reviews for: listing #84913 - Key West, Florida Condo rental

Key West's Truman Annex Sunset & Ocean View, Two Bicycles
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Truman Annex
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,400 - $2,050 /wk
    $6,600 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

A Wonderful Way to Spend Our Anniversary

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

I'm wishing I was back there, relaxing in Susan's Sunset & Ocean View condo.

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and began to settle in. Your place is so comfortable, and nicer than internet pictures can portray. The Karma Cabinet is such a neat touch!

And the proximity to all the things we love to do in Key West! We mostly used the supplied bikes to get around but were within easy walking distance of all our favorite hangouts. I loved being so close to the beach access, just a few steps away from the condo location.

I think we mostly enjoyed the view. The rear deck was where we landed in the evenings, watching the sunset or the occasional light rain shower, and trading stories of the day's events.

Thanks again for everything!

Dawn and Don

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome Property in Beautiful Key West

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We feel in love with this island about 13 years ago and have been visiting at least twice a year ever since. We have made many friends there and now consider Susan and Brucie among them. Having stayed in some very nice hotels over the years we decided to stay at Susan's Sunset condo and were certainly not disappointed! The location is excellent. We had sun on the front deck in the morning and sun on the back deck in the evening. The pool is great! The condo is very clean and comfortable and oh so quiet! All of our favorite spots were within walking or biking distance (bikes are compliments of Susan). Susan is very knowledgeable and can recommend so many things to see and do. It was a pleasure to meet Brucie while we were there too! Thanks Susan and Brucie!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Breezy respite

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We spent a week here following a week in Miami with our grandchildren and it was an absolutely perfect place to recuperate. (Not that Key West lacks for action, or that the condo is more than a five minute walk from any of that action!) But once inside, it was cool, comfortable, breezy, quiet and -- best of all -- had a lovely full-across deck with great western views across the entrance of Fort Z. Taylor and the cruise ship harbor. This perch was always entertaining: we could people-watch (folks hiking and biking down to the beach), could marvel at the massive cruise ships (certain that nobody on them could possibly have it better than us), and best of all, watch the sunset each night in peaceful bliss (Mallory Square gets a little frenzied in March!)
The condo is very clean, up to date, very nicely furnished, well equipped and in an ideal location in Truman Annex, especially with that deck overlooking the entrance to the park and the harbor. Very close to the pool. In addition, the bikes were great, we used them every day and went all over the island. No parking worries and a great way to work off the wonderful meals we had each night. (Had no idea Key West had such great restaurants!) Susan could not have been more accommodating as a host. Very responsive and cheerful. When we come back to KW, please, please let this condo be available!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Susan's Key West Condo

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

The condo was very clean and portrayed accurately.Susan is a great contact and very thoughtful. The bikes are fabulous and make your stay that much more enjoyable. Her Karma box is SUPER!

Key West has lot's of varied activities for all, from historic Truman's Whitehouse and Hemmingway's house to the active jet ski's, parasailing etc. Blue Heaven has a great breakfast. And Sloppy Joe's has super atmosphere. If you are up for a show, please go to LaTeDa's.

Enjoy your stay:)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for loving the condo and all the great things to do in Key West during your family reunioun. Isn't it wonderful to be a neighbor to Harry Truman's Little White House!?! So happy you enjoyed the history of Truman and Hemingway at their sites.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic antasy Fest

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Susan's condo for Fantasy Fest. Great location, close to everything! We have always rented mopeds when we are there and did so this time, but used them very little as the bikes were so much more convienient (especially parking). The condo was perfect, beautiful views of the water, quiet, very clean and well appointed. Will be back. If you come to Key West, I highly reccomend Susan's condo. Also try Prana Spa for a wonderful massage, Flamming Bouy for lobster mac and cheese, Nachos at the Rum Barrel and of course the sunset at Mallory Square!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation In Paradise

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We just returned after a week stay in Susan's Sunset Condo. This was, by far, the most amazing vacation we have taken in our 13 years of marriage. The condo was spotless, and all the amentities were amazing. We had a great view from the condo. Booking was so simple, and I cannot even express how awesome Susan and Bruce were! It was amazing we ran into Bruce during out stay, and what a great guy he is. He took us for a tour around the island and showed us an amazing lunch place. Really, we cannot say enough about how much Bruce and Susan and their lovely condo made us feel right at home. Key West was an amazing paradise in which we are already plotting when can we return. The Truman Annex was so peaceful and lush, but yet so close to everything!

You must see the Little White House, and our favorite place to hangout was Kelly's.

Thank you so much Bruce and Susan for such an amazing time! You both are great people. It was really nice to rent from someone so local, but so far way. Thank you again for sharing your paradise and friendship with us. We will be back soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for starting out as guests and turning into friends! We loved sharing paradise with you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Keywest Fun

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

Fantastic condo and great location. The bikes were awesome and we rode everywhere on the island. The condo has all the comforts of home including a washer and dryer. Huge fun on a small island! We love Keywest and Susan's Sunset Condo! L & L

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We had our wedding/honeymoon in Key West. I'm so glad I found Susan's condo. It had everything we didn't know we needed. We had too much fun bicycling around town. The condo is close enough to Duval St. to make walking easy but far enough away that you don't have to hear it all night. Fort Zachery Beach is just down the road. If we ever get to Key West again I'll be giving Susan a call.

Cindy and Rick

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Place! Very Quiet!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Susan's condo is fantastic! It is in the perfect location. It is so quiet in Truman Annex at night...very peaceful. We loved jumping on the bikes provided and riding down to Ft Zachery State Park beach! The condo was very clean and well kept. We will definitely be staying at this property again. The karma chest is a fantastic idea. We can't wait to visit Key West again and stay in this property! It is perfect!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Our 2nd stay at the Shipyard condos in the Truman Annex.1st time at this unit. A great location,quiet but only blocks from Duval.Great proximity to Santiago's Bodega,a first class tapas restaurant in Bahama Village and the condo is an easy walk/bike ride to Fausto's Market for food shopping and delicious prepared foods. Used the bikes to hit Fort Zach beach every day we weren't on the water.Bought charcoal and grilled lunch at the beach on multiple days,utilizing local fresh caught seafood. Had a prob with fridge running too warm.Left a message w/housekeeper/handyman first.Returned from a boat excursion and fridge was repaired,a note left for us by staff and a message from the owner on our cell!Would recommend Danger Charters kayak/sail/snorkel and Catamaran Echo dolphin watch/snorkel. All in all, a good experience and nice condo with all amenities,and you have a hands on owner to answer all questions and handle problems even when out of state.Would recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

best vacation

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our vacation at Susan's sunset condo.
It had everything you could want for comfort and convenience and the most beautiful views from the rear
veranda,The bikes were fab for getting around key west and kept us fit after all the lovely meals we had at the many restaurants that we visited.The location was just right for getting out of a night to enjoy ourselves but lovely and quiet to come back to and relax,
I would certainly recommend it for a perfect vacation. Thank you Susan and Bruce .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cindy Newark De

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Had the best time and the best weather. Location is perfect and unit was very nice. You must go to Blue Heaven for breakfast ... we did twice ..and then of course The Boat House restaurant under the Commodore on the Wharf ....the best Happy Hour .......also discovered Dante's for lunch .. a must - go for lunch and then stay for a swim in their pool complete with waterfall and pool side bar service for those frozen drinks. Found a store around Dante's and Schooners Wharf Restaurant with great prices a sign up said they were the Woolworths of Key West.. The state park was so relaxing and the water perfect. DO NOT forget your water shoes ... really. Susan could not be nicer to deal with and responed to all my questions promptly. Y will not regret the choice to saty here! I am proud of myself as I only had one of those chocolate chip cookies all week...there are several stores that sell them and they are to die for. One more tip although you don't need a car at the last minute I went on Costco travel and got a Ford Focus for 82.00 a week. Perfect for back and forth to the airport and the market. Enjoy!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Key West Heaven!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Susan's Sunset & Ocean View condo is a true gem in paradise! Her quiet and spacious 2-bedroom is beautifully maintained and has the best view in the Truman Annex - ships sailing across bright blue water at sunset. We sat comfy in our deck chairs sipping margaritas, tropical birds above and a huge iguana in the sandy yard just below! An easy stroll to all Key West attractions, this condo offers everything you'll need for a long stay at the beach, including local menus, a big refrigerator, double sink, lots of dishes, towels for bath & beach, and great bikes for the short ride to the State Park (entrance $2.50 per person). We needed guidance turning on the fancy DVD player. Susan has folks nearby to call if you have a question and WOW - did they respond quickly! Susan's Sunset and Ocean View condo Is simply wonderful! During your stay, try Luigies on Fleming for grand picnic sandwiches and Southernmost Cafe at the end of Duval for amazing salads.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Anniversary Vacation/Celebration

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Susan's condo was perfect for our week in Key West to celebrate our 35th anniversary! Loved the porches-back views were great for mornings (seeing cuise ships) and evening happy hours while front porch great for quiet moments of shade! Furnishings very comfortable and everything nice. Plenty of towels and the beach towels were an added bonus. The 2 bikes-best features of the condo--rode everywhere on them-the Truman Annex complex-safe, clean, great location, nice size pool, and loved the combination lock concept instead of having to mess with keys!! Loved everything about the place (and Key West)!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay at Susan's

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Wonderful location. Condo is nicely furnished. The bikes are great to have available whenever you need them. Susan is a delight to work with and is VERY accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return visit to paradise

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Our second stay at Susan's and it was wonderful. We appreciate the beauty of the condo and its location, but also Susan's personal attention to detail. Much better than dealing with a realtor. We've also stayed in Billy's and love it too. Spring break was this week but we were not bothered in this peaceful setting. Sadly making our way home now.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for being the most loyal and fabulous guest who seems more like a friend. You must now try Brucie's Ocean Peek and you will be the first to stay in all three condos.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A nearly perfect week

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

My husband and I and our 17 year old daughter just returned from a fabulous week at Susan’s condo. The location can’t be beat – it’s in a very peaceful, tranquil neighborhood, yet only a couple of blocks from Duval. The landscaping is beautiful and sitting on one of the balconies reading a book was a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. We didn’t rent a car so the bikes were our only transportation and they were great. I rode around the island each morning at sunrise, ending the ride at the Cuban Coffee Queen for café con leche. What a perfect start to the day. The condo is a quick walk or bike ride to Fort Zachary Taylor beach where you can take a refreshing dip or enjoy morning yoga on the beach. The community pool is also just steps from the condo. We fell in love with Key West and Truman Annex and are hoping to return again next year. Unfortunately, this condo is already booked for the week we’re looking at so we may have to try out one of Susan’s other units.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for loving the condo and Key West to the fullest. You were the most wonderful guests. Sorry the week you want is already booked for next year. You might like Billy's Blue Heaven even more because of the home theatre system and the bath tub with jets! Great for bubble baths!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great time!!

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Susan's condo was perfect in every way! The location near Zach Taylor beach and walking/biking distance to everything was fantastic! The condo had everything we could need, and the bikes were awesome! We biked to the beach and around the island every day. The baskets were great for holding groceries and beach supplies. The binder in the condo was filled with great ideas and tips for great places to eat, and the Karma chest was a great idea, too! This was our fourth trip to Key West and by far, the best! Thanks so much, Susan, for sharing your beautiful home with us!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Susan's sunset & ocean view

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Wonderful vacation destination. The bikes were a blessing, as was the central location. Suggestions were helpful and we used most of them. Greet weather and accommodations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return Visit

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

This was our second trip to Susan's condo. We have visited Key West seven times, trying hotels, B & B's, and rentals. Without question, Susan is the most responsive owner and has one of the most gorgeous condos on KW. Whether biking over to Fort Zachary beach or strolling to Santiago's Bodega or Blue Heaven, you will be in the ideal location.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being such lovely guests. Thank you enjoying the condo and Key West. Blue Heaven and Santiago's Bodega are amongst my favorite neighborhood restaurants. Fort Zacary Taylor beach in the backyard, is my favorite place to bike and swim everyday. Practically a spiritual experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

11/26

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Susan's condo is very nice and conveniently located to Duval Street. It's a :15 to :20minute walk to Marlory Square, but the sunset is worth the walk. The condo is furnished with everything you need. It's clean and quiet. I had some problems with a key and emailed Susan, she responded immediately. We didn't care much for the pool area, but the gardens and grounds were nicely landscaped. We love Key West and are already talking about our next trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Week in Key West

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

“Staying at Susan's condo was absolutely one of the best vacations we have ever taken and loved every minute of it! The condo is very comfortable, in a great location , and we absolutely loved the bikes!!! We used them to bike all over the island but mostly to Ft. Taylor and Southside beach, which are both easily the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to. The weather was perfect and we had a fabulous Thanksgiving dinner at Kelley's. We were all sad to leave Saturday and definitely want to go back!!!

Thank you for all of your hospitality - the restaurant guides and maps were very helpful and in addition to the bikes, we loved the little cooler and the washer and dryer - you made everything so easy and convenient.”

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

HEAVEN ON EARTH WISH I COULD RATE IT 50 STARS

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

WOW I AM SHOCKED I HAVE BEEN MARRIED 18 AWESOME MONTHS ALREADY MY WIFE JENNA AND I GERALD STAYED AT SUSANS KEY WEST PLACE FOR OUR HONEYMOON AND WE WERE THE FIRST HONEYMOONERS WORDS WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO DESCRIBE THE PERFECT HONEYMOON THAT WE HAD AND HOW INCREDIBLE THE CONDO IS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT LOCATION CLOSE TO EVERYTHING I WALKED TO THE BEACH EVERY MORNING WHILE MY WIFE LAYED IN BED WITH DOORS WIDE OPEN READING AND LOOKING OUT AT THE WORLD AND THE WATER FROM THE BALCONY WE HAD DINNER AT KELLYS AND BREAKFAST AT BLUE HEAVEN AND DID EVERYTHING THE ISLAND HAD TO OFFER I RANG THE BELL AT THE WRECKER MUSEUM AND A GIANT LIZARD WAS ON THE BALCONY ONE MORNING MUST HAVE BEEN 3 FEET LONG THE BEST TIMES WE SPENT WERE JUST SITTING ON THAT BACK BALCONY LATE AT NIGHT AND DRINKING COCKTAILS AND JUST BEING IN LOVE AND LOVING EVERYTHING AROUND US THANK YOU SUSAN SO MUCH FOR BEING SUCH A GOOD HUMAN BEING AND ALLOWING US TO APPRECIATE HOW PRETTY THIS PLANET AND THIS LIFE CAN TRULY BE AND ALSO THANK YOU FOR THE BOTTLE OF CHAMPAGNE IN THE FRIDGE WE LOVE SUSAN AND ALSO THE CONDO TRUST ME IF YOU EVER GO TO KEY WEST RENT THIS CONDO AND YOU WILL LOVE IT THANK YOU SO MUCH SUSAN AND SORRY ABOUT THE DELAY IN THE REVIEW BUT WOW TIME FLIES WHEN YOUR HAVING FUN RENT THE CONDO HEAVEN AWAITS

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Week in Paradise!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Our week in Susan's Sunset & Ocean View was perfect and exceeded all expectations! It was our first time in Key West, so we have nothing to compare it with, but we are experienced travellers and we will return HERE! It was our 25th anniversary celebration. We had our special dinner at Blue Heaven, recommended by the owners...in fact, reading the guestbook in the condo gave us many ideas for the week. The location is perfect. The bikes were amazing. The only time we used a cab was to go to and from the airport. We felt safe, secure, and happy...what else is there to say about Paradise?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely condo for a memorable week of uh-oh's

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This was our third trip to Key West and by far our favorite place to stay. My husband and I were married at the beach at Fort Zach in 2008, returned for a babymoon in 2009, and brought our 18 month old son Steven for his first official Key West trip this summer. The location of the condo couldn't have been better. We loved the bikes. We rented a bike trailer and enjoyed sunrise bike rides around the island every morning. However; this was the trip where everything that could go wrong did. My husband went swimming with his cell phone the first day there and then fell off the rental boat with my phone in his pocket the following day. Our rental boat from Key West Boats at mile marker 25 was a disaster and broke down. Never ever ever rent a boat from "Joe". We had no cell phones, no GPS, and both motors on the boat died. We had to radio Coast Guard and use the flare gun to flag down a boat so they could rescue us. Other than our adventurous day on the water, we had a great time. My son loved swimming in the ocean, riding the bikes around town, finding treasures "coconuts and key limes", and all the animals around town (roosters, cats, dogs, lizards, etc...) We plan to come back soon; however we hope our next trip will be a little more relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We had an awesome stay!!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Your condo is beautiful and so convenient to everything we wanted to see and do in Key West! Having use of the two bicycles was wonderful and we enjoyed biking everywhere and not having to pay for parking. We had some delicious meals and really enjoyed or stay. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying and being such kind and thoughful guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It truly lived up to and exceeded our Condo expectations!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

I have to say that Susan's condo is one of the best condos we have stayed in over the years in many destinations. In fact, it was a nice surprise to see that she had upgraded the TVs, and the sunset deck has a lovely new bistro set and chaise lounge! Spent every morning there watching the boats and having breakfast, as well as those magnificent sunsets. We loved the fact that we could walk to where everything was happening. She also had new beach chairs, so for the first time on vacation we didn't have to buy them! Yeah! The Shipyard Condos are very quiet overall, and so nicely landscaped too. We went to Fort Zachary Beach (a great beach by the way) each day via our car because we took lunch with us as well as the chairs, quite a bit to bike with. She also left alot of information as well as numbers to call if we had any problems, and we didn't need a thing, as the condo is very nicely maintained. When we come back, we will definitely stay here again, and will certainly recommend it to our friends as well. Thanks, Susan, for allowing us to stay in your home, you have a gem of a place in Key West!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for noticing all the upgrades!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best Spot in Key West

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Dear Susan,

My husband & I cannot say enough about how AWESOME your condo was! It's in the absolute best location, the sunset views from the back deck every night were priceless and the bikes were so much fun to tool around on! Our daily routine was: Breakfast, coffee and a litte reading on the back deck, bike to the beach, go to Fausto's to pick up fresh seafood and head right back to the condo to grill it. It was perfect! We couldn't have asked for a better vacation. We really felt at home the whole week. Much better than staying in a hotel or "resort".

Thank you again for everything! We cannot wait to come back next May...maybe even for 2 weeks!

Erin & Bob A. from Boston, MA

PS We left the following for "Karma": 2 books, a bottle opener and a 12pk of Coronas in the fridge for the next guests!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: SO happy you loved it and for all the excellent Karma you left behind! Looking forward to reading your books and putting your bottle opener to use! One week is never enough!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW....Could it get any better than this?

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Susan, what a beautiful place in Paradise! We have really enjoyed our stay here. The condo is lovely, you have supplied everything a person could possible need or want. So comfortable and secure. We will definitely be back. Everyone, including Sue, has been welcoming and friendly. She is a very nice lady. It's nice to know if there ever was a problem, she would be right here. Thank you so much for sharing your 'slice of paradise' with us.
Oh, this sounds silly, but I LOVE the icemaker. We never ran out of ice. That was important to me!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful condo and owner

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We've been here for two weeks, and have really enjoyed it. This is our 12th trip to KW in 10 years, and this is by far our best accommodations. We enjoy the sunsets from the deck; ride the bikes all over; use the pass to Ft. Zach beach every day. The washer/dryer is such a perk, and, best of all, Susan is very attentive to us. As I write this, I am sitting on the deck with a view of boats in the water, bright blue sky, gorgeous! Even though we are here during spring break, this condo is peaceful and quiet. Although we have a car (and appreciate the very convenient parking), there is no need for a car from this location--especially with the use of the bikes. We enjoyed a jet ski tour (we went through Barefoot Billy's) and a kayak trip through the tidal creeks (through Lazy Dog at Hurricane Hole). Thanks for everything, Susan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: THANK YOU for loving the condo and Key West! Thank you for booking another vacation in this condo within 24 hours of arrival. There is nothing I love more than a happy guest! Susan

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place for a Second Honeymoon

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Susan's Condo is fabulous!! My husband and I wanted to do something special for our 25th wedding anniversary, and Susan didn't disappoint. The condo was clean and comfortable and the bikes she provided were a plus. The condo was even nicer than the photos, and Susan was very helpful in letting us know what to expect prior to our arrival (thanks for the pool shoe tip). We enjoyed the proximity to the state park and the beach. So many things to see and do. We went to the beach,pool and wandered the streets, Duval is a busy and eclectic street. The Hemmingway house is a must see, as is the nightly Sunset Celebration at Mallory Square. We ate at Bobalu's (great pizza), Sloppy Joe's good band and food, can imagine Hemmingway hanging out there, and Conch Republic Seafood for our Anniversary Dinner. We would recommend Susan's in a heartbeat to friends and relatives visiting KW. Thanks for a trip we'll never forget!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for enjoying the condo and choosing this one for your 25th Anniversary. I am astounded by the amazing wonderful people who love to celebrate significant life events in Key West.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Condo for a Key West Get-Away!

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

Susan's Condo is a fantastic place for a Key West get-away! The location is fantastic. Close to Duval Street, Zachary Taylor Beach, great restaurants and city sights. Plus, the bikes that are included with the condo give you the flexibility to get anywhere in Key West. Working with Susan was a delight. Everything was as promised and the property is exactly as described.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy to host honeymoooners like you Nancy! I will roll out the red carpet for memorable anniversaries too!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent location**Excellent communication**Everything as expected and promised.**Thank you!

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

Our family, two adults and two teens, visited Susan's Key West Condo in November and thoroughly enjoyed all the condo had to offer. It was so well equipped with anything we needed. We did a few meals there including using the electric grill which worked great.

The view from the back deck is beautiful and as described. We took full advantage of the family beach pass and visited the beautiful Fort Zachary Taylor many times during our visit. It was great to be able to just pop into the park for sunset. And the bikes for guests use are great.

I would like to commend the owner of this condo for being so quick to respond to my initial inquiry on the condo and all other questions or emails that I sent to her. I really appreciated that.
We were so happy with our choice to stay in this condo and would absolutely stay again and recommend to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for bringing your whole family to Key West Shell! I bet you enjoyed having warm ocean water to swim! I love Maine Lobster but only wish I could stay in the water for more than thirty seconds.
So happy you loved Key West and the condo!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

2nd Honeymoon Paradise

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

We can't say enough about our stay at Susan's Key West Condo! Susan took care of every detail for us to have an unbelievable 25th anniversary celebration! The condo is lovely. It is close to everything in beautiful Truman Annex with a fantastic view right out the master bedroom door! The kitchen is equipped with everything you need. We went to the pool everyday and used our pass to the beach that is almost in the backyard! There is no need for a car when you stay here, we went everywhere on the great bikes (with baskets!) Saved on taking the city bus a block away to the airport for $2.00 instead of taking a cab. We have recommended this condo to everyone we have talked to. We have never stayed anywhere where we have received this kind of care! Thank you so much Susan for making this the best trip we have ever had! We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for celebrating your 25th year marital bliss at Sunset and Ocean View. Knew you would LOVE Key West and Truman Annex. What an incredible couple you are! Keep loving and living and exploring this world's treasures like Key West!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Add SusansKeyWestCondo to your Bucket List

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

Susan is one heck of a hostess and "gets it" when it comes to helping you plan your stay in Key West. We knew exactly what to expect, the best way to get to the condo, directives for checking in, local ammenities, and sights to see. There were absolutely no surprises which made for an enjoyable and stress free orientation and move in. The condo was impeccably clean and so comfortable. Views from the back deck were glorious whether watching a sunrise, sunset, Coast Guard ships go in and out to sea, or cruise ship dockings. We poured over her Blue Notebook on the coffee table and loved her recommendations and comments. The pool was very peaceful and quiet....great for reading or just chillaxing and the Shipyard grounds are absolutely lush and well kept. Beach pass to Fort Zachary Taylor Park was a great bonus as was the availability of having two bicycles at our disposal. So close to Duval Street and all of the shops, restaurants and activities. We were able to relax in peace and quietude or venture to Duval Street when we felt like kicking it up a notch. Blue Heaven, Santiago Bodega, Latitudes at Sunset Key, Croissants du France all wonderful restaurants. Louie's Backyard so-so .. pricey and wait staff did not seem overly thrilled that we were there. Breakfasts at Harpoon Harry's and Pepe's were perfect for biking to and from and meals were delicious and atmosphere at both fun and unique. Thoroughly enjoyed atmoshere at Jack's on Duval for good meal, great service, and nice flat screens for checking in on college football scores. Dante's was a great place for lunch and we loved people watching and the fishing excursion boats. PraNa Spa is one block away and I can honestly say that it was by far THE best massage we have ever had anyplace on vacation. Heck, we even got a few grins each morning with the early wake up call from the friendly backyard rooster. Susan even has a "Karma" chest with extras left behind by previous guests like grooming supplies, playing cards, ponchos , etc. as a "pay it forward." SusansKeyWestCondo is just like Susan.... friendly and a breath of fresh air. What I wouldn't do to be sitting on the back deck right now with a glass of wine, a good book and the sun in my face. Ahhh

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

No Surprises

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

No surprises. Everything went according to the plan. Susan's directions and instructions were flawless. The location of this property was perfect. The condo was very comfortable. We used the bikes everyday and never moved the car all week. We rented a third bike for our daughter from Recycled Bikes $55 for the whole week. They delivered and picked up the bike. They came with a new bike 15 min. after my daughter got a flat tire. We loved the beach the pass was great. We went snorking, parasailing. The pool was nice, too bad it closed so early in the evening. The week went by too fast. Now back to the heat of Chicago.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Key West Vacation

Review submitted: June 26, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

Key West is definitely a change from rural PA... From the crazy sights on Duval street to the wild chickens and little lizards. The beaches are amazing! Defintely a beautiful tropical upgrade from the overcrowded Jersey beaches! It was so nice to bike everywhere. There is lots to do and see. Fort Zachary beach/park was our favorite! It was a beautiful and a great way to spend the day (thanks for the beach pass!) The Dry Tortugas and Fort Jefferson are a must do! It is the the most beautiful and perfect place we have ever seen. The water was so blue and the snorkeling was exciting! A perfect place literally in the middle of nowhere. We don't want to leave this tropical getaway but we really miss our cats...

Thanks so much!

Caitlin, Lindsay, Karen, and Kevin - Perkasie, PA

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: So happy you saw the magic of Fort Zachary Taylor State Park and Beach. We have never seen a more beautiful sunset than from Fort Zach beach. Thank you for staying and enjoying Key West and the condo!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

We had a great time in Key West. Susan's condo is perfectly placed for a short walk
or bike ride to anywhere on the island. Enjoyed the weather,great food,Ft. Zach,Duvall St.and the friendly people who gave directions. Susan made the trip easy. Thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2010

We had a great time in Key West. Susan's condo is perfectly placed for a short walkor bike ride to anywhere on the island. Enjoyed the weather,great food,Ft. Zach,Duvall St.and the friendly people who gave directions. Susan made the trip easy. Thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

2 weeks in paradise!

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Thank goodness we rented this condo for 2 weeks as there were record low temps this February in Key West. No swimming but none of us cared. We had 2 balconies, 2 bikes, free passes to the state park in our back yard, Eco center also in back yard for our one rainy hour....we were on the go every day. Most mornings we'd watch the cruise ships pull into port right from the back balcony or take a walk out back to the pier. The back balcony was in full sun most of the day so that was also our main lunch/happy hour location. It was the warmest spot in Key West! We could leave the French doors open to the balcony and pretend we were out in the sun even though the temps were not cooperating. Anything we did in town was just a short walk from the condo and the bikes helped us explore the rest of the island without having to move the car. We used the park pass daily...sometimes 2 or 3 times. We'd go for a picnic lunch and then we'd go back at night for a crowd free sunset. Two cold weeks in Key West for 4 adults could have been a problem but not here ....we were sorry we had to leave. Thanks Susan and Bruce...we love Key West more than ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Location

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Great location - close to everything but quiet.Nicely equipped - we used everything from the washer and dryer to the margarita glasses. We especially enjoyed the front and back porches, bicycles, and state park pass. There are many good places to eat within walking or riding distance including Crossaints de France for take out breakfasts. When we come back to Key West, we will definitely stay here.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

April, 2010The whole experience...shopping on-line, booking our reservation direct with Susan, and finally arriving at her Key West condo six months later...went exactly as planned. What a relief to arrive at the Complex in the dark after a really long day of travel and have all details complete and accurate. We entered the condo and immediately stepped out onto the deck and marveled at our Gulf view. It was a perfect setting for catching those famous sun sets. We utilized the bicycles every day and enjoyed the complimentary pass to the Fort Zachary Taylor Beach. Susan's Guest Book in the condo has great restaurant reviews that saved us the "trial and error" process you encounter when traveling somewhere new.The condo was a great base for our sightseeing activities. Excellent location with easy access. Never worried a second about our safety.Our week went quickly and now we must return to that Colorado snow. However, we're taking back great tans and a little extra weight to know this trip wasn't just a dream.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

Great location - close to everything but quiet.Nicely equipped - we used everything from the washer and dryer to the margarita glasses. We especially enjoyed the front and back porches, bicycles, and state park pass. There are many good places to eat within walking or riding distance including Crossaints de France for take out breakfasts. When we come back to Key West, we will definitely stay here.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Your condo was great. The location was excellent...close to everything. We arrived on the 5th of February just missing the blizzard of 2010. The Fort Zachary pass was very much appreciated.

We had a great time and would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

Hi Susan – Steve and I want to thank you so much for offering your Key West condo. The location is excellent for walking, bike riding, and taking advantage of what Key West has to offer. And meeting popcorn Joe was a delight. Steve and I loved the 75? temperature and sunny skies. What a pleasure! Steve and JP

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Susan, We enjoyed ourselves immensely. Nobody wanted to come home. We landed today in WI at 19 degrees, that didn't help. The condo was great. Everything we had hoped for and needed. Bikes, park pass, location, privacy, pool all great. Walking or biking distance to everything. We biked from Fort Zach to Smathers, to Garrison Bight to Duval and back and no trip took more than 15 - 20 minutes. Your hospitality is greatly appreciated and I hope we can return in the future. The kids think they need to be included again as well. We'll see about that. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

We thank you for helping us discover paradise. While it was unseasonably cold in Key West, it didn't slow us down. We shopped Duval, toured the Truman White House, walked to Ft. Zachery State Park, and watched the cruise ships anchor from the balcony. We plan an island tour for tomorrow as well as the Fischer Museum. The condo is extremely well-located, only 2 short blocks from Duval. there is no need for a car once you get here. Truly a magical place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

We enjoyed the peace and comfort of the condo ( except for the smallness of the bathroom) in particular having breakfast and drinks at sunset on the balcony.
The situation is very comfortable, catering at Fausto's, drinks and restaurants , postoffice,all within walking distance. Not to forget the Park with the best beach in KW free accessible with the Pass provided.
A great stay !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

Susan - Your condo was great! We spent Christmas week and had a great time. You can walk everywhere from the condo. The bikes were very useful and the pass to the beach was very handy. The pool is nice and close, and the sunset view is great from the balcony or from the beach. You get the best of everything here! Thank you so much! The Novaks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

Hi Susan,
We are back to work :(
We had a GREAT time in Key West. We absolutely adored the condo. Those 2 balconies were fabulous to just relax on. The amenities at the condo were great. Having the washer/dryer and dishwasher were fabulous. We went food shopping and made breakfast every morning to save some money. We ate dinners out though and some lunches. Everyone was so pleased w/ the place, we said that if/when we return to Key West, we will absolutely rent from you again! I will also make recommendations to my other friends if I hear they are going that way. Thanks again for your help and hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 5, 2009   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

Thanks to Susan for the hostess with the mostest!! The place was just as she described...close enuff to everything. The bikes came in very handy...we sure put some miles on those things riding everywhere on the island. We had the best time ever!! The weather could not have been any better!! The food, the people, the atmosphere, the shopping, everything was to die for!! We will definitely be back to Susan's Condo. Thanks Again for everything!! Brandie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 24, 2009   Date of arrival: October 24, 2009

My Friend Jack and I have been to Key West many times and this was one of the best. We enjoyed the closeness and convenience to everything and the view from the deck of the ocean.

The bicycles and the park next door were just great additions! I would definitely love to return!

Wil Chandler, Athens, Ohio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

Susan and Bruce - the girls and I had a wonderful time at your Key West condo. Perfect location, great pool, easy to access Duval Street restaurants and bars - we walked everywhere. Penny and I enjoyed the bikes after Trudy and Teri went home - rode the perimeter of the island several mornings! Relaxing and beautiful! Thanks again. Dawn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

Used to own a house in Key West . Havent been back in 18 years . We had a great time . The bikes are great and the view from the master bedrooms deck with a glass of wine works wonders . try going to sunset key for dinner at Laditudes (westin) take the boat to the island and request a table on the beach . We had a full moon coming up through the palm trees . Also Amborsia for sushi to die for .And of course a walk down Duval St a must see. Good location to beach and town if you like to walk . Do use the bikes .

Gene Grabiec
Akron Ohio \ Lexus of Akron Canton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

We had a great time on our 1st visit to Key West. The location of this condo is perfect. We rode the bikes or walked to everything we wanted to do and see. I don't think my husband has gotten that much exercise in years. We had a fantastic 7 day vacation and would stay at Susan's Key West Condo again. It was so peaceful, just far enough from the hustle and bustle of the bars and crowds of people to enjoy the quiet but close enough to participate in the noise if you wanted to. Thanks Susan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

We had a great time at Susan's Key West condo. We hope it won't take us 10 years to get back again, and would definitely stay there again. The bikes were a great addition. The Eco Discovery Center right in back was well worth the time, and certainly the money-it's free! Be sure to watch the video if you go! We went to Sunset every night except the day we went to the Dry Tortugas. That was an interesting trip, but quite expensive and not really worth it to me. We walked the "short cut" to the waterfront on the beautiful tropical paradise streets in the annex to get to Sunset and enjoyed the more exciting Duval St. on the way home, last stop the Green Parrot! They had great music, as most places did all week. We enjoyed using the pass to the state park also, riding the bikes around it one day, and snorkeling another. We had the pleasure of meeting the owners downstairs and they were very helpful whenever we had a question about the area. Great stay and can't wait to go back! Thanks Susan!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Well, an end comes to all good things. And staying here for the 4th of July week has been a GOOD THING. The condo and view are awesome. Woke up this morning to a cruise ship in the back yard (2nd boat) out behind the building, to the right. This town is a party place. We'll be back to Susan's condo again. So much to do! Our son, Garrett (Just returned from Afghanistan) took to scuba diving. We all went on a 28 mile guided jet ski tour including 50-55 MPH speeds. But, you can't do it all in 1 vacation, so much to see and do. Thank You Susan for allowing us to share your vacation spot. We'll be back to do the things we didn't see or do this trip. We highly recommend the gourmet sunset dinner cruise we went on. Food outstanding! We were treated like VIPS. The boat is named Dream Chasers, Captained by Ken & First Mate Cathy. Good food at: Caroline's, outdoor place on Duval St. Schooner Wharf Bar & Grill to hear Michael McCloud. He usually plays from 12 - 4. Half Shell Raw Bar, Conch Republic Seafood, & Alonzo's Oyster Bar. (Front St) Places that were recommended however we didn't try were: The Roof Top Cafe (on Front St), & Blue Heaven.

Fred & Mary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

June 2009 -- Our first trip to Key West and it was fantastic! Susan's Condo was perfect in both location and comfort. Having the 2 bikes available was awesome..it saved us a great deal of money since we only had to rent 2 more...And we loved having access to a Fort Zachary Pass b/c we went there everyday...certainly a beautiful location to enjoy the water! We would go back to Susan's in a heartbeat! Enjoy,

Annette

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

Location, location, location! This condo is perfect, especially if you enjoy walking, or biking if you prefer. We walked EVERYWHERE, and felt safe inside the Truman Annex at all hours. We didn't spend too much time in the condo except for some siestas, but when we needed to sleep, it was quiet. The beach is a nice mile walk. Each end of Duval within a 15 min walk as well. Just a heads-up, the beds are firm and on wheels, so if in your excitement to finally be on vacation, you leap into bed, you will bounce and roll! Wheee! We had a great 4 days & are in love with the Truman Annex.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

Susan:

Very impressive! Nice web site and nice place! Good
job!

Chuck Yeago

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

Our 10 nights in paradise were great. All the comforts of home. This location is one of the best on the Island. Susan is a gracious host. I know we'll be back, either as guests, or full time residents. Thanks again for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

This is THE BEST location on Key West! The balcony overlooks the entrance to Fort Zachary Beach (the nicest one on the island)! Since the condo comes with bikes, you do NOT need a car. Bike everywhere. And if you don't want to bike to Duvall Street, you can walk from this location.

Also, having a balcony on both the front and back of the condo, it is really nice to get a cool breeze going through.

We loved our stay and would stay again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review