pick up at your house. What? You then stated that the door to the cabin was unlocked and that the key was on the kitchen counter. Another ‘what?’ Why didn’t you call MY cell (which I gave you) before you left your store (where you had cell service) and tell me all this, saving me 45 minutes, avoid calling the sheriff to locate you and driving to your house, etc. We were tired after 9 hours of driving, it was almost dark and our 2 Chihuahuas were getting antsy. OK, fine. I let it go at the time.

Secondly, the other reviewer was somewhat reserved, I won’t be. Keep in mind this was a month BEFORE the other reviewer’s stay. Dust was visibly hanging down from ALL of the ceiling fans. The tops of even lower items like the TV were covered in dust and I don’t mean noticeable with a white glove, I mean standing over 1/16” thick such that if you ran your bare finger along any part of it for one foot it would fall off your finger from its own weight!

And lastly, your definition of ‘rustic’ as found in YOUR description of the cabin and your rude response to the other reviewer. Nowhere in ANY dictionary definition of the word ‘rustic’ will you find even the remotest reference to ‘dirty’, or ‘dusty’ or ‘filthy’. The other reviewer had a reasonable expectation and you failed to meet it. Fess up to it! Instead of attempting to make it up to her by offering an incentive to let you make another go of it, perhaps with a future discount, you instead, turn it back on the reviewer, basically implying that their expectations were wrong, making it THEIR fault and stating, in your own words “….if you can't see that then you need to rent elsewhere.”

If you ever decide to quit the rental business, may I suggest you avoid house cleaning and public relations.

Owners response: Firstly, I sincerely apologize for your unhappy stay. I apologized profusely at the time that my cell phone battery had gone dead without my knowledge. My cell phone works fine at my house. It was so long ago I cannot remember why you did not go straight to the cabin as all of our other guests do but I thought that I did go by the cabin to check on you after your arrival and gave you a partial refund for your inconvenience.
To Future Renters: This reviewer waited 9 1/2 months to tell me about the dust, however the cleaning issues were resolved as soon as it was brought to our attention last May. We found the cabin was being cleaned but not dusted, we had been out of town for a month and a half and were relying on a cleaning service. Please see more recent reviews than this.
We strive to have happy guests so please let us know if you have a concern, both my cell number and home numbers are listed on the website. Also we have a paragraph on the agreement that states "If you are paid in full go directly to the cabin". This is for the convenience of the guest so no one has to find a rental office first, however we are available if you have questions or get lost, etc.
We have made every effort to avoid unfortunate incidents as outlined above and I hope you will give us a chance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

It was so homey there we loved the fire place and the fact that each room had a TV, the home was warm and inviting. I was a place to relax but was close enough to shop. I highly recommend
this cute place... And my dogs loved the place

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Little House

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We stayed here during family weekend at ASU. The cottage is conveniently located and was easy to find. We loved having a dishwasher and washer/dryer. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Little House

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

This was a great little house, very conveniently located to ASU. We loved having the dishwasher and washer/dryer. Would definitley stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Stay

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Very nice cottage for the money. Loved the creek behind, nice little side yard for my dog to play in. Cabin was very clean and had everything we needed. Would stay here again. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1gr8teach

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

My family had a great time at the cottage. Plenty of room for my family of 4. Sitting on the deck listening to the stream was so peaceful. Check-in was great and the owners so accomodating. Beds were comfortable and the cottage was very clean. It had everything you would need for a short or long stay. We will most definately stay again...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Howingtons

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the cabin. It was perfect for our vacation at Boone. Great location, near restaurants and supermarkets. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck, enjoying the stream and relaxing view. The property was very clean and well kept. I loved all the little details that made it feel like home. The kids played on the yard, walked in the creek, and made smores at night. We are definitely coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wkend getaway

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

My boys and I liked the house, it was cute and clean. I also thought it was in a great location, it was close to downtown boone. This house was also pet friendly and my 2 dogs enjoyed going. This house would be perfect if the side yard was fenced in. My boys said they would like to come visit again. Thanks for being a pet friendly, kid friendly rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Could be a lot cleaner

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

The location of the cabin was very convenient and the brook was nice to hear at night and they permitted pets. The reason for the "fair" rating was because:the place looks like it hadn't been dusted in years. Because of allergies I went around the cabin and dusted myself (picture frame rims, door, furniture tops, window trims and lamp shades. I couldn't reach the ceiling fan paddles which the dust hung from. The bathroom sink emptied very slowly. The beds were very hard. The microwave and fridg.was never wiped out before we arrived. And lastly the shower curtain had mold growing on it. The narrow lane which the cabin is on had cars racing up and down the street. In fact one day two vehicles side swiped each other. Sadly we would not stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your comments, however, you did rent a rustic cabin in the country for only $79/nt plus tax and cleaning. We do not have climate controlled cabins, we open the windows for fresh air and the dust builds up quickly, we dust all the tables and clean the countertops between each guests and the pictures frames, etc are dusted at least once a month. The queen bed has a pillow top mattress and the twins have foam toppers, all of the other reviews say the beds were comfortable but I will check into it. We wipe out the microwave and fridge between each guest but I apologize if we missed it.
The lane is the same width as every lane in the country so we do not understand this comment. The address is Greer Lane, not Greer Highway! I checked with the NC HWY Patrol and they have no record of a side swipe accident and the posted speed limit is only 35 MPH, but they advised me that they will watch for speeders.
We strive to offer great little cabins at a good price.
P.S. We do install a window AC unit in the summer months for your comfort. Every room also has ceiling fans.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week and had a very nice, relaxing experience. The cabin was centrally located very close to Boone and not far from Blowing Rock. It was clean and comfortable. We would definitely recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

xmas time

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

This was by far my favorite place to stay what a wonderfull get away. Close to everything and so
clean and cute. I would reccomend this to anyone (but would love to keep it a secret for myself)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay at Greer Cottage, Boone, NC

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Andrea is a gracious host. She tries to accomodate our needs in timely fashion. She is easily accessible, and forthcoming about activities and locations of places of interest in the area.
The cottage is very homey and comfortable. It is pet friendly and our dogs enjoy staying there as much as we do. I don't think there was anything we needed that wasn't available in the cottage. It was also very convenient to downtown Boone and ASU,and the Blue Ridge Parkway.
We have stayed twice at Greer Cottage and once at Andrea's other cottages, which was just as nice as Greer Cottage, though a bit further out of town. Anytime we are in the area, we plan to return to one of her rental properties.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable Cabin

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

My daughter and I rented this cabin for a week in August. We felt so at home and relaxed that we did not want to leave. It is convenient to everything in Boone and many parks and other attractions. Having the cable television was great, as it was an Olympics week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Graduation stay

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

The cabin was absolutely perfect for our stay. It was clean and had everything we could need or want. We would definitely stay there again, if the need should arise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Brookside Cabin

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

It was a wonderful place!! Decorated beautifully!! It was quiet and in a wonderful neighborhood. We will definitely come back and would recommend this to anyone looking a place to stay in Boone!! Very close to town and convenient to everywhere we wanted to go.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic First Snow

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

My family and I had such a terrific visit. The cottage was clean and well supplied and the perfect size for the 4 of us. My girls LOVED the brook that ran behind the house and the little hill proved to be perfect spot for their first go at sledding. A short drive took us to Hawksnest for tubing, Linville Falls for hiking, Sugar Mountain for ice skating and downtown Boone for gem mining and eating.
Thanks for a great cottage! Hope to return again soon!
Suzanne and Family
Hilton Head Island, SC

Owners response: Suzanne, Thank you for your kind words we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. This cabin was a train wreck when we purchased it a few years ago but we completely remodeled it and it has turned out to be one of our best cabins for location, comfort, big yard, brook, and size. Thanks for the picture too, we never thought of that as a sledding hill but it looked like it was perfect (as long as you have a "catcher").

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Andrea's Cabins

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

What a lovely cottage. We LOVED the warmth of the fireplace as the snow fell, a well equipped kitchen for making homemade soup and comfy beds for a cozy winter night. The cottage is very clean and it has everything you will need. Planning to return during warmer weather to enjoy the back deck and brook. Thanks for wonderful accomodations.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great stay

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

Went to Boone to work with a colleague at ASU, and stayed at this cabin. The place was perfect for what we needed. It was about a 5 minute drive to ASU, it was very cozy and well stocked, and the owner let us bring our dog. The reservation and check in and out went very smoothly, and the place is clean and well maintained. We would definitely go back next time we are in Boone.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Cottage!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this cottage very much! It was cozy and clean and it looked as nice as in the pictures. The location was perfect. Very close to Hawksnest, Sugar Mountain and Beech Mountain. The cottage is very close to downtown Boone and restaurants (short drive about 5 min). We took our kids tubing in Hawksnest (approx 15 min drive) and sledding at Beech Mountain (approx 30 min drive. The cabin is also about 30 minutes from Grandfather Mountain. It is in a quiet neighborhood with a wonderful creek in the back. We definitely recommend this cottage! Josie - Miami

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

savannah couple

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Had a little difficulty finding the place but after we did our stay was wonderful. The house was clean and had everything we needed. The photos were accurate and we found the accommodations what we expected. Location was excellent and if we ever decided to return to Boone we would have no trouble deciding where to stay. Would recommend it to anyone who wanted a clean and comfortable place to stay at a good rate.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Such a wonderful place to stay!! We were there Oct.16-18 2011. The owner had everything there we needed. The home is located on a quiet street and it only took us 2 minutes to get to our favorite pizza place,Mellow Mushroom!! When we visit Boone we always stop by Stick Boy Bread Company to pick up some of their delicious treats!! Our family would highly recommend staying in this home!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great little place

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

My husband and I rented this adorable little bungalow for a weekend visit with our daughter who attends Appalachian State. It was perfect for us: clean, quaint, and comfortable. We walked in the neighborhood, cozied up by the fire, and enjoyed the back deck and yard for less than a hotel room!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Babbling Brook

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

Thomas wrote: "We had the pleasure of staying at the Greer Cottage this past week. The brook that runs behind the house really babbles, and it is soothing to sit on the roomy rear back deck and listen to the water as it starts its journey to the sea. The cottage itself is cozy, homey, cute, practical"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Andrea's Cabin

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this cabin for the month August 2011.It was all that the add said it would be clean, cozy. and in a great area. The owners were great and answered all our questions.It was near ASU and downtown Boone. there are a lot of restaurants and shopping.I would recommend this cabin to anyone.If we go back to Boone this is where we would stay.Oh yes we did get some good cookies.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Mattie, you are very kind and I do hope you and Norma come and stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Comfortable Cabin and SO CUTE!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here during Parent Orientation at ASU for our daughter's upcoming college years. It was the most adorable place and very comfortable for all of us. It is perfectly suited for a family of 4. Location was perfect and minutes from ASU and all of the downtown Boone restarants. We will definately stay here again! The summertime perfect temperatures were wonderful and I am looking forward to a beautiful North Carolina Fall trip! The owners definately know how to make it a very comforable stay and it is better than any hotel!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vintage Cottage

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

The Bungalow was completely renovated and in excellent "new" condition. Wonderful decor and functional. You can't beat the location, it is in the middle of everything! Clean, Well Appointed, and very comfortable. This location puts you in the middle of town without having to drive from the top of a mountain to get anywhere. Excellent. HUGE BONUS, SINGLE STORY LIVING, NO STAIRS OR STEEP CLIMBS OR DRIVEWAYS TO DEAL WITH.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

This place was perfect for us...just the right size and a great location for all the activities in Boone and the surrounding areas. It was comfortable and we loved sitting on the deck listening to the water. The cottage had everything we needed and a very comfortable bed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review